DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is noted that no Information Disclosure Statement has been filed.
No IDS has been received for this application. Applicants are reminded of the Duty to Disclose, from section 2001 of the MPEP (emphasis added). MPEP 2001 Duty of Disclosure, Candor, and Good Faith [R-08.2012] 37 C.F.R. 1.56 Duty to disclose information material to patentability.
(a) A patent by its very nature is affected with a public interest. The public interest is best served, and the most effective patent examination occurs when, at the time an application is being examined, the Office is aware of and evaluates the teachings of all information material to patentability. Each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of a patent application has a duty of candor and good faith in dealing with the Office, which includes a duty to disclose to the Office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability as defined in this section.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: it does not end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitt (20220121502), and further in view of Rangwala (20130073552).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 20, Schmitt teaches A method comprising: / One or more computer readable non-transitory media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause: / A computing device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory including instructions that, when executed with the one or more processors, cause the computing device to, at least (abstract, par.72-75):
providing, via a user interface, capability for a customer to create a data center in a tenancy of the customer in a cloud environment, wherein the data center comprises a plurality of types of clusters, each type of cluster being configurable with respect to a number of host machines that are to be hosted by the type of cluster (par.72-76, creating data centers according to clusters of different services/hardware);
receiving, via the user interface, a first request from the customer, the first request including information identifying a first number of each type of cluster of the plurality of types of clusters that is to be included in the data center (par.75-79, base offering, with growth/shrink rules), and
a second number corresponding to a count of host machines to be included in each type of cluster deployed in the data center (par.86-88); and
provisioning the first request by deploying the data center in the tenancy of the customer in the cloud environment (fig.15, par.88-92, fig.17A, par.98-113).
Schmitt does not expressly disclose, however, Rangwala teaches requests including metadata identifying a first number of each type of cluster (par.38-47).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schmitt to use clustering as taught by Rangwala.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to provides additional means of efficient management of clusters (Rangwala, par.1-3, 17-25, 35-50).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Schmitt / Rangwala teaches wherein the plurality of types of clusters include: (i) a first type of cluster comprising a first type of host machines deployed therein, (ii) a second type of cluster comprising a second type of host machines deployed therein, (iii) a third type of cluster comprising a combination of the first type of host machines and the second type of host machines deployed therein, and (iv) a fourth type of cluster comprising a fourth type of host machines deployed therein (Schmitt, par.75-80).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Schmitt / Rangwala teaches wherein the first type of host machines correspond to dense bare metal host machines and the second type of host machines correspond to standard bare metal host machines (Schmitt, par.75-80).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Schmitt / Rangwala teaches wherein the fourth type of cluster comprises graphical processing units (Schmitt, par.75-80).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Schmitt / Rangwala teaches wherein each host machine of the first type of host machines includes an internal non-volatile memory, and each host machine of the second type of host machines does not include an internal non-volatile memory (Schmitt, par.75-80).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Schmitt / Rangwala teaches wherein a total number of types of clusters deployed in the tenancy of the customer in the cloud environment is less than equal to a threshold number of clusters (Schmitt, par.86-90).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Schmitt / Rangwala teaches receiving, via the user interface, a second request, wherein the second request indicates that the count of host machines included in a first type of cluster deployed in the data center is to be increased; and verifying whether a condition associated with the first type of cluster is satisfied, and responsive to the condition being successfully satisfied, deploying additional host machines in the first type of cluster to provision the second request (Schmitt, fig.17B, par.77-80, 95-97, 118-132).
Regarding claim 8, Schmitt / Rangwala teaches wherein the condition associated with the first type of cluster corresponds to determining whether the count of host machines included in the first type of cluster is less than equal to a threshold number of host machines (Schmitt, par.75-80).
Regarding claim 9, Schmitt / Rangwala teaches deploying one or more block volume storage units in the tenancy of the customer in the cloud environment; associating the one or more block volume storage units to each host machine included in at least one type of cluster deployed in the tenancy of the customer in the cloud environment (Schmitt, par.31-35, 53-63).
Regarding claim 10, Schmitt / Rangwala teaches wherein the one or more block volume storage units and the plurality of types of clusters deployed in the tenancy of the customer in the cloud environment are independently configurable (Schmitt, par.31-35, 53-63).
Regarding claim 11, Schmitt / Rangwala teaches receiving a third request requesting deletion of at least one type of cluster deployed in the tenancy of the customer in the cloud environment; and provisioning the third request by executing a deletion operation of the at least one type of cluster (Schmitt, par.75-79).
Regarding claim 12, Schmitt / Rangwala teaches instantiating a management controller in the tenancy of the customer in the cloud environment, wherein the management controller is configured to monitor and execute operations associated with all types of clusters deployed in the tenancy of the customer (Schmitt, par.75-79).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining references put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed to managing clusters in data center environments.
Nair (20230008011) teaches implementations of cluster capacity management for infrastructure updates. In some examples, cluster hosts for a cluster can be scheduled for an update. A component of a datacenter level resource scheduler can analyze cluster specific resource usage data to identify a cluster scaling decision for the cluster. The datacenter level resource scheduler transmits an indication that the resource scheduler is successfully invoked. Cluster hosts can then be updated.
Bonnal (20220121467) teaches a system for managing the computing resources of a cloud computing platform comprising a plurality of Virtual Machine (VM) clusters each comprising a plurality of Virtual Machine (VM) instances, each configured to run at least one software application instance. The system comprises a monitoring module configured for determining a resource utilisation value for each VM instance and an elasticity module configured for adjusting the number of VM instances and/or software application instances in the VM cluster. The monitoring module is configured to determine, based on the user requests received at the communication interface, a cluster resource utilisation value, which is used by the elasticity module to adjust the number of VM instances and/or software application instances to maintain the resource utilisation value of each VM instance within the target value range.
Shepherd (20210311762) teaches virtualized computing system includes: a host cluster having hosts and a virtualization layer executing on hardware platforms of the hosts, the virtualization layer supporting execution of virtual machines (VMs); an orchestration control plane integrated with the virtualization layer, the orchestration control plane including a master server executing in a first VM of the VMs; guest cluster infrastructure software (GCIS) executing in the master server, the GCIS configured to create a set of objects defining a container orchestration cluster, and manage lifecycles of second VMs of the VMs based on state of the set of objects; and guest software executing in the second VMs to implement the container orchestration cluster as a guest cluster of the host cluster, the guest software having components that interface with the GCIS.
Kottapalli (20200233715) teaches dynamically provisioning and/or deprovisioning physical hosts in a hyperconverged infrastructure based on cluster priority in hyperconverged infrastructures are disclosed. In one embodiment, a user maps physical hosts in a host pool to respective clusters in the hyperconverged infrastructure. Further the user sets one or more resource utilization threshold limits for each cluster by the user. A management cluster then periodically obtains resource utilization data at a cluster level for each cluster. The management cluster then dynamically provisions and/or deprovisions one or more physical hosts to one or more clusters in the hyperconverged infrastructure using the mapped physical hosts in the host pool based on the obtained resource utilization data and the set one or more resource utilization threshold limits.
Wu (20180307522) teaches a software-defined data center, and a deployment method for a service cluster therein. An SDN controller manages a cluster by using a shared IP address. The SDN controller obtains an online virtual machine event that is sent by an edge switch accessed by a new online virtual machine; obtains a MAC address of the new online virtual machine, and identifies the new online virtual machine; then identifies whether an IP address of the new online virtual machine is a shared IP address; and if the IP address of the new online virtual machine is the shared IP address, deploys the new online virtual machine to a service cluster corresponding to the shared IP address. The SDN controller automatically completes creation, capacity expansion of the service cluster, so that no manual intervention from a tenant is required, and tenant experience is good.
Krishnan (20180157511) teaches A number of hosts in a logical cluster is adjusted up or down in an elastic manner by tracking membership of hosts in the cluster using a first data structure and tracking membership of hosts in a spare pool using a second data structure, and upon determining that a triggering condition for adding another host is met and that all hosts in the cluster are being used, selecting a host from the spare pool, and programmatically adding an identifier of the selected host to the first data structure and programmatically deleting the identifier of the selected host from the second data structure.
Mallipeddi (20140149590) teaches a system including a plurality of server tiers. In one embodiment, a first set of performance information is collected for a base allocation of computing resources across multiple server tiers in the plurality of sever tiers for a set of workloads. A set of experimental allocations of the computing resources is generated on a tier-by-tier basis. Each of the set of experimental allocations varies the computing resources allocated by the base allocation for a single server tier of the multiple server tiers. A second set of performance information associated with the single server tier for each of the set of experimental allocations is collected for a plurality of workloads. At least one performance characteristic of at least one candidate allocation of computing resources across the multiple server tiers is predicted for a given workload based on the first and second sets of performance information.
Rider (20110172203) teaches methods, system and apparatus for configuring a cluster using a plurality of hosts include identifying a plurality of features for forming the cluster. The plurality of features define requirements needed in a host for forming the cluster. A plurality of hosts are identified to be part of the cluster. A compatibility analysis is executed for each of the identified hosts. A plurality of suggested adjustments to particular hosts are presented to enable the particular hosts to be compatible with the features requirements. A configuration template is constructed for the hosts in the cluster that are compatible with the requirements. The hosts are configured for the cluster using the configuration settings in the configuration template. The configured hosts enable the features in the cluster.
/David Garcia Cervetti/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409