DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
2. The oath/declaration filed on 11/20/2024 is acceptable.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 11/20/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-2, 4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over KURIBAYASHI (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0170126 A1) in view of YANG Z (CN-114373731-A).
Regarding claim 1, KURIBAYASHI discloses a semiconductor device sealed by a sealing resin, the semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (10);
an electrode layer (50) disposed on an upper surface of the semiconductor substrate (10);
a plating layer (52) disposed on an upper surface of the electrode layer (50), the plating layer (52) including a first region (recess region), and a second region (both sides of recess region) outside of the first region (recess region) in a plan view;
a solder layer (54) disposed on the first region (recess region) of the plating layer (52) (Fig. 2).
KURIBAYASHI discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose a solder blocking portion formed on the plating layer, the solder blocking portion blocking solder from flowing on the second region from above the first region.
YANG Z, however, discloses a solder blocking portion (opening between (first region (1111) and second region (1112) formed on the plating layer (111) (Fig. 2 and English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of KURIBAYASHI to provide a solder blocking portion formed on the plating layer as taught by YANG Z for a purpose of improving the stability of the semiconductor device by soldering to the electrode.
Then, the solder blocking portion formed on the plating layer, the solder blocking portion will be obviously blocked solder from flowing on the second region from above the first region.
Therefore, claim 1 is obviously rendered over KURIBAYASHI and YANG Z.
Regarding claim 2, KURIBAYASHI and YANG Z (citations to KURIBAYASHI unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the solder blocking portion is a space between the first region (1111) and the second region (1112) (Fig. 2 in YANG Z).
Regarding claim 4, KURIBAYASHI and YANG Z (citations to KURIBAYASHI unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein a semiconductor chip (12) is rectangular in a plan view, and the solder blocking portion (space or opening) is formed only in a region of the plating layer (111) which is located on a short side of the semiconductor chip (12) (Fig. 2 in YANG Z).
Regarding claim 12, KURIBAYASHI and YANG Z (citations to KURIBAYASHI unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate (10) is made of silicon carbide (Fig. 2 and para [0030]).
Regarding claim 13, KURIBAYASHI discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device sealed by a sealing resin, the method comprising:
an electrode layer formation step of forming an electrode layer (50) on an upper surface of a semiconductor substrate (10);
a plating layer formation step of forming a plating layer (52) on an upper surface of the electrode layer (50), the plating layer (52) including a first region (recess region), and a second region (both sides of recess region) outside of the first region (recess region) in a plan view;
a solder blocking portion formation step of forming a solder blocking portion in the plating layer, the solder blocking portion blocking solder from flowing on the second region from above the first region; and
a solder layer formation step of supplying the solder onto the first region to form a solder layer (54) (Fig. 2).
KURIBAYASHI discloses the steps of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose a step of solder blocking portion formation step of forming a solder blocking portion in the plating layer, the solder blocking portion blocking solder from flowing on the second region from above the first region.
YANG Z, however, discloses a solder blocking portion formation step of forming a solder blocking portion (space between first region (1111) and second region (1112)) in the plating layer (111) (Fig. 2 and English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of KURIBAYASHI to provide a solder blocking portion formation step of forming a solder blocking portion in the plating layer as taught by YANG Z for a purpose of improving the stability of the semiconductor device by soldering to the electrode.
Then, the solder blocking portion formed on the plating layer, the solder blocking portion will be obviously blocked solder from flowing on the second region from above the first region.
Therefore, claim 13 is obviously rendered over KURIBAYASHI and YANG Z.
Regarding claim 14, KURIBAYASHI and YANG Z (citations to KURIBAYASHI unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the solder blocking portion is a space (between first region (1111) and second region (1112)), and the space is formed between the first region (1111) and the second region (1112) in the solder blocking portion formation step (Fig. 2 in YANG Z).
6. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over KURIBAYASHI and YANG Z in view of KATO T (WO-2019146300-A1).
Regarding claim 11, KURIBAYASHI and YANG Z disclose the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the electrode layer is made of an aluminum alloy.
KATO T, however, discloses the electrode layer (25) is made of an aluminum alloy (Fig. 1 and English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the electrode layer teaching of KATO T with KURIBAYASHI and YANG Z because such material substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values, i.e. to improve the chemical oxidation-resistant. MPEP 2144.06.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 3, 5-10 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Arts
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
NAKANO Y (WO-2021/225125-A1) discloses a semiconductor device comprising a plating layer 105 on the first electrode layer 102g included in the semiconductor device 100 is electrically connected to the terminal 302g by the bonding wire 303g. The source pad (plating layer 105 on the first electrode layer 102s) included in the semiconductor device 100 is electrically connected to the terminal 302s by the bonding wire 303s (Fig. 15 and English Text).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897