DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In the claims, different ranges are presented as alternatives, which technically does not constitute a 112, but the broadest range is the only one considered for purposes of continued examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 further defines optional monomers that are not present in claim 1. This constitutes a lack of antecedent bass for the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10-11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lai et al, EP 0264649 A1 (already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Lai teaches a method for producing a vinylamine-containing polymer comprising:
- providing a vinylcarboxamide-containing polymer (page 3 lines 9-23);
- adding the vinylcarboxamide-containing polymer to an aqueous medium (page 3 line 25);
- adding acid(s), or base(s) to the aqueous medium to hydrolyze the vinylcarboxamide-containing polymer (page 3 line 34 and page 5 lines 23-25 and Example 1), thus producing an aqueous solution of vinylamine-containing polymer (see claims and abstract); and
- optionally adjusting the pH of the vinylamine-containing polymer solution.
Regarding claim 2, Lai further teaches that the N-vinylcarboxamide monomer of Formula I is taught (see page 3 liens 15-26 and Example 1).
Regarding claim 3, Lai further teaches that the polymer in question includes a polymer or copolymer of N-vinylformamide (see page 6 lines 30-37 and Example 1).
Regarding claim 7, Lai teaches that the polymerization takes place in a temperature of 40-60 (page 5 line 15).
Regarding claim 8, Lai further teaches the addition of the materials either simultaneously, premixed, or sequential in any order (see examples). It is also noted that the range of options cover all possible manners in which the ingredients can be entered.
Regarding claim 10, Lai further teaches a molecular weight of 3-15 x 106 (see claim 5 and abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Lai further teaches the use of a N-vinylacetamide (page 6 line 46)
Regarding claim 13, Lai further teaches adding the suspension to a pulp at 0.5% consistency (page 11 line 32).
Regarding claim 15, Lai further teaches the addition of the material to a papermaking pulp for the claimed reasons (see example 21)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 4-6, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lai et al, EP 0264649 A1 (already of record).
Regarding claim 4, Lai teaches the use of producing the polymer and hydrolyzing the polymer is different steps of the process. Lai also implicitly teaches the transfer of the materials into the hydrolyzing vessel (see examples and descriptions on pages 5-6). While the different locations are directly discussed, under broadest reasonable interpretations the addition of the material to a different reaction vessel would at the very least be considered a different location within the same plant or overall apparatus. Therefore, the teaching of adding the polymer to a reaction vessel provides an implicit teaching of hydrolyzing at a different location.
In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to transport a starting polymer or chemical from where it is made to where it is used. The act of transporting the materials for use is the standard for all products and chemicals on the industrial scale and as this would not affect the abilities of the polymer and reactions it would have been found to be obvious.
Regarding claim 5, Lai further teaches that the composition contains 10-90% of a homopolymer of an N-vinylamine as claimed. While this range encompasses the 0.25-45% as claimed there is sufficient overlap to find it obvious in view of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, the Examiner is considering all of the different ways to measure the degree of hydrolysis to be presented as alternatives to each other and not a requirement that each of the claimed methods are required to be done together. With this in mind, Lai teaches the act of measuring the viscosity (see examples and claim 20). Alternatively, the manner in which the value is measured does not affect the value itself and as long as the same values are taught the method of discovering that value would be obvious to the average artisan.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations further limit an optional limitation. Additionally, Lai teaches that examples 17-21 include pH adjustments to about 6.
Regarding claim 12, all of the limitations are further limiting optional components. Additionally, Lai teaches the claims acids on page 5.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748