DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “scope” in claims 1, 3, 4 and 5 is used by the claim to mean “lens” (see figure 2A element 132), while the accepted meaning is “an instrument for viewing” (see attached definition from Merriam-Webster). The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. The term “periscope” in claims 1, 4 and 5 is used by the claim to mean “lens,” (see figure 2A elements 131A and 131B) while the accepted meaning is “a tubular optical instrument containing lenses and mirrors by which an observer obtains an otherwise obstructed field of view” (see attached definition from Merriam-Webster). The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claims 2-10 are rejected due to their dependence on at least one of claims 1, 3, 4 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gong (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0293329).
Regarding claim 1, Gong discloses a camera sight system, comprising: a camera module, comprising: a zoom device, comprising: a scope, for receiving incident light (figure 1 exhibits lens 121 which receives incident light and therefore functions as a scope as disclosed at paragraph 26); a plurality of prisms (figure 1 exhibits reflective optical elements 31 and 32 as disclosed at paragraph 22, paragraph 23 teaches that the elements are prisms); a plurality of periscopes (figure 1 exhibits lens groups 21 and 22 as disclosed at paragraph 25); and an autofocus motor (paragraph 29 discloses a driving mechanism for moving the lens groups 21 and 22); and a sensor device, for sensing incident light passing through an optical path of the zoom device to generate a scene image (figure 1 exhibits sensing surface 4 as disclosed at paragraph 22); wherein the scope, the plurality of periscopes, and the plurality of prisms form the optical path with multiple refractions and multiple transmissions (figure 1 shows an optical path with a plurality of refractions and transmissions), and wherein the autofocus motor is configured to adjust displacement of the plurality of periscopes along the optical path according to a control signal to adjust focal lengths of the plurality of periscopes to change an overall length of the optical path (paragraph 29 teaches driving the lens groups 21 and 22 to control the focal lengths and change the optical path length to perform zooming).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman et al. (United States Patent 7,936,504), hereinafter referenced as Goodman, in view of Gong.
Regarding claim 1, Goodman discloses a camera sight system, comprising: a camera module, comprising: a zoom device, comprising: a scope, for receiving incident light (figure 1 exhibits lens 121 which receives incident light and therefore functions as a scope as disclosed at paragraph 26); a plurality of prisms (figure 6 exhibits prisms 110a, 110c, 110d and 110h as disclosed at column 3 lines 20-22); a sensor device, for sensing incident light passing through an optical path of the zoom device to generate a scene image (figure 6 exhibits sensor 130 as disclosed at column 4 lines 22-24); wherein the scope, the plurality of periscopes, and the plurality of prisms form the optical path with multiple refractions and multiple transmissions (figure 6 shows an optical path with a plurality of refractions and transmissions). However, Goodman fails to disclose a plurality of periscopes; and an autofocus motor; and wherein the autofocus motor is configured to adjust displacement of the plurality of periscopes along the optical path according to a control signal to adjust focal lengths of the plurality of periscopes to change an overall length of the optical path.
Gong is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Gong teaches a sight system wherein the motivation of allowing a user to change the zoom and focal point of the sight thereby providing a more desirable view would have prompted a predictable variation of Goodman by applying Gong’s known principal of providing a plurality of periscopes (figure 1 exhibits lens groups 21 and 22 as disclosed at paragraph 25); and an autofocus motor (paragraph 29 discloses a driving mechanism for moving the lens groups 21 and 22); and wherein the autofocus motor is configured to adjust displacement of the plurality of periscopes along the optical path according to a control signal to adjust focal lengths of the plurality of periscopes to change an overall length of the optical path (paragraph 29 teaches driving the lens groups 21 and 22 to control the focal lengths and change the optical path length to perform zooming).
In view of the motivations such as allowing a user to change the zoom and focal point of the sight thereby providing a more desirable view one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Goodman.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, Goodman in view of Gong discloses the camera sight system according to claim 1, in addition, Goodman discloses wherein the camera module further comprises a gyroscope, and the zoom device is disposed on the gyroscope to damp vibrations of the zoom device (column 2 lines 49-51 disclose mounting the camera on a gyro-stabilization device to stabilize images).
Claims 2, 3, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman in view of Gong and further in view of Scales et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0121993), hereinafter referenced as Scales.
Regarding claim 2, Goodman in view of Gong discloses the camera sight system according to claim 1, however, Goodman fails to disclose an eyeglasses module, which comprises: a communication module, configured to communicatively connect to the camera module; and a display apparatus, configured to receive the scene image generated by the sensor device from the camera module, and display the scene image, wherein the scene image comprises a crosshair pattern.
Scales is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Scales teaches a sight system wherein the motivation of providing the user with the ability to more quickly sight onto a target while maintaining a wider field of view would have prompted a predictable variation of Goodman by applying Scales’s known principal of providing an eyeglasses module (figure 5 exhibits a system with goggles 505 as disclosed at paragraph 31), which comprises: a communication module, configured to communicatively connect to the camera module (figure 5 exhibits wherein the googles are connected via cable 513 and receive a video from the camera sight as disclosed at paragraph 32); and a display apparatus, configured to receive the scene image generated by the sensor device from the camera module, and display the scene image (figure 6 exhibits display portion which includes a display as disclosed at paragraph 37), wherein the scene image comprises a crosshair pattern (figure 4 exhibits wherein the scene 401 includes a crosshair pattern).
In view of the motivations such as providing the user with the ability to more quickly sight onto a target while maintaining a wider field of view one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Goodman.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, Goodman in view of Gong and further in view of Scales discloses the camera sight system according to claim 2, in addition, Goodman discloses wherein: the plurality of prisms comprise a first prism, a second prism, a third prism, and a fourth prism, wherein the optical path sequentially passes through the scope, the first prism, the second prism, the third prism, and the fourth prism, and the first prism, the second prism, the third prism and the fourth prism refract the incident light by 90 degrees (figure 6 exhibits right angle prisms 110a, 110c, 110d and 110h which all refract light by 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 4, Goodman in view of Gong and further in view of Scales discloses the camera sight system according to claim 3, in addition, Gong discloses wherein: the plurality of periscopes comprise a first periscope and a second periscope, disposed between the second prism and the third prism and perpendicular to the optical path (figure 1 exhibits lens 21 and lens 22 as disclosed at paragraph 25); and the autofocus motor is configured to adjust the displacement of the first periscope and the second periscope on a horizontal axis according to the control signal (paragraph 25 teaches that both lenses can be moved).
Regarding claim 6, Goodman in view of Gong discloses the camera sight system according to claim 1, however, Goodman fails to disclose wherein the sensor device comprises a color image sensor, a thermal imager, a night vision apparatus, or a germanium silicon (GeSi) sensor.
Scales is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Scales teaches a sight system wherein the motivation of improving night visibility would have prompted a predictable variation of Goodman by applying Scales’s known principal of wherein the sensor device comprises a color image sensor, a thermal imager, a night vision apparatus, or a germanium silicon (GeSi) sensor (paragraph 27 discloses the use of a thermal imager).
In view of the motivations such as improving night visibility one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Goodman.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman in view of Gong in view of Scales and further in view of Yoon et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0286149), hereinafter referenced as Yoon.
Regarding claim 5, Goodman in view of Gong and further in view of Scales discloses the camera sight system according to claim 3, however, Goodman fails to disclose wherein: the plurality of periscopes comprise a first periscope, a second periscope, a third periscope, and a fourth periscope; the first periscope and the second periscope are disposed between the first prism and the second prism, and are perpendicular to the optical path; the third periscope and the fourth periscope are disposed between the third prism and the fourth prism, and are perpendicular to the optical path; and the autofocus motor is configured to adjust the displacement of the first periscope, the second periscope, the third periscope, and the fourth periscope on a vertical axis according to the control signal.
Yoon is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Yoon teaches a folded optical system wherein the motivation of making a compact optical system which can both zoom and focus would have prompted a predictable variation of Goodman by applying Yoon’s known principal of providing first through fourth lenses (figure 12 exhibits a first lens module 200 which includes at least two lenses and a second lens module 202 which also includes at least two lenses as disclosed at paragraphs 50 and 85), the first lens and the second lens are disposed between the first prism and the second prism, and are perpendicular to the optical path (figure 12 exhibits lenses in lens module 200 are between a first prism 610 and a second prism of 300 when including this lens module in Goodman, this lens module would be between prisms 110a and 110c); the third lens and the fourth lens are disposed between the third prism and the fourth prism, and are perpendicular to the optical path (figure 12 exhibits lenses in lens module 202 are between a third prism of 300 and parallel to the first lens module; when including this lens module in Goodman, this lens module would be between prisms 110d and 110h) and the autofocus motor is configured to adjust the displacement of the first periscope, the second periscope, the third periscope, and the fourth periscope on a vertical axis according to the control signal (figure 12 exhibits coils 524 and 534 which drive the lenses as disclosed at paragraphs 62 and 87).
In view of the motivations such as making a compact optical system which can both zoom and focus one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Goodman.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman in view of Gong and further in view of Wifler (United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0280160).
Regarding claim 7, Goodman in view of Gong discloses the camera sight system according to claim 1, however, Goodman fails to disclose wherein the camera module comprises a tuned damper, and the tuned damper and the camera module form a tuned vibration damping structure.
Wifler is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Wifler teaches a damping structure for a sight wherein the motivation of reducing vibration in the captured image would have prompted a predictable variation of Gong by applying Wifler’s known principal of including a tuned damper (figure 1 exhibits a damper, paragraph 69 teaches that the damper is tuned), and the tuned damper and the camera module form a tuned vibration damping structure (paragraph 48 teaches incorporating the damper in a sight).
In view of the motivations such as reducing vibration in the captured image one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Gong.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, Goodman in view of Gong discloses the camera sight system according to claim 1, in addition, Goodman discloses wherein the zoom device comprises a housing (figure 3 exhibits a housing, not labeled). However, Goodman fails to disclose an elastic component and a damping component are disposed between the zoom device and the housing to damp vibrations of the zoom device.
Wifler is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Wifler teaches a damping structure for a sight wherein the motivation of reducing vibration in the captured image would have prompted a predictable variation of Gong by applying Wifler’s known principal of an elastic component (figure 7 exhibits springs 415 and 417 as disclosed at paragraph 69) and a damping component are disposed between the zoom device and the housing to damp vibrations of the zoom device (figure 7 exhibits magnets 406, 408 and 410 between the device and housing to dampen vibrations as disclosed at paragraph 69).
In view of the motivations such as reducing vibration in the captured image one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Gong.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodman in view of Gong and further in view of Geng et al. (Chinese Patent Publication 105547274), hereinafter referenced as Geng.
Regarding claim 10, Goodman in view of Gong discloses the camera sight system according to claim 1, in addition, Goodman discloses wherein: the zoom device comprises a housing (figure 3 exhibits a housing, not labeled). However, Goodman fails to disclose a plurality of piezoelectric sheets are disposed at fixed angles on a same surface of the housing, and are for detecting external vibrations of the camera module to generate corresponding piezoelectric signals; and the camera module further comprises a microcontroller for analyzing the piezoelectric signals from the piezoelectric sheets to generate control signals with a same frequency and amplitude in an opposite phase to feed back to the piezoelectric sheets to damp vibrations of the zoom device.
Geng is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Geng teaches a damping structure for a sight wherein the motivation of reducing vibration in the captured image would have prompted a predictable variation of Gong by applying Geng’s known principal of providing a plurality of piezoelectric sheets are disposed at fixed angles on a same surface of the housing (figure 1 exhibits ceramic sheets 304 at fixed angles as disclosed at paragraph 97), and are for detecting external vibrations of the camera module to generate corresponding piezoelectric signals (paragraph 97 teaches detecting vibration of the module); and the camera module further comprises a microcontroller (figure 1 exhibits processor 402) for analyzing the piezoelectric signals from the piezoelectric sheets to generate control signals with a same frequency and amplitude in an opposite phase to feed back to the piezoelectric sheets to damp vibrations of the zoom device (paragraph 98 teaches generating signals with opposite phase to eliminate vibration).
In view of the motivations such as reducing vibration in the captured image one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Gong.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hyun et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0155216) teaches a camera module.
Goldenberg et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0308737) teaches a camera module.
Zhao et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0357567) teaches a camera module.
Nie et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0338617) teaches a camera module.
Suzuka (United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0218799) teaches a camera module.
Nomura et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2013/0278785) teaches a camera module.
Scales (United States Patent Application Publication 2010/0007580) teaches a sight system.
Fujimoto et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2005/0253951) teaches a camera module.
Conclusion
JASON A. FLOHRE
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/JASON A FLOHRE/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2637