Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, does the chuck actually “rotates synchronously around the main shaft” (italics added, lines 6-7)? Such is not consistent with drawings. Figure 9 displays both as being absolutely fixed together, suggestive that the both rotate together.
Maybe, the quoted limitation relates the action of the shaft being rotated as the shaft is initially inserted into the chuck 1; but such does not quite seem likely.
As to claim 1, “the test sample” was never introduced. Should such read - - a test sample - - ?
As to claim 1, the last 2 lines are confusing as it’s not clear if the temperature controlling system 4 “is connected” to test sample 1.1.
As to claim 2, it’s not clear how many slots are in this claim. Consider that it calls for “a slot” and “a plurality of slots”. Does the claim call for at least 3 slots? Doe the “a plurality” (line 18) include the “a slot” (line 16) for a total of at least 2 slots?
As to claim 4, “the standard section” was never initially introduced. Should this claim have depended upon claim 3? What is was Applicant’s intent?
As to claim 4, this claim separately calls for “a thermocouple” 4.1 and “a temperature controlling system” 4, but specification suggest that the system 4 includes the thermocouple 4.1.1 The claim is not consistent with specification in terms of numerical identifiers. What is Applicant’s true intent?
As to claim 10, “the standard section” was never introduced in this claim. Doesn’t the “test sample” (of claim 1) comprise that section?
As to claim 11, “specifically” (line 4) is indefinite. Also, change “mod” (last line) to - - module - - .
As to claim 12, “specifically” (line 4) is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Xuan et al CN 107063690 (1449).
Xuan teaches a testing device for mechanical properties of a material under a high rotation speed and a high temperature, wherein:
the device comprises a sample chuck 2, an induction heating system 7, a
the sample chuck 2 is coaxially installed on a main shaft 1 of a centrifugal machine and rotates synchronously around the main shaft of the centrifugal machine,
the test sample 11 is installed on the sample chuck 2,
the induction heating system 7 is coaxially installed on the centrifugal machine and does not rotate around the main shaft of the centrifugal machine,
the induction heating system 7 is connected to the circulating water cooling system (by way of port 6), and
the temperature controlling system 8 is connected to the circulating water cooling system and the test sample respectively.
The specification of Xuan does not state that the cooling water is circulating, and the drawings are not specific to that extent.
As to claim 1, either the cooling water is circulating, as one of ordinary skill would recognize that the test device employs circulating cooling water components as one time use (i.e. wastage) of water is unheard of, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to do so because circulating water effective and prevents waste.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Xuan et al CN 107063690 (1449).
As to claim 5, it would have been obvious to heat both side of the test specimen 11 because Figure 2 indicates the sensor 13 and crack 10 would be more evenly heated, providing for a more representative temperature reading of the crack region.
Reference Not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reference Peng et al CN 11478174 teach a testing device for mechanical properties of a material under a high rotation speed and a high temperature, wherein:
the device comprises a sample chuck 132/133, an
the sample chuck 132/133 is coaxially installed on a main shaft of a
the test sample is installed on the sample chuck,
the
the
Reference Yoo 2050328633 teach employing a controller that controls both cooling and heating of a sample within a centrifuging device.
Reference Jimbo 4742718 teach use of slip rings 15,16 o pass singles between a centrifuging unit (that serves to measure material in the centrifuge) and measuring device 7.
Reference Dawson 4553438 teach measuring a material 16 by applying centrifuge force there on until failure of the material. Only speed of rotation is controlled by a controller. There is no heating, no cooling.
Conclusion
/ROBERT R RAEVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
1 Note that claim 9 expressly states that the “system (4) comprises a thermocouple (4.1)”.