DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits, claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 11/21/2024 has been considered. An initialed copy of the IDS is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190111916 , to Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches A parking support apparatus configured to execute an automatic parking control for making a vehicle travel automatically to a designated space designated by a user to park the vehicle in the designated space automatically, wherein, the parking support apparatus is configured to; (See at least paragraph [] “determining the autonomous driving mode from among the first mode and the second mode may include based on a determination that the target parking position has been set, determining the first mode as the autonomous driving mode”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0268] “in the configuration step 30, the vehicle 100 may be instructed to perform parking [S31]”). Furthermore, (See at least paragraph [0271] “the user can directly designate a specific parking space as the target parking position [S32]”).
end the automatic parking control when a predetermined end condition is satisfied; make the vehicle travel automatically to search for an available space in which the vehicle can park, when the parking support apparatus determines that the vehicle cannot park in the designated space while the vehicle travels automatically to the designated space; (See at least paragraph [0017] “switching the autonomous driving mode may include based on satisfaction of a first condition in which the target parking position is unavailable for parking the vehicle, switching the autonomous driving mode from the first mode to the second mode”). Lee teaches that the first mode and the second mode are, (See at least paragraph [0010] “an autonomous driving mode of the vehicle from among a first mode for controlling a speed of the vehicle to move the vehicle to the target parking position and a second mode for controlling a movement path of the vehicle to search for an available parking position”).
automatically park the vehicle in the available space when the parking support apparatus finds the available space; (See at least paragraph [0017] “switching the autonomous driving mode from the first mode to the second mode, and based on satisfaction of a second condition in which the target parking position is available for parking the vehicle, switching the autonomous driving mode from the second mode to the first mode”).
and inform the user that there is no available space when the parking support apparatus finds no available space by a time at which the end condition is satisfied. (See at least paragraph [0017] “a condition in which a period of time elapsed for attempts for parking the vehicle at the target parking position is outside of a predetermined period of time.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0076] “The user interface device 200 may receive a user input, and provide information generated in the vehicle 100 to the user.”).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the claimed features of claim 1 and Lee further disclose, wherein, the parking support apparatus is configured to: search the available space, even before the parking support apparatus determines that the vehicle cannot park in the designated space; and automatically park the vehicle in the available space, if the parking support apparatus finds the available space when the parking support apparatus determines that the vehicle cannot park in the designated space. (See at least paragraph [0296] “If there are other available parking spaces when the target parking position is initially configured in the step S30, such additional spaces may be considered together with the parking spaces detected in the step S131 in configuring the new target parking position, and thus the optimal new target parking position can be configured. Thereafter, the vehicle 100 can start autonomous driving according to the first mode again by performing the steps S110 to S130 without entering the second mode for searching for a parking space, which will be described later. That is, in the searching step S131, the vehicle 100 can simultaneously detect parking spaces while being driven in first mode, and thus reconfigure the optimal target parking position without entering the second mode and restart the first mode. Hence, through the searching step S131, the vehicle 100 can perform parking rapidly and efficiently.”).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the claimed features of claim 1 and Lee further disclose, wherein, the parking support apparatus is configured to park the vehicle in the available space without ending the automatic parking control, when the end condition is satisfied during a time period from a time at which the parking support apparatus finds the available space to a time at which the vehicle completes parking in the available space. (See at least paragraph [0019] “autonomously driving the vehicle in the second mode may include stopping the vehicle around the potential parking space for a predetermined time, and determining whether the potential parking space is available within the predetermined time, based on a determination that the potential parking space is unavailable within the predetermined time, restarting autonomously driving the vehicle along a predetermined path to search for another parking space.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0328] “ although the vehicle configures the parking path E to the empty parking position S1, the vehicle 100 may determine that it fails to park using the parking path E within a predetermined time or a predetermined number of attempts.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190111916 , to Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210354686, to Pan et al (hereinafter Pan).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the claimed features of claim 1, Lee fails to explicitly disclose, however Pan discloses wherein, the parking support apparatus is configured to determine that the end condition is satisfied when a travel distance that the vehicle has traveled from a start point at which the automatic parking control is started is equal to or longer than a threshold distance. (See at least paragraph [0080-0082] “the automatic parking control device 4 determines whether the distance of the vehicle is greater than or equal to the length of the parking path that the current parking sub-path needs to execute; if not, the process proceeds to S53; if so, the process proceeds to S55. At S53, the automatic parking control device 4 determines a relationship between the distance-measurement value collected by the sensors Rd1-Rd12 and a preset collision threshold; if all the distance-measurement values collected by the sensors Rd1-Rd12 are greater than or equal to the collision threshold, the control over the parking sub-path is continued; if one of the distance-measurement values collected by the ultrasonic sensors Rd1-Rd12 is smaller than the collision threshold, the process proceeds to S54. At S54, the control over the current parking sub-path is terminated,”).
Lee as modified by Pan, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, parking systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Pan because incorporating the ending the parking based off of distance will aid Lee with avoiding the vehicle of continuously moving further from the user position.
Conclusion
/WESAM NMN ALMADHRHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666