DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Application 18/954,350 filed on 11/20/2024.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made Non-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byun (US 2016/0147429), published on May 26, 2016.
Regarding claim 1, Byun discloses a method for presenting content (pars. 0024-0025 and 0072-0077; Figs. 1-2 and 6-7), comprising:
presenting first content in a target presentation area of a target page (pars. 0024-0025 and 0071-0077; Figs. 1A-1B; displaying first content on window w11);
in response to an instruction for presenting second content, obtaining the second content (pars. 0024-0025 and 0071-0077; Figs. 1A-1B; displaying text and image on window w12);
determining whether a size of the second content matches a size of the target presentation area (pars. 0024-0025, 0071-0077 and 0109-0100; Figs. 1A-1B, 2 and 6-7, step S601; device 100 determines if the size of the object is less than the size of target window; see also Fig. 2, step S103:‘acquire size of object included in determined partial area’ and step S104: ‘resize and display target window based on size of object’);
in response to the size of the second content not matching the size of the target presentation area, stretching the target presentation area (pars. 0024-0025 and 0071-0077; Figs. 1A-1B, 2 and 6-7, step S602; enlarge size of target window and display content within enlarged target window w12-1; see also Fig. 2, step S103 and S014); and
presenting the second content in the stretched target presentation area (pars. 0024-0025, 0071-0077 and 0109-0100; Figs. 1A-1B, 2 and 6-7; window 12-1; displaying content within enlarged window 12-1; see also pars. 0111-0113).
Regarding claim 10, Byun discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein presenting the second content in the stretched target presentation area comprises:
displaying the second content centered in the stretched target presentation area, and filling the stretched target presentation area (pars. 0024-0025, 0071-0077 and 0109-0100; Figs. 1A-1B, 2 and 6-7; window 12-1; displaying content within enlarged window 12-1; see also pars. 0111-0113).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is directed to a computer device corresponding to the method recited in claim 1. Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 1. Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 2016/0147429), published on May 26, 2016, in view of Cheng et al. (“Cheng,” US 2017/0185824), published on Jun. 29, 2017.
Regarding claim 2, Byun discloses the method according to claim 1.
Byun discloses determining a ratio for resizing the target window (pars. 0021-0023) as recited above but does not explicitly disclose wherein determining whether the size of the second content matches the size of the target presentation area comprises determining whether a length-width ratio of the second content matches a length-width ratio of the target presentation area.
However, Cheng discloses a system/method for displaying face image, wherein determining whether the size of the second content matches the size of the target presentation area comprises determining whether a length-width ratio of the second content matches a length-width ratio of the target presentation area (Cheng: par. 0046; Figs. 3, 9 and 11-14; when the first feature region image I2 is different from the length-width ratio of the display area of the display unit 120, the image processing unit 110 adjusts the length-width ratio of the first feature region image I2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Cheng with the system/method of Byun. One would have been motivated to appropriately enlarge the feature image display region to properly display captured face image (Cheng: par. 0046).
Regarding claim 3, Byun and Cheng disclose the method according to claim 2.
The combination of Byun and Cheng further discloses in response to the length-width ratio of the second content being less than the length-width ratio of the target presentation area, stretching the target presentation area in a width direction (Byun: pars. 0021-0025 and 0071-0077; Figs. 1A-1B, 2 and 6-7, step S602; Cheng: pars. 0046 and 0072; the image processing unit 110 recalculates the new width of the first feature region image I2 according to a ratio between the original width of the first feature region image I2 and the width of the image display of the display unit 120).
The motivation is the same as that of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, Byun and Cheng disclose the method according to claim 3.
The combination of Byun and Cheng further discloses wherein stretching the target presentation area in the width direction comprises stretching the target presentation area upward in the width direction by a first distance, and stretching the target presentation area downward in the width direction by a second distance (Byun: pars. 0021-0025 and 0071-0077; Figs. 1A-1B, 2 and 6-7, step S602; Cheng: pars. 0046 and 0072; the image processing unit 110 recalculates the new width of the first feature region image I2 according to a ratio between the original width of the first feature region image I2 and the width of the image display of the display unit 120).
The motivation is the same as that of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, Byun discloses the method according to claim 1.
Byun does not explicitly disclose moving the stretched target presentation area to the middle of a content area of the target page.
However, Cheng discloses a system/method for displaying face image including the step of moving the stretched target presentation area to the middle of a content area of the target page (Cheng: pars. 0046 and 0072; Figs. 3, 9 and 11-14; the system adjusts to align center of the display area and the face of each image and displays image in a specific proportion of the display area of the display unit 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Cheng with the system/method of Byun. One would have been motivated to appropriately enlarge the feature image display region to properly display captured face image (Cheng: par. 0046).
Regarding claim 6, Byun and Cheng disclose the method according to claim 5.
The combination of Byun and Cheng further discloses wherein moving the stretched target presentation area to the middle of the content area of the target page comprises:
determining center coordinates of the content area (Byun: pars. 0015, 0030 and 0052; the center area corresponding to the threshold percentage may be an area that extends from the center of the target window by a quarter of the entire size of the target window; Cheng: pars. 0045-0046 and 0072; Figs. 3, 9 and 11-14; the system adjusts to align center of the display area and the face of each image and displays image in a specific proportion of the display area of the display unit 120);
determining a center position of the stretched target presentation area (Byun: pars. 0015, 0030 and 0052; the center area corresponding to the threshold percentage may be an area that extends from the center of the target window by a quarter of the entire size of the target window; Cheng: pars. 0045-0046 and 0072; Figs. 3, 9 and 11-14; the system adjusts to align center of the display area and the face of each image and displays image in a specific proportion of the display area of the display unit 120); and
aligning the center position of the stretched target presentation area with the center coordinates of the content area (Byun: pars. 0015, 0030 and 0052; the center area corresponding to the threshold percentage may be an area that extends from the center of the target window by a quarter of the entire size of the target window; Cheng: pars. 0045-0046 and 0072; Figs. 3, 9 and 11-14; the system adjusts to align center of the display area and the face of each image and displays image in a specific proportion of the display area of the display unit 120).
The motivation is the same as that of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 7, Byun and Cheng disclose the method according to claim 4.
The combination of Byun and Chen further discloses wherein after stretching the target presentation area, the method further comprises:
in response to the stretched target presentation area exceeding a content area of the target page, moving the stretched target presentation area to the middle of the content area of the target page (Byun: pars. 0021-0025 and 0071-0077; Figs. 1A-1B, 2 and 6-7, step S602; Cheng: pars. 0046 and 0072; the system adjusts to align center of the display area and the face of each image and displays image in a specific proportion of the display area of the display unit 120).
The motivation is the same as that of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 8, Byun discloses the method according to claim 1.
Byun discloses determining a ratio for resizing the target window (pars. 0021-0023) as recited above but does not explicitly disclose determining a relationship between a length-width ratio of the second content and a length-width ratio of the stretched target presentation area.
However, Cheng discloses a system/method for displaying face image including the steps of determining a relationship between a length-width ratio of the second content and a length-width ratio of the stretched target presentation area (Cheng: par. 0046; Figs. 3, 9 and 11-14; when the first feature region image I2 is different from the length-width ratio of the display area of the display unit 120, the image processing unit 110 adjusts the length-width ratio of the first feature region image I2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Cheng with the system/method of Byun. One would have been motivated to appropriately enlarge the feature image display region to properly display captured face image (Cheng: par. 0046).
The combination of Byun and Cheng further discloses:
in response to the length-width ratio of the second content being less than the length-width ratio of the stretched target presentation area, displaying the second content centered in the stretched target presentation area, and filling the stretched target presentation area in a width direction (Byun: pars. 0024-0025, 0071-0077 and 0109-0100; Figs. 1A-1B, 2 and 6-7; window 12-1; displaying content within enlarged window 12-1; see also pars. 0111-0113; Cheng: pars. 0045-0046; the image processing unit 110 adjusts the length-width ratio of the first feature region image I2 and displays image within region image I2);
in response to the length-width ratio of the second content being greater than the length-width ratio of the stretched target presentation area, displaying the second content centered in the stretched target presentation area, and filling the stretched target presentation area in a length direction (Byun: pars. 0024-0025, 0071-0077 and 0109-0100; Figs. 1A-1B, 2 and 6-7; window 12-1; displaying content within enlarged window 12-1; see also pars. 0111-0113; Cheng: pars. 0045-0046; the image processing unit 110 adjusts the length-width ratio of the first feature region image I2 and displays image within region image I2); and
in response to the length-width ratio of the second content being equal to the length-width ratio of the stretched target presentation area, filling the stretched target presentation area with the second content (Byun: pars. 0024-0025, 0071-0077 and 0109-0100; Figs. 1A-1B, 2 and 6-7; window 12-1; displaying content within enlarged window 12-1; see also pars. 0111-0113; Cheng: pars. 0045-0046; the image processing unit 110 adjusts the length-width ratio of the first feature region image I2 and displays image within region image I2).
The motivation is the same as that of recited above.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is directed to a computer device corresponding to the method recited in claim 2. Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 2 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is directed to a computer device corresponding to the method recited in claim 3. Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 3 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is directed to a computer device corresponding to the method recited in claim 4. Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 4 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is directed to a computer device corresponding to the method recited in claim 5. Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 5 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is directed to a computer device corresponding to the method recited in claim 6. Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 6 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is directed to a computer device corresponding to the method recited in claim 7. Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 7 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is directed to a computer device corresponding to the method recited in claim 8. Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 8 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (US 2016/0147429), published on May 26, 2016, in view of Cheng et al. (“Cheng,” US 2017/0185824), published on Jun. 29, 2017, and further in view of Liang (US 2016/0062611), published on Mar. 03, 2016.
Regarding claim 9, Byun and Cheng disclose the method according to claim 8.
Byun and Chen do not explicitly disclose wherein presenting the second content in the stretched target presentation area further comprises: performing fuzzing processing on an area in the stretched target presentation area in which the second content is not presented.
However, Liang discloses a system/method for displaying image including the steps of performing fuzzing processing on an area in the stretched target presentation area in which the second content is not presented (Liang: pars. 0020 and 0188; filling a background filling color that is identical to or similar to a background color of the image around the image such that the form or the shape of the filled image is consistent with the form or the preset shape of contact avatar).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Liang with the system/method of Byun and Cheng. One would have been motivated to fill the stretched display area similar to background color of the image so that the filled image is consistent with form or preset shape of the image (Liang: par. 0188).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is directed to a computer device corresponding to the method recited in claim 9. Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 9 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968))
Inquiries
/LINH K PHAM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2174