DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 11/21/2024 where 21-34 are pending. Claims 1-20 are cancelled.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 11/21/2024. These drawing are acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024, 05/09/2025, 10/10/2025, 02/04/2026 have been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Regarding claim 21 of the application 18/954,541 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patent as being unpatentable over claims 1 of US Patent US 12587345 B2 of application 18/122,116
Independent claim 1 of 18/954,541
Independent claim 7 of US 11637679 B2
21. (New) A base wireless communication terminal that wirelessly communicates with a plurality of wireless communication terminal, the base wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: generate a trigger MAC Protocol Data Unit (trigger MPDU) including trigger information which triggers an uplink (UL) transmission of a wireless communication terminal to the base wireless communication terminal, and includes information on an association identifier (AID) of the wireless communication terminal, transmit a PLCP Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) including an Aggregate-MPDU (A-MPDU) comprising the trigger MPDU including the trigger information and one or more data MPDUs including data to the wireless communication terminal by using the transceiver, and receive ACK information indicating that the data is received, wherein the ACK information is transmitted from the wireless communication terminal based on the trigger information, wherein the A-MPDU includes a plurality of trigger MPDUs including the trigger information.
22. (New) The base wireless communication terminal of claim 21, wherein each of the plurality of trigger MPDUs includes the same trigger information.
1. A base wireless communication terminal that wirelessly communicates with a plurality of wireless communication terminal, the base wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: generate a trigger MAC Protocol Data Unit (trigger MPDU) including trigger information which triggers an uplink (UL) transmission of a wireless communication terminal to the base wireless communication terminal, and includes information on a resource unit (RU) allocated for the UL transmission of the wireless communication terminal and information on an association identifier (AID) of the wireless communication terminal, transmit a PLCP Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) including an Aggregate-MPDU (A-MPDU) comprising the trigger MPDU including the trigger information and one or more data MPDUs including data to the wireless communication terminal by using the transceiver, and receive ACK information indicating that the data is received, wherein the ACK information is transmitted from the wireless communication terminal based on the information on the RU, wherein the A-MPDU includes a plurality of trigger MPDUs including the trigger information, wherein each of the plurality of trigger MPDUs includes the same trigger information.
23. (New) The base wireless communication terminal of claim 21, wherein the processor is configured to transmit one of the plurality of trigger MPDUs as a first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs.
2. The base wireless communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to transmit one of the plurality of trigger MPDUs as a first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs.
24. (New) The base wireless communication terminal of claim 21, wherein the processor is configured to insert the trigger information into a MAC header of the one or more data MPDUs.
3. The base wireless communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to insert the trigger information into a MAC header of the one or more data MPDUs.
25. (New) The base wireless communication terminal of claim 21, wherein the processor is configured to set an ACK policy of the one or more data MPDUs to be a value which indicates that an immediate response is needed, and receive the ACK information, within a predetermined time from a time point at an end of transmitting the PPDU, simultaneously with receiving ACK information from the other wireless communication terminal.
4. The base wireless communication terminal of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to set an ACK policy of the one or more data MPDUs to be a value which indicates that an immediate response is needed, and receive the ACK information, within a predetermined time from a time point at an end of transmitting the PPDU, simultaneously with receiving ACK information from the other wireless communication terminal.
26. (New) A wireless communication terminal that wirelessly communicates with a base wireless communication terminal, the wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receive, from the base wireless communication terminal, a PLCP Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) including an Aggregate-MAC Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) which includes a trigger MPDU including trigger information and one or more data MPDUs including data by using the transceiver, wherein the trigger information triggers an uplink (UL) transmission of the wireless communication terminal to the base wireless communication terminal, and includes information on an association identifier (AID) of the wireless communication terminal, obtain the trigger MPDU from the A-MPDU , and transmit ACK information indicating that the data is received to the base wireless communication terminal based on the trigger information, wherein the A-MPDU includes a plurality of trigger MPDUs including the trigger information. 27. (New) The wireless communication terminal of claim 26, wherein each of the plurality of trigger MPDUs includes the same trigger information.
5. A wireless communication terminal that wirelessly communicates with a base wireless communication terminal, the wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receive, from the base wireless communication terminal, a PLCP Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) including an Aggregate-MAC Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) which includes a trigger MPDU including trigger information and one or more data MPDUs including data by using the transceiver, wherein the trigger information triggers an uplink (UL) transmission of the wireless communication terminal to the base wireless communication terminal, and includes information on a resource unit (RU) allocated for the UL transmission of the wireless communication terminal and information on an association identifier (AID) of the wireless communication terminal, obtain the trigger MPDU from the A-MPDU, and transmit ACK information indicating that the data is received to the base wireless communication terminal based on the information on the RU, wherein the A-MPDU includes a plurality of trigger MPDUs including the trigger information, wherein each of the plurality of trigger MPDUs includes the same trigger information.
28. (New) The wireless communication terminal of claim 26, wherein one of the plurality of trigger MPDUs is the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs, wherein the processor is configured to obtain the trigger information from the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs.
6. The wireless communication terminal of claim 5, wherein one of the plurality of trigger MPDUs is the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs, wherein the processor is configured to obtain the trigger information from the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs.
29. (New) The wireless communication terminal of claim 26, wherein the one or more data MPDUs include a MAC header including the trigger information.
7. The wireless communication terminal of claim 5, wherein the one or more data MPDUs include a MAC header including the trigger information.
30. (New) The wireless communication terminal of claim 26, wherein the trigger information comprises information indicating one or more RUs allocated to a random access, wherein the processor is configured to obtain a counter value randomly within a predetermined range, and determine whether to perform a random access based on the counter value and a number of the one or more RUs allocated to the random access.
8. The wireless communication terminal of claim 5, wherein the trigger information comprises information indicating the one or more RUs allocated to a random access, wherein the processor is configured to obtain a counter value randomly within a predetermined range, and determine whether to perform a random access based on the counter value and a number of the one or more RUs allocated to the random access.
31. (New) The wireless communication terminal of claim 26, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the ACK information, through a RU indicated by the information on the RU, within a predetermined time from a time point at an end of receiving the PPDU.
9. The wireless communication terminal of claim 5, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the ACK information, through a RU indicated by the information on the RU, within a predetermined time from a time point at an end of receiving the PPDU.
32. (New) A method of operating a wireless communication terminal that wirelessly communicates with a base wireless communication terminal, the method comprising: receiving, from the base wireless communication terminal, a PLCP Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) including an Aggregate-MAC Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) which includes a trigger MPDU including trigger information and one or more data MPDUs including data, wherein the trigger information triggers an uplink (UL) transmission of the wireless communication terminal to the base wireless communication terminal, and includes information on an association identifier (AID) of the wireless communication terminal, obtaining the trigger MPDU from the A-MPDU, and transmitting ACK information indicating that the data is received to the base wireless communication terminal based on the trigger information, wherein the A-MPDU includes a plurality of trigger MPDUs including the trigger information. 33. (New) The method of claim 32, wherein each of the plurality of trigger MPDUs includes the same trigger information.
10. A method of operating a wireless communication terminal that wirelessly communicates with a base wireless communication terminal, the method comprising: receiving, from the base wireless communication terminal, a PLCP Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) including an Aggregate-MAC Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) which includes a trigger MPDU including trigger information and one or more data MPDUs including data, wherein the trigger information triggers an uplink (UL) transmission of the wireless communication terminal to the base wireless communication terminal, and includes information on a resource unit (RU) allocated for the UL transmission of the wireless communication terminal and information on an association identifier (AID) of the wireless communication terminal, obtaining the trigger MPDU from the A-MPDU, and transmitting ACK information indicating that the data is received to the base wireless communication terminal based on the information on the RU, wherein the A-MPDU includes a plurality of trigger MPDUs including the trigger information, wherein each of the plurality of trigger MPDUs includes the same trigger information.
34. (New) The method of claim 32, wherein one of the plurality of trigger MPDUs is the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs, obtaining the trigger MPDU from the A-MPDU comprises obtaining the trigger information from the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein one of the plurality of trigger MPDUs is the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs, obtaining the trigger MPDU from the A-MPDU comprises obtaining the trigger information from the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs.
A nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where a claim in an application under examination claims subject matter that is different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter claimed in a prior patent or a co-pending application. The claim under examination is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) if the claim under examination is anticipated by the reference claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22, 23, 25, 26, 28, 31, 32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merlin et al. (US 20160014804 A1) hereinafter Merlin and further in view of Cherian et al. (US 20160330007 A1) hereinafter Cherian, priority 62/157,921, dated May 6, 2015
As to Claim 21. Merlin teaches A base wireless communication terminal that wirelessly communicates with a plurality of wireless communication terminal, [0073] Fig. 2,, an access point communicates with sta’s)
the base wireless communication terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: ([0076] Fig. 2, , AP includes processor, transmitter, receiver, memory )
generate a trigger MAC Protocol Data Unit (trigger MPDU) including trigger information which triggers an uplink (UL) transmission of a wireless communication terminal to the base wireless communication terminal, ([0136] FIG. 23A, the AP 110 can transmit the A-PPDU 2320A, including trigger information and one or more DL MU PPDUs, to one or more STAs 120.)
and includes information on an association identifier (AID) of the wireless communication terminal, ([0111] Fig. 12, STA Info 1230 field contains information regarding a particular STA and can include a per-STA (per STA 120) set of information (see STA Info 1 1230 and STA Info N 1275). The STA Info 1230 field can include an AID or MAC address field 1232 which identifies a STA)
transmit a PLCP Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) including an Aggregate-MPDU (A-MPDU) comprising the trigger MPDU including the trigger information and one or more data MPDUs including data to the wireless communication terminal by using the transceiver, ([0116]Fig. 2, Fig. 16, the CTX portion of the A-MPDU messages 407A and 407B contain information for one STA (STA 120A and 120B, respectively) and the STAs 120A and 120B receive the messages 407A and 407B and begin the UL-MU-MIMO (or UL-FDMA) transmissions 410A and 410B)
and receive ACK information indicating that the data is received, wherein the ACK information is transmitted from the wireless communication terminal based on the trigger information,( [0136] FIG. 23A, the AP 110 can transmit the A-PPDU 2320A, including trigger information and one or more DL MU PPDUs, to one or more STAs 120. The STAs 120 can receive the DL MU PPDUs and can transmit one or more BAs 2330 based at least in part on the trigger information of the A-PPDU 2320A
Merlin does not explicitly teaches wherein the A-MPDU includes a plurality of trigger MPDUs including the trigger information.
Cherian teaches wherein the A-MPDU includes a plurality of trigger MPDUs including the trigger information.([0061] Fig. 4, The data portion 456 includes a combined trigger/BAR frame 458, which is in an A-MPDU)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Cherian with the teaching of Merlin because Cherian teaches that multiple user terminals to communicate with a single access point by sharing the channel resources allowing to achieve high data throughputs. (Cherian [0007])
Claims 26 and 32 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 21.
As to Claim 22. the combination of Merlin and Cherian specifically Cherian teaches wherein each of the plurality of trigger MPDUs includes the same trigger information. ([0061] Fig. 4, The data portion 456 includes a combined trigger/BAR frame 458, which is in an A-MPDU. The combined trigger/BAR frame 458 includes the trigger message and the BAR message. Thus, each of the user terminals 120a, 120b, 120c, upon receiving the DL PPDU 450, can obtain the combined trigger/BAR frame 458/same trigger, by demodulating the data portion 436. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Cherian with the teaching of Merlin because Cherian teaches that multiple user terminals to communicate with a single access point by sharing the channel resources allowing to achieve high data throughputs. (Cherian [0007])
Claims 27 and 31 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 22.
As to Claim 23. the combination of Merlin and Cherian, specifically Cherian teaches wherein the processor is configured to transmit one of the plurality of trigger MPDUs as a first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs. ([0071][0072] Fig. 6, A-MPDUs 613-a, 613-b, 613-c includes one or more MPDUs. Further, the DL MU PPDU 612 may include a trigger message and data 624)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Cherian with the teaching of Merlin because Cherian teaches that multiple user terminals to communicate with a single access point by sharing the channel resources allowing to achieve high data throughputs. (Cherian [0007])
As to Claim 28. he combination of Merlin and Cherian, specifically Merlin teaches wherein the processor is configured to obtain the trigger information from the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs. ([0132][0136] FIG. 23A, the AP 110 can transmit the A-PPDU 2320A, including trigger information and one or more DL MU PPDUs, to one or more STAs 120., STAs 120 can receive the DL MU PPDUs /a-MPDU, and can transmit one or more BAs 2330 based at least in part on the trigger information of the A-PPDU 2320A.
Merlin does not teach wherein one of the plurality of trigger MPDUs is the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs,
Cherian teaches wherein one of the plurality of trigger MPDUs is the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs, ([0071][0072] Fig. 6, A-MPDUs 613-a, 613-b, 613-c includes one or more MPDUs. Further, the DL MU PPDU 612 may include a trigger message and data 624)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Cherian with the teaching of Merlin because Cherian teaches that multiple user terminals to communicate with a single access point by sharing the channel resources allowing to achieve high data throughputs. (Cherian [0007])
As to Claim 25. the combination of Merlin and Cherian, specifically Merlin teaches , and receive the ACK information, within a predetermined time ([0109] Fig. 10, he amount of time for the SIF 1010 response can also be included in the SSF 1005 or pre-negotiated, When the response time is known by the STAs 120) from a time point at an end of transmitting the PPDU, ([0094] Fig. 4,Fig. 6, STAs 120A and 120B receive a CTX message 402 from the AP 110 and are allowed to start and UL-MU-MIMO transmission a time (T) 406 after the end of the PPDU carrying the CTX message 402.) simultaneously with receiving ACK information from the other wireless communication terminal. ([0120] if the AP 110 can multiplex ACKs or BAs to STAs 120, then more than one STA 120 can set the BA policy to immediate BA or normal ACK. In this embodiment, the AP 110 will use DL-MU-MIMO or DL-FDMA to send immediate ACKs to the multiple STAs 120 that indicated immediate BA or normal ACK at the same time)
Merlin does not teach wherein the processor is configured to set an ACK policy of the one or more data MPDUs to be a value which indicates that an immediate response is needed,
Cherian teaches wherein the processor is configured to set an ACK policy of the one or more data MPDUs to be a value which indicates that an immediate response is needed, ([0057] Fig. 4, each MPDU of the A-MPDUs 413-a, 413-b, 413-c may have an acknowledgement (ACK) policy set as “Block Ack,” which indicates that a receiving user terminal should wait for a BAR before responding with a BA, which indicates that the receiving user terminal may send a BA immediately upon receiving the MPDU (e.g., a short interframe space (SIFS) after receiving the MPDU).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Cherian with the teaching of Merlin because Cherian teaches that multiple user terminals to communicate with a single access point by sharing the channel resources allowing to achieve high data throughputs. (Cherian [0007])
As to claim 31. the combination of Merlin and Cherian, specifically , Merlin teaches wherein the processor is configured to transmit the ACK information, through a RU indicated by the information on the RU, within a predetermined time from a time point at an end of receiving the PPDU. [0109] Fig. 10, he amount of time for the SIF 1010 response can also be included in the SSF 1005 or pre-negotiated, When the response time is known by the STAs 120) from a time point at an end of transmitting the PPDU, ([0094] Fig. 4,Fig. 6, STAs 120A and 120B receive a CTX message 402 from the AP 110 and are allowed to start and UL-MU-MIMO transmission a time (T) 406 after the end of the PPDU carrying the CTX message 402.)
As to claim 34. he combination of Merlin and Cherian, specifically Merlin teaches wherein one of the plurality of trigger MPDUs is the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs, ([0132][0136] FIG. 23A, the AP 110 can transmit the A-PPDU 2320A, including trigger information and one or more DL MU PPDUs, to one or more STAs 120., STAs 120 can receive the DL MU PPDUs /a-MPDU, and can transmit one or more BAs 2330 based at least in part on the trigger information of the A-PPDU 2320A).
Merlin does not teach obtaining the trigger MPDU from the A-MPDU comprises obtaining the trigger information from the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs.
Cherian teaches obtaining the trigger MPDU from the A-MPDU comprises obtaining the trigger information from the first MPDU among the plurality of trigger MPDUs and one or more data MPDUs. ([0071][0072] Fig. 6, A-MPDUs 613-a, 613-b, 613-c includes one or more MPDUs. Further, the DL MU PPDU 612 may include a trigger message and data 624)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Cherian with the teaching of Merlin because Cherian teaches that multiple user terminals to communicate with a single access point by sharing the channel resources allowing to achieve high data throughputs. (Cherian [0007])
Claim(s) 24, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merlin, Cherian and further in view of Chun et al. (US 20170272138 A1) hereinafter Chun
As to Claim 24, the combination of Merlin and Cherian, does not teach wherein the processor is configured to insert the trigger information into a MAC header of the one or more data MPDUs.
Chun teaches wherein the processor is configured to insert the trigger information into a MAC header of the one or more data MPDUs. ([0624] when the trigger frame is configured as one MPDU, the PPDU may include only the MPDU corresponding to the trigger frame in the data field. In this case, the information (that is, trigger information) for the UL MU transmission may be included in the MAC header or a MAC frame body in the corresponding MPDU.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Chun with the teaching of Merlin and Cherian because Chun teaches that AP allow the STA to trigger transmission of the UL NDP in order to measure the UL channel status thereby providing improvement of system performance in a dense environment in which many APs and many STAs are present .(Chun[0009][0770]
Claim 29 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 24.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merlin, Cherian and further in view of Ghosh et al. (US 20160262185 A1) hereinafter Ghosh, provisional application:62/127,675 dated: March 3, 2015.
As to Claim 30. the combination of Merlin and Cherian, does not teach wherein the trigger information comprises information indicating one or more RUs allocated to a random access, wherein the processor is configured to obtain a counter value randomly within a predetermined range, and determine whether to perform a random access based on the counter value and a number of the one or more RUs allocated to the random access.
Ghosh teaches wherein the trigger information comprises information indicating one or more RUs allocated to a random access, ([0058] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, each wireless station 120 may enabled to identify whether each resource unit included in each trigger frame is allocated to random access (e.g., AID0))
wherein the processor is configured to obtain a counter value randomly within a predetermined range, and determine whether to perform a random access based on the counter value and a number of the one or more RUs allocated to the random access. ([0061] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 3 resource units may be idle in either of the following 2 cases: (i) none of the back-off counters of wireless stations 120 decremented to zero in a Trigger frame; and (ii) wireless stations 120 randomly select resource units and there were not enough wireless stations 120 to select all the resource unit assigned for random access)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Ghosh with the teaching of Merlin and Cherian because Ghosh teaches that when assigned integer reaches zero, transmitting data packet by multiple wireless stations would reduce potential for collisions of data packets being transmitted while providing a secure alternative means for ensuring timely and accurate communication of the data packet.(Ghosh [0016]
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Negus; Kevin J. et al. [US 20130272217 A1] HYBRID BAND INTELLIGENT BACKHAUL RADIO
LEA; David Andrew G. et al. [US 20130044028 A1] INTELLIGENT BACKHAUL RADIO AND ANTENNA SYSTEM
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413