Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the configuration with both ends having through holes now covered by claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Paragraph 0076 states that a hole 19j can be in the convex part 19b but such an embodiment has not been shown. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 12. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
In this class there is only a minor difference in the wording and the order in which features are positively recited but all the structural elements are the same between the two claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 states that the pin is screwed into a female screw hole, however in the embodiment(s) that use a female screw hole the hole is in the form of a blind bore and thus the pin does not protrude on both ends as require by claim 1. When the pin protrudes from both ends a nut is used to secure the pin in place or the pin is bent and there is no female screw hole in one of the groove walls and thus the claim is presenting a combination not disclosed in the original filing.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim states that the restricting pin passes through the first groove side and abuts the second groove side, however it is unclear how it is possible for the pin to “abut” in the context as set forth by the disclosure when claim 1 has been amended to state that the two ends of the pin protrude out of the housing. If both ends protrude out of the housing then both ends of the pin must pass through the corresponding groove side and there would be no abutment like that shown by figure 9b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9, 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR20010001439 (KR439).
Regarding claim 1, KR439 discloses a radial foil bearing configured to surround and support a rotation axis, the radial foil bearing comprising: a bearing housing (100); an insertion hole (101) formed in the bearing housing and through which the rotation axis is to be inserted; a groove (102) provided in an inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole; a through hole (103) including an opening formed in the groove and extending to an outer peripheral surface of the bearing housing (runs from the groove to the outer surface of the housing); a restricting pin (120) inserted into the through hole and extending into the groove; and a top foil (110) located in the insertion hole, wherein the groove is formed so as to reach an axial end surface of the bearing housing (the groove 102 includes an opening on an axial end face), wherein the top foil includes a circumferential end part located in the groove (end with 111), and wherein the restricting pin passes through an inner side surface of the groove and includes two ends that both protrude outside the bearing housing (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 3, KR439 discloses that the inner side surface includes: a first groove side surface (left or right vertical sidewall of 102); and a second groove side surface (other one of the left or right vertical sidewall) facing the first groove side
surface, and wherein the restricting pin passes (6) through both the first groove side surface and the second groove side surface (figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, KR439 discloses a second restricting pin that passes through the inner side surface, where in the end part of the top foil is located between the restricting pin and the second restricting pin in an axial direction of the rotation axis (two pins 120 are shown in figure 3 and the material between holes 111 in foil 110 is a part of the top foil that extends between the pins).
Regarding claim 9, KR439 discloses that the two ends of the restricting pin comprise retention portions (bolt head and nut) that restrict displacement of the restricting pin from the bearing housing.
Regarding claim 10, KR439 discloses that the groove (102) extends in an axial direction of the rotation axis (extends parallel to the axis), and wherein the restricting pin and the end part of the top foil overlap when viewed in an extending direction of the groove (the pin passes through a hole in the top foil end, this creates an overlap when viewed in the extending direction).
Regarding claim 21, KR439 discloses a radial foil bearing configured to surround and support a rotation axis, the radial foil bearing comprising: a bearing housing (100) including an insertion hole through which the rotation axis is to be inserted; a top foil (110) located inside an inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole; a groove (102) provided on the inner peripheral surface in which two end parts of the top foil are located (see figure 5); a first restricting pin (120) configured to contact a first end part of the two end parts (extends through both) in the groove to restrict a movement of the top foil in an axial direction of the rotation axis, and a second restriction pin (second pin illustrated in figure 3) configured to contact a second end part of the two end parts in the groove to restrict the movement of the top foil in the axial direction, wherein at least one of the first end part and the second part is located between the first and second restricting pins in the axial direction of the groove (each end has a portion that extends between the two adjacent pins, see figure 3 and the hole pattern for the bolts shown in figure 4a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20010001439 (KR439).
Regarding claim 2, KR439 appears to show a configuration where the groove would reach both axial ends of the housing, however KR439 does not clearly illustrate or explicitly state this and thus does not disclose that the groove extends so as to reach both end surfaces in an axial direction of the rotation axis of the bearing housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify KR439 and extend the groove to both axial ends of the housing in order to allow the top foil to be inserted from either side of the housing for the purpose of simplifying manufacturing and assembly of the product (doesn’t require precise machining of a particular length/depth of the groove and results in an opening in each side where the top foil can be inserted through either opening).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20010001439 (KR439) in view of Xing, CN 112943789.
KR439 is silent with regards to the relationship between the pin size and the hole in the top foil and thus does not explicitly provide a configuration that allows for relative displacement between the parts.
Xing teaches that the restricting pin (6) passes through a hole (8) provided at the end part of the top foil in the groove, and wherein the top foil is installed in a state that allows for a displacement corresponding to a dimensional difference between the restricting pin and the hole (the translation describes 8 as having a slightly larger size than 6 to allow for movement, see page 4 paragraph beginning “the free end of the inner layer foil 2”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at time of effective filing to modify KR439 and provide the holes in the top foil to be oversized to allow for relative movement between the pin and the top foil, as taught by Xing, for the predictable result of allowing for relative movement in the system to compensate of alignment issues or to respond to changing pressures or thermal expansion properties in the device (oversized holes allow for relative expansion and movement to compensate for a number of issues).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 15-19 are allowed.
Regarding claim 11, amend to include the allowable subject matter of claim 14, the prior art of record does not disclose a top foil with concave and convex ends that overlap each other while also using restricting pins to retain the overlapping ends in place. The newly applied reference above includes two flat ends that face each other these flat ends are not convex or concave as described in the disclosure of the instant application nor do they actually engage each other as they are spaced apart from one another in the assembled device of the reference as illustrated.
Regarding claim 17, amended to include the allowable subject matter of claim 20, the prior art of record does not teach nor render obvious the claimed combination with the additional feature of the pin including a bent portion that is located outside of the housing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot as the amendment to the independent claims over comes the previously applied prior art of record by incorporating the previously indicated allowable subject matter into the independent claims. However, the amendment has caused additional, new, issues above and the submission of the IDS on 3/19/2026 without a timing statement and with the payment of the timing fee has resulted in previously indicated allowable subject matter being reconsidered. The arguments regarding the previous grounds of rejection are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on March 19, 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES PILKINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617