DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors, too numerous to mention specifically. The following noted issues are merely exemplary thereof. The Examiner recommends a thorough review through each and every claim limitation to address any grammatical and idiomatic error.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said air conduit connector section" in lines 19 and 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims not specifically referenced are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 김준홍 (KR 20150000344 U, hereafter “KR1”).
Regarding claim 9, KR1 discloses a one-use air-reduction (20) for connecting to an air conduit (40), said one-use air-reduction comprising an envelope (the angled portion of 20 that extends radially outward) of foil thickness and defining an envelope interior open (the opening at the side of 20 that connects to 41) for air passage between an air inlet (the inlet at the base of 20 that directly connects to 41) having an inlet area, and an air outlet (10a) having an outlet area, and defining in use an air flow direction from said air inlet to said air outlet (Figs 1-4), said air inlet and said air outlet arranged apart in said envelope perpendicular to said air flow direction with respect to an envelope axis defined by the shortest distance measured along said envelope axis from an invariant center of said inlet area to an invariant center of said outlet area (Figs 1-4); said envelope comprising: an air inlet section (the section that defines the air inlet) comprising said air inlet and adapted for permitting attachment of said envelope to said air conduit for, in use, permitting said flow of air passage from said air conduit through said envelope interior to said air outlet (Figs 1-4); an air outlet section (the section that defines the air outlet) comprising said air outlet; and an expansion section (the section between the air inlet section and air outlet section) arranged between said air conduit connector section and said air outlet section (Figs 1-4), but fails to disclose manufactured from a plastic foil; and wherein: said outlet area is defined by an opening length and an opening width having a ratio of length to width from a/b=150 to a/b=25; and said foil thickness is from 0.1 mm to 1 mm.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the material of the envelope to be manufactured from a plastic foil since selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for an intended use involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a simple, common, and cost effective material.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the dimensions of the one-use air-reduction such that said outlet area is defined by an opening length and an opening width having a ratio of length to width from a/b=150 to a/b=25, and said foil thickness is from 0.1 mm to 1 mm, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of KR1 would not operate differently with the claimed dimensions.
Regarding claim 10, KR1 further discloses a one-use air-reduction according to claim 9, wherein one or more flow guides (51, 52) are arranged inside said envelope interior.
Regarding claim 11, KR1 further discloses a one-use air-reduction according to claim 10, wherein said one or more flow guides are arranged inside said envelope interior in a part of said envelope interior comprised in said expansion section of said envelope. (Figs 1-4)
Regarding claim 12, KR1 further discloses a one-use air-reduction according to claim 9, wherein at least one of either of said air inlet section and/or said air outlet section comprises a respective inlet region or outlet region wherein air flow is parallel to said envelope axis. (Figs 1-4; both the inlet and outlet have regions where air flow is parallel to said envelope axis)
Regarding claim 16, KR1 further discloses a one-use air-reduction according to claim 9, wherein said one-use air-reduction comprises more than one air-inlet section. (the assembly of KR1 can be interpreted to have multiple different sections for the inlet)
Regarding claim 17, KR1 further discloses an air conduit (41) attached at an end of said air conduit to the inlet section of a one-use air-reduction according to claim 9, such that a flow of air can traverse said air conduit and said attached one-use air-reduction and exit said one-use air-reduction at the air outlet of said one-use air-reduction. (Figs 1-4)
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR1 in view of Fiedler (US 2010/0029194).
Regarding claim 13, KR1 further discloses a one-use air-reduction according to claim 9, but fails to disclose wherein said air outlet is defined by a filter.
Fiedler teaches an assembly (1’) comprising a filter (20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the outlet of the one-use air-reduction of KR1 to includes a filter as taught by Fiedler in order to provide a means to filter the fluid flowing through the assembly.
Regarding claim 14, KR1 further discloses a one-use air-reduction according to claim 13, but fails to disclose wherein said filter is manufactured from a filtering foam.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the material of the filter to be any material including a polyether-based filtering foam since selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for an intended use involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an effective filtering system based on user defined criteria.
Regarding claim 15, KR1 further discloses a one-use air-reduction according to claim 14, wherein said filtering foam is polyether-based filtering foam. (as modified above)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753