DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Donato et al. (U.S. 20220390255 A1) in view of Burgett et al. (U.S. 2020/0273150 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Donato discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device from a mapping server (Donato, Fig. 1, [0057] “The navigation application 104 can then process the map data received from the map server presented on the display of the user device 102” Donato teaches receiving by a computing device 102 from a map server, a first map tile and a second map tile, each of the first map tile and the second map tile representing a portion of a geographic region adjacent to each other (Donato, [0062] “electronic map data 122 comprises a plurality of map tiles. Each map tile may correspond to a portion or sub-region of a geographic map” and [0063] “A geographic map area may be divided into grid, e.g. squares, where each tile corresponds to a block within the grid” and [0071] “the map server 122 may access the map tiles 328 generated, as described in FIG. 3” Donato teaches generating map tiles, each map tile may correspond to a portion as a square/block in a geographic region and including a first map tile and a second map tile adjacent to each other (the map tiles 328, Fig. 3), wherein:
the first map tile includes a first subset of vertices of a first map feature having a first geometric base (Donato, [0025] “identifying one or more features from each of the plurality of raw map tiles…The creating comprises computing an aggregate of number of vertices in shapes of features in a raw map tile” and [0071] “map features in a map tile may include applying to generate geometric data corresponding to a single unified geometric shape” Donato teaches the map tile e.g., the first map tile includes a 1st subset of vertices (number of vertices) of map features (1st map feature) in a map tile having a first geometric base (generate a single unified geometry shape), and
the second map tile includes a second subset of vertices of a second map feature having a second geometric base (Donato, [0025] “identifying one or more features from each of the plurality of raw map tiles…The creating comprises computing an aggregate of number of vertices in shapes of features in a raw map tile” and [0071] “map features in a map tile may include applying to generate geometric data corresponding to a single unified geometric shape” Donato teaches the map tile e.g., the first map tile includes a 2nd subset of vertices (number of vertices) of map features (2nd map feature) in a map tile having a second geometric base (generate a single unified geometry shape), and ;
receiving, by the computing device from a mapping service, terrain data describing elevation values corresponding to ground points on the first map tile and the second map tile (Donato, [0028] “The raw digital map data may include terrain data” and [0095] “If the map server 122 serves this elevation map data to a client device (e.g., the user device 102)” and [0084] “retrieves elevation data from an elevation database corresponding to the map tile, to determine a ground plane elevation of the map tile based on the retrieved elevation data” and [0067] “The elevation of each location on the map tile may be estimated to be a constant value” Donato teaches receiving (retrieving) by the client device from a mapping service (a elevation map data), terrain data, elevation value (a constant value) corresponding to a ground plane elevation (a ground points) on the map tiles (1st and 2nd map tiles).
determining the first map feature and the second map feature are a same map feature based on proximity of the vertices along a boundary between the first map tile and the second map tile (Donato, [0071] “the map server 122 may access the map tiles 328 generated, as described in FIG. 3” and Fig. 4 [0073] “The map server 122 may take the boundary polygon 404 and compute the 2D Delaunay Triangulation of all vertices 408 from the boundary polygon 404 ” and [0084] “at block 504, the map server 122 determining a triangulation for the boundary polygon based on the set of candidate points. The set of candidate points may include a set of vertices on the boundary polygon and also may include points that are located within the plurality of triangles” Donato teaches determining the first map feature and the second map feature are a same map feature (triangles, Fig. 3, 4) based on proximity of the vertices (408) along a boundary (Fig. 4) between the 1st and 2nd map tile (Fig. 3, map tiles 328);
identifying a sample point on the map feature (Donato, Fig. 6, [0101] the map server 122 can calculate the distance between anomalous raster point 628 and anomalous raster point 632” Donato teaches identify a sample point (raster point 628, 632) on the map feature (Fig. 6);
determining an elevation value of a top surface of the map feature at the sample point (Donato, Fig. 6, [0102] Using the elevation of raster point 632 as the maximum elevation (ME), the map server 122 can calculate an elevation for each of the intermediate points” Donato teaches determining an elevation value (a maximum elevation, MD) of a top surface of the map feature at the sample point (the raster point 632, Fig. 6);
rendering the map feature across the first map tile and the second map tile based on the ground elevation values for the vertices in the first subset and the second subset and the elevation value of the top surface of the map feature (Donato, [0095] “FIG. 6, renders an elevation map based on this combined elevation data, the rendered map may include visible anomalies (e.g., artificial cliffs) corresponding to the elevation discrepancies” and [0102] “Using the elevation of raster point 632 as the maximum elevation (ME), the map server 122 can calculate an elevation for each of the intermediate points… The map server 122 can connect anomalous raster points 628, 632 and intermediate raster points 634, 636, 638 using a smoothing function to create a natural looking slope down from raster point 632 to raster point 628” Donato teaches rendering the map feature (e.g., artificial cliffs 630, Fig. 6) across the first map tile (tile of dry land elevation data 622) as a top surface of the map future and the second map tile (tile of water elevation data 624) as the ground surface of the map future based on the values of vertices (raster points 632 (top), 628 (ground), 638, 636, 634 (intermediate) in the 1st subset and 2nd subset (Fig. 6);
However, Donato does not explicitly teach a first height value; a second height value;
wherein the map feature is rendered in three dimensions with a continuous top surface and vertical edges spanning between the top surface and the ground;
Brugett teaches a first height value (Burgett, Fig. 5, [0073] “The map tile includes locations associated with the oblique image 510” and [0081] “FIG. 9 is an example of a set of oblique images and a corresponding portion of a map. Each oblique image of the set of oblique images depicts a different perspective of one or more features located at the geographic coordinates corresponding to the map tile and is captured by a different oblique camera, taking photographs at different positions” and [0083] “in FIG. 10, the feature 1020 is a building. In order to estimate the height of the feature 1020, the height estimation module 350 receives, as a first input, a first pixel on the oblique image 1010 corresponding to a base point 1022 of the feature 1020” Burgett teaches a first height value as a first input of a first oblique image 912 (referred to as a first feature/building is located at first position/coordinate corresponding to the map tile).
a second height value (Burgett, [0015] “FIG. 9 is an example of a set of oblique images and a corresponding portion of a map” and [0081] “FIG. 9 is an example of a set of oblique images and a corresponding portion of a map. Each oblique image of the set of oblique images depicts a different perspective of one or more features located at the geographic coordinates corresponding to the map tile and is captured by a different oblique camera, taking photographs at different positions” and [0083] “in FIG. 10, the feature 1020 is a building. In order to estimate the height of the feature 1020, the height estimation module 350 receives, as a first input, a first pixel on the oblique image 1010 corresponding to a base point 1022 of the feature 1020” Burgett teaches a second height value as a second input of a second oblique image 914 (referred to as a second feature/building is located at second position/coordinate corresponding to the map tile) and the first position is different than the second position.
wherein the map feature is rendered in three dimensions with a continuous top surface and vertical edges spanning between the top surface and the ground (Brugett, [0038] “computer to obtain digital map tiles, layer data, oblique images, that can form the basis of visually rendering a map and/or oblique images as part of the application 122” and [0083] “in FIG. 10, the feature 1020 is a building, the height estimation module 350 receives, as a first input, a first pixel on the oblique image 1010 corresponding to a base point 1022 of the feature 1020 and receives, as a second input, a second pixel on the oblique image 1010 corresponding to a top point 1024 of the feature 1020” and Fig. 11, [0086] “The ground intersection point 1130 is defined as a location where a line from the oblique camera 1110 passing through the feature top point 1024 intersects the ground plane 1150 of the map tile. The geographic coordinates associated with the pixel corresponding to the top point 1024 by the oblique tile module 305” Brugett the map feature is rendered in 3D (Fig. 10) with a continuous top surface (Top point 1024) and vertical edges (height of feature) spanning between the top surface and the ground (Base point 1022).
Donato and Burgett are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, system and method for image processing and try to solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made for modifying the method of Donato to combine with the height value (as taught by Burgett) in order to include the first and second the height vales because Burgett can provide a first/second height value as a first/second input of a first/second oblique image (Burgett, [0015], [0073], [0083]). Doing so, it may provide updating at any suitable interval, and may include additional information beyond those derived from the electronic map source data 122 (Burgett, [0031]).
Regarding Claim 2, the method of claim 1, Donato does not explicitly teach wherein the sample point corresponds to a center point of the geometric base of the map feature.
However, Burgett teaches wherein the sample point corresponds to a center point of the geometric base of the map feature (Burgett, Fig. 5, [0062] “Each pixel has a set of pixel coordinates describing the location of a pixel 512 with respect to the center of the oblique image 518. The pixel coordinates include a vertical pixel coordinate 514 and a horizontal pixel coordinate 516” Burgett teaches the selected sample point (a pixel) corresponds to the center point of the geometric base of the map feature (518, Fig. 5).
Donato and Burgett are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, a combination of Donato and Burgett discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the first map feature and the second map feature are the same map feature based on proximity comprises:
determining distances between vertices of the first subset and vertices of the second subset along the boundary (Donato, Fig. 6, [0101] “the map server 122 can calculate the distance from all anomalies in a small area (e.g., 100 m radius) around the anomalous raster point, the map server 122 can calculate the distance between anomalous raster point 628 and anomalous raster point 632” Donato teaches determining (calculating) the distance between vertices of the first subset (raster point 632, top elevation of the artificial cliff 630) and vertices of the second subset (raster point 628, bottom elevation of the artificial cliff) along the boundary (630), Fig. 6; and
responsive to determining that the distances are below a predetermined threshold, determining the first map feature and the second map feature as the same map (Donato, [0099] “to reduce the number of anomalous raster points that the map server 122 needs to process, the map server 122 can merge anomalous raster points that are within a threshold distance of each other (e.g., a buffer criterion). To do so, the map server 122 can create a buffer 614 a distance (e.g., 100 m, 75 m, 50 m) around an anomalous raster point. The map server 122 can then combine all of the anomalous raster points that fall within the buffer 614 (e.g., buffer points) into a single geometry (e.g., polygon) representing the anomalies” Donato teaches responsive to the number of anomalous raster points the map server 122 can merge anomalous raster points that are within a threshold distance of each other and the distances between raster points are below a predetermined threshold distance and the first map future and the second map future as the same map (e.g., polygon).
Regarding Claim 4, the method of claim 1, Donato does not explicitly teach wherein the map feature is a building, and wherein a top surface graphical component represents a rooftop of the building.
However, Burgett teaches the map feature is a building, and wherein a top surface graphical component represents a rooftop of the building (Burgett, Fig. 10 shows the map feature is a building (1020) and the graphical element of the top surface represents a rooftop of building at feature top point 1024.
Donato and Burgett are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, the method of claim 1, Donato does not explicitly teach further comprising:
receiving updates to one or more of the first map tile, the second map tile, and the terrain data; and
re-rendering the map feature based on the updated data, wherein the re-rendered map feature maintains a continuous top surface across the boundary.
However, Burgett teaches receiving updates to one or more of the first map tile, the second map tile, and the terrain data ([0031] “The electronic data 146 includes…an oblique image and to the associated map tile. Electronic map data 146 may be updated at any suitable interval” and [0076] “the GUI engine 320 displays, an oblique image 710 and a map portion 720 corresponding to a map tile that has been associated with the oblique image 710, an image of feature 712 of the geographic region at a location 722 on the portion of the map 720, a feature 712 is a building” Burgett teaches receiving up to the first map tile (a map portion 720 corresponding to a map tile) and the terrain data (location of Feature on Map 722, a feature 712 is a building); and
re-rendering the map feature based on the updated data, wherein the re-rendered map feature maintains a continuous top surface across the boundary (Burgett, [0038] “other data that can form the basis of visually rending a map and/or oblique images as part of the application 122” and [0078] “in FIG. 8. A location of a feature 822 on the rotated map view 820 correspond to the location of the feature 812 in the oblique image 810” and [0083] “FIG. 10, the height estimation module 350 receives, as a first input, a first pixel on the oblique image 1010 corresponding to a base point 1022 of the feature 1020, the computer vision model may be trained to identify buildings in an oblique image and generate the inputs for the base point 1022 and the top point 1024 of the building” Burgett teaches re-rendering the map feature (Feature 712, Fig. 7) based on the updated data (location of feature on map 722/822, map tile 720) and the re-rendered map feature (feature 1020) maintains a continuous top surface across the boundary (base point 1022, top point 1024, Fig. 10).
Donato and Burgett are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, the method of claim 1, Donato does not explicitly teach wherein the elevation value of the top surface at the sample point is determined based on: a ground elevation value at the sample point; and an average height value determined based on the first height value and the second height value.
However, Burgett teaches the elevation value of the top surface at the sample point is determined based on: a ground elevation value at the sample point; and an average height value determined based on the first height value and the second height value (Burgett, [0085] “FIG. 11 showing the estimation of the height of the feature of the oblique image shown in FIG. 10, estimate the height of the feature 1020 based on the retrieved elevation data and the oblique tile. The height estimation module 350 determines the elevation of the oblique camera 1110 based on the spatial position of the oblique camera 1110 (included in the oblique camera parameters) and the ground plane elevation of the map tile” and [0087] “the ratio of D1 to the elevation of the oblique camera 1110 and the ratio of D2 to the height of the feature 1140 are the same. Thus, the height estimation module 305 estimates the height of the feature 1140 based on the determined D1, D2, and the elevation of the oblique camera 1110” Burgett teaches the elevation value of the top surface at the sample point (Top point 1024, Fig. 11) is determined based on: a ground elevation value at the sample point (Ground point 1130); and an average height value (height of feature 1140) determined based on the first height value (Elevation of camera, Fig.11) and the second height value (Elevation of ground point 1130).
Donato and Burgett are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, a combination of Donato and Burgett discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the rendering comprises:
generating an estimated slope for the map feature based on the terrain data (Donato, [0119] “the process 800 may include applying a cosine smoothing function to at least one buffer point the other buffer points to create a slope between the first elevation dataset and the second elevation dataset surrounding the elevation anomaly data point” Donato teaches generating (creating) an estimated slope for the map feature based on the terrain data (the first elevation dataset and the second elevation dataset surrounding the elevation anomaly data point); and
applying the estimated slope to determine vertex elevation values for vertices in the first subset and the second subset (Donato, [0044] “the computer system may compute a reduction factor, which, when applied, will generate a slope in a region between inland elevation points (e.g., those that can be trusted as likely actual elevations) and elevation points within the joined region (e.g., elevations of zero at the water) Donato teaches applying the estimated slope (generate a slope) to determine vertex elevation values for vertices in the first subset (referred to as inland elevation points) and the second subset (referred to as elevation points within the joined region).
Regarding Claim 8, a combination of Donato and Burgett discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the terrain data comprises a digital elevation model (Donato, [0112] “the polygon dataset may define the joined region. In some examples, the first elevation dataset may include a land digital elevation model” Donato teaches the terrain data includes a land digital elevation model.
Regarding Claim 11, the method of claim 1, Donato does not explicitly teach wherein the continuous top surface is represented by a planar polygon.
However, Burgett teaches the continuous top surface is represented by a planar polygon (Burgett teaches the Fig. 10 show the continuous top surface is represented by a planar polygon).
Donato and Burgett are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, Donato discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining additional sample points along the boundary of the first map tile and the second map tile (Donato, Fig. 6, [0102] “The map server 122 can connect anomalous raster points 628, 632 and intermediate raster points 634, 636, 638 using a smoothing function to create a natural looking slope down from raster point 632 to raster point 628” Donato teaches determining additional sample points ( intermediate raster points 634, 636, 638) along the boundary of the 1st map (622) and the 2nd map (624); and
However, Donato does not explicitly teach refining the elevation value of the top surface by averaging elevation values at the additional sample points.
Burgett teaches refining the elevation value of the top surface by averaging elevation values at the additional sample points (Burgett, [0067] “The elevation of each location on the map tile may be estimated to be a constant value, the constant value is an average elevation value determined based on elevation data accessed” and Fig. 10, [0084] “By averaging the elevation of the geographic locations corresponding to each corner of the geographic region, an average ground plane elevation is determined for estimating the height of the feature 1020” Burgett teaches refining the elevation of top surface (top point 1024, Fig. 10) by average ground plane elevation (base point 1022) and estimating the height of the feature (additional points).
Donato and Burgett are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, a combination of Donato and Burgett discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the first map feature and the second map feature are the same map feature further comprises comparing metadata associated with the first subset of vertices and the second subset of vertices (Donato, [0042] “the computer system may then use the vertices to compute a set of triangles within the polygon boundary, this operation may create two triangles. The candidate point is the point contained within the triangle that has a maximum vertical error across all points in the triangle as compared to corresponding points in the input terrain mesh” Donato teaches determining the 1st map feature and 2nd map feature are the same map feature (the triangles) by comparing metadata (candidate vertice/point) associated with vertices (all points) in 1st and 2nd triangles.
Regarding Claim 15, a combination of Donato and Burgett discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first map tile and the second map tile are received asynchronously, and the rendering is performed after both map tiles and the terrain data have been received (Donato, Fig. 5, [0088] At block 514, the process 500 includes the map server 122 causing rendering, on a display, of a map view that includes the second terrain mesh including the first candidate point. Thus, while the process 500 is described with respect to the performing the simplification operation for the first triangle, the operation may be iteratively performed for the second triangle” Donato teaches rendering both map tiles (1st/2nd triangles) and terrain mesh after receiving by the map server.
Regarding Claim 16, a combination of Donato and Burgett discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising dynamically updating the rendering of the map feature in response to user manipulation of a viewport, including one or more of scaling (Donato [0209] “the map server 122 may provide an edit opportunity, providing the selected transformation for review/edit by a human user” and [0052] “The computer system selects sides on a boundary of a building that can be scaled and then walks a two-dimensional grid resulting in a sequence of candidate” Donato teaches one or more of scaling of building (map feature), panning, and rotating a view of the map feature (Donato, [0217] “translating the first polygon using coordinates of the first pivot point, rotating the first polygon using an angle of a heading associated with the first pivot point” Donato teaches rotating a view of the map feature (a polygon).
Regarding Claim 17, a combination of Donato and Burgett discloses a computer program product (Donato [0003] “One or more computer programs”), comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having instructions encoded thereon that, when executed by one or more processors [0080] “computer-executable instructions stored on one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media that, when executed by one or more processors, perform the recited operations”, cause the one or more processors to:
map tile representing a portion of a geographic region adjacent to each other receive, by a computing device from a mapping server, a first map tile and a second map tile, each of the first map tile and the second, wherein:
the first map tile includes a first subset of vertices of a first map feature having a first geometric base and a first height value, and
the second map tile includes a second subset of vertices of a second map feature having a second geometric base and a second height value;
receive, by the computing device from a mapping service, terrain data describing elevation values corresponding to ground points on the first map tile and the second map tile;
determine the first map feature and the second map feature are a same map feature based on proximity of the vertices along a boundary between the first map tile and the second map tile;
identify a sample point on the map feature; determine an elevation value of a top surface of the map feature at the sample point;
render the map feature across the first map tile and the second map tile based on the ground elevation values for the vertices in the first subset and the second subset and the elevation value of the top surface of the map feature, wherein the map feature is rendered in three dimensions with a continuous top surface and vertical edges spanning between the top surface and the ground.
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 1 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 18, a combination of Donato and Burgett discloses the computer program product of claim 17, wherein the sample point corresponds to a center point of the geometric base of the map feature.
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 2 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 19, a combination of Donato and Burgett discloses the computer program product of claim 17, wherein determining the first map feature and the second map feature are the same map feature based on proximity comprises:
determining distances between vertices of the first subset and vertices of the second subset along the boundary; and
responsive to determining that the distances are below a predetermined threshold, determining the first map feature and the second map feature as the same map.
Claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 3 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 20, a combination of Donato and Burgett discloses a system (Donato, [0003] “A system”), comprising:
one or more processors (Donato, [0080] “one or more processors”); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (Donato, [0080] “computer-executable instructions stored on one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media that, when executed by one or more processors, perform the recited operations”, the instructions comprising instructions to:
receive, by a computing device from a mapping server, a first map tile and a second map tile, each of the first map tile and the second map tile representing a portion of a geographic region adjacent to each other, wherein:
the first map tile includes a first subset of vertices of a first map feature having a first geometric base and a first height value, and
the second map tile includes a second subset of vertices of a second map feature having a second geometric base and a second height value;
receive, by the computing device from a mapping service, terrain data describing elevation values corresponding to ground points on the first map tile and the second map tile;
determine the first map feature and the second map feature are a same map feature based on proximity of the vertices along a boundary between the first map tile and the second map tile;
identify a sample point on the map feature;
determine an elevation value of a top surface of the map feature at the sample point;
render the map feature across the first map tile and the second map tile based on the ground elevation values for the vertices in the first subset and the second subset and the elevation value of the top surface of the map feature, wherein the map feature is rendered in three dimensions with a continuous top surface and vertical edges spanning between the top surface and the ground.
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 1 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Claims 9, 10, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Donato et al. (U.S. 20220390255 A1) in view of Burgett et al. (U.S. 2020/0273150 A1) and further in view of Merwe et al. (U.S. 2013/0321392 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, the method of claim 1, a combination of Donato and Burgett does not explicitly teach wherein rendering the map feature across the first map tile and the second map tile comprises using a three-dimensional shader language to render the top surface and vertical edges.
However, Merwe teaches rendering the map feature across the first map tile and the second map tile comprises using a three-dimensional shader language to render the top surface and vertical edges (Merwe, [0149] Map image data may provide image data to a client device, process the image data (e.g., rendering and/or displaying the image data as a two-dimensional or three-dimensional map). Map image data, whether in two or three dimensions, may specify one or more map tiles. A map tile may be a portion of a larger map image” and [0235] “the three-dimensional model may be augmented to include additional details, such as texture and shading for one or more objects within the three-dimensional model” and [0236] “FIG. 5A depicts a rendering of three-dimensional digital surface model mesh data that was then "skinned" with rasterized texture data that was captured at the same time as the three-dimensional mesh” Merve teaches rendering the map feature (buildings) across the first map tile and the second map tile (rendering of three-dimensional digital surface model mesh data) using a 3D shader to render the top surface and vertical edges of buildings (Figs. 5A, 5B).
Donato, Burgett and Merwe are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, system and method for image processing and try to solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made for modifying the method of Donato to combine with rendering the map feature by a shader (as taught by Merwe) in order to render the map feature by a shader because Merwe can provide rendering the map feature (buildings) across the first map tile and the second map tile (rendering of three-dimensional digital surface model mesh data) using a 3D shader to render the top surface and vertical edges of buildings (Figs. 5A, 5B) (Merwe, [0149], [0235], [0236]). Doing so, it may provide a three-dimensional model of the map region that includes representations of roofs based on the mapping data (Merwe, [0022]).
Regarding Claim 10, the method of claim 1, a combination of Donato and Burgett does not explicitly teach wherein the determined elevation values for the vertices are stored in a vertex shader for use in rendering the map feature;
However, Merwe teaches the determined elevation values for the vertices are stored in a vertex shader for use in rendering the map feature (Merwe, [0235] “the three-dimensional model may be augmented to include additional details, such as texture and shading for one or more objects within the three-dimensional model” and [0038] “where the height value may be calculated from an average of height values from vertices in the roof triangles, or the height value may be based on a single random sample of a roof triangle vertex, add accurate shading information to objects within the three-dimensional model” Merwe teaches determined elevation values (height values) from vertices (in the roof triangles vertex) is shaded by the 3D model.
Donato, Burgett and Merwe are combinable see rationale in claim 9.
Regarding Claim 14, the method of claim 1, a combination of Donato and Burgett does not explicitly teach wherein rendering the map feature includes applying textures or color gradients to the continuous top surface and vertical edges based on data associated with the map feature.
However, Merwe teaches rendering the map feature includes applying textures or color gradients to the continuous top surface and vertical edges based on data associated with the map feature (Merwe, [0235] “the three-dimensional model may be augmented to include additional details, such as texture and shading for one or more objects within the three-dimensional model” and [0236] “FIG. 5A depicts a rendering of three-dimensional digital surface model mesh data that was then "skinned" with rasterized texture data that was captured at the same time as the three-dimensional mesh” Merve teaches rendering the map feature (buildings) using a texture and shading to render the top surface and vertical edges of buildings (Figs. 5A, 5B).
Donato, Burgett and Merwe are combinable see rationale in claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Andrew et al. (U.S. 2017/0090460 A1) and Brown et al. (U.S. 2023/0057411 A1).
/KHOA VU/Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611