DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 15 May 2026. Claim(s) 2-10 and 12-20 are currently pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim(s) 2-10,12-15, and 17-20, cancelled claim(s) 1 and 11.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘incision member’ and ‘stabilizing members) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele et al. (US 2018/0263654A1, “Steele”) in view of Stad et al. (US 2008/0086157A1, “Stad”).
Regarding claims 17-20, Steele discloses an elongated body (12; [0014]; Fig. 2) with proximal and distal ends and a longitudinal axis. A plurality of elongated members (26; [0015]; Fig. 2) extend from a circumference of the distal end and coupled to a circumference of a coupling member (34; Fig. 2). A first configuration (Fig. 1D) where the plurality of elongated members extend substantially parallel with the longitudinal axis and a second configuration wherein the elongated members extend laterally from the elongated body (Fig. 4). An inflatable member (39; [0017]; Fig. 4) is positioned within the elongated members and is capable of moving the elongated member laterally away from the first configuration to the second configuration when inflated. However, Steele does not disclose that at least one of the plurality of elongated members include at least one incision portion.
In the same field of endeavor, tissue removal devices, Stad discloses an elongated body (12’ [0028]; Fig. 1) with proximal and distal ends and a longitudinal axis. A plurality of elongated members (20; [0030]) extend from a circumference of the distal end and coupled to a circumference of a coupling member (22; [0035]; Fig. 1C). At least one of the plurality of elongated members include at least one incision portion (at least one sharpened edge or cutting element; [0034]). A first configuration (Fig. 1D) where the plurality of elongated members extend substantially parallel with the longitudinal axis and a second configuration (Fig. 1C) where at least one of the plurality of elongated members includes the at least one incision portion extending laterally from the elongated body. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided at least one of the plurality of elongated members of Steele with at least one incision portion, as taught by Stad, to provide means for selecting incision portion geometry most advantageous dependent on the type of cutting motion desired.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Steele and Stad discloses that the coupling member is reversibly translatable from the distal end along the longitudinal axis causing the plurality of elongate members including at least one incision portion to extend laterally [0035; Stad, Fig. 4; Steele].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Steele and Stad discloses an actuator member (14; [0035]; Stad) extending from a center of the distal end and coupled to a center of the coupling member (Fig. 1C; [0035]) such that translation of the actuator member translates the coupling member proximally to the distal end of the elongated body causing the at least one incision portion to extend laterally beyond an outer diameter of the elongated body. The at least one incision member is configured to receive and to cut pericardial tissue [0034]. At least one of the plurality of elongated members extend beyond an outer diameter of the elongated body and is capable of engaging pericardial tissue (Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Steele and Stad discloses the at least one incision portion extends laterally beyond an outer diameter of the elongated body and at least one of the plurality of elongated members extend beyond an outer diameter of the elongated body providing stabilization of the elongated body (Fig. 1C; [0034]; Stad, Fig. 4, Steele).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12-16 are allowed.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an elongated body including a U-shaped notch that includes a wall surface extending from a surface of the elongated body and an upper extension extending from the wall surface, an incision member located in the U-shaped notch and extending from the elongated body toward an extension of the U-shaped notch at an angle, the incision member is generally planar and extends from a center of a width of the wall surface, at least a portion of the wall surface tapers away from at least one side of the incision member, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an elongated body including a U-shaped notch that includes a wall surface extending from a surface of the elongated body and an upper extension extending from the wall surface, an incision member located in the U-shaped notch and extending from the elongated body toward an extension of the U-shaped notch at an angle, the incision member is generally planar and extends from a center of a width of the wall surface, at least a portion of the wall surface tapers away from at least one side of the incision member, and stabilizing members located on an opposite side of the elongated body from the U-shaped notch, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-10 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. McPeak (US 10,478,213) disclose a device capable of transecting tissue, the device including a plurality of elongated members at the end of an elongated body.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771