DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US PG Pub. 20040037036).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a thermal module (radiating part 130 of fig. 1), adapted for dissipating heat from a heat source (CPU 210 of fig. 1), comprising:
a heat sink (heat sink 100 of fig. 1), adapted for receiving or discharging air flow (para. 0068; The fan 150 may use a type that blows up the air from the side of the heat receiving part 110 to the side of the radiating part 130, or a type that blows up the air from the radiating part 130 to the heat receiving part 110.), comprising a body and a plurality of heat sink fins (thin plate 132 of fig. 1), wherein:
the body comprises a fixed plate (pillar part 120 of fig. 1) and a plurality of partition plates (T-shaped plate-shaped fins 122 of fig. 1), the fixed plate (120) has a first surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below), a second surface (the opposing surface shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below), and a third surface (an end surface that connects the 1st and 2nd surfaces), the first surface is opposite to the second surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below), the third surface is connected to the first surface and the second surface (an end surface that connects the 1st and 2nd surfaces), the heat source (CPU 210) is adapted to be disposed closer to the first surface of the fixed plate than to the second surface of the fixed plate (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 1), the second surface of the fixed plate is parallel to a first direction (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below), a number of the plurality of partition plates is more than three (shown in fig. 1, there are 5 partition plates in fig. 1) and the plurality of partition plates (122) are respectively parallel to a second direction (shown in fig. 1) and connected to the second surface of the fixed plate by an end surface, the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, a plurality of spaces (passages 134 of fig. 1) are formed between the plurality of partition plates (122) and the second surface of the fixed plate; and
the plurality of heat sink fins (132) are respectively disposed in the plurality of spaces (more clearly illustrated in fig. 9), each of the plurality of heat sink fins (132) has a corrugated structure (shown in fig. 1); an orthographic projection of the corrugated structure on a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction is corrugated (see fig. 1), the corrugated structure has a plurality of segments (shown in fig. 1), each of the plurality of segments is provided with a fractured structure (plurality of raised pieces 133 of fig. 9) on a surface extending in a third direction (illustrated in fig. 9), the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (illustrated in fig. 9);
wherein the third surface of the fixed plate (110) and a side surface connected to the end surfaces of the plurality of partition plates (122) form an air guide surface (para. 0043; with two fins 122, a first air channel for cooling), and the heat sink (100) receives or discharges the air flow through the air guide surface (para. 0053; the passages 134 as the second air channel defined by the thin plate 132 are connected to the above vents 128).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki discloses wherein in the corrugated structure, an orthographic projection of any two adjacent segments on the plane is V-shaped or U-shaped (shown in fig. 2 the segments are “v” shaped).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki discloses wherein a thickness of each of the plurality of segments of the corrugated structure is less than 0.1 mm (para. 0055; the thin plate 132 is made of copper, the thickness of the thin plate 132 is between 0.05 and 0.15 mm).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki discloses wherein a ratio of a thickness of each of the plurality of segments of the corrugated structure to a thickness of each of the plurality of partition plates is less than 0.5 (para. 0046; interval d between adjacent plate-shaped fins 122 defines the above first air channel to the heat radiator part 130. As the airflow is in proportion to product between the height h and the interval d, the interval d is determined for the intended airflow. The interval d is set to, for example, about 7 to 11 mm, and 9 mm in the instant embodiment and the thickness of the thin plate 132 is .05-.15 which give a ratio of ~0.2).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki discloses wherein in the third direction (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 above), a length of one of the plurality of heat sink fins (132) is less than a length of one of the plurality of partition plates (the partition plates 122 extend from the heat receiving part 110 to the top or the heat sink 100; the fins 132 are only in the top portion of the heat sink and are not shown to extend to the lower portion near the heat receiving part 110).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki discloses wherein an orthographic projection range of one of the plurality of heat sink fins (132) on the fixed plate (110) at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection range of the heat source on the fixed plate (illustrated in fig. 9, the fins 132 can be projected onto the heat receiving part 110).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki discloses wherein the fractured structure (raised pieces 133 of fig. 10) is a louver structure (para. 0056; thin plate 132a uses the raised pieces 133 to disturb airflow that convects on the thin plate 132, and thus promotes turbulence and enhances the heat conductivity), and the louver structure (133) is inclined relative to the surface of one of the plurality of segments (para. 0056; raised piece 133 is formed by forming a notch 135 in the plane area 136 of the thin plate 132a, raising a top of the notch 135, and deforming the plane area 136).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki discloses further comprising: a fan (fan 150 of fig. 16), disposed close to the heat sink (illustrated in fig. 16), and facing the air guide surface of the heat sink (illustrated in fig. 16), wherein the air flow generated by the fan is adapted for entering the heat sink along the third direction or causes the air flow to pass through the heat sink in a direction opposite to the third direction and then discharge from the air guide surface (illustrated by the arrows in fig. 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US PG Pub. 20040037036).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki discloses a thermal module (radiating part 130 of fig. 1), adapted for dissipating heat from a heat source (CPU 210 of fig. 1), comprising: a heat sink (heat sink 100 of fig. 1), adapted for receiving or discharging air flow (para. 0068; The fan 150 may use a type that blows up the air from the side of the heat receiving part 110 to the side of the radiating part 130, or a type that blows up the air from the radiating part 130 to the heat receiving part 110).
Suzuki fails to explicitly teach wherein in a cross section of the heat sink, an area ratio that allows passage of the air flow is between 60% and 70%, wherein the cross section is a plane of the heat sink cut along the first direction and the second direction; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the heat transfer coefficient in the particular cross section in order to increase heat dissipation efficiencies (as is a goal disclosed in para. 0054).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki discloses a thermal module (radiating part 130 of fig. 1), adapted for dissipating heat from a heat source (CPU 210 of fig. 1), comprising: a heat sink (heat sink 100 of fig. 1), adapted for receiving or discharging air flow (para. 0068; The fan 150 may use a type that blows up the air from the side of the heat receiving part 110 to the side of the radiating part 130, or a type that blows up the air from the radiating part 130 to the heat receiving part 110).
Suzuki fails to explicitly teach wherein a heat flux coefficient of the heat sink in a cross section is between 0.3 and 0.4, wherein the cross section is a plane of the heat sink cut along the first direction and the second direction; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the heat transfer coefficient in the particular cross section in order to increase heat dissipation efficiencies (as is a goal disclosed in para. 0054).
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (US PG Pub. 20180270456) in view of Suzuki (US PG Pub. 20040037036).
Regarding claim 11, Ueda discloses a cooling device (heat sink 50 of fig. 4) for a projector (projector 100 of fig. 1); a lighting module (light source unit 250 of fig. 2), configured to provide an illumination beam (para. 0031; excitation light shining device 310 and a red light source device 350 of the light source unit 250 but also the rotation of a luminescent plate 331 of a green light source device 330 via a wheel control module 234 so that light source lights of predetermined wavelength ranges which are required in producing an image are emitted from the light source unit 250); a light valve module (display device 411 of fig. 2), disposed on a transmission path of the illumination beam to convert the illumination beam into an image beam (illustrated in fig. 2); a lens module (lens group 416 of fig. 2), disposed on a transmission path of the image beam to project the image beam (illustrated in fig. 2).
Ueda fails to teach a thermal module, configured to dissipate heat from a heat source, wherein the heat source comprises at least one of the lighting module and the light valve module, the thermal module comprises: a heat sink, adapted for receiving or discharging air flow, the heat sink comprising a body and a plurality of heat sink fins, wherein the body comprises a fixed plate and a plurality of partition plates, the fixed plate has a first surface, a second surface, and a third surface, the first surface is opposite to the second surface, the third surface is connected to the first surface and the second surface, the heat source is disposed closer to the first surface of the fixed plate than to the second surface of the fixed plate, the second surface of the fixed plate is parallel to a first direction, a number of the plurality of partition plates is more than three and the plurality of partition plates are respectively parallel to a second direction and connected to the second surface of the fixed plate by an end surface, the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, a plurality of spaces are formed between the plurality of partition plates and the second surface of the fixed plate; and the plurality of heat sink fins are respectively disposed in the plurality of spaces, each of the plurality of heat sink fins has a corrugated structure, an orthographic projection of the corrugated structure on a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction is corrugated, the corrugated structure has a plurality of segments, each of the plurality of segments is provided with a fractured structure on a surface extending in a third direction, the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, wherein, the third surface of the fixed plate and a side surface connected to the end surfaces of the plurality of partition plates form an air guide surface, and the heat sink receives or discharges the air flow through the air guide surface.
Suzuki discloses a thermal module (radiating part 130 of fig. 1), adapted for dissipating heat from a heat source (CPU 210 of fig. 1), comprising: a heat sink (heat sink 100 of fig. 1), adapted for receiving or discharging air flow (para. 0068; The fan 150 may use a type that blows up the air from the side of the heat receiving part 110 to the side of the radiating part 130, or a type that blows up the air from the radiating part 130 to the heat receiving part 110.), comprising a body and a plurality of heat sink fins (thin plate 132 of fig. 1), wherein: the body comprises a fixed plate (pillar part 120 of fig. 1) and a plurality of partition plates (T-shaped plate-shaped fins 122 of fig. 1), the fixed plate (120) has a first surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below), a second surface (the opposing surface shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below), and a third surface (an end surface that connects the 1st and 2nd surfaces), the first surface is opposite to the second surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below), the third surface is connected to the first surface and the second surface (an end surface that connects the 1st and 2nd surfaces), the heat source (CPU 210) is adapted to be disposed closer to the first surface of the fixed plate than to the second surface of the fixed plate (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 1), the second surface of the fixed plate is parallel to a first direction (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below), a number of the plurality of partition plates is more than three (shown in fig. 1, there are 5 partition plates in fig. 1) and the plurality of partition plates (122) are respectively parallel to a second direction (shown in fig. 1) and connected to the second surface of the fixed plate by an end surface, the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, a plurality of spaces (passages 134 of fig. 1) are formed between the plurality of partition plates (122) and the second surface of the fixed plate; and the plurality of heat sink fins (132) are respectively disposed in the plurality of spaces (more clearly illustrated in fig. 9), each of the plurality of heat sink fins (132) has a corrugated structure (shown in fig. 1); an orthographic projection of the corrugated structure on a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction is corrugated (see fig. 1), the corrugated structure has a plurality of segments (shown in fig. 1), each of the plurality of segments is provided with a fractured structure (plurality of raised pieces 133 of fig. 9) on a surface extending in a third direction (illustrated in fig. 9), the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (illustrated in fig. 9); wherein the third surface of the fixed plate (110) and a side surface connected to the end surfaces of the plurality of partition plates (122) form an air guide surface (para. 0043; with two fins 122, a first air channel for cooling), and the heat sink (100) receives or discharges the air flow through the air guide surface (para. 0053; the passages 134 as the second air channel defined by the thin plate 132 are connected to the above vents 128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Ueda with the heat sink of Suzuki in order to inexpensively enhance the entire heat radiation efficiency (Suzuki; para. 0013).
Regarding claim 12, Ueda discloses a cooling device (heat sink 50 of fig. 4) for a projector (projector 100 of fig. 1).
Ueda fails to teach an orthographic projection of any two adjacent segments on the plane is V-shaped or U-shaped.
Suzuki discloses wherein in the corrugated structure, an orthographic projection of any two adjacent segments on the plane is V-shaped or U-shaped (shown in fig. 2 the segments are “v” shaped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Ueda with the heat sink of Suzuki in order to inexpensively enhance the entire heat radiation efficiency (Suzuki; para. 0013).
Regarding claim 13, Ueda discloses a cooling device (heat sink 50 of fig. 4) for a projector (projector 100 of fig. 1).
Ueda fails to teach wherein a thickness of each of the plurality of segments of the corrugated structure is less than 0.1 mm.
Suzuki discloses wherein a thickness of each of the plurality of segments of the corrugated structure is less than 0.1 mm (para. 0055; the thin plate 132 is made of copper, the thickness of the thin plate 132 is between 0.05 and 0.15 mm)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Ueda with the heat sink of Suzuki in order to inexpensively enhance the entire heat radiation efficiency (Suzuki; para. 0013).
Regarding claim 14, Ueda discloses a cooling device (heat sink 50 of fig. 4) for a projector (projector 100 of fig. 1).
Ueda fails to teach wherein a ratio of a thickness of each of the plurality of segments of the corrugated structure to a thickness of each of the plurality of partition plates is less than 0.5.
Suzuki discloses wherein a ratio of a thickness of each of the plurality of segments of the corrugated structure to a thickness of each of the plurality of partition plates is less than 0.5 (para. 0046; interval d between adjacent plate-shaped fins 122 defines the above first air channel to the heat radiator part 130. As the airflow is in proportion to product between the height h and the interval d, the interval d is determined for the intended airflow. The interval d is set to, for example, about 7 to 11 mm, and 9 mm in the instant embodiment and the thickness of the thin plate 132 is .05-.15 which give a ratio of ~0.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Ueda with the heat sink of Suzuki in order to inexpensively enhance the entire heat radiation efficiency (Suzuki; para. 0013).
Regarding claim 15, Ueda discloses a cooling device (heat sink 50 of fig. 4) for a projector (projector 100 of fig. 1).
Ueda fails to teach wherein in a cross section of the heat sink, an area ratio that allows passage of the air flow is between 60% and 70%, wherein the cross section is a plane of the heat sink cut along the first direction and the second direction.
Suzuki discloses a thermal module (radiating part 130 of fig. 1), adapted for dissipating heat from a heat source (CPU 210 of fig. 1), comprising: a heat sink (heat sink 100 of fig. 1), adapted for receiving or discharging air flow (para. 0068; The fan 150 may use a type that blows up the air from the side of the heat receiving part 110 to the side of the radiating part 130, or a type that blows up the air from the radiating part 130 to the heat receiving part 110).
Suzuki fails to explicitly teach wherein in a cross section of the heat sink, an area ratio that allows passage of the air flow is between 60% and 70%, wherein the cross section is a plane of the heat sink cut along the first direction and the second direction; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the heat transfer coefficient in the particular cross section in order to increase heat dissipation efficiencies (as is a goal disclosed in para. 0054).
Regarding claim 16, Ueda discloses a cooling device (heat sink 50 of fig. 4) for a projector (projector 100 of fig. 1).
Ueda fails to teach wherein a heat flux coefficient of the heat sink in a cross section is between 0.3 and 0.4, wherein the cross section is a plane of the heat sink cut along the first direction and the second direction.
Suzuki discloses a thermal module (radiating part 130 of fig. 1), adapted for dissipating heat from a heat source (CPU 210 of fig. 1), comprising: a heat sink (heat sink 100 of fig. 1), adapted for receiving or discharging air flow (para. 0068; The fan 150 may use a type that blows up the air from the side of the heat receiving part 110 to the side of the radiating part 130, or a type that blows up the air from the radiating part 130 to the heat receiving part 110).
Suzuki fails to explicitly teach wherein a heat flux coefficient of the heat sink in a cross section is between 0.3 and 0.4, wherein the cross section is a plane of the heat sink cut along the first direction and the second direction; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the heat transfer coefficient in the particular cross section in order to increase heat dissipation efficiencies (as is a goal disclosed in para. 0054).
Regarding claim 17, Ueda discloses a cooling device (heat sink 50 of fig. 4) for a projector (projector 100 of fig. 1).
Ueda fails to teach wherein in the third direction, a length of one of the plurality of heat sink fins is less than a length of one of the plurality of partition plates.
Suzuki discloses wherein in the third direction (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 above), a length of one of the plurality of heat sink fins (132) is less than a length of one of the plurality of partition plates (the partition plates 122 extend from the heat receiving part 110 to the top or the heat sink 100; the fins 132 are only in the top portion of the heat sink and are not shown to extend to the lower portion near the heat receiving part 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Ueda with the heat sink of Suzuki in order to inexpensively enhance the entire heat radiation efficiency (Suzuki; para. 0013).
Regarding claim 18, Ueda discloses a cooling device (heat sink 50 of fig. 4) for a projector (projector 100 of fig. 1).
Ueda fails to teach wherein an orthographic projection range of one of the plurality of heat sink fins on the fixed plate at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection range of the heat source on the fixed plate.
Suzuki discloses wherein an orthographic projection range of one of the plurality of heat sink fins (132) on the fixed plate (110) at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection range of the heat source on the fixed plate (illustrated in fig. 9, the fins 132 can be projected onto the heat receiving part 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Ueda with the heat sink of Suzuki in order to inexpensively enhance the entire heat radiation efficiency (Suzuki; para. 0013).
Regarding claim 19, Ueda discloses a cooling device (heat sink 50 of fig. 4) for a projector (projector 100 of fig. 1).
Ueda fails to teach wherein the fractured structure is a louver structure, and the louver structure is inclined relative to the surface of one of the plurality of segments.
Suzuki discloses wherein the fractured structure (raised pieces 133 of fig. 10) is a louver structure (para. 0056; thin plate 132a uses the raised pieces 133 to disturb airflow that convects on the thin plate 132, and thus promotes turbulence and enhances the heat conductivity), and the louver structure (133) is inclined relative to the surface of one of the plurality of segments (para. 0056; raised piece 133 is formed by forming a notch 135 in the plane area 136 of the thin plate 132a, raising a top of the notch 135, and deforming the plane area 136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Ueda with the heat sink of Suzuki in order to inexpensively enhance the entire heat radiation efficiency (Suzuki; para. 0013).
Regarding claim 20, Ueda discloses a cooling device (heat sink 50 of fig. 4) for a projector (projector 100 of fig. 1).
Ueda fails to teach further comprising: a fan, disposed close to the heat sink, and facing the air guide surface of the heat sink, wherein the air flow generated by the fan is adapted for entering the heat sink along the third direction or adapted for passing through the heat sink in a direction opposite to the third direction and then discharging from the air guide surface.
Suzuki discloses further comprising: a fan (fan 150 of fig. 16), disposed close to the heat sink (illustrated in fig. 16), and facing the air guide surface of the heat sink (illustrated in fig. 16), wherein the air flow generated by the fan is adapted for entering the heat sink along the third direction or causes the air flow to pass through the heat sink in a direction opposite to the third direction and then discharge from the air guide surface (illustrated by the arrows in fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Ueda with the heat sink of Suzuki in order to inexpensively enhance the entire heat radiation efficiency (Suzuki; para. 0013).
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/Examiner, Art Unit 2882 15 September 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882