DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 20080292272) in view of Lobo et al. (US 20160098136).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki discloses A method of information display comprising: determining a reception interval of characters based on a received first data packet comprising at least one character, the reception interval indicating a first time duration consumed by displaying a single character; determining a reference display interval for characters to be displayed in the first data packet based on the reception interval and a number of the characters to be displayed, the reference display interval indicating a second time duration consumed for displaying the single character (“[0338] Subsequently, based on the acquired number of characters KZn, the control unit 11 acquires the "caption changeover time" according to the number of characters KZn (step V13). For example, the control unit 11 acquires the "caption changeover time" by multiplying the number of characters KZn by a prescribed display time t per character. [0354] In the setting of the "caption changeover time" according to the application example 3-1, the "caption changeover time" of each caption line is acquired from the product of the display time t per character and the number of characters KZn in each caption line. [0398] According to the application example 3-1, the caption list is automatically scrolled according to the "caption changeover time" which is obtained by multiplying the "display time t per character" by the number of characters KZn in a caption line. Accordingly, as the number of characters in a caption line becomes greater, the time for displaying the caption line becomes longer, thus improving the user's convenience”); and
displaying at least a portion of the characters to be displayed based on the reference display interval (fig.34, “[0329] The control unit 11 displays a caption line corresponding to the displayed video image in the caption area MA (step S228). Further, the control unit 11 displays the caption list in the list area (step S229)”).
On the other hand, Yamazaki fails to explicitly disclose but Lobo discloses the reception interval indicating a first time duration consumed by receiving a single character (“[0017] the characters 23 are displayed one character at a time in a predetermined order and at a predetermined interval”. Claim 34, “The keyless entry system as claimed in claim 33 further comprising predetermined time interval that the processor generates and displays subsequent characters”. Therefore, in a case where the system has one character to be displayed, the processor generates and displays the character in a predetermined time interval. In other words, the character receiving (generating) interval is the same as the character displaying interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Yamazaki and Lobo, to include all limitations of claim 1. That is, applying the same predetermined time interval of Lobo to the prescribed display time t of Yamazaki. The motivation/ suggestion would have been to provide A keyless entry system having as single entry point display coupled to a processor that generates one or more characters to be displayed (Lobo, [0005]).
Regarding claim(s) 12, 20, they are interpreted and rejected for the similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Particularly, claims 12, 20 recite “An electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, causing the electronic device to perform acts” and “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer program executable by a processor to implement a method”.
Yamazaki further discloses “[0407] The conception of the present invention is not limited to a dedicated computer system, and may be adaptable to any portable electronic device having a contents recording/reproducing function, such as a PDA, electronic camera, electronic wrist watch, portable TV or car navigation system. That is, a computer program which permits a computer to function and operate as the cell phone 1 may be created, distributed, lent, or installed in a computer so that the computer may be used as the cell phone 1, or transferred or lent to someone or some entity”.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 20080292272) in view of Lobo et al. (US 20160098136), and further in view of Hynes (US 20160117299).
Regarding claim 9, Yamazaki in view of Lobo discloses The method of claim 1.
On the other hand, Yamazaki in view of Lobo fails to explicitly disclose but Hynes discloses in response to all characters in the first data packet being displayed, stopping the display of character; or in response to a remaining character to be displayed existing in the first data packet, re-determining the reference display interval based on the reception interval and a number of the remaining characters; and displaying at least a portion of the remaining characters based on the re-determined reference display interval (“[0214] After displaying the entered character string 1404 for the specified period of time, the electronic device ceases displaying the entered character string. For example, the electronic device automatically ceases displaying the entered character string in response to determining that the specified period of time has elapsed, without further user intervention. [0265] In some embodiments, after displaying the entered character string for a period of time, the processing unit 2010 is also configured to cease (e.g., with the ceasing unit 2016) displaying the entered character string”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Hynes, Yamazaki and Lobo, to include all limitations of claim 9. That is, applying ceasing the displaying of character string of Hynes to the first data packet of Lobo and Yamazaki. The motivation/ suggestion would have been to provide an improved user interface for displaying electronic messages including replacement character strings is needed (Hynes, [0005]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 20080292272) in view of Lobo et al. (US 20160098136), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20080167058).
Regarding claim 11, Yamazaki in view of Lobo discloses The method of claim 1.
On the other hand, Yamazaki in view of Lobo fails to explicitly disclose but Lee discloses wherein the first data packet is used as at least a portion of a reply to a user interaction message by a digital assistant (abstract, “Disclosed is a mobile communication terminal having a function for integrated management of SMS messages, which including the steps of: (a) allowing a user to input a text message through a text message editor and select one or more options for message transmission in order to input option data and message transmission settings; (b) sending the inputted text message to a counterpart terminal, and receiving a reply text message from the counterpart terminal”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Lee, Yamazaki and Lobo, to include all limitations of claim 11. That is, applying the method of Lobo and Yamazaki to the mobile communication terminal of Lee. The motivation/ suggestion would have been to provide a mobile communication terminal and method for outputting messages sent to or received from a counterpart terminal (Lee, [0008]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-8, 10, 13-19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, it recites, wherein displaying at least the portion of the characters to be displayed comprises: determining a current display mode for the characters to be displayed based on the reference display interval, the current display mode indicating a duration of a round of character display and a target number of characters displayed in the round of the character display; and displaying at least the portion of the characters to be displayed according to the current display mode. None of the prior arts on the record or any of the prior arts searched, alone or in combination, renders obvious the combination of elements recited in the claim(s) as a whole.
Regarding claim 6, it recites, in response to the first data packet being the first data packet received within a target time period, determining the reception interval based on a reference generation speed of the characters; or in response to the first data packet not being the first data packet received within the target time period, determining the reception interval based on a total number of characters received within the target time period and the reception time of the first data packet. None of the prior arts on the record or any of the prior arts searched, alone or in combination, renders obvious the combination of elements recited in the claim(s) as a whole.
Regarding claim 8, it recites, wherein determining the reference display interval comprises: determining the reference display interval based on the reception interval, the number of the characters to be displayed in the first data packet, and an adjustment parameter, the method further comprises: updating the adjustment parameter based on a statistical value of the duration and a statistical value of the number of the characters to be displayed. None of the prior arts on the record or any of the prior arts searched, alone or in combination, renders obvious the combination of elements recited in the claim(s) as a whole.
Regarding claim 10, it recites, in response to receiving a second data packet, updating the reception interval based on the second data packet; re-determining the reference display interval based on the updated reception interval and the number of the characters to be displayed in the second data packet; and displaying at least the portion of the characters to be displayed in the second data packet based on the re-determined reference display interval. None of the prior arts on the record or any of the prior arts searched, alone or in combination, renders obvious the combination of elements recited in the claim(s) as a whole.
Regarding claims 13, 17, 19, they are interpreted and allowed under similar rationale set forth in claims 2, 6, 8, respectively.
Conclusion
/GRACE Q LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618 9/16/2026