DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species F (corresponding to the embodiment of Figure 7) in the reply filed on 11/28/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the different illustrated embodiments in the present application are all different implementations of the light-guide assembly including a light guide plate and light guiding element, and would not cause any confusion in the examination. This is not found persuasive because the election of species is required for independent or distinct inventions, and a serious search and/or examination burden is on the examiner if restriction is not required, rather than for embodiments causing confusion in examination. Please see the Requirement for Restriction mailed 9/3/2025 for a discussion on the different features of the distinct embodiments. Please see MPEP §808.01(a). Furthermore, as discussed in the Requirement for Restriction mailed 9/3/2025, due to such differences, the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries). Please also see MPEP §808.02. Therefore, since Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, and 11 are not encompassed by the species of Figure 7, these claims are therefore not elected by the applicant, and are not further examined in this Office Action. Claims 1, 4-6, 9, and 10, which are drawn to the embodiment of Figure 7 are therefore elected and will be examined.
Therefore, Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/28/2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regards to Claim 5 and Claim 6, Claim 5 lines 1-3 recite the limitation “further comprising a light-transmitting cover plate, disposed between the light-transmitting cover plate and the light guide plate”. It is unclear as to how the light-transmitting cover plate is positioned relative the light guide plate. Particularly, it is unclear as to whether the light-transmitting cover plate is intended to be disposed between another element of the front light module and the light guide plate, whether another element of the front light module is intended to be disposed between the light-transmitting cover plate and the light guide plate, or whether another arrangement is intended. For the purpose of examination, the examiner looks to the elected species of Figure 7 and understands this limitation such that the front light module further comprises a light-transmitting cover plate, the light guide element being disposed between the light-transmitting cover plate and the light guide plate. The applicant is encouraged to clarify in the claim language the arrangement of at least the light-transmitting cover plate and the light guide plate and any other elements of the front light module providing a relative location of the light-transmitting cover plate, fully supported by the original disclosure.
Applications filed after March 15th 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tai et al. (US 2016/0131822).
With regards to Claim 1, Tai et al. discloses a front light module (see paragraph 3), comprising: a light-emitting element [140] (see paragraph 25 and Figure 1); a light-guide assembly [160], comprising a light guide plate [120] and a light guide element [130] (see paragraphs 25 and 29 and Figure 1), wherein the light guide plate [120] has a first side surface [122] and a first surface [124] connected to the first side surface [122], the first side surface [122] faces the light-emitting element [140], the light guide element [130] is disposed on the first surface [124] (see paragraph 25 and Figure 1), a ratio of a projection area of the light guide element [130] on the first surface [124] to an area of the first surface [124] is greater than 0.8 (see Figure 1; the light guide element [130] substantially extends over the entire length of the first surface [124] as seen in Figure 1, thereby the ratio is substantially 1 and therefore substantially greater than 0.8), the light guide plate [120] has a first thickness [T1] in a direction, the light guide element [130] has a second thickness [T2] in the direction (see paragraph 29 and Figure 1), the light-emitting element [140] has a height [T3] in the direction (see paragraph 30 and Figure 1), the direction is parallel to a normal of the first surface (see Figure 1), a sum of the first thickness [T1] and the second thickness [T2] is greater than or equal to the height [T3] (see paragraph 30; the height [T3] may be less than, equal to, or greater than the thickness [T1], therefore if the height [T3] is equal to or less than the first thickness [T1], the sum [T1]+[T2] will be greater than the height [T3], and for some heights [T3]>[T1] the sum [T1]+[T2] will still be greater than or equal to the height [T3] for certain values of the second thickness [T2]).
Tai et al. does not explicitly disclose a ratio of the first thickness [T1] to the height [T3] is less than or equal to 0.75 and greater than or equal to 0.5. However, Tai et al. does disclose the central axis [Ax] of the light emitting surface [142] of the light-emitting element [140] falls between the lower surface [126] and first surface [124] of the light guide plate [120], and the height [T3] can be greater than the first thickness [T1] in order to allow light from the light-emitting element [140] to allow for an improved light guiding efficiency of the light guide plate [120] and light guide element [130] (see Tai et al. paragraphs 29 and 30). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to adjust the ratio of the first thickness to the height to be less than or equal to 0.75 and greater than or equal to 0.5 in order to allow a particular proportion of light to enter the light guide plate and light guide element for improving the light guiding efficiency of the light guide assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ratio of the first thickness to the height of Tai et al. to be less than or equal to 0.75 and greater than or equal to 0.5. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a particular proportion of light to enter the light guide plate and light guide element for improving the light guiding efficiency of the light guide assembly (see Tai et al. paragraphs 29 and 30).
With regards to Claim 4, Tai et al. discloses the front light module as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Tai et al. further discloses a refractive index [n1] of the light guide plate [120] is greater than a refractive index [n2] of the light guide element [130] (see paragraph 29).
With regards to Claim 5, Tai et al. discloses the front light module as discussed above with regards to Claim 1. Please see the above discussion of the examiner’s understanding of the scope of Claims 5 and 6 in the rejection of Claims 5 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Tai et al. further discloses a light-transmitting cover plate (comprising the plate formed by the hard coating treatment disposed on the light guide element [130] outer surface [134], see paragraph 26), the light guide element [130] disposed between the light-transmitting cover plate and the light guide plate [120] (see paragraph 26).
With regards to Claim 9, Tai et al. discloses a display device, comprising: a front light module (see paragraph 3), comprising a light-emitting element [140] (see paragraph 25 and Figure 1) and a light-guide assembly [160], wherein the light-guide assembly [160] comprises a light guide plate [120] and a light guide element [130] (see paragraphs 25 and 29 and Figure 1), the light guide plate [120] has a first side surface [122] and a first surface [124] connected to the first side surface [122], the first side surface [122] faces the light-emitting element [140], the light guide element [130] is disposed on the first surface [124] (see paragraph 25 and Figure 1), a ratio of a projection area of the light guide element [130] on the first surface [124] to an area of the first surface [124] is greater than 0.8 (see Figure 1; the light guide element [130] substantially extends over the entire length of the first surface [124] as seen in Figure 1, thereby the ratio is substantially 1 and therefore substantially greater than 0.8), the light guide plate [120] has a first thickness [T1] in a direction, the light guide element [130] has a second thickness [T2] in the direction (see paragraph 29 and Figure 1), the light-emitting element [140] has a height [T3] in the direction (see paragraph 30 and Figure 1), the direction is parallel to a normal of the first surface (see Figure 1), a sum of the first thickness [T1] and the second thickness [T2] is greater than or equal to the height [T3] (see paragraph 30; the height [T3] may be less than, equal to, or greater than the thickness [T1], therefore if the height [T3] is equal to or less than the first thickness [T1], the sum [T1]+[T2] will be greater than the height [T3], and for some heights [T3]>[T1] the sum [T1]+[T2] will still be greater than or equal to the height [T3] for certain values of the second thickness [T2]); and a reflective display panel [110], disposed opposite to the front light module (see paragraphs 25 and 27 and Figure 1).
Tai et al. does not explicitly disclose a ratio of the first thickness [T1] to the height [T3] is less than or equal to 0.75 and greater than or equal to 0.5. However, Tai et al. does disclose the central axis [Ax] of the light emitting surface [142] of the light-emitting element [140] falls between the lower surface [126] and first surface [124] of the light guide plate [120], and the height [T3] can be greater than the first thickness [T1] in order to allow light from the light-emitting element [140] to allow for an improved light guiding efficiency of the light guide plate [120] and light guide element [130] (see Tai et al. paragraphs 29 and 30). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to adjust the ratio of the first thickness to the height to be less than or equal to 0.75 and greater than or equal to 0.5 in order to allow a particular proportion of light to enter the light guide plate and light guide element for improving the light guiding efficiency of the light guide assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ratio of the first thickness to the height of Tai et al. to be less than or equal to 0.75 and greater than or equal to 0.5. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a particular proportion of light to enter the light guide plate and light guide element for improving the light guiding efficiency of the light guide assembly (see Tai et al. paragraphs 29 and 30).
With regards to Claim 10, Tai et al. discloses the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 9.
Tai et al. further discloses the first surface [124] faces away from the reflective display panel [110] (see Figure 1), and the light guide plate [120] is sandwiched between the light guide element [130] and the reflective display panel [110] (see paragraphs 25 and 27 and Figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to Claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the light guide element is an adhesive layer connected to the light-transmitting cover plate and the first surface of the light guide plate, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim and claims from which it depends, particularly the limitations of Claim 1 lines 11-14. The examiner notes the Tai et al. reference teaches away from including an adhesive layer to adhesively connect a light-transmitting cover plate to the first surface of the light guide plate, and there is no reason absent the applicant’s own disclosure to modify prior art references teaching a front light module with light guide plate and light guide element disposed thereon, the light guide element being an adhesive layer with the first thickness, second thickness, and height as taught by Tai et al. to arrive at the claimed invention’s arrangement between the first thickness, second thickness, and height as recited in Claim 1 with the second thickness being a thickness of a light guide element being an adhesive layer connected to a light-transmitting cover plate, as required by Claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the prior art discussed in this action, the applicant is directed to form 892, and particularly the references Wang (US 2024/0045131), which discloses at least a front light module including a light-emitting element, a light-guide assembly including a light guide plate and light guide element disposed thereon, the light guide element is an adhesive, and the light guide plate includes optical microstructures disposed on a surface of the light guide plate facing the light guide element, the light guide element adhesively attaching a cover plate to the front light module, Li (US 2016/0313491), which discloses at least a front light module including a light-emitting element, a light-guide assembly including a light guide plate and light guide element disposed thereon, the light guide element is an adhesive, and the light guide plate includes optical microstructures disposed on a surface of the light guide plate facing the light guide element, a reflective display panel disposed opposite the front light module, Gruhlke (US 2010/0141557), which discloses at least a front light module including a light-emitting element, a light-guide assembly formed of a light guide plate and light guide element being an adhesive, light from the light-emitting element entering the light guide plate and light guide element from side surfaces thereof, and Shen (US 11,808,964), which discloses at least a front light module including a light-emitting element, a light-guide assembly including a light guide plate and light guide element disposed thereon, the light guide element is an adhesive, and the light guide plate includes optical microstructures disposed on a surface of the light guide plate facing the light guide element, the light guide element adhesively attaching a cover plate to the front light module, and a reflective display panel disposed opposite the front light module.
/ERIN KRYUKOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875