DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-7 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: “DAO” should be written out as “diamine oxidase” since the full term should appear prior to the acronym. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating migraine, does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing migraine. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
In order to determine compliance with the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a), the Federal Circuit developed a framework of factors in In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988), referred to as the Wands factors to assess whether any necessary experimentation required by the specification is "reasonable" or is "undue." These factors include, but are not limited to: [AltContent: rect]
(A) The breadth of the claims; [AltContent: rect]
(B) The nature of the invention; [AltContent: rect]
(C) The state of the prior art; [AltContent: rect]
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill; [AltContent: rect]
(E) The level of predictability in the art; [AltContent: rect]
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; [AltContent: rect]
(G) The existence of working examples; and [AltContent: rect]
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure
Keeping that in mind, the Wands factors are relevant to the instant fact situation for the following reasons:
1. The nature of the invention, state and predictability of the art, and relative
skill level
The invention relates to preventing migraine. The relative skill of those in the art is high, that of an MD or PHD. That factor is outweighed, however, by the unpredictable nature of the art. As illustrative of the state of the art, the examiner cites to Cleveland Clinic (When Nothing Helps Your Chronic Migraines, Aug. 31, 2023), which discloses that there is no cure for migraines (Finding the right chronic migraine treatment).
The breadth of the claims
The claims are broadly drawn to preventing migraine, but does not recite how DAO can not only treat migraine, but prevent migraine as well.
3. The amount of direction or guidance provided and the presence or absence of working examples
The specification provides no direction or guidance for practicing the claimed invention in its “full scope”. No reasonably specific guidance is provided concerning useful protocols for carrying out the invention as claimed, other than treating migraine. The latter is corroborated by the working examples.
4. The quantity of experimentation necessary
Because of the known unpredictability of the art, and in the absence of experimental evidence, no one skilled in the art would accept the assertion that the instantly claimed agents could be predictably used as inferred by the claim and contemplated by the specification. Accordingly, the instant claims do not comply with the enablement requirement of §112, since to practice the claimed invention in its “full scope” a person of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation, with no reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1, 4, 6-8 and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Missbichler et al (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2008/0193491 published on 08/14/2008) (hereinafter Missbichler).
Missbichler teaches compositions for treating histamine-induced diseases and conditions and reducing histamine from the gastro-intestinal tract comprising diaminooxidase (“DAO”) (also commonly known as amine oxidase, histaminase, or diamine oxidase) (Abstract and para [0001], [0053], and [0054]) wherein the composition is in the form of a functional food, including a food, a food supplement (i.e., a nutritional supplement), or a dietary foodstuff comprising DAO (para [0032], [0053], and [0054]) and a method of treatment comprising administering the functional food (para [0032]) wherein the histamine-induced diseases and conditions include headaches (para [0012]).
Missbichler further teaches the functional food wherein, in an exemplary embodiment, the composition comprises 3% by weight of DAO (claim 20, para [0064]).
Missbichler further teaches the functional food wherein, in exemplary embodiments, the DAO is extracted from animal organisms and is also made recombinantly (i.e., of biotechnological original) (para [0041]-[0047]).
Missbichler further teaches the functional food wherein, in an exemplary embodiment, is in the form of a gastric-juice resistant (i.e., gastrointestinal protected) capsule or pellet (para [0029], [0033], and [0039] and claims 19-21, 31, 35, and 36).
Accordingly, Missbichler anticipates the instant claims insofar as disclosing administering a functional food comprising DAO.
In regards to instant claim 1 reciting treating or preventing migraine, the claim as currently recited does not require the patient to have a migraine (the claim recites preventing migraine and also does not recite treating to a patient in need thereof). Therefore, since the functional food comprising DAO in the prior art is substantially the same as the claimed functional food comprising DAO and is administered to a patient, the functional food comprising DAO of the prior art would necessarily treat or prevent migraine when administered.
As to claim 8, a food composition is necessarily either dairy-based or non-dairy-based and, thus, meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
1. Claims 1-8 and 11-13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Missbichler et al (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2008/0193491 published on 08/14/2008) (hereinafter Missbichler) in view of Deagle (US 2005/0267009, Dec. 1, 2005).
Missbichler teaches compositions for treating histamine-induced diseases and conditions and reducing histamine from the gastro-intestinal tract comprising diaminooxidase (“DAO”) (also commonly known as amine oxidase, histaminase, or diamine oxidase) (Abstract and para [0001], [0053], and [0054]) wherein the composition is in the form of a functional food, including a food, a food supplement (i.e., a nutritional supplement), or a dietary foodstuff comprising DAO (para [0032], [0053], and [0054]) and a method of treatment comprising administering the functional food (para [0032]) wherein the histamine-induced diseases and conditions include headaches (para [0012]).
Missbichler further teaches the functional food wherein, in an exemplary embodiment, the composition comprises 3% by weight of DAO (claim 20, para [0064]).
Missbichler further teaches the functional food wherein, in exemplary embodiments, the DAO is extracted from animal organisms and is also made recombinantly (i.e., of biotechnological original) (para [0041]-[0047]).
Missbichler further teaches the functional food wherein, in an exemplary embodiment, is in the form of a gastric-juice resistant (i.e., gastrointestinal protected) capsule or pellet (para [0029], [0033], and [0039] and claims 19-21, 31, 35, and 36).
Missbichler further teaches the functional food in the form of pellets having an average diameter of from 0.5 to 5 mm, in particular of from 0.7 to 2 mm. Such size has the advantage that the pellets can quickly pass the stomach (para [0036]).
Although Missbichler teaches a method of treating histamine-induced diseases and conditions, including headaches, Missbichler lacks sufficient specificity for specifically treating patients suffering from a migraine.
However, Deagle teaches wherein foods like cheese, beer, and wine can induce migraine in some people because they contain the mediator histamine and/or mediator-like compounds that cause blood vessel to expand. Women tend to react to histamine-containing foods more frequently than men do, on account of a deficiency in an enzyme (diamine oxidase) that breaks histamine down. Taking supplemental B6 has been shown to be helpful in migraine, as it can increase diamine oxidase activity (¶ [0150]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to specifically treat a patient that is suffering from migraines with the functional food of Missbichler since the functional food reduces histamine and histamine induces migraines as taught by Deagle. Also, it would have been obvious since the functional food comprises diamine oxidase and increase in diamine oxidase activity is helpful in migraine as taught by Deagle.
As to claim 3 reciting wherein the treatment is characterized by migraine symptom relief, reduction of any direct or indirect pathological consequences of the migraine, decreased rate of progression of the migraine, and/or improvement of the migraine, since histamine induces migraines; reducing histamine levels with DAO would improve the migraine, decrease progression of the migraine, reduce any direct or indirect pathological consequences of the migraine, and provide migraine symptom relief.
As to claim 5 reciting between 0.01% and 1% DAO, Missbichler discloses wherein DAO degrades histamine (para. [0018]). Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skill of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization to have arrived at the claimed amount of DAO depending on the amount of histamine needed to be degraded. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 8, a food composition is necessarily either dairy-based or non-dairy-based and, thus, meets the claim.
As to claim 12, Missbichler discloses wherein the food composition may be in the form of a capsule and wherein a size of 0.5 to 5 mm has the advantage of quickly passing the stomach. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition as a capsule with a size of 0.5 to 5 mm (i.e. microcapsule) in order to have the capsule passing the stomach quickly as taught by Missbichler et al.
As to claim 13 reciting wherein the administering reduces the blood histamine level in the patient to levels between 2 and 20 µg/0.1L, since histamine induces migraines, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have administered the composition of Missbichler to a migraine patient over an effective time period to reduce histamine levels as much as possible. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05.
2. Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Missbichler in view of Deagle, and further in view of Bodmer et al (“Biogenic amines in foods: histamine and food processing,” Inflammation Research, Vol. 48, Issue 6, pgs. 296-300 (1999)) (hereinafter Bodmer).
Missbichler and Deagle teach a functional food composition as applied to claims 1-8 and 11-13 above as set forth, supra.
Although Missbichler teaches a functional food comprising DAO, Missbichler does not specify that the functional food is in the form of any of the specific products recited in claims 9 and 10.
However, Bodmer teaches the toxicity of histamine content in foods and beverages (Abstract) and that DAO provides a detoxification system that, if inefficient, leads to toxic effects because biogenic amines such as histamine are readily absorbed into systemic circulation (page 296, col 2, second full paragraph).
Bodmer further teaches that a particular beverage with a neglectibly low histamine content is fresh grape juice (page 297, col 2, first full paragraph and page 298, col 1, third full paragraph) and milk and dairy products (page 297, col 1, fourth and fifth full paragraph and Table 1) and that foodstuffs (food and beverages) with low levels of histamine increases food quality and allow individuals at risk a more diversified nutrition (page 299, col 1, last paragraph to page 230, col 1, last paragraph).
As to claim 10, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the functional food of Missbichler by specifically using fresh grape juice as the specific foodstuff as taught by Bodmer because Missbichler teaches an embodiment where the functional food composition comprising DAO are used in dietary foodstuffs for reducing histamine and treating histamine induced diseases and disorders and Bodmer teaches that fresh grape juice is particularly useful to facilitate DAO detoxify biogenic amines such as histamine as a dietary foodstuff because it has a neglectibly low histamine content, which provides an added benefit of increasing food quality and allowing individuals at risk a more diversified nutrition.
As to claim 9, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in to modify the functional food of Missbichler by specifically using milk or other dairy products as the specific foodstuff as taught by Bodmer because Missbichler teaches an embodiment where the functional food composition comprising DAO are used in dietary foodstuffs for reducing histamine and treating histamine induced diseases and disorders and Bodmer teaches milk or other dairy products are particularly useful to facilitate DAO detoxify biogenic amines such as histamine as a dietary foodstuff because it has a neglectibly low histamine content, which provides an added benefit of increasing food quality and allowing individuals at risk a more diversified nutrition.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,194,077. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims recite a more specific version of the instant claims (i.e., the conflicting claims recite additional limitations, such amount of DAO) and thus read on the instant claims.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-13 of copending Application No 18/954,426 in view of Missbichler et al (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2008/0193491 published on 08/14/2008) (hereinafter Missbichler) and Deagle (US 2005/0267009, Dec. 1, 2005).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both recite a method of administering a composition comprising DAO. The pending claims differ by reciting treating migraine.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically treat a patient that is suffering from migraines because Missbichler teaches wherein DAO treats histamine diseases/disorders, Deagle teaches that histamine induces migraines; and therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the claimed method to specifically treat a patient suffering from migraines since it comprises DAO, which treats histamine, and histamine is known to induce to migraines.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-13 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614