DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024 and 8/4/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Franklin (20200096775) hereafter Franklin.
Regarding claim 1, Franklin discloses a head-mounted display device (abstract), comprising: a body (fig. 10A and 11A) having a first lens holder (see fig. 2, 3A, 10A, 11A) and a second lens holder (see fig. 2, 3A, 10A, 11A) respectively used to accommodate a first lens (330) and a second lens (330) corresponding to both eyes, wherein an inner wall of the first lens holder has at least two first combining portions (fig. 10A 11A, elements 1046, 1044, 1016f, 1016e, 1116e, 1116d are all combining portions), and an inner wall of the second lens holder (fig. 10A, 11A) has at least two second combining portions (elements 1046, 1044, 1016f, 1016e, 1116e, 1116d are combining portions); a first optical lens group (316b), installed in the body and corresponding to the first lens holder (fig. 10A, 11A); and a second optical lens group (316b), installed in the body and corresponding to the second lens holder (10A, 11A), wherein when the first lens is accommodated in the first lens holder, two third combining portions of the first lens are combined with the first combining portions (par. [0064]-[0070], and a gap is maintained between the first lens and the first optical lens group (fig. 10A, 11A), when the second lens is accommodated in the second lens holder, two fourth combining portions of the second lens are combined with the second combining portions, and a gap is maintained between the second lens and the second optical lens group (see fig. 2, 10A, 10B, 11A, 11B, par. [0038][0045][0064]-[0070], note that one or more interchangeable lenses can be used to for corrective vision purposes when using the head mounted display. Also, when the lenses 330 are combined with lens 316b, using the plurality of combining portions a gap is maintained between them) .
Regarding claim 2, Franklin discloses the head-mounted display device according to claim 1, wherein the first lens holder, the second lens holder, and the body are integrally formed (see fig. 10B and 11B).
Regarding claim 3, Franklin discloses the head-mounted display device according to claim 1, wherein a number of the first combining portions is greater than or equal to three, and a number of the second combining portions is greater than or equal to three (see fig. 10B and 11B combining portions 1046, 1044, 1016f, 1016e).
Regarding claim 5, Franklin discloses the head-mounted display device according to claim 1, further comprising a fastener for fixing the first lens to the first lens holder (fig. 11A, 11B, par. [0064]-[0070]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art does not disclose the claimed head-mounted display specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein a number of the third combining portions is greater than or equal to three, a number of the fourth combining portions is greater than or equal to three, the first lens and the second lens are circular, the first combining portions are asymmetrically distributed, and the second combining portions are asymmetrically distributed.”
Regarding claim 6 (and its dependents), the prior art does not disclose the claimed head-mounted display specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein when a third lens is accommodated in the first lens holder, two seventh combining portions of the third lens are combined with the fifth combining portions, a gap is maintained between the third lens and the first optical lens group, and optical properties of the third lens are different from optical properties of the first lens, when a fourth lens is accommodated in the second lens holder, two eighth combining portions of the fourth lens are combined with the sixth combining portions, a gap is maintained between the fourth lens and the second optical lens group, and optical properties of the fourth lens are different from optical properties of the second lens.”
Conclusion
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872