DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they do not clearly show the relationship between the first end effector, the second end effector and the automated handling machine, there are errors in the shading and in the spatial relationship as illustrated. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaeppeler et al. (US 20250109493 A1) in view of Gage et al. (US 20090142167 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kaeppeler teaches:
an automated handling machine (399) for handling an excessively coated removable reaction unit (230) of a reactor (100) for cleaning, said reaction unit suitable for epitaxial deposition of a semiconductor film on a substrate (10) [0048 & 0049], provided with a selective handling assembly comprising:
an end effector (400) adapted to mechanically couple with the removable reaction unit to displace it along a longitudinal direction [0124 & 0145 & 0155 & 0158 & 0159 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 &0164];
the end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate holder to displace it along the longitudinal direction [0122 & 0143 & 0148 & 0150 & 0155 &0156 & 0157];
wherein the selective handling assembly comprises at least an actuator (409) adapted to displace the end effector in a longitudinal direction from an extended position to a retreated position, and vice versa [0150 & 0157];
the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the substrate holder from, or into, the removable reaction unit [0122 & 0143 & 0148 & 0150 & 0155 & 0156 & 0157]; and
the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the removable reaction unit from, or into, the reactor [0124 & 0145 & 0155 & 0158 & 0159 & 0160 & 0161 & 0162 & 0163 &0164].
Kaeppeler does not teach:
The end effector comprises:
a first end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the removable reaction unit to displace it along a longitudinal direction;
a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate holder to displace it along the longitudinal direction.
Gage teaches:
An automated handling machine for handling an uncoated substrate and a coated substrate, provided with a selective handling assembly (336) which prevents cross contamination between the unprocessed and processed substrates [0059 & 0062 & 0066], comprising:
a first end effector (ARM 1) adapted to mechanically couple with the uncoated substrate to displace it along a longitudinal direction [0059 & 0062 & 0066];
a second end effector (ARM 2) adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction [0059 & 0062 & 0066];
wherein the selective handling assembly comprises at least an actuator adapted to displace the first and second end effector in a longitudinal direction from an extended position to a retreated position, and vice versa (Fig. 3G) [0055 & 0056 & 0059];
the second end effector being adapted to withdraw the processed substrate from, a processing chamber (303a & 303b) and insert the processed substrate into a loadlock [0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0059]; and
the first end effector being adapted to withdraw the unprocessed substrate from the loadlock and insert the unprocessed substrate into the processing chamber [0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0059].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the epitaxial processing system having a removable reaction unit and an automated handling machine for handling an excessively coated removable reaction unit of a reactor for cleaning having an end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the removable reaction unit to displace it along a longitudinal direction, the end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate holder to displace it along the longitudinal direction the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the substrate holder from, or into, the removable reaction unit, and the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the removable reaction unit from, or into, the reactor taught by Kaeppeler with the automated handling machine for handling an uncoated substrate and a coated substrate, provided with a selective handling assembly (194) which prevents cross contamination between the unprocessed and processed substrates with a first end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the uncoated substrate to displace it along a longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, the second end effector being adapted to withdraw the processed substrate from, a processing chamber (303a & 303b) and insert the processed substrate into a loadlock, and the first end effector being adapted to withdraw the unprocessed substrate from the loadlock and insert the unprocessed substrate into the processing chamber taught by Gage in order to provide a reaction unit and substrate holder transfer means with separate effectors preventing cross contamination in the system.
Regarding Claim 2, Kaeppeler does not teach:
the first and second end effectors are mutually mechanically constrained, so that when the first end effector is in an extended position the second end effector is in a retreated position, and vice versa.
Gage teaches:
the first and second end effectors are mutually mechanically constrained, so that when the first end effector is in an extended position the second end effector is in a retreated position, and vice versa (Fig. 3G) [0019 & 0055 & 0056 & 0059].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the epitaxial processing system having a removable reaction unit and an automated handling machine for handling an excessively coated removable reaction unit of a reactor for cleaning having an end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the removable reaction unit to displace it along a longitudinal direction, the end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate holder to displace it along the longitudinal direction the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the substrate holder from, or into, the removable reaction unit, and the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the removable reaction unit from, or into, the reactor taught by Kaeppeler with the automated handling machine for handling an uncoated substrate and a coated substrate, provided with a selective handling assembly (194) which prevents cross contamination between the unprocessed and processed substrates with a first end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the uncoated substrate to displace it along a longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, the second end effector being adapted to withdraw the processed substrate from, a processing chamber (303a & 303b) and insert the processed substrate into a loadlock, and the first end effector being adapted to withdraw the unprocessed substrate from the loadlock and insert the unprocessed substrate into the processing chamber, where the first and second end effectors are mutually mechanically constrained, so that when the first end effector is in an extended position the second end effector is in a retreated position, and vice versa taught by Gage in order to provide a reaction unit and substrate holder transfer means with separate effectors preventing cross contamination in the system.
Regarding Claim 3, Kaeppeler does not explicitly teach:
the actuator is a step-by-step motor or servo-motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an actuator comprising a servo motor for displacing the first and second end effectors in order to provide a means of accurate position control to prevent misalignment in the system resulting in flaws in the manufacturing process since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that servo motors for controlling transfer robots were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 5, Kaeppeler teaches:
the first and/or second end effector is a gripper (Fig. 2) [0150].
Regarding Claim 6, Kaeppeler teaches:
the gripper is chosen from the group consisting of one or more of the following elements: rod, prong, fork, shovel, and combinations thereof (Fig. 2) [0150].
Regarding Claim 7, Kaeppeler teaches:
the wafer carrier is made of a metallic, or ceramic material, or silicon carbide, borosilicate glass, sapphire glass or quartz in order to provide a wafer carrier made from a durable material [0006].
Kaeppeler does not explicitly teach:
the first end effector is made of a metallic or ceramic material and the second end effector is made of silicon carbide, borosilicate glass, sapphire glass or quartz.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first end effector manufactured from silicon carbide in order to provide an end effector made from a durable material to increase the life of the end effector, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.07)
Regarding Claim 8, Kaeppeler teaches:
the wafer carrier is made of aluminum or silicon carbide, in oxide or nitride form, or titanium, stainless steel, and alloys thereof, in order to provide a wafer carrier made from a durable material [0006].
Kaeppeler does not explicitly teach:
the first end effector is made of aluminum or silicon carbide, in oxide or nitride form, or titanium, stainless steel, and alloys thereof.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first end effector manufactured from silicon carbide in order to provide an end effector made from a durable material to increase the life of the end effector, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.07)
Regarding Claim 11, Kaeppeler teaches:
vertical motorized means coupled to the selective handling assembly and adapted to displace the latter along a vertical direction [0018 & 0023 & 0025 & 0122].
Regarding Claim 12, Kaeppeler teaches:
a screen (161) having a major surface oriented in a transvers plane perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (Fig. 1) [0096];
the screen being adapted to allow the end effector to move in the longitudinal direction either through said major surface or over any its borders [0096]; and
the screen being positioned so that the end effector that is in the extended position protrudes from said major surface, whereas the first or second end effector in retreated position, and the actuator, are receded behind said major surface (Fig. 1) [0096].
Kaeppeler does not teach:
the end effector comprises a first end effector and a second end effector.
Gage teaches:
the end effector comprises a first end effector and a second end effector [0059 & 0062 & 0066]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the epitaxial processing system having a removable reaction unit and an automated handling machine for handling an excessively coated removable reaction unit of a reactor for cleaning having an end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the removable reaction unit to displace it along a longitudinal direction, the end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate holder to displace it along the longitudinal direction the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the substrate holder from, or into, the removable reaction unit, and the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the removable reaction unit from, or into, the reactor taught by Kaeppeler with the automated handling machine for handling an uncoated substrate and a coated substrate, provided with a selective handling assembly (194) which prevents cross contamination between the unprocessed and processed substrates with a first end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the uncoated substrate to displace it along a longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, the second end effector being adapted to withdraw the processed substrate from, a processing chamber (303a & 303b) and insert the processed substrate into a loadlock, and the first end effector being adapted to withdraw the unprocessed substrate from the loadlock and insert the unprocessed substrate into the processing chamber taught by Gage in order to provide a reaction unit and substrate holder transfer means with separate effectors preventing cross contamination in the system.
Regarding Claim 13, Kaeppeler teaches:
Structural moving portions of the processing system are made of quartz [0074 & 0082].
Kaeppeler does not teach:
the screen is made of quartz.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a screen made of quartz in order to provide a material suitable for the temperatures encountered by the system, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.07)
Regarding Claim 14, Kaeppeler teaches:
A reaction chamber (110) for epitaxial deposition of a semiconductor film on a substrate [0048], comprising:
an essentially hollow susceptive casing (102 & 104 & 113) extending along a longitudinal direction and featuring an internal surface and an external surface (Fig. 1); and
a removable reaction unit (230) having an inner and outer surface (Fig. 3 & Fig. 6E & Fig. 8 & Fig. 9 & Fig. 10B) and comprising:
(i) four walls extending along the longitudinal direction (Fig. 3 & Fig. 6E), and
(ii) an upstream side and a downstream side parallel to a transverse plane perpendicular to said longitudinal direction (Fig. 3),
wherein the four walls of the reaction unit comprise a bottom wall (250) provided with a receiving area adapted to receive a substrate holder [0056 & 0119 & 0120];
the upstream side comprises an upstream aperture (240) suited to receive a flow of carrier and precursor gases for the epitaxial deposition, and the downstream side comprises a downstream aperture (1000) suited to discharge a flow of exhaust gases;
the reaction unit being mechanically connected to the susceptive casing via releasable coupling means and being moveable relative to the susceptive casing in one piece (Fig. 6D & Fig. 6E & Fig. 7A) [0110 & 0116]; and
the reaction unit being provided with engaging means adapted to coo- operate with the first end effector of the automated handling machine according to claim 1 [see rejection of Claim 1 above].
Regarding Claim 15, Kaeppeler teaches:
An assembly for displacing and handling a reaction unit for preventive reactor maintenance operations comprising:
a reactor (100) for epitaxial deposition of a semiconductor film on a substrate [0003 & 0047 & 0048] and comprising a reaction chamber (110) having a reaction unit (230) removable in one piece from a susceptive casing;
an automated handling machine according to claim 1 [see rejection of Claim 1 above];
a transfer chamber (401) comprising a first aperture (405) provided with a first gate valve (407) adapted to receive or discharge the reaction unit from/to the reactor via the automated handling machine (Fig. 1) [0151]; and
a second aperture (52) provided with a second gate valve (55); and
a unit handling chamber (50) placed in communication with the transfer chamber through the second aperture and the second gate valve (Fig. 1), and adapted to receive or discharge the reaction unit from/to the transfer chamber via motorized mechanical means (59),
wherein the unit handling chamber is adapted to condition the reaction unit and is provided with a resealable access (57) suitable for extraction and insertion of the reaction unit by an operator or by automated handling means [0152].
Regarding Claim 16, Kaeppeler teaches:
the transfer chamber is additionally adapted to receive or discharge through the first aperture a substrate holder from/to the reactor via the automated handling machine and additional optional motorized mechanical means [0150 & 0151 & 0152].
Kaeppeler does not teach:
the assembly further comprising a load lock chamber placed in communication with the transfer chamber through a third aperture and a third gate valve; and
the load lock chamber being adapted to receive or discharge the substrate holder from/to the transfer chamber via motorized mechanical means through said third aperture.
Gage teaches:
a second aperture provided with a second gate valve (128); and
a unit handling chamber (50) placed in communication with the transfer chamber through the second aperture and the second gate valve (Fig. 1), and adapted to receive or discharge the reaction unit from/to the transfer chamber via motorized mechanical means (59),
wherein the unit handling chamber is adapted to condition the reaction unit and is provided with a resealable access (57) suitable for extraction and insertion of the reaction unit by an operator or by automated handling means [0152].
the transfer chamber is additionally adapted to receive or discharge through the first aperture a substrate from/to the reactor via the automated handling machine and additional optional motorized mechanical means (Fig. 3B);
the assembly further comprising a load lock chamber placed in communication with the transfer chamber through a third aperture and a third gate valve (Fig. 3A) [0024 & 0025 & 0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030]; and
the load lock chamber being adapted to receive or discharge the substrate from/to the transfer chamber via motorized mechanical means through said third aperture (Fig. 3A) [0024 & 0025 & 0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the epitaxial processing system having a removable reaction unit and an automated handling machine for handling an excessively coated removable reaction unit of a reactor for cleaning having an end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the removable reaction unit to displace it along a longitudinal direction, the end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate holder to displace it along the longitudinal direction the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the substrate holder from, or into, the removable reaction unit, and the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the removable reaction unit from, or into, the reactor taught by Kaeppeler with the automated handling machine for handling an uncoated substrate and a coated substrate, provided with a selective handling assembly (194) which prevents cross contamination between the unprocessed and processed substrates with a first end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the uncoated substrate to displace it along a longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, the second end effector being adapted to withdraw the processed substrate from, a processing chamber (303a & 303b) and insert the processed substrate into a loadlock, and the first end effector being adapted to withdraw the unprocessed substrate from the loadlock and insert the unprocessed substrate into the processing chamber, the assembly further comprising a load lock chamber placed in communication with the transfer chamber through a third aperture and a third gate valve, and the load lock chamber being adapted to receive or discharge the substrate from/to the transfer chamber via motorized mechanical means through said third aperture taught by Gage in order to provide a reaction unit and substrate holder transfer means with separate effectors preventing cross contamination in the system.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaeppeler et al. (US 20250109493 A1) in view of Gage et al. (US 20090142167 A1) as applied to Claim ### above, further in view of Nakaor et al. (US 20120293026 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Kaeppeler is silent regarding:
the drive transmission for controlling motion of the selective handling assembly, specifically, that the selective handling assembly comprises two pulleys operated by the actuator and coupled with a belt adapted to engage with, and displace the first and second end effector.
Gage teaches:
A selective handling assembly for transferring a substrate in a substrate processing system (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), comprising:
a first end effector (7) adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate (G) [0076];
a second end effector (7) adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate (G) [0076];
at least one actuator (70) adapted to displace the first and second end effector in a longitudinal direction from an extended position to a retracted position and vice versa [0085 & 0091 & 0096];
the selective handling assembly comprises two pulleys (76 & 83) operated by the actuator and coupled with a belt (77) adapted to engage with, and displace the first and second end effector (Fig. 8) [0096].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the epitaxial processing system having a removable reaction unit and an automated handling machine for handling an excessively coated removable reaction unit of a reactor for cleaning having an end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the removable reaction unit to displace it along a longitudinal direction, the end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate holder to displace it along the longitudinal direction the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the substrate holder from, or into, the removable reaction unit, and the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the removable reaction unit from, or into, the reactor taught by Kaeppeler with the automated handling machine for handling an uncoated substrate and a coated substrate, provided with a selective handling assembly (194) which prevents cross contamination between the unprocessed and processed substrates with a first end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the uncoated substrate to displace it along a longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, the second end effector being adapted to withdraw the processed substrate from, a processing chamber (303a & 303b) and insert the processed substrate into a loadlock, and the first end effector being adapted to withdraw the unprocessed substrate from the loadlock and insert the unprocessed substrate into the processing chamber taught by Gage, further modified by the selective handling assembly for transferring a substrate in a substrate processing system having a first end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate, at least one actuator adapted to displace the first and second end effector in a longitudinal direction from an extended position to a retracted position and vice versa where the selective handling assembly comprises two pulleys operated by the actuator and coupled with a belt adapted to engage with, and displace the first and second end effector taught by Nakao in order to provide a reaction unit and substrate holder transfer means with separate effectors preventing cross contamination in the system having a drive system which reduces vibration in the system by utilizing elastic drive transmission means.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaeppeler et al. (US 20250109493 A1) in view of Gage et al. (US 20090142167 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Takahashi et al. (US 20090067959 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Kaeppeler does not teach:
traction and pulling means coupled to the selective handling assembly and adapted to displace it along a longitudinal direction from a first handling position to at least a second handling position.
Takahashi teaches:
A selective handling assembly (22) for transferring a substrate in a substrate processing system (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4), comprising:
a first end effector (225) adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate [0128 & 0129 & 0130];
a second end effector (226) adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate [0128 & 0129 & 0130];
at least one actuator (224) adapted to displace the first and second end effector in a longitudinal direction from an extended position to a retracted position and vice versa [0127];
traction and pulling means (21 & 223) coupled to the selective handling assembly and adapted to displace it along a longitudinal direction from a first handling position to at least a second handling position [0108 & 0109 & 0127].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the epitaxial processing system having a removable reaction unit and an automated handling machine for handling an excessively coated removable reaction unit of a reactor for cleaning having an end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the removable reaction unit to displace it along a longitudinal direction, the end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate holder to displace it along the longitudinal direction the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the substrate holder from, or into, the removable reaction unit, and the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the removable reaction unit from, or into, the reactor taught by Kaeppeler with the automated handling machine for handling an uncoated substrate and a coated substrate, provided with a selective handling assembly (194) which prevents cross contamination between the unprocessed and processed substrates with a first end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the uncoated substrate to displace it along a longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, the second end effector being adapted to withdraw the processed substrate from, a processing chamber (303a & 303b) and insert the processed substrate into a loadlock, and the first end effector being adapted to withdraw the unprocessed substrate from the loadlock and insert the unprocessed substrate into the processing chamber taught by Gage, further modified by the selective handling assembly for transferring a substrate in a substrate processing system having a first end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate, at least one actuator adapted to displace the first and second end effector in a longitudinal direction from an extended position to a retracted position and vice versa and the traction and pulling means coupled to the selective handling assembly and adapted to displace it along a longitudinal direction from a first handling position to at least a second handling position taught by Nakao in order to provide a reaction unit and substrate holder transfer means with separate effectors preventing cross contamination in the system having a drive system increasing the operating range of the handling assembly thereby increasing the throughput of the system without increasing the number of selective handling assembly.
Regarding Claim 10, Kaeppeler does not teach:
the traction and pulling means comprise a linear motor.
Takahashi teaches:
the traction and pulling means comprise a linear motor [0108 & 0109 & 0127].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the epitaxial processing system having a removable reaction unit and an automated handling machine for handling an excessively coated removable reaction unit of a reactor for cleaning having an end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the removable reaction unit to displace it along a longitudinal direction, the end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate holder to displace it along the longitudinal direction the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the substrate holder from, or into, the removable reaction unit, and the end effector being adapted to withdraw, or insert, the removable reaction unit from, or into, the reactor taught by Kaeppeler with the automated handling machine for handling an uncoated substrate and a coated substrate, provided with a selective handling assembly (194) which prevents cross contamination between the unprocessed and processed substrates with a first end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the uncoated substrate to displace it along a longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with the substrate to displace it along the longitudinal direction, the second end effector being adapted to withdraw the processed substrate from, a processing chamber (303a & 303b) and insert the processed substrate into a loadlock, and the first end effector being adapted to withdraw the unprocessed substrate from the loadlock and insert the unprocessed substrate into the processing chamber taught by Gage, further modified by the selective handling assembly for transferring a substrate in a substrate processing system having a first end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate, a second end effector adapted to mechanically couple with a substrate, at least one actuator adapted to displace the first and second end effector in a longitudinal direction from an extended position to a retracted position and vice versa and the traction and pulling means coupled to the selective handling assembly and adapted to displace it along a longitudinal direction from a first handling position to at least a second handling position, where the traction and pulling means comprise a linear motor taught by Nakao in order to provide a reaction unit and substrate holder transfer means with separate effectors preventing cross contamination in the system having a drive system increasing the operating range of the handling assembly thereby increasing the throughput of the system without increasing the number of selective handling assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publication US 20180211856 A1 has been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because it teaches: a processing system having modular reaction units which are removable from the system. Patent publication US 20090024244 A1 and US 20210057251 A1 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: a selective handling assembly for a semiconductor processing system having multiple end effectors performing different tasks to prevent cross-contamination in the system.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652