DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic benefit under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on April 10, 2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Interpretation
when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Claim limitations of claim 20 have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use the term “means” coupled with functional language: “means for determining a first distance”; “means for determining … a second distance”; and “means for outputting location information”.
Regarding claim 20, a review of the specification shows that there is corresponding structure for the first means for determining, the second means for determining and the means for outputting in the form of a user equipment (UE), including a processor, transceiver and user interface (section [00132] through [00135]), described in the specification for the means for 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation.
If Applicant wished to provide further explanation or dispute the Examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, Applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference character in response to this Office Action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues
in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-11 and 16- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (WIPO Application # 2023/020055A1), whereinafter “Liu”.
Consider claim 1, Liu shows and discloses a method for precision finding with two radio technologies comprising:
determining a first distance to a wireless node based at least in part on a first positioning technology having a capability of determining distances to objects within a first range (see [0102], which recites “the distance prompt 104 is used to indicate the distance of the GPS location information of the vehicle 400 on the map relative to the GPS location information
of the travel starting point, for passengers to check”);
determining, based on the first distance being within a second range, a second distance to the wireless node based on a second positioning technology having a capability of determining distances to objects up to the second range, wherein the second range is less than the first range (see section [0104], which recites “When the driver's second mobile phone 200 detects that the distance between the driver's GPS location information and the GPS location information of the travel starting point … is less than a preset distance threshold (such as 40m, 50m, and 60m, etc.), the passenger … acquiring the position information of the vehicle 400 can be positioned using the second positioning method with higher accuracy. It can be understood that the positioning accuracy of the second positioning method is greater than the positioning accuracy of the above-mentioned first positioning method”);
and outputting location information for the wireless node based at least in part on the second distance (see section [120], which recites “The distance and the propagation direction of the UWB signal generate the second relative position information 204 of the first mobile phone 100 and the vehicle 400 … the second interface 201 of the second mobile phone 200 can also display the second relative position information 204 “).
Consider claim 2, Liu shows and discloses, as applied to claim 1 above, the first positioning technology utilizes a global navigation satellite system, and the second positioning technology is a device-to-device radio access technology (see section [0069], which recites “the above-mentioned driver's GPS location information is located using GPS positioning technology”, as well as section [0105], which recites “the second positioning method is the UWB positioning technology” (It is understood in the art that UWB is a type of device-to-device technology)).
Consider claim 3, Liu shows and discloses, as applied to claim 2 above, the device-to-device radio access technology is one of a WiFi technology, a Bluetooth technology, or an ultrawideband technology (see section [0105], which recites “the second positioning method is the UWB positioning technology”).
Consider claim 8, Liu shows and discloses, as applied to claim 1 above, determining a bearing to the wireless node based on the first positioning technology and the second positioning technology (see section [0009], which recites “The first terminal may acquire first relative position information of the first terminal and the second terminal obtained by positioning using the second positioning method, where the first relative position information includes a distance and a direction between the first terminal and the second terminal. Furthermore, the first positioning identifier is updated on the first interface according to the first relative position information. Since the positioning accuracy of the second positioning method is greater than that of the first positioning method, the passenger holding the first terminal can more accurately perceive the distance and direction between the driver holding the second terminal and himself”).
Consider claim 9, Liu shows and discloses an apparatus comprising:
at least one memory (see section [0074], which recites “The terminal device may include … an internal memory 121”);
at least one transceiver (see section [0074], which recites “The terminal device may include … a GPS positioning device 120, … an antenna 1, an antenna 2, and a mobile communication module 150, wireless communication module 160, ultrasonic transceiver
module 161”);
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one memory and the at least one transceiver (see section [0074], which recites “The terminal device may include a processor 110” as well as Fig. 2, which shows the processor 110 connected to the antennas 150 and 160, the sensors/transceivers 180 and the memory 121 (not visible in Applicant provided copy but visible in original document)), and configured to:
determine a first distance to a wireless node based at least in part on a first positioning technology having a capability of determining distances to objects within a first range (see [0102], which recites “the distance prompt 104 is used to indicate the distance of the GPS location information of the vehicle 400 on the map relative to the GPS location information of the travel starting point, for passengers to check”);
determine, based on the first distance being within a second range, a second distance to the wireless node based on a second positioning technology having a capability of determining distances to objects up to the second range, wherein the second range is less than the first range (see section [0104], which recites “When the driver's second mobile phone 200 detects that the distance between the driver's GPS location information and the GPS location information of the travel starting point … is less than a preset distance threshold (such as 40m, 50m, and 60m, etc.), the passenger … acquiring the position information of the vehicle 400 can be positioned using the second positioning method with higher accuracy. It can be understood that the positioning accuracy of the second positioning method is greater than the positioning accuracy of the above-mentioned first positioning method”);
and output location information for the wireless node based at least in part on the second distance (see section [120], which recites “The distance and the propagation direction of the UWB signal generate the second relative position information 204 of the first mobile phone 100 and the vehicle 400 … the second interface 201 of the second mobile phone 200 can also display the second relative position information 204“).
Consider claim 10, Liu shows and discloses, as applied to claim 9 above, the first positioning technology utilizes a global navigation satellite system, and the second positioning technology is a device-to-device radio access technology (see section [0069], which recites “the above-mentioned driver's GPS location information is located using GPS positioning technology”, as well as section [0105], which recites “the second positioning method is the UWB positioning technology”).
Consider claim 11, Liu shows and discloses, as applied to claim 10 above, the device-to-device radio access technology is one of a WiFi technology, a Bluetooth technology, or an ultrawideband technology (see section [0105], which recites “the second positioning method is the UWB positioning technology”).
Consider claim 16, Liu shows and discloses, as applied to claim 9 above, the at least one processor is further configured to determine a bearing to the wireless node based on the first positioning technology and the second positioning technology (see section [0009], which recites “The first terminal may acquire first relative position information of the first terminal and the second terminal obtained by positioning using the second positioning method, where the first relative position information includes a distance and a direction between the first terminal and the second terminal. Furthermore, the first positioning identifier is updated on the first interface according to the first relative position information. Since the positioning accuracy of the second positioning method is greater than that of the first positioning method, the passenger holding the first terminal can more accurately perceive the distance and direction between the driver holding the second terminal and himself”).
Consider claim 17, Liu shows and discloses, as applied to claim 16 above, the at least one processor is further configured to display a vector information object based at least in part on the bearing to the wireless node (see section [0114], which recites “when the first relative position information 105 includes an arrow indicating the direction of the vehicle 400 , the direction of the above arrow will be adjusted as the relative distance and direction between the vehicle 400 and the first mobile phone 100 change”).
Consider claim 18, Liu shows and discloses, as applied to claim 9 above, the at least one processor is further configured to output an indication of the first positioning technology and the first distance, and an indication of the second positioning technology and the second distance (see section [0112], which recites “the first mobile phone 100 can identify the vehicle 400 and the first mobile phone 100 on the map in the first interface 101 according to the GPS location information of the first mobile phone 100, the distance between the vehicle 400 and the first mobile phone 100, and the propagation direction of the UWB signal. … In addition, the first mobile phone 100 may also update the content of the first positioning mark 801 to indicate the relative positions of the vehicle 400 and the first mobile phone 400 on the map. Wherein, the first relative position information 105 may be text information of "15.61 meters from your front right". In other words, position marker 801 first indicates the first relative position information 105, then updates the position marker 801 based upon new information received from the second positioning technology. This is later elaborated upon in section [0113], which recites “Passengers can also perceive the direction and distance of the vehicle 400 relative to the first mobile phone 100 through the third positioning mark 803 , the updated first positioning mark 801 and the arrow indicating the direction of the vehicle 400”).
Consider claim 19, Liu shows and discloses, as applied to claim 18 above, the indication of the first positioning technology is a first icon, and the indication of the second positioning technology is a second icon (see Fig. 12 and section [0113], which recites “Passengers can also perceive the direction and distance of the vehicle 400 relative to the first mobile phone 100 through the third positioning mark 803 , the updated first positioning mark 801 and the arrow indicating the direction of the vehicle 400”. Here, the first position mark 801 comes from a first position information which initially comes from the first positioning technology. Once the vehicle enters a predetermined range, the first positioning information is then updated with the second positioning technology, thus updating the position mark).
Consider claim 20, Liu shows and discloses an apparatus for precision finding with two radio technologies, comprising:
means for determining a first distance to a wireless node based at least in part on a first positioning technology having a capability of determining distances to objects within a first range (As stated above, the “means for” has been interpreted as being a user equipment (UE), including a processor, transceiver and user interface. As such, see section [0074], which recites “The terminal device may include a processor 110, a GPS positioning device 120, an internal memory 121, a universal serial bus (universal serial bus, USB) interface 130, a charging management module 140, a power management module 141, an antenna 1, an antenna 2, and a mobile communication module 150, wireless communication module 160, ultrasonic transceiver module 161, audio module 170, speaker 170A, receiver 170B, microphone 170C, sensor module 180, button 190, indicator 192, camera 193, and display screen 194, ….”, as well as section [0102], which recites “the distance prompt 104 is used to indicate the distance of the GPS location information of the vehicle 400 on the map relative to the GPS location information of the travel starting point, for passengers to check”);
means for determining, based on the first distance being within a second range, a second distance to the wireless node based on a second positioning technology having a capability of determining distances to objects up to the second range, wherein the second range is less than the first range ((As stated above, the “means for” has been interpreted as being a user equipment (UE), including a processor, transceiver and user interface. As such, see section [0074], which recites “The terminal device may include a processor 110, a GPS positioning device 120, an internal memory 121, a universal serial bus (universal serial bus, USB) interface 130, a charging management module 140, a power management module 141, an antenna 1, an antenna 2, and a mobile communication module 150, wireless communication module 160, ultrasonic transceiver module 161, audio module 170, speaker 170A, receiver 170B, microphone 170C, sensor module 180, button 190, indicator 192, camera 193, and display screen 194, ….”, as well as section [0104], which recites “When the driver's second mobile phone 200 detects that the distance between the driver's GPS location information and the GPS location information of the travel starting point … is less than a preset distance threshold (such as 40m, 50m, and 60m, etc.), the passenger … acquiring the position information of the vehicle 400 can be positioned using the second positioning method with higher accuracy. It can be understood that the positioning accuracy of the second positioning method is greater than the positioning accuracy of the above-mentioned first positioning method”);
and means for outputting location information for the wireless node based at least in part on the first distance or the second distance (As stated above, the “means for” has been interpreted as being a user equipment (UE), including a processor, transceiver and user interface. As such, see section [0074], which recites “The terminal device may include a processor 110, a GPS positioning device 120, an internal memory 121, a universal serial bus (universal serial bus, USB) interface 130, a charging management module 140, a power management module 141, an antenna 1, an antenna 2, and a mobile communication module 150, wireless communication module 160, ultrasonic transceiver module 161, audio module 170, speaker 170A, receiver 170B, microphone 170C, sensor module 180, button 190, indicator 192, camera 193, and display screen 194, ….”, as well as section [120], which recites “The distance and the propagation direction of the UWB signal generate the second relative position information 204 of the first mobile phone 100 and the vehicle 400 … the second interface 201 of the second mobile phone 200 can also display the second relative position information 204 “).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 4, 5, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (WIPO Application # 2023/020055A1), hereinafter “Liu”, in view of Berggren et al. (U.S. Patent Application # 2023/0127908 A1), hereinafter “Berggren”.
Consider claim 4, which recites “wherein the first positioning technology is based at least in part on positioning reference signals received from one or more base stations in a wireless communication system, and the second positioning technology is a device-to-device radio access technology”. As applied above, Liu shows and discloses a first positioning technology (GPS) and a second positioning technology (UWB) with a shorter range. However, as Liu does not explicitly disclose the first positioning technology being based off a plurality of positioning reference signals (PRS) from one or more network nodes, Berggren is added.
Berggren, in a related art, teaches a method for positioning of wireless devices and network nodes utilizing a first and second reference signal. See Fig. 2 and section [0041], Berggren discloses that “One or more first reference points, such as the reference point 1 in FIG. 2, may be configured with the first positioning reference signal configuration, and may be configured to periodically transmit positioning reference signals using the first positioning reference signal configuration. One or more second reference points, such as the reference points 5, 6, 8 and 9, may be configured with the second positioning reference signal configuration. Initially, the second positioning reference signals configuration may be inactive, such that the one or more second reference points do not transmit positioning reference signals using the second positioning reference signal configuration. The WD being located in the wireless communications network may in the first step perform a first positioning measurement using the first positioning reference signals configuration on positioning reference signals transmitted by for example the reference point 1 to estimate a first position of the WD. … The network node, such as the LS, may, based on the first estimated position, select a number of reference points to participate in a second positioning measurement for the WD using the second positioning reference signals configuration. In the second step, the WD performs the second positioning measurement on positioning reference signals transmitted from the selected reference points to provide a more accurate position of the WD”.
Therefore, as Liu and Berggren teach positioning of mobile terminal devices using a plurality of positioning signals, and as Berggren explicitly teaches a positioning technique using a plurality of positioning reference signals, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the time of invention to modify Liu to utilize the PRS positioning method of Berggren as a substitute for GPS as the first positioning technology. This would simply be a substitution for a known method to achieve a predictable result.
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 4 above, Liu, as modified by Berggren, further discloses the limitation “the device-to-device radio access technology is one of a WiFi technology, a Bluetooth technology, or an ultrawideband technology” (see section [0105] of Liu, which recites “the second positioning method is the UWB positioning technology”).
Consider claim 12, which recites “wherein the first positioning technology is based at least in part on positioning reference signals received from one or more base stations in a wireless communication system, and the second positioning technology is a device-to-device radio access technology”. As applied above, Liu shows and discloses a first positioning technology (GPS) and a second positioning technology (UWB) with a shorter range. However, as Liu does not explicitly disclose the first positioning technology being based off a plurality of positioning reference signals (PRS) from one or more network nodes, Berggren is added.
Berggren, in a related art, teaches a system and a plurality of apparatuses for positioning of wireless devices and network nodes utilizing a first and second reference signal. See Fig. 2 and section [0041], Berggren discloses that “One or more first reference points, such as the reference point 1 in FIG. 2, may be configured with the first positioning reference signal configuration, and may be configured to periodically transmit positioning reference signals using the first positioning reference signal configuration. One or more second reference points, such as the reference points 5, 6, 8 and 9, may be configured with the second positioning reference signal configuration. Initially, the second positioning reference signals configuration may be inactive, such that the one or more second reference points do not transmit positioning reference signals using the second positioning reference signal configuration. The WD being located in the wireless communications network may in the first step perform a first positioning measurement using the first positioning reference signals configuration on positioning reference signals transmitted by for example the reference point 1 to estimate a first position of the WD. … The network node, such as the LS, may, based on the first estimated position, select a number of reference points to participate in a second positioning measurement for the WD using the second positioning reference signals configuration. In the second step, the WD performs the second positioning measurement on positioning reference signals transmitted from the selected reference points to provide a more accurate position of the WD”.
Therefore, as Liu and Berggren teach positioning of mobile terminal devices using a plurality of positioning signals, and as Berggren explicitly teaches a positioning technique using a plurality of positioning reference signals, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the time of invention to modify Liu to utilize the PRS positioning method of Berggren as a substitute for GPS as the first positioning technology. This would simply be a substitution for a known method to achieve a predictable result.
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 12 above, Liu, as modified by Berggren, further discloses the limitation “the device-to-device radio access technology is one of a WiFi technology, a Bluetooth technology, or an ultrawideband technology” (see section [0105] of Liu, which recites “the second positioning method is the UWB positioning technology”).
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu
et al. (WIPO Application # 2023/020055A1), hereinafter “Liu”, in view of Xia et al. (Research on Indoor Positioning System Based on BLE-AOA/ UWB Technology, 2022 41st Chinese Control Conference (CCC) (2022, Page(s): 5100-5105)), hereinafter “Xia”
Consider claim 6, which recites “wherein the first positioning technology utilizes a WiFi technology, and the second positioning technology utilizes a Bluetooth technology or an ultrawideband technology”. As applied above, Liu shows and discloses a first positioning technology (GPS) and a second positioning technology (UWB) with a shorter range. However, as Liu does not explicitly disclose the first positioning technology based off a radio access technology (RAT), such as Wi-Fi positioning, Xia is added.
Xia, in a related art, discloses research on indoor positioning systems of individual high precision positioning technologies as well as combinations thereof. See section 3 (Research status of UWB and BLE Fusion Localization), paragraph 2, which recites “There are many kinds of fusion positioning technology at present. From the analysis of the above mainstream single technology, BLE and UWB are the best choices for the two types of technologies. Therefore, the fusion localization extended by BLE and UWB is the target of intensive research. Compared with based on UWB and IMU fusion positioning[7-9] and based on UWB and Wifi fusion positioning[10], UWB and BLE fusion positioning[11-13] is not only the positioning accuracy is similar, but also the energy consumption is lower and the price is lower”.
Therefore, as Liu and Xia teach positioning using a plurality of positioning signals, and as Xia explicitly discloses a positioning technique using combination of Wi-Fi and UWB positioning technologies, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the time of invention to modify Liu to utilize the Wi-Fi positioning technology of Xia as a substitute for GPS as the first positioning technology. This would simply be a substitution for a known method to achieve a predictable result.
Consider claim 7, which recites “wherein the first positioning technology utilizes a WiFi technology, and the second positioning technology utilizes a Bluetooth technology or an ultrawideband technology”. As applied above, Liu shows and discloses a first positioning technology (GPS) and a second positioning technology (UWB) with a shorter range. However, as Liu does not explicitly disclose the first positioning technology based off a radio access technology (RAT), such as Bluetooth positioning, Xia is added.
Xia, in a related art, discloses research on indoor positioning systems of individual high precision positioning technologies as well as combinations thereof. See section 3 (Research status of UWB and BLE Fusion Localization), paragraph 2, which recites “There are many kinds of fusion positioning technology at present. From the analysis of the above mainstream single technology, BLE and UWB are the best choices for the two types of technologies. Therefore, the fusion localization extended by BLE and UWB is the target of intensive research. Compared with based on UWB and IMU fusion positioning[7-9] and based on UWB and Wifi fusion positioning[10], UWB and BLE fusion positioning[11-13] is not only the positioning accuracy is similar, but also the energy consumption is lower and the price is lower”.
Therefore, as Liu and Xia teach positioning using a plurality of positioning signals, and as Xia explicitly discloses a positioning technique using combination of BLE (Bluetooth low energy) and UWB positioning technologies, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the time of invention to modify Liu to utilize the Bluetooth positioning technology of Xia as a substitute for GPS as the first positioning technology. This would simply be a substitution of a known method to achieve a predictable result. This substitution would also have the advantages of lower energy consumption, as described by Xia.
Consider claim 14, which recites “wherein the first positioning technology utilizes a WiFi technology, and the second positioning technology utilizes a Bluetooth technology or an ultrawideband technology”. As applied above, Liu shows and discloses a first positioning technology (GPS) and a second positioning technology (UWB) with a shorter range. However, as Liu does not explicitly disclose the first positioning technology based off a radio access technology (RAT), such as Wi-Fi positioning, Xia is added.
Xia, in a related art, discloses research on indoor positioning systems of individual high precision positioning technologies as well as combinations thereof. See section 3 (Research status of UWB and BLE Fusion Localization), paragraph 2, which recites “There are many kinds of fusion positioning technology at present. From the analysis of the above mainstream single technology, BLE and UWB are the best choices for the two types of technologies. Therefore, the fusion localization extended by BLE and UWB is the target of intensive research. Compared with based on UWB and IMU fusion positioning[7-9] and based on UWB and Wifi fusion positioning[10], UWB and BLE fusion positioning[11-13] is not only the positioning accuracy is similar, but also the energy consumption is lower and the price is lower”.
Therefore, as Liu and Xia teach positioning using a plurality of positioning signals, and as Xia explicitly discloses a positioning technique using combination of Wi-Fi and UWB positioning technologies, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the time of invention to modify Liu to utilize the Wi-Fi positioning technology of Xia as a substitute for GPS as the first positioning technology. This would simply be a substitution for a
known method to achieve a predictable result.
Consider claim 15, which recites “wherein the first positioning technology utilizes a WiFi technology, and the second positioning technology utilizes a Bluetooth technology or an ultrawideband technology”. As applied above, Liu shows and discloses a first positioning technology (GPS) and a second positioning technology (UWB) with a shorter range. However, as Liu does not explicitly disclose the first positioning technology based off a radio access technology (RAT), such as Bluetooth positioning, Xia is added.
Xia, in a related art, discloses research on indoor positioning systems of individual high precision positioning technologies as well as combinations thereof. See section 3 (Research status of UWB and BLE Fusion Localization), paragraph 2, which recites “There are many kinds of fusion positioning technology at present. From the analysis of the above mainstream single technology, BLE and UWB are the best choices for the two types of technologies. Therefore, the fusion localization extended by BLE and UWB is the target of intensive research. Compared with based on UWB and IMU fusion positioning[7-9] and based on UWB and Wifi fusion positioning[10], UWB and BLE fusion positioning[11-13] is not only the positioning accuracy is similar, but also the energy consumption is lower and the price is lower”.
Therefore, as Liu and Xia teach positioning using a plurality of positioning signals, and as Xia explicitly discloses a positioning technique using combination of BLE (Bluetooth low energy) and UWB positioning technologies, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the time of invention to modify Liu to utilize the Bluetooth positioning technology of Xia as a substitute for GPS as the first positioning technology. This would simply be a substitution for a known method to achieve a predictable result. This substitution would also
have the advantages of lower energy consumption, as described by Xia.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Silverman et al. (U.S. Patent # 11,533,698 B2) discloses a method for compensating for UWB coverage holes by increasing availability of other technologies.
Sahin et al. (U.S. Patent Application # 2026/0143453 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for indicating positioning availability based on network congestion.
Alizadeh-Shabdiz (U.S. Patent # 9,001,734 B2) discloses a method and system for increasing the accuracy of a WLAN positioning estimate using cellular positioning estimation.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/R.H.K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642