DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8-13, 15-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White et al. (US 2008/0061607).
Regarding claim 1, White discloses an accessory carrier system comprising: a first pocket (16); a second pocket (other 16); an adjustable webbing strap (54, [0041]) coupled between the first pocket and the second pocket, the webbing strap comprising a slider ([0041]) to adjust a length of the webbing strap; a multipurpose strap (56, 58) coupled to at least one of the first pocket or the second pocket; and at least one fastener (76, [0054]) configured to connect the first pocket and the second pocket together in a compact configuration. See Figs. 1-6.
Regarding claim 3, the first pocket and the second pocket each comprise a fold-over flap (34) configured to attach to a back seam of a corresponding pocket. See Figs. 1A-3 and [0042].
Regarding claim 4, at least one of the first pocket or the second pocket comprises one or more of: a zipped pocket at a top portion; an open front pocket; or a water bottle pocket. See Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 8, White discloses an accessory carrier system comprising: a first pocket bag; a second pocket bag; an adjustable webbing strap connecting the first pocket bag and the second pocket bag; a multipurpose strap coupled to at least one of the first pocket bag or the second pocket bag; and wherein the accessory carrier system is configurable between: an extended configuration where the first pocket bag and the second pocket bag are separated by the adjustable webbing strap; and a compact configuration where the first pocket bag and the second pocket bag are fastened together. See above; and Figs. 1-6.
Regarding claim 9, the adjustable webbing strap comprises a slider mechanism to enable extension and retraction. See [0041].
Regarding claim 10, the multipurpose strap is capable of being configurable as a hand strap in the compact configuration. See Figs. 1-6.
Regarding claim 11, at least one fastener secures the first pocket bag to the second pocket bag in the compact configuration. See [0054].
Regarding claim 12, the multipurpose strap comprises a detachable end configured to secure around an object when the accessory carrier system is in use. See Figs. 1A-1B.
Regarding claim 13, at least one of the first pocket bag or the second pocket bag comprises an interior organization system including one or more of: a slip pocket; a hidden zip pocket; or one or more card slots. See Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 15, White discloses an accessory carrier system comprising: a first storage component; a second storage component; an adjustable connector coupling the first storage component to the second storage component, the adjustable connector enabling variable spacing between the first storage component and the second storage component; and a securing element coupled to at least one of the first storage component or the second storage component, the securing element being adaptable for attaching the accessory carrier system to an object or for carrying the accessory carrier system. See above; and Figs. 1-6.
Regarding claims 16, 17, 19 and 20, White sufficiently discloses the claimed invention. See Figs. 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White is applied above in further view of King (US 5,938,336).
Regarding claims 2, 14 and 18, White does not disclose a mesh pocket. King, which is drawn to a carrier system, discloses at least one of a first pocket or a second pocket comprising a mesh pocket capable of being configured to store a webbing strap when retracted. See col. 5, ll. 20-25. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have a pocket of White be made of mesh, as disclosed by King, in order to any contents therein.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White is applied above in further view of Carrier (US 8,777,076).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, White sufficiently discloses the claimed invention except for a hook and loop fastener. Carrier, which is drawn to a carrier system, discloses a mating fastener (70), that includes a hook attached to one of the first pocket and the second pocket, and a loop attached to the other of the first pocket and the second pocket, wherein the loop is configured to receive and retain the hook. See col. 4, ll. 39-45. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use hook and loop fasteners for the fasteners of White in order to attach and detach the pockets from one another. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the first and second fasteners of White comprise: a mating fastener, including a hook attached to one of the first pocket and the second pocket, and a loop attached to the other of the first pocket and the second pocket, wherein the loop is configured to receive and retain the hook since it was known in the art that to use hook and loop fasteners to attach/detach items.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White is applied above in further view of Rocha (US 5,275,463).
Regarding claim 7, White sufficiently discloses the strap as claimed but does not disclose a second configuration as claimed. Rocha, which is drawn to a carrier device, discloses a first end of a multipurpose strap (33) that is permanently connected to a first pocket, and wherein a second end (at 33) of the multipurpose strap is moveable between: a first configuration in which the second end is attached to a second pocket (34); and a second configuration in which the second end is attached to the first pocket (at other 34). See Figs. 1 and 6. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the multipurpose strap of White be able to have a second configuration in which the second end is attached to the first pocket in order to secure the carrier to various locations of an object.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734