DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 reads “dub” instead of –hub--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 discloses that the rim defines a t-shaped cross sectional area. This is unclear since “t-shaped” is not limited to a single shape (upper case, lower case, varying fonts, etc. (T, t, T, t, T, t). The claims will be examined as best understood, however clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berg et al. (8,291,998).
Regarding claims 1 and 8-11 and 15, Berg et al. discloses a closing wheel comprising:
A hub (4) including:
An outer circumferential hub surface (outer surface of element 5 – Figure 5) extending a width between a first hub edge and a second hub edge, the first hub edge defining an outer hub diameter
A channel defined by and recessed into the outer circumferential hub surface
A rim (14) configured to couple to the hub within the circumferential channel, the rim comprising:
A coupling portion configured to extend into the circumferential channel
A contact portion extending outward from the coupling portion between a first contact edge and a second contact edge, the contact portion defining:
An outer circumferential wheel/rim surface extending at least the width and between the first contact edge and the second contact edge (angled front/rear surfaces from surface 46 to surface 48)
An outer rim diameter (at apex 50) greater than the outer hub diameter
Repeating teeth (50) extending radially outward from the outer circumferential rim surface
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Outer circumferential wheel/rim surface)]
Regarding claim 3, Berg disclose that the rim comprises a retaining feature (22,24) configured to interface with the hub (at the outer circumferential hub surface) to resist a movement of the rim relative to the hub.
Regarding claim 4, the contact portion defines an inner surface (30) configured to contact the outer circumferential hub surface.
Regarding claim 7, Berg disclose that the width is a first width (full width), and the channel includes a second width smaller than the first width and the coupling portion includes a third width substantially the same as the second width (Figure 5).
Regarding claims 12 and 15, the coupling portion includes a coupling width less than the width (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 13, the channel includes a channel width substantially the same as the coupling width (Figure 5).
Regarding claims 14 and 19, the repeating teeth are configured to disturb soil to close a seed furrow when the rim is coupled to an agricultural trailing arm assembly.
Regarding claim 17, the contact portion is disposed between the coupling portion and the repeating teeth (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 18, the contact portion extends perpendicular to the coupling portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg et al. (8,291,998) in view of Swanson (7,810,580).
Regarding claim 2, Berg discloses the invention as described above including that the rim defines a central longitudinal axis but fails to specifically disclose that the rim defines a t-shaped cross section. Like Berg, Swanson also discloses an agricultural disc/hub with a channel for receiving a rim element. Unlike Berg, Swanson discloses that the rim possesses a t-shaped cross section (Figures 6, 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a t-shaped cross section in Berg as taught by Swanson as it would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)) since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg et al. (8,291,998) in view of Martindale (6,854,525).
Regarding claims 5-6, Berg discloses the invention as described above including a retaining feature (22,24) that prevents movement of the rim relative to the hub, but fails to disclose that the retaining feature includes elements on both the hub and the rim. Like Berg, Martindale also discloses a disc comprising a hub and rim elements received by the hub. Unlike Berg, Martindale discloses key/keyway type ridges/elements (230, 430) for maintaining the rim elements in the desired place along the hub. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize retaining features on both the hub and the rim to ensure the elements do not move with respect to one another as the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Whalen (10,462,959) also discloses a hub with a rim for a closing wheel.
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671