CTNF 18/954,062 CTNF 88243 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Detailed Action This is in response to the non-provisional application filed 11/20/2024. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5-9, 11, 12, 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 5 recites wherein the second end region of the high pressure connector includes a first threaded region, and wherein the first threaded region of the high pressure connector is configured to engage a second threaded region of the cylinder, and wherein rotation of the first threaded region of the high pressure connector along the second threaded region of the cylinder engages the second radially inward facing surface of the T-plate with the crush washer. Claim 11 recites wherein the T-plate includes a stem having a lumen, and wherein the high pressure fluid supply tube is configured to extend within the lumen of the stem. Claim 17 recites wherein the second end region of the high pressure connector includes a first threaded region, and wherein the first threaded region of the high pressure connector is configured to engage a second threaded region of the cylinder, and wherein rotation of the first threaded region of the high pressure connector along the second threaded region of the cylinder engages the second radially inward facing surface of the T-plate with the crush washer . The Office agrees the art of record fail to teach or suggest these features . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4, 10, 15, 16 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication Number 2007/0073233 (Thor et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2012/0130318 (Young) Regarding claim 1-3, Thor et al. discloses a shown in Figure 7, a high pressure pump for use in thrombectomy system, comprising: a cylinder (cylinder 170, see paragraph [0100]) having an upper region, a lower region, and a fluid pumping chamber (part of lumen of cylinder 170 near check ball 174) ; a piston rod (piston 180, see paragraph [0100]) extending within at least a portion of the fluid pumping chamber, wherein the piston rod is configured to pump fluid through a high pressure fluid supply tube; a high pressure connector (high pressure fitting 154, see paragraph 125) having a first end region and a second end region, wherein the second end is coupled to the lower region of the cylinder. Thor fails to disclose a high-pressure seal assembly positioned between the second end of the high pressure connector and the cylinder, and wherein the high pressure seal assembly includes a T-plate and a crush washer. Young, from a related field of endeavor teaches a similar device as shown in Figures 15-19 which addresses the issues of directly fluid between to structures in a medical device, wherein it uses a high-pressure seal assembly positioned between the second end of the high pressure connector and the cylinder, and wherein the high pressure seal assembly includes a T-plate (compression washer retainer 26, see paragraph [0078]) and a crush washer (compression washer 25, see paragraph [0078]), wherein the T-plate is positioned radially outward of the crush washer, wherein the T-plate includes a first radially outward facing surface and a second radially inward facing surface, and wherein the crush washer is positioned between the second radially inward facing surface and the cylinder, for the purpose of creating a substantially gas permeable seal between two structures where fluid is transferred. See paragraph [0078]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the high pressure pump disclosed by Thor et al. to include the high pressure seal assembly taught by Young in order to create a substantially gas permeable seal between the pressure chamber and inner lumen of the high pressure connection, a predictable use of known components to obtain expected ergonomic benefits. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 417; MPEP § 2143. Note: Applicant describes a T-plate as a tubular member attached to a flange disposed at an end of the tubular member in paragraph [0066]. Since Young’s compression washer retainer 26 discloses a flange disposed at an end of a tubular member, it is the position of the Office that compression washer retainer 26 is a T-plate as recited in the claim in view of the specification. Regarding claim 4, so modified the Office interprets Thor in view of Young discloses wherein the first radially outward facing surface of the T-plate is configured to engage the high pressure connector. See Figure 7 of Thor and paragraph [0078] of Young. Regrading claim 10, Thor in view of Young fail to disclose wherein the crush washer includes a first cross-sectional thickness and a second cross-sectional thickness different from the first cross-sectional thickness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the high pressure pump disclosed by the crush washer includes a first cross-sectional thickness and a second cross-sectional thickness different from the first cross-sectional thickness as a matter of engineering design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that cross-sectional thickness of the washers apart provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. See paragraph [0013]. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Thor in view of Young’s washer, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either the thickness taught by Thor in view of Young or the claimed first and second cross-sectional thickness because both dimensions would perform the same function of providing a seal equally well considering the relative dimensions disclosed. Regarding claims 15, 16 Thor et al. discloses a shown in Figures 1, 7, a thrombectomy system, the system comprising: a fluid inflow pump (pump 56, see paragraph [0093]) coupled to a thrombectomy catheter (thrombectomy catheter 58, see paragraph [0093]) and driven by a console (drive unit 12, see paragraph [0093]), the fluid inflow pump comprising: a cylinder (cylinder 170, see paragraph [0100]) having an upper region, a lower region, and a fluid pumping chamber (part of lumen of cylinder 170 near check ball 174); a piston rod (piston 180, see paragraph [0100]) extending within at least a portion of the fluid pumping chamber, wherein the piston rod is configured to pump fluid through a high pressure fluid supply tube; a high pressure connector (high pressure fitting 154, see paragraph 125) having a first end region and a second end region, wherein the second end is coupled to the lower region of the cylinder; Thor fails to disclose a high pressure seal assembly positioned between the second end of the high pressure connector and the cylinder, and wherein the high pressure seal assembly includes a T-plate and a crush washer. Young, from a related field of endeavor teaches a similar device as shown in Figures 15-19 which addresses the issues of directly fluid between to structures in a medical device, wherein it uses a high-pressure seal assembly positioned between the second end of the high pressure connector and the cylinder, and wherein the high pressure seal assembly includes a T-plate (compression washer retainer 26, see paragraph [0078]) and a crush washer (compression washer 25, see paragraph [0078]), wherein the T-plate is positioned radially outward of the crush washer, wherein the T-plate includes a first radially outward facing surface and a second radially inward facing surface, and wherein the crush washer is positioned between the second radially inward facing surface and the cylinder, for the purpose of creating a substantially gas permeable seal between two structures where fluid is transferred. See paragraph [0078]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the high pressure pump disclosed by Thor et al. to include the high pressure seal assembly taught by Young in order to create a substantially gas permeable seal between the pressure chamber and inner lumen of the high pressure connection, a predictable use of known components to obtain expected ergonomic benefits. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 417; MPEP § 2143. Note: Applicant describes a T-plate as a tubular member attached to a flange disposed at an end of the tubular member in paragraph [0066]. Since Young’s compression washer retainer 26 discloses a flange disposed at an end of a tubular member, it is the position of the Office that compression washer retainer 26 is a T-plate as recited in the claim in view of the specification. Regarding claim 20, Thor discloses as shown in Figures 1, 7, a thrombectomy system, the system comprising: a fluid inflow pump (pump 56, see paragraph [0093]) coupled to a thrombectomy catheter (thrombectomy catheter 58, see paragraph [0093]) and driven by a console (drive unit 12, see paragraph [0093]), the fluid inflow pump comprising: a cylinder (cylinder 170, see paragraph [0100]) having an upper region, a lower region, and a fluid pumping chamber (part of lumen of cylinder 170 near check ball 174); a piston rod (piston 180, see paragraph [0100]) extending within at least a portion of the fluid pumping chamber, wherein the piston rod is configured to pump fluid through a high pressure fluid supply tube; a high pressure connector (high pressure fitting 154, see paragraph 125) having a first end region and a second end region, wherein the second end is coupled to the lower region of the cylinder. Thor fails to disclose a liner positioned along an inner surface of the cylinder, a high pressure seal assembly positioned between the second end of the high pressure connector and the cylinder, and wherein the high pressure seal assembly includes a T-plate and a crush washer 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication Number 2007/0073233 (Thor et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2012/0130318 (Young) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2007/0129679 (Bonnett et al.) Regarding claim 13, Thor in view of Young fail to disclose a liner extending along at least a portion of an inner surface of the cylinder. Bonnett et al. from the same field of endeavor teaches a similar high pressure pump as shown in Figure 4, with a similar cylinder which includes a liner extending along at least a portion of an inner surface of the cylinder for the purpose of making it easier to advance and retract the piston. See paragraph [0062]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cylinder disclosed by Thor in view of Young to include the liner taught by Bonnett et al. extending along at least a portion of an inner surface of the cylinder in order to make it easier to advance and retract the piston, a predictable use of known components to obtain expected ergonomic benefits. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 417; MPEP § 2143 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication Number 2007/0073233 (Thor et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2012/0130318 (Young), U.S. Patent Publication Number 2007/0129679 (Bonnett et al.) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Number 6,837,890 (Chludzinski) Regarding claim 14, Thor in view of Young and Bonnett et al. fail to disclose wherein the liner is formed from ultra-high-molecular-weight polyethylene. Chludzinski, from a related field of endeavor teaches a similar liner as shown in Figure 1, where the liner is formed from ultra-high-molecular-weight polyethylene. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump disclosed by Thor in view of Young and Bonnett by substituting the liner disclosed by for the liner taught by Chludzinski because it would only require the simple substitution of one known alternative for another to produce nothing but predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. , 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication Number 2007/0073233 (Thor et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2012/0130318 (Young), U.S. Patent Publication Number 2007/0129679 (Bonnett et al.) Regarding claim 20, Thor discloses as shown in Figures 1, 7, a thrombectomy system, the system comprising: a fluid inflow pump (pump 56, see paragraph [0093]) coupled to a thrombectomy catheter (thrombectomy catheter 58, see paragraph [0093]) and driven by a console (drive unit 12, see paragraph [0093]), the fluid inflow pump comprising: a cylinder (cylinder 170, see paragraph [0100]) having an upper region, a lower region, and a fluid pumping chamber (part of lumen of cylinder 170 near check ball 174); a piston rod (piston 180, see paragraph [0100]) extending within at least a portion of the fluid pumping chamber, wherein the piston rod is configured to pump fluid through a high pressure fluid supply tube; a high pressure connector (high pressure fitting 154, see paragraph 125) having a first end region and a second end region, wherein the second end is coupled to the lower region of the cylinder. Thor fails to disclose a liner positioned along an inner surface of the cylinder, a high pressure seal assembly positioned between the second end of the high pressure connector and the cylinder, and wherein the high pressure seal assembly includes a T-plate and a crush washer Young, from a related field of endeavor teaches a similar device as shown in Figures 15-19 which addresses the issues of directly fluid between to structures in a medical device, wherein it uses a high-pressure seal assembly positioned between the second end of the high pressure connector and the cylinder, and wherein the high pressure seal assembly includes a T-plate (compression washer retainer 26, see paragraph [0078]) and a crush washer (compression washer 25, see paragraph [0078]), wherein the T-plate is positioned radially outward of the crush washer, wherein the T-plate includes a first radially outward facing surface and a second radially inward facing surface, and wherein the crush washer is positioned between the second radially inward facing surface and the cylinder, for the purpose of creating a substantially gas permeable seal between two structures where fluid is transferred. See paragraph [0078]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the high pressure pump disclosed by Thor et al. to include the high pressure seal assembly taught by Young in order to create a substantially gas permeable seal between the pressure chamber and inner lumen of the high pressure connection, a predictable use of known components to obtain expected ergonomic benefits. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 417; MPEP § 2143. Note: Applicant describes a T-plate as a tubular member attached to a flange disposed at an end of the tubular member in paragraph [0066]. Since Young’s compression washer retainer 26 discloses a flange disposed at an end of a tubular member, it is the position of the Office that compression washer retainer 26 is a T-plate as recited in the claim in view of the specification. Bonnett et al. from the same field of endeavor teaches a similar high pressure pump as shown in Figure 4, with a similar cylinder which includes a liner extending along at least a portion of an inner surface of the cylinder for the purpose of making it easier to advance and retract the piston. See paragraph [0062]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cylinder disclosed by Thor in view of Young to include the liner taught by Bonnett et al. extending along at least a portion of an inner surface of the cylinder in order to make it easier to advance and retract the piston, a predictable use of known components to obtain expected ergonomic benefits. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 417; MPEP § 2143. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RICHARD G LOUIS whose telephone number is 571-270-1965. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday – Friday, 9:30 – 6:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, please contact the examiner’s supervisor, Jackie Ho at 571-272-4696 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov . Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RICHARD G LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/954,062 Page 2 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/954,062 Page 3 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/954,062 Page 4 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/954,062 Page 5 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/954,062 Page 6 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/954,062 Page 7 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/954,062 Page 8 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/954,062 Page 9 Art Unit: 3771