DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaeppeler et al (US20250109493).
Referring to claim 1. Kaeppeler et al (herein “Kaeppeler”) discloses a “Chemical Vapor Deposition System With Hot-Wall Hybrid Flow Reactor and Removable Reactor Floor”. See Figs. 1-10 and respective portions of the specification. Kaeppeler further discloses a multi-chamber assembly comprising: a reaction chamber (110) having a removable cover plate (230) that fits and is arranged in a nested arrangement with a susceptor base (210) via mating first nesting structures (rails 239) and second nesting structures (ledges 221) (See Sect. 0112, 0116, 0118). It should be noted that the cover plate which is part of the reaction unit is removable (See Sect. 0160). Thus, Kaeppeler teaches a reaction unit with cover plate (230) removable in one piece from a susceptive casing (susceptor base 21), suitable for epitaxial deposition of a semiconductor film on a substrate (wafer is processed in reaction chamber 110). Kaeppeler further discloses an end effector (400) contained within a transport chamber (401), the transport chamber being located adjacent to the reaction chamber with an opening or port (405) providing selective communication between the transport chamber and the reaction chamber, sealed by a first gate valve (407) (See Sect. 0151). Thus, Kaeppeler discloses a first chamber (transport chamber 401) comprising at least one opening (port 405) adapted to receive or discharge the reaction unit from the epitaxial reactor (reaction chamber 110). Additionally, Kaeppeler discloses a storage chamber (50) in selective communication with the transport chamber through an opening/port (52), sealed by a second gate valve (55), the storage chamber including a storage shelf (53) that can hold a wafer carrier/wafer, and a door (57) providing access to the inside of the chamber (See Sect. 0152) and a second chamber provided with a resealable access (door 57) suitable for extraction and insertion by an operator/system, and a transfer device (port 52, valve 55) connecting the first chamber with second chamber. Likewise, Kaeppeler discloses a end effector used to remove a wafer carrier and to remove the cover plate (See Sect. 0150, 0155, 0159). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to route the removed cover plate through storage chamber (50) as Kaeppeler already discloses the system conveys the cover plate and wafer carrier through a transport chamber and end effector, and using the resealable, shelf-equipped storage chamber that’s disclosed for the wafer carrier to process the cover plate would provide for optimized preventative maintenance by allowing for the staging of a cleaned or spare cover plate for rapid exchange.
Referring to claim 2. Kaeppeler discloses the system as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Kaeppeler further discloses a motorized mechanical system comprising at least one inter-chamber actuator adapted to grab and displace the removable reaction unit form the first chamber to the second chamber, and/or vice versa, through the transfer device. More specifically, Kaeppeler discloses that the end effector (400) is operatively coupled to a robotic device, such as a robot arm (409), that allows for controlled movement, the fork arms of the end effector being advanced into the tracks, and once engaged, lifted and moved by the robotic arm to displace the engaged components (See Sect. 0150).
Referring to claim 3. Kaeppeler discloses the system as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Kaeppeler further discloses an opening or port (52) between the transport chamber and the storage chamber sealed by a second gate valve (55) which is provided to seal two chamber from one another or open them up to each other (See Sect. 0152). Thus, Kaeppeler discloses that the transfer device comprises at least one transfer aperture (52) and at least one transfer gate valve (55) adapted to open and close said aperture.
Referring to claim 6. Kaeppeler discloses the system as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Kaeppeler discloses that the storage chamber includes a storage shelf (53) that can hold an object such as the wafer carrier with wafer, and that a lift motor (59) is operatively coupled to the storage shelf for raising and lowering it (See Sect. 0152). Thus, Kaeppeler discloses that the second chamber is provided with at least one shelf adapted to support the removable reaction unit and further comprises a single chamber automated system (59) configured to displace the reaction unit within the second chamber.
Referring to claim 12. Kaeppeler discloses the system as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 2. Kaeppeler discloses that the end effector’s fork arms are advanced linearly into the second tracks (240, See Sect. 0150), and that the end effector (400) in its fully extended position, the robotic arm (409) then lifts the end effector and once lifted the robotic arm is then retracted. Thus, Kaeppeler discloses that the motorized mechanical system comprises a liner actuator (robot arm, 409) provided with an end effector (400).
Referring to claim 13. Kaeppeler discloses the system as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Kaeppeler discloses that the end effectors fork arms, when inserted into the second tracks (240) formed along the top surface of the cover plate, engage and if the carrier ring (260) supporting the wafer (10) (See Sects. 0114, 0150, 0156), the carrier ring (substrate holder) being a device that supports the wafer during processing (See Sect. 0150). Kaeppeler further discloses port (405) first gate valve (407) as structure of the transport chamber equates to the substrate transfer apertures and further discloses a storage chamber (50) that holds the wafer carrier with a wafer (See Sect. 0152) is placed in communication with the first transport chamber through the substrate transfer aperture and second gate valve (55) which is adapted to receive and discharge the substrate holder via motorized means (robot arm 409, end effector 400).
Referring to claim 14. Kaeppeler discloses a reactor for epitaxial deposition of a semiconductor film on a substrate, comprising a reaction chamber (110) having a reaction unit (230) removable in one piece from a susceptive casing (210). Moreover, Kaeppeler discloses an automated handling machine comprising an end effector (400) and a robot arm (409), provided with a selective handling assembly, and further wherein the end effector has two different positions an upper position with tracks (240) and a lower position with tracks (220) (See Sect. 0155) wherein the two different sets of recessed tracks permit independent removal of the wafer carrier and the cover plate (See Sects. 0122, 0143). Kaeppeler further discloses that the reactor extends along a longitudinal direction and that a first actuator (robot arm 409) displaces the end effector in the longitudinal direction from an extended position to a retracted position and vice versa (See Sect. 0150) and that when the end effector is in its fully extended the robotic arm then lifts, while a second end effector (upper position) is adapted to withdraw or insert the substrate holder from/into the removable reaction unit (See Sect. 0156) and the first end effector (lower position) adapted to withdraw or insert the reaction unit from /into the reactor (See Sects. 0158-0160).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaeppeler et al (US20250109493) in view of Papasouliotis (US2017067163).
Referring to claim 4. Kaeppeler discloses the system as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Kaeppeler further discloses a transfer aperture (port 52) and a single gate valve (55) between the first and second chambers (See Sect. 0152). Papasouliotis discloses a “Multi-Chamber Vapor Deposition System”. See Figs. 1-6 and respective portions of the specification. Papasouliotis further discloses a load lock chamber comprises a first door and a second door (See Sect. 0022) and further discloses that the load lock chamber comprises a first door capable of maintaining a controlled environment and a second door facing the first door (See Sect. 0035). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the single aperture transfer device of Kaeppeler to comprise an enclosed interspace bounded by a first transfer aperture facing a second transfer aperture, as taught by Papasouliotis in order to isolate the interspace independently from each of the first and second chambers rather than relying on a single valve.
Claim(s) 5, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaeppeler et al (US20250109493) in view of Papasouliotis (US2017067163) and in further view of Yachi (KR20230130596).
Referring to claim 5. Kaeppeler in view of Papasouliotis disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 4. Kaeppeler does not disclose wherein the at least one first transfer aperture and the at least one second transfer aperture are each equipped with a transfer gate valve; and the transfer device comprising at least one automated double sealing system adapted to operate each of said transfer gate valves independently from each other. Papasouliotis further discloses that the first and second load lock doors are independently passable or hermetically sealed (See Sect. 0092-0093). Thus, Papasouliotis discloses that the first and second transfer apertures are each equipped with a transfer gate valve, together comprising an automated double sealing system adapted to operate the two gate valves independently of one another. Yachi discloses a “Substrate Processing Apparatus, Method of Manufacturing Semiconductor Device and Program”. See Figs. 1-6 and respective portions of the specification. Yachi further discloses opening a valve between two regions of differing pressure without staged, controlled actuation causes particles to be scattered within the chamber because of the pressure differential (See Sect. 0003, 0006-0008). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination so that the two gate valves of the combination operate independently of each other, so that with two independent valves you can equalize each side on its own schedule avoiding the disturbance caused by the pressure drop.
Referring to claims 9-10. Kaeppeler, Papasouliotis, and Yachi disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 5. Kaeppeler does not disclose a vacuum system configured to create a vacuum of less than 10 mbar in the second chamber, configured to create a vacuum of less than 1 mbar, preferably less than 10-3 mbar or wherein the second chamber is further provided with at least one gas inlet and at least one gas outlet. Yachi discloses an exhaust system configured to reduce the pressure of a processing chamber from atmospheric pressure, through a second pressure P2 of approximately 1.333x103 Pa (about 10 Torr, See Sect. 00433) and continuing to depressurize from the second pressure to a higher vacuum region (See Sect. 0058) and that the processing chamber is depressurized from the second pressure to a higher vacuum region or to the vacuum attainment pressure (See Sect. 0065, 0069). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a vacuum system into the second chamber into the combination configured as taught by Yachi, in order to remove ambient contaminants and prepare the reaction unit for reinsertion into the epitaxial reactor without exposure to atmospheric particulates.
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaeppeler et al (US20250109493) in view of Rivkin et al (7960297).
Referring to claims 7-8. Kaeppeler discloses the system as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Kaeppeler doesn’t disclose a heating system configured to heat the second chamber to a temperature of 150-500 degrees Celsius or wherein the heating system is an electrical resistance heating system. Rivkin et al (herein “Rivkin”) discloses a “Load Lock Design For Rapid Wafer Heating”. See Figs. 1-7 and respective portions of the specification. Rivkin further discloses a load lock comprising a load lock housing, a radiant heat source, and a substrate support having a resistive heat source, the heat sources being operable to heat material within the load lock housing to a desired temperature (See Sect. 0011) and further discloses that the wafer may be heated to about 100-500 degrees Celsius. Further, Rivkin discloses that a wafer is heated with a resistive heat source (107), and that the resistive heat source may be embedded in the substrate support. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a heating system into the second chamber of the system of Kaeppeler, configured to heat the second chamber to a temperature of 150-500 degree Celsius, in order to condition the removable reaction unit, so that it outgassed and prepared for reinsertion or safe handling during maintenance.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaeppeler et al (US20250109493) in view of Gurary et al (US20200354828).
Referring to claim 11. Kaeppeler discloses the system as set forth above in detail as applied to claim 1. Kaeppeler does not disclose wherein the second chamber is further provided with at least one gas inlet and at least one gas outlet. Gurary et al (herein “Gurary”) discloses a “Deposition System With Integrated Carrier Cleaning Modules”. See Figs. 1-12 and respective portions of the specification. Gurary further discloses one or more purge injectors (738) delivering purge gas into a chamber, and exhaust dilution apertures (720) that route gas out of the chamber (See Sect. 0073). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kaeppeler to incorporate gas inlet and outlet structures into the second chamber of the Kaeppeler, in order to flush the chamber and the reaction unit stored therein with a purge gas, as a means of removing contaminants and preparing the reaction unit.
/TERRELL H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653