Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of nubs of at least one plate of the plurality of stacked plates fixing the further turbulence-inducing sheet and the at least one plate together” of claims 11 and 13, and “a plurality of recesses configured to receive and engage a plurality of nubs of at least one disk of the stacked disk heat exchanger to couple the turbulence-inducing sheet and the at least one disk together” of claim 16, and “the first wave crests of the adjacent rows are arranged along a first imaginary straight line extending obliquely to the longitudinal direction; the first wave troughs of the adjacent rows are arranged along a second imaginary straight line extending obliquely to the longitudinal direction; the second wave crests of the adjacent rows are arranged along a third imaginary straight line extending obliquely to the longitudinal direction; the second wave troughs of the adjacent rows are arranged along a fourth imaginary straight line extending obliquely to the longitudinal direction; and the third wave crests of the adjacent rows are arranged along a fifth imaginary straight line extending obliquely to the longitudinal direction” (specifically the imaginary lines claimed) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification refers to elements 12 and 12’ as plates. The appears to be either an incorrect translation or error in terminology as the structures shown are not plates (they may be called plates for instance), as the definition of plate is “any thin, flat, circular plate or object” or “any surface that is flat and round, or seemingly so” (perwww.dictionary.com/browse/plate accessed 10/9/26). While the structure shown has rounded corners it is not by definition a plate. While applicant may be their own lexicographer when doing so applicants’ specification must clearly define the term as meant, which is not done here (see MPEP 2173.05(a)). Note if this is this is a translation error applicant is apprised to follow MPEP 608.01 (V) if submitting correction due to translation error. Note the figures would support the term “plate” instead of plate, other terms are likely supported by the figures/specification, this is merely used a well-known term examiner applies to the structure shown.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 5-16, and 19 are indefinite for the term “disk” or “disks” in the claims. Based on applicants’ figures and specification applicant appears to be claiming plates, but as the term “disk” is used it would create confusion for one skilled in the art what applicant is claiming. The claims uses the “disk”/”disks” for plates but this appears to be either an incorrect translation or error in terminology as the structures shown are not disks (they may be called plates for instance), as the definition of disk is “any thin, flat, circular plate or object” or “any surface that is flat and round, or seemingly so” (per www.dictionary.com/browse/plate accessed 10/9/26). While the structure shown has rounded corners it is not by definition a disk. While applicant may be their own lexicographer when doing so applicants’ specification must clearly define the term as meant, which is not done here (see MPEP 2173.05(a)). Note if this is a translation error applicant is apprised to follow MPEP 608.01 (V) if submitting correction due to correct a translation error. Note the figures would support the term “plate” instead of plate, other terms are likely supported by the figures/specification, this is merely used by examiner as it is a well-known term that is applicable to the structure applicant teaches. Note all claims below are examined with this reading.
Claim 8 is indefinite for the limitation of “the stacked disk heat exchanger is an oil-coolant heat exchanger with a coolant side and an oil side; and the turbulence-inducing sheet is arranged on the coolant side and the further turbulence-inducing sheet is arranged on the oil side” as it denotes the actual use of the heat exchanger and this language makes it impossible to determine if the claimed apparatus is being read on until it is applied to system which makes the claim indefinite as it makes it unclear when infringement occurs (when system is made or when system used) MPEP 2173.05 (p). The claim will be examined as reading “the stacked disk heat exchanger is configured to be an oil-coolant heat exchanger with a coolant side and an oil side; and the turbulence-inducing sheet is arranged on the coolant side and the further turbulence-inducing sheet is arranged on the oil side”.
Claims 2-18 and 20 are rejected for dependence from one or more above rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834).
Regarding claim 1, Fukada teaches a turbulence-inducing sheet (element 100, see paragraph 0040 for “sheet”) for a stacked plate heat exchanger (para. 0036, note this merely claims use and it has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 MPEP 2214 (II)), comprising: a plurality of parallel rows (element 14 in fig. 10-11) each including a plurality of wave crests and a plurality of wave troughs (top and bottom wave forms of element 16 fig. 10-11) alternately adjoining one another in a longitudinal direction of the plurality of rows (per fig. 10-11); wherein three directly adjacent rows (14 (1-3) per fig. 10-11) of the plurality of rows are arranged offset from one another in the longitudinal direction such that the plurality of wave crests and the plurality of wave troughs of the three adjacent rows are arranged on a respectively associated straight line extending obliquely to the longitudinal direction (per fig. 10-11).
Regarding claim 2, Fukada teaches the plurality of wave crests and the plurality of wave troughs of all of the plurality of rows are arranged on a respective associated zigzag line extending transversely to the longitudinal direction (as shown in Fig. 10-11 the elements create the zig-zag claimed).
Regarding claim 19, Fukada teaches a turbulence-inducing sheet (element 100, see paragraph 0040 for “sheet”) for a stacked plate heat exchanger (para. 0036, note this merely claims use and it has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 MPEP 2214 (II)), comprising a plurality of parallel rows (element 14(1-3) Fig. 10-11) extending in a longitudinal direction (left to right in fig. 10-11), wherein: each of the plurality of rows include a plurality of wave crests and a plurality of wave troughs alternately adjoining one another in the longitudinal direction (top and bottom wave forms of element 16 fig. 10-11); the plurality of wave crests include a first wave crest, a second wave crest, and a third wave crest (top of waves per fig. 10-11); the plurality of wave troughs include a first wave trough and a second wave trough (bottom of waves fig. 10-11); a set of directly adjacent rows of the plurality of rows are arranged offset from one another in the longitudinal direction such that: the first wave crests of the adjacent rows are arranged along a first imaginary straight line extending obliquely to the longitudinal direction (per annotated figure below); the first wave troughs of the adjacent rows are arranged along a second imaginary straight line extending obliquely to the longitudinal direction (per annotated figure below); the second wave crests of the adjacent rows are arranged along a third imaginary straight line extending obliquely to the longitudinal direction(per annotated figure below); the second wave troughs of the adjacent rows are arranged along a fourth imaginary straight line extending obliquely to the longitudinal direction (per annotated figure below); and the third wave crests of the adjacent rows are arranged along a fifth imaginary straight line extending obliquely to the longitudinal direction (per annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 20, Fukada teaches the first wave crests, the first wave troughs, the second wave crests, the second wave troughs, and the third wave crests of the plurality of rows are each arranged to define a respective zigzag line extending transversely to the longitudinal direction (as shown in Fig. 10-11 the elements top and bottoms create the zig-zag claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834).
Regarding claim 3, Fukada does not expressly teach the turbulence-inducing sheet is manufactured via deep drawing. This is a product-by-process limitation and “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834) in view of Norén et al. (U.S. PGPub 2026/0002736).
Regarding claim 4, Fukada does not expressly teach the turbulence-inducing sheet has a height of 0.9 mm to 1.3 mm.
Noren teaches the turbulence-inducing sheet has a height of 0.9 mm to 1.3 mm (it teaches the fin, turbulence-inducing sheet, has a height in range of .025-10mm that overlaps with the claimed range). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Fukada to have the height taught by Noren, the motivoant would be to low impact on the volume flow (para. 0019). Examiner further notes that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (IV).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (U.S. PGPub 2006/0032621) in view of Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834).
Regarding claim 5, Martin teaches a stacked plate heat exchanger (Fig. 7), comprising: a plurality of stacked plates (element 202 of 10 & 10’) each having a bottom (element 12) and a peripheral edge (element 20); and a turbulence-inducing sheet (turbulizer para. 0046-0047) arranged between the bottom and the peripheral edge of an associated plate of the plurality of stacked plates (para. 0046-0047).
Martin does not teach the turbulence-inducing sheet according to claim 1. Noren teaches the turbulence-inducing sheet of claim 1 (see the above rejection). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Martin to include the turbulence-inducing sheet of claim 1, the motivation would have been to enhance heat exchange efficiency (Para. 0023 of Martin).
Claim 6-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (U.S. PGPub 2006/0032621) in view of Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834), in further view of Takumi (JP 2022151995).
Regarding claim 6, Martin teaches the plurality of stacked plates each include an inlet opening (element 22) and an outlet opening (element 24) disposed in the bottom (per fig. 7), the inlet opening and the outlet opening each having a parallelogram like shape with two long sides (see annotated fig. below), two short sides (see annotated figure below), and a plurality of rounded transitions between the two long sides to the two short sides (rounded sections connecting sides below); the two long sides are arranged at an angle to each other (per fig. below, note the angle is not specified in the claim thus any angle reads on the claim).
Martin does not teach the plurality of stacked plates each have a plurality of nubs that project at least one of inwards and outwards from the bottom.
Takumi teaches the plurality of stacked plates (element 10) each have a plurality of nubs (elements 71A,72A,73A,74A) that project at least one of inwards and outwards from the bottom (per Fig. 3, pg. 5-6 translation). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Martin to include the nubs of Takumi as claimed, the motivation would be to position the inner fins/turbulence-inducing sheet (pg. 5-6 translation).
Regarding claim 7, Martin teaches the plurality of stacked plates each include an inlet opening (element 22) and an associated outlet opening (element 24) that are oval in shape (para. 0035).
Martin does not teach the plurality of stacked plates each have a plurality of nubs that project at least one of inwards and outwards from the bottom.
Takumi teaches the plurality of stacked plates (element 10) each have a plurality of nubs (elements 71A,72A,73A,74A) that project at least one of inwards and outwards from the bottom (per Fig. 3, pg. 5-6 translation). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Martin to include the nubs of Takumi as claimed, the motivation would be to position the inner fins/turbulence-inducing sheet (pg. 5-6 translation).
Claim 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigekazu (JP 2019207081; note applicant 3/18/26 IDS as T Rad Co LTD) in view of Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834).
Regarding claim 5, Shigekazu teaches a stacked plate heat exchanger (fig. 1-5), comprising: a plurality of stacked plates (elements 3 and 4) each having a bottom and a peripheral edge (Fig. 1-5 and description of plats 3 and 4) ; and a turbulence-inducing sheet (element 10) arranged between the bottom and the peripheral edge of an associated plate of the plurality of stacked plates (per fig. 1-5).
Shigekazu does not teach the turbulence-inducing sheet according to claim 1. Noren teaches the turbulence-inducing sheet of claim 1 (see the above rejection). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Shigekazu to include the turbulence-inducing sheet of claim 1, the motivation would have been to increase heat exchange performance (Para. 0021).
Regarding claim 8, Shigekazu teaches a further turbulence-inducing sheet (element 9; note the claim as written does not require this sheet to be the same as claim 1) , wherein: the stacked plate heat exchanger is configured as an oil-coolant heat exchanger with a coolant side and an oil side ( see “Technical-field” section and description of fluids 11 and 12); and the turbulence-inducing sheet is arranged on the coolant side and the further turbulence- inducing sheet is arranged on the oil side (description of fluids 11 and 12 and fig. 4).
Claim 9, 11, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigekazu (JP 2019207081; note applicant 3/18/26 IDS as T Rad Co LTD) in view of Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834), Martin et al. (U.S. PGPub 2006/0032621) Takumi (JP 2022151995) .
Regarding claim 9, Shigekazu teaches the plurality of stacked plates each include an inlet opening (elements 5 or 6 see fig. 3) and an associated outlet opening (elements 5 or 6 see fig. 3), and the further turbulence-inducing sheet surrounds the inlet opening and the outlet opening of at least one plate of the plurality of stacked plates (per fig. 1-5).
Shigekazu does not teach the inlet and outlet openings are oval in shape.
It is well-known in the art to make inlet and outlet openings oval as shown by Martin which teaches the plurality of stacked plates each include an inlet opening (element 22) and an associated outlet opening (element 24) that are oval in shape (para. 0035). It would have be4en obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Shigekazu to include the openings taught by Martin the motivation would be to vary distribution by applying a different shape.
Shigekazu does not teach the plurality of stacked plates each further includes a plurality of nubs that protrude at least one of inwards and outwards from the bottom.
Takumi teaches the plurality of stacked plates (element 10) each have a plurality of nubs (elements 71A,72A,73A,74A) that project at least one of inwards and outwards from the bottom (per Fig. 3, pg. 5-6 translation). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Shigekazu to include the nubs of Takumi as claimed, the motivation would be to position the inner fins/turbulence-inducing sheet (pg. 5-6 translation).
Regarding claim 11, Shikekazu does not teach the plurality of stacked plates each further includes a plurality of nubs that protrude at least one of inwards and outwards from the bottom; and the further turbulence-inducing sheet includes a plurality of recesses engaged with the plurality of nubs of at least one plate of the plurality of stacked plates fixing the further turbulence-inducing sheet and the at least one plate together.
Takumi teaches the plurality of stacked plates (element 10) each have a plurality of nubs (elements 71A,72A,73A,74A) that project at least one of inwards and outwards from the bottom (per Fig. 3, pg. 5-6 translation) and interact with the (turbulence-inducing sheets (elements 50) . It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Shigekazu to include the nubs of Takumi as claimed such that the turbulence-inducing sheet includes a plurality of recesses ( the space under element 16 of Fukada) engaged with the plurality of nubs of at least one plate of the plurality of stacked plates fixing the further turbulence-inducing sheet and the at least one plate together (pg 5-6 translation), the motivation would be to position the inner fins/turbulence-inducing sheet (pg. 5-6 translation).
Regarding claim 13, Shikekazu does not teach the plurality of stacked plates each further include a plurality of nubs that protrude at least one of inwards and outwards from the bottom; and the turbulence-inducing sheet includes a plurality of recesses engaged with the plurality of nubs of at least one plate of the plurality of stacked plates fixing the turbulence-inducing sheet and the at least one plate together.
Takumi teaches the plurality of stacked plates (element 10) each have a plurality of nubs (elements 71A,72A,73A,74A) that project at least one of inwards and outwards from the bottom (per Fig. 3, pg. 5-6 translation) and interact with the (turbulence-inducing sheets (elements 50) . It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Shigekazu to include the nubs of Takumi as claimed such that the turbulence-inducing sheet includes a plurality of recesses ( the space under element 16 of Fukada) engaged with the plurality of nubs of at least one plate of the plurality of stacked plates fixing the further turbulence-inducing sheet and the at least one plate together (pg 5-6 translation), the motivation would be to position the inner fins/turbulence-inducing sheet (pg. 5-6 translation).
Regarding claim 16, Shikekazu does not teach a plurality of recesses configured to receive and engage a plurality of nubs of at least one plate of the stacked plate heat exchanger to couple the turbulence-inducing sheet and the at least one plate together.
Takumi teaches the plurality of stacked plates (element 10) each have a plurality of nubs (elements 71A,72A,73A,74A) that project at least one of inwards and outwards from the bottom (per Fig. 3, pg. 5-6 translation) and interact with the (turbulence-inducing sheets (elements 50) . It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Shigekazu to include the nubs of Takumi as claimed such that the turbulence-inducing sheet includes a plurality of recesses ( the space under element 16 of Fukada) engaged with the plurality of nubs of at least one plate together (pg 5-6 translation), the motivation would be to position the inner fins/turbulence-inducing sheet (pg. 5-6 translation).
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigekazu (JP 2019207081; note applicant 3/18/26 IDS as T Rad Co LTD) in view of Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834), in further view of Uno et al. (U.S. Patent 9,689,628).
Regarding claims 10 and 15, Shigekazu and Fukada do not teach the further turbulence- inducing sheet has a height of 2.9 mm to 3.1 mm and approximately 3.0 mm (claim 15).
Uno teaches the turbulence-inducing sheet (element 3) has a height of 2.9-3.1mm (fig. 13, fh). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Shigekazu and Fukada to have the height of Uno, the motivation would be improved performance (Col. 2, ln 26-31).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigekazu (JP 2019207081; note applicant 3/18/26 IDS as T Rad Co LTD) in view of Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834), in further view of Fleitling et al.(U.S. PGPub 2015/0285572).
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi and Fukada do not teach the plurality of stacked plates each have a wall thickness of approximately 0.4 mm.
Fleitling teaches the plurality of stacked plates each have a wall thickness of approximately 0.4 mm (para. 0009). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Shigekazu and Fukada to have the plate thickness of Fleitling, the motivation would be improved brazing (para. 0011).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigekazu (JP 2019207081; note applicant 3/18/26 IDS as T Rad Co LTD) in view of Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834), in further view of Ronacher (U.S. PGPub 2018/0299210).
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi and Fukada do not teach the further turbulence- inducing sheet has a material thickness of approximately 0.2 mm.
Ronacher teaches a turbulence-inducing sheet (element 3) has a material thickness of approximately 0.2 mm (para. 0086). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Takahashi and Fukada to have the thickness of Ronacher, the motivation would be improving the local heat transfer coefficient (para. 0063).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigekazu (JP 2019207081; note applicant 3/18/26 IDS as T Rad Co LTD) in view of Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834), in further view of Ronacher (U.S. PGPub 2018/0299210).
Regarding claim 17, Fukada does not teach the turbulence-inducing sheet has a material thickness of approximately 0.1 mm.
Ronacher teaches a turbulence-inducing sheet (element 3) has a material thickness of approximately 0.1 mm (para. 0086, note that in a broadest reasonable interpretation 0.2 is approximately close enough to the 0.1 to fall within the claim limitation, note applicants own specification considers up to 0.1-0.3 all within the range). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Takahashi and Fukada to have the thickness of Ronacher, the motivation would be improving the local heat transfer coefficient (para. 0063).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukada et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0370834) in view of Norén et al. (U.S. PGPub 2026/0002736), in further view of Uno et al. (U.S. Patent 9,689,628).
Regarding claims 10 and 15, Fukada and Noren do not teach the turbulence-inducing sheet has a height of approximately 1.1 mm.
Uno teaches the turbulence-inducing sheet (element 3) has a height of 1.5mm (fig. 13, fh, note that in a broadest reasonable interpretation 1.5 is approximately close enough to the 01.1 to fall within the claim limitation). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Fukada and Noren to have the height of Uno, the motivation would be improved performance (Col. 2, ln 26-31).
Conclusion
/JOEL M ATTEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3763