DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/17/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,757. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is merely claiming velocity values instead of acceleration values and the support wheel is claimed as the auxiliary wheel in claim 20 of the application. Claims 19 and 20 of patent 12,178,757 are permutations of claim 1. As such, they are not patentably distinct.
Application # 18/954,680
US patent 12/178,757
1
A patient transport apparatus comprising: a support structure; a battery operatively attached to the support structure; a support wheel coupled to the support structure, with the support wheel being swivelable about a swivel axis; a drive system including a drive element coupled to the support structure to influence motion of the patient transport apparatus over a floor surface, a motor to operate the drive element at a drive speed, and a motor control circuit for transmitting power signals from the battery to the motor; a user interface arranged for user engagement for operation between: a plurality of forward operating positions each being associated with a drive speed value of the drive element in a forward direction, and a plurality of backward operating positions each being associated with a drive speed value of the drive element in a reverse direction opposite the forward direction;
A patient transport apparatus comprising: a support structure; a support wheel coupled to the support structure, with the support wheel being swivelable about a swivel axis; and an auxiliary wheel system including: an auxiliary wheel coupled to the support structure to influence motion of the patient transport apparatus over a floor surface; an auxiliary wheel drive system including: a motor coupled to the auxiliary wheel to rotate the auxiliary wheel relative to the support structure at a rotational speed; and a motor control circuit for transmitting power signals from a battery to the motor; a user interface including a throttle assembly positionable between a neutral throttle position, a plurality of forward operating throttle positions each being associated with a rotation speed value of the auxiliary wheel in a forward direction, and a plurality of backward operating throttle positions each being associated with a rotation speed value of the auxiliary wheel in a reverse direction opposite the forward direction;
1
1
and a control system coupled to the user interface and the drive system for operating the drive system based on user engagement with the user interface, the control system including a controller configured to: detect a current operating position of the user interface, determine a desired drive speed value associated with the current operating position, determine a current drive speed of the drive element, select an acceleration rate from a plurality of acceleration rates based on the current drive speed of the drive element, generate an output signal based on the selected acceleration rate, and transmit the generated output signal to the motor control circuit to operate the motor to operate the drive element at the selected acceleration rate.
and a control system coupled to the user interface and the auxiliary wheel drive system for operating the auxiliary wheel drive system based on movement of the throttle assembly from the neutral throttle position, the control system including a controller configured to: detect a current operating throttle position of the throttle assembly; determine a desired rotational speed value associated with the current operating throttle position; determine a current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel; select an acceleration rate from a plurality of acceleration rates based on the current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel; monitor an electrical current draw from the battery by the motor; monitor an electrical current through motor phase windings of the motor; generate an output signal based on the selected acceleration rate, the monitored electrical current draw from the battery by the motor, and the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor; and transmit the generated output signal to the motor control circuit to operate the motor to rotate the auxiliary wheel at the selected acceleration rate; and wherein the controller is configured to select the acceleration rate from an acceleration rate interpolation table upon determining that the desired rotational speed value is greater than the current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel, the acceleration rate interpolation table including a plurality of forward rotational speed values associated with a plurality of forward acceleration rate values, and a plurality of reverse rotational speed values associated with a plurality of reverse acceleration rate values different from the plurality of forward acceleration rate values.
1
2
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: monitor an electrical current draw from the battery by the motor; and generate the output signal based on the selected acceleration rate and the monitored electrical current draw by the motor.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller includes a plurality of control loop modules, including: a speed loop module configured to generate a speed loop signal based on the selected acceleration rate; a battery current loop module configured to generate a battery current loop signal based on the monitored electrical current draw from the battery; a motor phase current loop module configured to generate a motor phase current signal based on the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor; and an output generation module configured to generate the output signal based on the speed loop signal, the battery current loop signal, and the motor phase current signal.
2
3
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: monitor an electrical current draw from the battery by the motor; monitor an electrical current through motor phase windings of the motor; and generate the output signal based on the selected acceleration rate, the monitored electrical current draw by the motor, and the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller includes a plurality of control loop modules, including: a speed loop module configured to generate a speed loop signal based on the selected acceleration rate; a battery current loop module configured to generate a battery current loop signal based on the monitored electrical current draw from the battery; a motor phase current loop module configured to generate a motor phase current signal based on the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor; and an output generation module configured to generate the output signal based on the speed loop signal, the battery current loop signal, and the motor phase current signal.
2
4
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller includes a plurality of control loop modules, including: a speed loop module configured to generate a speed loop signal based on the selected acceleration rate; a battery current loop module configured to generate a battery current loop signal based on the monitored electrical current draw from the battery; a motor phase current loop module configured to generate a motor phase current signal based on the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor; and an output generation module configured to generate the output signal based on the speed loop signal, the battery current loop signal, and the motor phase current signal.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller includes a plurality of control loop modules, including: a speed loop module configured to generate a speed loop signal based on the selected acceleration rate; a battery current loop module configured to generate a battery current loop signal based on the monitored electrical current draw from the battery; a motor phase current loop module configured to generate a motor phase current signal based on the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor; and an output generation module configured to generate the output signal based on the speed loop signal, the battery current loop signal, and the motor phase current signal.
2
5
The patient transport apparatus of claim 4, wherein the battery current loop module is configured to generate a high battery current signal and a low battery current signal based on the monitored electrical current draw from the battery; wherein the output generation module is configured to select one of the speed loop signal, the high battery current signal, and the low battery current signal as the output signal; wherein the motor phase current loop module is configured to generate a high motor phase current signal and a low motor phase current signal based on the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor; wherein the output generation module is configured to select one of the speed loop signal, the high battery current signal, the low battery current signal, the high motor phase current signal, and the low motor phase current signal as the output signal; and wherein the output generation module is configured to determine if the speed loop signal is above a zero signal value and responsively select one of the speed loop signal, the high battery current signal, and the high motor phase current signal having a smallest signal value as the output signal.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 2, wherein the battery current loop module is configured to generate a high battery current signal and a low battery current signal based on the monitored electrical current draw from the battery; wherein the output generation module is configured to select one of the speed loop signal, the high battery current signal, and the low battery current signal as the output signal; wherein the motor phase current loop module is configured to generate a high motor phase current signal and a low motor phase current signal based on the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor; wherein the output generation module is configured to select one of the speed loop signal, the high battery current signal, the low battery current signal, the high motor phase current signal, and the low motor phase current signal as the output signal; and wherein the output generation module is configured to determine if the speed loop signal is above a zero signal value and responsively select one of the speed loop signal, the high battery current signal, and the high motor phase current signal having a smallest signal value as the output signal.
3
6
The patient transport apparatus of claim 5, wherein the output generation module is configured to: determine if the speed loop signal is below the zero signal value and responsively select one of the speed loop signal, the low battery current signal, and the low motor phase current signal having a largest signal value as the output signal.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 3, wherein the output generation module is configured to: determine if the speed loop signal is below the zero signal value and responsively select one of the speed loop signal, the low battery current signal, and the low motor phase current signal having a largest signal value as the output signal.
4
7
The patient transport apparatus of claim 5, wherein the output generation module is configured to: generate a maximum output value as the output signal plus a margin value; and select control loop modules that generated signals not selected as the output signal; and transmit the maximum output value to the selected control loop modules for use in generating subsequent signals.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 3, wherein the output generation module is configured to: generate a maximum output value as the output signal plus a margin value; and select control loop modules that generated signals not selected as the output signal; and transmit the maximum output value to the selected control loop modules for use in generating subsequent signals.
5
8
The patient transport apparatus of claim 5, wherein the output generation module is configured to: generate a minimum output value as the output signal minus a margin value; and transmit the minimum output value to the selected control loop modules for use in generating subsequent signals.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 3, wherein the output generation module is configured to: generate a minimum output value as the output signal minus a margin value; and transmit the minimum output value to the selected control loop modules for use in generating subsequent signals.
6
9
The patient transport apparatus of claim 4, wherein the battery current loop module is configured to generate a high battery current signal and a low battery current signal based on the monitored electrical current draw from the battery; wherein the motor phase current loop module is configured to generate a high motor phase current signal and a low motor phase current signal based on the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor; and wherein the output generation module is configured to select one of the speed loop signal, the high battery current signal, the low battery current signal, the high motor phase current signal, and the low motor phase current signal as the output signal.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 7, wherein the motor phase current loop module is configured to generate a high motor phase current signal and a low motor phase current signal based on the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor; and wherein the output generation module is configured to select one of the speed loop signal, the high battery current signal, the low battery current signal, the high motor phase current signal, and the low motor phase current signal as the output signal.
8
10
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the user interface includes a throttle assembly positionable from a neutral throttle position to the plurality of forward operating positions, and from the neutral throttle position to the plurality of backward operating positions.
a user interface including a throttle assembly positionable between a neutral throttle position and a plurality of operating throttle positions, each operating throttle position of the plurality of operating throttle positions being associated with a rotation speed value of the auxiliary wheel;
20
11
The patient transport apparatus of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to operate the drive system in a free wheel mode with the user interface in the neutral throttle position, and after determining that the current drive speed of the drive element is zero, by operating the motor control circuit to disconnect the motor from the battery.
wherein the controller is configured to operate the auxiliary wheel drive system in a free wheel mode with the throttle assembly in the neutral throttle position, and after determining that the current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel is zero, by operating the motor control circuit to disconnect the motor from the battery.
9
12
The patient transport apparatus of claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to: monitor the current drive speed of the drive element with the drive system in the free wheel mode; and operate the drive system in a free wheel speed limiting mode upon determining that the current drive speed is greater than a predefined drive speed by transmitting a free wheel speed limiting signal to the motor control circuit to reduce the current drive speed of the drive element to the predefined drive speed.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to: monitor the current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel with the auxiliary wheel drive system in the free wheel mode; and operate the auxiliary wheel drive system in a free wheel speed limiting mode upon determining that the current rotational speed is greater than a predefined rotational speed by transmitting a free wheel speed limiting signal to the motor control circuit to reduce the current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel to the predefined rotational speed.
10
13
The patient transport apparatus of claim 11, wherein the controller includes an override output module configured to generate the output signal having a zero signal value upon determining the drive system is operating in the free wheel mode; wherein the controller is configured to operate the drive system in a drag mode by operating the motor control circuit to cause braking of the motor to enable braking of the drive element; and wherein the override output module is configured to generate the output signal having a zero signal value upon determining the drive system is operating in the drag mode.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 9, wherein the controller includes an override output module configured to generate the output signal having a zero signal value upon determining the auxiliary wheel drive system is operating in the free wheel mode; wherein the controller is configured to operate the auxiliary wheel drive system in a drag mode by operating the motor control circuit to cause braking of the motor to enable braking of the auxiliary wheel; and wherein the override output module is configured to generate the output signal having a zero signal value upon determining the auxiliary wheel drive system is operating in the drag mode.
11
14
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to select the desired drive speed value from a speed value interpolation table including a plurality of desired drive speed values associated with a plurality of operating positions.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to select the desired rotational speed value from a speed value interpolation table including a plurality of desired rotational speed values associated with a plurality of operating throttle positions.
12
15
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to select the acceleration rate from an acceleration rate interpolation table upon determining that the desired drive speed value is greater than the current drive speed of the drive element; and wherein the acceleration rate interpolation table includes: a plurality of forward drive speed values associated with a plurality of forward acceleration rate values, and a plurality of reverse drive speed values associated with a plurality of reverse acceleration rate values different from the plurality of forward acceleration rate values.
. The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of forward rotational speed values includes a first group of forward rotational speed values associated with a first acceleration rate, a second group of forward rotational speed values associated with a second acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate, and a third group of forward rotational speed values associated with a third acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate and the second acceleration rate.
13
16
The patient transport apparatus of claim 15, wherein the plurality of forward drive speed values includes a first group of forward drive speed values associated with a first acceleration rate, a second group of forward drive speed values associated with a second acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate, and a third group of forward drive speed values associated with a third acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate and the second acceleration rate; wherein the first group of forward drive speed values have lower drive speed values than the second group of forward drive speed values; wherein the third group of forward drive speed values have higher drive speed values than the second group of forward drive speed values; wherein the first acceleration rate is less than the second acceleration rate; and wherein the third acceleration rate is less than the first acceleration rate and the second acceleration rate.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of forward rotational speed values includes a first group of forward rotational speed values associated with a first acceleration rate, a second group of forward rotational speed values associated with a second acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate, and a third group of forward rotational speed values associated with a third acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate and the second acceleration rate. The patient transport apparatus of claim 13, wherein the first group of forward rotational speed values have lower rotational speed values than the second group of forward rotational speed values; wherein the third group of forward rotational speed values have higher rotational speed values than the second group of forward rotational speed values; wherein the first acceleration rate is less than the second acceleration rate; and wherein the third acceleration rate is less than the first acceleration rate and the second acceleration rate.
13, 14
17
The patient transport apparatus of claim 15, wherein the plurality of forward drive speed values includes a first group of forward drive speed values associated with a first acceleration rate, a second group of forward drive speed values associated with a second acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate, and a third group of forward drive speed values associated with a third acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate and the second acceleration rate; wherein the plurality of reverse drive speed values includes a first group of reverse drive speed values associated with a fourth acceleration rate, a second group of reverse drive speed values associated with a fifth acceleration rate that is different than the fourth acceleration rate, and a third group of reverse drive speed values associated with a sixth acceleration rate that is different than the fourth acceleration rate and the fifth acceleration rate; wherein the first group of reverse drive speed values have lower absolute drive speed values than the second group of reverse drive speed values, and the third group of reverse drive speed values higher absolute drive speed values than the second group of reverse drive speed values; and wherein the fourth acceleration rate is less than the fifth acceleration rate, and the sixth acceleration rate is less than the fourth acceleration rate.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 13, wherein the first group of forward rotational speed values have lower rotational speed values than the second group of forward rotational speed values; wherein the third group of forward rotational speed values have higher rotational speed values than the second group of forward rotational speed values; wherein the first acceleration rate is less than the second acceleration rate; and wherein the third acceleration rate is less than the first acceleration rate and the second acceleration rate The patient transport apparatus of claim 13, wherein the plurality of reverse rotational speed values includes a first group of reverse rotational speed values associated with a fourth acceleration rate, a second group of reverse rotational speed values associated with a fifth acceleration rate that is different than the fourth acceleration rate, and a third group of reverse rotational speed values associated with a sixth acceleration rate that is different than the fourth acceleration rate and the fifth acceleration rate; wherein the first group of reverse rotational speed values have lower absolute rotational speed values than the second group of reverse rotational speed values, and the third group of reverse rotational speed values higher absolute rotational speed values than the second group of reverse rotational speed values; and wherein the fourth acceleration rate is less than the fifth acceleration rate, and the sixth acceleration rate is less than the fourth acceleration rate.
14, 15
18
The patient transport apparatus of claim 15, wherein the controller is configured to select the acceleration rate from a deceleration rate interpolation table upon determining the desired drive speed value is less than the current drive speed of the drive element, the deceleration rate interpolation table including a second plurality of forward drive speed values associated with a plurality of forward deceleration rate values, and a second plurality of reverse drive speed values associated with a plurality of reverse deceleration rate values different from the plurality of forward deceleration rate values; wherein the second plurality of forward drive speed values includes a first group of forward drive speed values associated with a first deceleration rate, and a second group of forward drive speed values associated with a second deceleration rate that is different than the first deceleration rate; wherein the first group of forward drive speed values have lower drive speed values than the second group of forward drive speed values; and wherein the first deceleration rate is less than the second deceleration rate.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to select the acceleration rate from a deceleration rate interpolation table upon determining the desired rotational speed value is less than the current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel, the deceleration rate interpolation table including a second plurality of forward rotational speed values associated with a plurality of forward deceleration rate values, and a second plurality of reverse rotational speed values associated with a plurality of reverse deceleration rate values different from the plurality of forward deceleration rate values; and wherein the second plurality of forward rotational speed values includes a first group of forward rotational speed values associated with a first deceleration rate, and a second group of forward rotational speed values associated with a second deceleration rate that is different than the first deceleration rate. The patient transport apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first group of forward rotational speed values have lower rotational speed values than the second group of forward rotational speed values; and wherein the first deceleration rate is less than the second deceleration rate.
16, 17
19
The patient transport apparatus of claim 15, wherein the controller is configured to select the acceleration rate from a deceleration rate interpolation table upon determining the desired drive speed value is less than the current drive speed of the drive element, the deceleration rate interpolation table including a second plurality of forward drive speed values associated with a plurality of forward deceleration rate values, and a second plurality of reverse drive speed values associated with a plurality of reverse deceleration rate values different from the plurality of forward deceleration rate values; wherein the second plurality of forward drive speed values includes a first group of forward drive speed values associated with a first deceleration rate, and a second group of forward drive speed values associated with a second deceleration rate that is different than the first deceleration rate; wherein the second plurality of reverse drive speed values includes a first group of reverse drive speed values associated with a fourth deceleration rate, and a second group of reverse drive speed values associated with a fifth deceleration rate that is different than the fourth deceleration rate; wherein the first group of reverse drive speed values have lower absolute drive speed values than the second group of reverse drive speed values; and wherein the fourth deceleration rate is less than the fifth deceleration rate.
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to select the acceleration rate from a deceleration rate interpolation table upon determining the desired rotational speed value is less than the current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel, the deceleration rate interpolation table including a second plurality of forward rotational speed values associated with a plurality of forward deceleration rate values, and a second plurality of reverse rotational speed values associated with a plurality of reverse deceleration rate values different from the plurality of forward deceleration rate values; and wherein the second plurality of forward rotational speed values includes a first group of forward rotational speed values associated with a first deceleration rate, and a second group of forward rotational speed values associated with a second deceleration rate that is different than the first deceleration rate. The patient transport apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first group of forward rotational speed values have lower rotational speed values than the second group of forward rotational speed values; and wherein the first deceleration rate is less than the second deceleration rate. The patient transport apparatus of claim 16, wherein the second plurality of reverse rotational speed values includes a first group of reverse rotational speed values associated with a fourth deceleration rate, and a second group of reverse rotational speed values associated with a fifth deceleration rate that is different than the fourth deceleration rate; wherein the first group of reverse rotational speed values have lower absolute rotational speed values than the second group of reverse rotational speed values; and wherein the fourth deceleration rate is less than the fifth deceleration rate.
16-18
20
The patient transport apparatus of claim 1, wherein the drive element is further defined as an auxiliary wheel supported for rotation relative to the support structure.
an auxiliary wheel drive system including: a motor coupled to the auxiliary wheel to rotate the auxiliary wheel relative to the support structure at a rotational speed;
1
1
A patient transport apparatus comprising: a support structure; a battery operatively attached to the support structure; a support wheel coupled to the support structure, with the support wheel being swivelable about a swivel axis; a drive system including a drive element coupled to the support structure to influence motion of the patient transport apparatus over a floor surface, a motor to operate the drive element at a drive speed, and a motor control circuit for transmitting power signals from the battery to the motor; a user interface arranged for user engagement for operation between: a plurality of forward operating positions each being associated with a drive speed value of the drive element in a forward direction, and a plurality of backward operating positions each being associated with a drive speed value of the drive element in a reverse direction opposite the forward direction; and a control system coupled to the user interface and the drive system for operating the drive system based on user engagement with the user interface, the control system including a controller configured to: detect a current operating position of the user interface, determine a desired drive speed value associated with the current operating position, determine a current drive speed of the drive element, select an acceleration rate from a plurality of acceleration rates based on the current drive speed of the drive element, generate an output signal based on the selected acceleration rate, and transmit the generated output signal to the motor control circuit to operate the motor to operate the drive element at the selected acceleration rate.
A patient transport apparatus comprising: a support structure; a support wheel coupled to the support structure, with the support wheel being swivelable about a swivel axis; and an auxiliary wheel system including: an auxiliary wheel coupled to the support structure to influence motion of the patient transport apparatus over a floor surface; an auxiliary wheel drive system including: a motor coupled to the auxiliary wheel to rotate the auxiliary wheel relative to the support structure at a rotational speed; and a motor control circuit for transmitting power signals from a battery to the motor; a user interface including a throttle assembly positionable between a neutral throttle position and a plurality of operating throttle positions, each operating throttle position of the plurality of operating throttle positions being associated with a rotation speed value of the auxiliary wheel; and a control system coupled to the user interface and the auxiliary wheel drive system for operating the auxiliary wheel drive system based on the plurality of operating throttle positions, the control system including a controller configured to: detect a current operating throttle position of the throttle assembly, determine a desired rotational speed value associated with the current operating throttle position, determine a current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel, select an acceleration rate from a plurality of acceleration rates based on the current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel, monitor an electrical current draw from the battery by the motor, monitor an electrical current through motor phase windings of the motor, generate an output signal based on the selected acceleration rate, the monitored electrical current draw from the battery by the motor, and the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor, and transmit the generated output signal to the motor control circuit to operate the motor to rotate the auxiliary wheel at the selected acceleration rate; wherein the controller includes a plurality of control loop modules, including: a speed loop module configured to generate a speed loop signal based on the selected acceleration rate, a battery current loop module configured to generate a high battery current signal and a low battery current signal based on the monitored electrical current draw from the battery, a motor phase current loop module configured to generate a high motor phase current signal and a low motor phase current signal based on the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor, an output generation module configured to select one of the speed loop signal, the high battery current signal, the low battery current signal, the high motor phase current signal, and the low motor phase current signal as the output signal; and wherein the output generation module is configured to determine if the speed loop signal is above a zero signal value and responsively select one of the speed loop signal, the high battery current signal, and the high motor phase current signal having a smallest signal value as the output signal.
19
1
A patient transport apparatus comprising: a support structure; a battery operatively attached to the support structure; a support wheel coupled to the support structure, with the support wheel being swivelable about a swivel axis; a drive system including a drive element coupled to the support structure to influence motion of the patient transport apparatus over a floor surface, a motor to operate the drive element at a drive speed, and a motor control circuit for transmitting power signals from the battery to the motor; a user interface arranged for user engagement for operation between: a plurality of forward operating positions each being associated with a drive speed value of the drive element in a forward direction, and a plurality of backward operating positions each being associated with a drive speed value of the drive element in a reverse direction opposite the forward direction; and a control system coupled to the user interface and the drive system for operating the drive system based on user engagement with the user interface, the control system including a controller configured to: detect a current operating position of the user interface, determine a desired drive speed value associated with the current operating position, determine a current drive speed of the drive element, select an acceleration rate from a plurality of acceleration rates based on the current drive speed of the drive element, generate an output signal based on the selected acceleration rate, and transmit the generated output signal to the motor control circuit to operate the motor to operate the drive element at the selected acceleration rate.
A patient transport apparatus comprising: a support structure; a support wheel coupled to the support structure, with the support wheel being swivelable about a swivel axis; and an auxiliary wheel system including: an auxiliary wheel coupled to the support structure to influence motion of the patient transport apparatus over a floor surface; an auxiliary wheel drive system including: a motor coupled to the auxiliary wheel to rotate the auxiliary wheel relative to the support structure at a rotational speed; and a motor control circuit for transmitting power signals from a battery to the motor; a user interface including a throttle assembly positionable between a neutral throttle position and a plurality of operating throttle positions, each operating throttle position of the plurality of operating throttle positions being associated with a rotation speed value of the auxiliary wheel; and a control system coupled to the user interface and the auxiliary wheel drive system for operating the auxiliary wheel drive system based on the plurality of operating throttle positions, the control system including a controller configured to: detect a current operating throttle position of the throttle assembly; determine a desired rotational speed value associated with the current operating throttle position; determine a current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel; select an acceleration rate from a plurality of acceleration rates based on the current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel; monitor an electrical current draw from the battery by the motor; monitor an electrical current through motor phase windings of the motor; generate an output signal based on the selected acceleration rate, the monitored electrical current draw from the battery by the motor, and the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor; and transmit the generated output signal to the motor control circuit to operate the motor to rotate the auxiliary wheel at the selected acceleration rate; and wherein the controller includes a plurality of control loop modules, including: a speed loop module configured to generate a speed loop signal based on the selected acceleration rate; a battery current loop module configured to generate a high battery current signal and a low battery current signal based on the monitored electrical current draw from the battery; and an output generation module configured to select one of the speed loop signal, the high battery current signal, and the low battery current signal as the output signal.
20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puvogel et al. (US 2017/0281440) in view of Morris et al. (US 2015/0129333).
Regarding claim 1,
Puvogel discloses (Fig. 1):
A patient transport apparatus (Fig. 1, 20) comprising: a support structure (22);
a support wheel (24) coupled to the support structure (22, ¶0038), with the support wheel (24) being swivelable about a swivel axis (¶0038-¶0039); a drive system (Fig. 3, 50) including a drive element (fig. 1, 24a) coupled to the support structure to influence motion of the patient transport apparatus over a floor surface (¶0043), a motor (fig. 3, 58) to operate the drive element at a drive speed (¶0043), and a motor control circuit (68) for transmitting power signals to the motor (¶0049-¶0051);
and a plurality of backward operating positions each being associated with a drive speed value of the drive element in a reverse direction opposite the forward direction (¶0046);
determine a current drive speed of the drive element (¶0076), select an acceleration rate from a plurality of acceleration rates based on the current drive speed of the drive element (¶0075), generate an output signal based on the selected acceleration rate (¶0076-¶0077), and transmit the generated output signal to the motor control circuit (68) to operate the motor (58) to operate the drive element (24a) at the selected acceleration rate (¶0076-¶0077).
Puvogel does not disclose:
a battery operatively attached to the support structure;
from the battery
a user interface arranged for user engagement for operation between: a plurality of forward operating positions each being associated with a drive speed value of the drive element in a forward direction,
and a control system coupled to the user interface and the drive system for operating the drive system based on user engagement with the user interface, the control system including a controller configured to: detect a current operating position of the user interface, determine a desired drive speed value associated with the current operating position,
However, Morris teaches (Fig. 2):
a battery (Fig. 2, 46) operatively attached to the support structure (20, ¶0030);
from the battery (46)
a user interface (34) arranged for user engagement for operation between: a plurality of forward operating positions (fig. 3, 94, ) each being associated with a drive speed value of the drive element in a forward direction (¶0041),
and a control system (Fig. 2, all elements) coupled to the user interface (34) and the drive system (74) for operating the drive system (74) based on user engagement with the user interface (34, ¶0044-¶0045), the control system (Fig. 2, all elements) including a controller (36) configured to: detect a current operating position of the user interface (¶0042-¶0044); determine a desired drive speed value associated with the current operating position (¶0045-¶0046);
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the medical transport device from Puvogel that speed/acceleration, and current controls a patient transport apparatus (¶0071-¶0073) and use the throttle control system from Morris that uses throttle positions to determine the speed of a medical transport device as taught by Morris (¶0044-¶0045). This would enable the transport device to be speed controlled and acceleration controlled based on throttle position which would improve safety and reliability.
Regarding claim 2,
Puvogel discloses the above elements from claim 1.
Puvogel does not disclose:
wherein the controller is configured to: monitor an electrical current draw from the battery by the motor; and generate the output signal based on the selected acceleration rate and the monitored electrical current draw by the motor.
However, Morris teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the controller (Fig. 2, 36) is configured to: monitor an electrical current draw from the battery (46) by the motor (Fig. 6, 166, ¶0046); and generate the output signal based on the selected acceleration rate (From throttle actuator, 34) and the monitored electrical current draw by the motor (¶0046-¶0047).
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the medical transport device from Puvogel that speed/acceleration, and current controls a patient transport apparatus (¶0071-¶0073) and use the throttle control system from Morris that uses throttle positions to determine the speed of a medical transport device as taught by Morris (¶0044-¶0045). This would enable the transport device to be speed controlled and acceleration controlled based on throttle position which would improve safety and reliability.
Regarding claim 3,
Puvogel discloses the above elements from claim 1.
Puvogel does not disclose:
wherein the controller is configured to: monitor an electrical current draw from the battery by the motor; monitor an electrical current through motor phase windings of the motor; and generate the output signal based on the selected acceleration rate, the monitored electrical current draw by the motor, and the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor.
However, Morris teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the controller (Fig. 2, 36) is configured to: monitor an electrical current draw from the battery (46) by the motor (Fig. 6, 166, ¶0046); monitor an electrical current through motor phase windings of the motor (Fig. 7, 202, ¶0053-¶0054);and generate the output signal based on the selected acceleration rate (from throttle, 34), the monitored electrical current draw by the motor, and the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor (¶0053, ¶0054).
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the medical transport device from Puvogel that speed/acceleration, and current controls a patient transport apparatus (¶0071-¶0073) and use the throttle control system from Morris that uses throttle positions to determine the speed of a medical transport device as taught by Morris (¶0044-¶0045). This would enable the transport device to be speed controlled and acceleration controlled based on throttle position which would improve safety and reliability.
Regarding claim 4,
Puvogel discloses (Fig. 1):
herein the controller includes a plurality of control loop modules, including: a speed loop module configured to generate a speed loop signal based on the selected acceleration rate (Fig. 6, 66', ¶0071);
a motor phase current loop module configured to generate a motor phase current signal based on the monitored electrical current through the motor phase windings of the motor (78, ¶0071); and an output generation module (68') configured to generate the output signal based on the speed loop signal, the battery current loop signal, and the motor phase current signal (¶0073).
Puvogel does not disclose:
a battery current loop module configured to generate a battery current loop signal based on the monitored electrical current draw from the battery
However, Morris teaches (Fig. 2):
a battery current loop module configured to generate a battery current loop signal based on the monitored electrical current draw from the battery (¶0046-¶0047);
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the medical transport device from Puvogel that speed/acceleration, and current controls a patient transport apparatus (¶0071-¶0073) and use the throttle control system from Morris that uses throttle positions to determine the speed of a medical transport device as taught by Morris (¶0044-¶0045). This would enable the transport device to be speed controlled and acceleration controlled based on throttle position which would improve safety and reliability.
Regarding claim 10,
Puvogel discloses the above elements from claim 1.
Puvogel does not disclose:
wherein the user interface includes a throttle assembly positionable from a neutral throttle position to the plurality of forward operating positions, and from the neutral throttle position to the plurality of backward operating positions
However, Morris teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the user interface includes a throttle assembly positionable from a neutral throttle position to the plurality of forward operating positions, and from the neutral throttle position to the plurality of backward operating positions (Fig. 3, ¶0040-¶0042).
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the medical transport device from Puvogel that speed/acceleration, and current controls a patient transport apparatus (¶0071-¶0073) and use the throttle control system from Morris that uses throttle positions to determine the speed of a medical transport device as taught by Morris (¶0044-¶0045). This would enable the transport device to be speed controlled and acceleration controlled based on throttle position which would improve safety and reliability.
Regarding claim 11,
Puvogel discloses the above elements from claim 10.
Puvogel does not disclose:
wherein the controller is configured to operate the drive system in a free wheel mode with the user interface in the neutral throttle position, and after determining that the current drive speed of the drive element is zero, by operating the motor control circuit to disconnect the motor from the battery.
However, Morris teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the controller is configured to operate the drive system in a free wheel mode with the user interface in the neutral throttle position, and after determining that the current drive speed of the drive element is zero, by operating the motor control circuit to disconnect the motor from the battery (¶0041-¶0043, slows down vehicle and stops and turns off).
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the medical transport device from Puvogel that speed/acceleration, and current controls a patient transport apparatus (¶0071-¶0073) and use the throttle control system from Morris that uses throttle positions to determine the speed of a medical transport device as taught by Morris (¶0044-¶0045). This would enable the transport device to be speed controlled and acceleration controlled based on throttle position which would improve safety and reliability.
Regarding claim 12,
Puvogel discloses the above elements from claim 11.
Puvogel does not disclose:
wherein the controller is configured to: monitor the current drive speed of the drive element with the drive system in the free wheel mode; and operate the drive system in a free wheel speed limiting mode upon determining that the current drive speed is greater than a predefined drive speed by transmitting a free wheel speed limiting signal to the motor control circuit to reduce the current drive speed of the drive element to the predefined drive speed.
However, Morris teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the controller is configured to: monitor the current rotational speed of the auxiliary wheel with the auxiliary wheel drive system in the free wheel mode (¶0043-¶0044); and operate the drive system in a free wheel speed limiting mode upon determining that the current drive speed is greater than a predefined drive speed by transmitting a free wheel speed limiting signal to the motor control circuit to reduce the current drive speed of the drive element to the predefined drive speed (¶0044-¶0046).
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the medical transport device from Puvogel that speed/acceleration, and current controls a patient transport apparatus (¶0071-¶0073) and use the throttle control system from Morris that uses throttle positions to determine the speed of a medical transport device as taught by Morris (¶0044-¶0045). This would enable the transport device to be speed controlled and acceleration controlled based on throttle position which would improve safety and reliability.
Regarding claim 13,
Puvogel discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the controller is configured to operate the auxiliary wheel drive system in a drag mode by operating the motor control circuit to cause braking of the motor to enable braking of the auxiliary wheel (¶0078-¶0080); and wherein the override output module is configured to generate the output signal having a zero signal value upon determining the auxiliary wheel drive system is operating in the drag mode (outputs zero speed when braking is complete and speed is zero, ¶0078-¶0080).
Puvogel does not disclose:
wherein the controller includes an override output module configured to generate the output signal having a zero signal value upon determining the auxiliary wheel drive system is operating in the free wheel mode
However, Morris teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the controller includes an override output module configured to generate the output signal having a zero signal value upon determining the auxiliary wheel drive system is operating in the free wheel mode (¶0042);
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the medical transport device from Puvogel that speed/acceleration, and current controls a patient transport apparatus (¶0071-¶0073) and use the throttle control system from Morris that uses throttle positions to determine the speed of a medical transport device as taught by Morris (¶0044-¶0045). This would enable the transport device to be speed controlled and acceleration controlled based on throttle position which would improve safety and reliability.
Regarding claim 14,
Puvogel discloses (Fig. 7):
wherein the controller is configured to select the desired drive speed value from a speed value interpolation table including a plurality of desired drive speed values associated with a plurality of operating positions (Fig. 7, bases acceleration profiles off of user applied force, ¶0073, ¶0077).
Regarding claim 15,
Puvogel discloses (Fig. 5):
wherein the controller is configured to select the acceleration rate from an acceleration rate interpolation table upon determining that the desired drive speed value is greater than the current drive speed of the drive element; and wherein the acceleration rate interpolation table includes: a plurality of forward drive speed values associated with a plurality of forward acceleration rate values, and a plurality of reverse drive speed values associated with a plurality of reverse acceleration rate values different from the plurality of forward acceleration rate values (Fig. 5, different acceleration/speed profiles, ¶0075-¶0077).
Regarding claim 16,
Puvogel discloses (Fig. 5):
wherein the plurality of forward drive speed values includes a first group of forward drive speed values associated with a first acceleration rate, a second group of forward drive speed values associated with a second acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate, and a third group of forward drive speed values associated with a third acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate and the second acceleration rate; wherein the first group of forward drive speed values have lower drive speed values than the second group of forward drive speed values; wherein the third group of forward drive speed values have higher drive speed values than the second group of forward drive speed values; wherein the first acceleration rate is less than the second acceleration rate; and wherein the third acceleration rate is less than the first acceleration rate and the second acceleration rate (Fig. 5, different acceleration/speed profiles, ¶0075-¶0077).
Regarding claim 17,
Puvogel discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the plurality of forward drive speed values includes a first group of forward drive speed values associated with a first acceleration rate, a second group of forward drive speed values associated with a second acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate, and a third group of forward drive speed values associated with a third acceleration rate that is different than the first acceleration rate and the second acceleration rate; wherein the plurality of reverse drive speed values includes a first group of reverse drive speed values associated with a fourth acceleration rate, a second group of reverse drive speed values associated with a fifth acceleration rate that is different than the fourth acceleration rate, and a third group of reverse drive speed values associated with a sixth acceleration rate that is different than the fourth acceleration rate and the fifth acceleration rate; wherein the first group of reverse drive speed values have lower absolute drive speed values than the second group of reverse drive speed values, and the third group of reverse drive speed values higher absolute drive speed values than the second group of reverse drive speed values; and wherein the fourth acceleration rate is less than the fifth acceleration rate, and the sixth acceleration rate is less than the fourth acceleration rate (Fig. 5, different acceleration/speed profiles, ¶0075-¶0077).
Regarding claim 18,
Puvogel discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the controller is configured to select the acceleration rate from a deceleration rate interpolation table upon determining the desired drive speed value is less than the current drive speed of the drive element, the deceleration rate interpolation table including a second plurality of forward drive speed values associated with a plurality of forward deceleration rate values, and a second plurality of reverse drive speed values associated with a plurality of reverse deceleration rate values different from the plurality of forward deceleration rate values; wherein the second plurality of forward drive speed values includes a first group of forward drive speed values associated with a first deceleration rate, and a second group of forward drive speed values associated with a second deceleration rate that is different than the first deceleration rate; wherein the first group of forward drive speed values have lower drive speed values than the second group of forward drive speed values; and wherein the first deceleration rate is less than the second deceleration rate (Fig. 5, different acceleration/speed profiles, ¶0075-¶0077).
Regarding claim 19,
Puvogel discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the controller is configured to select the acceleration rate from a deceleration rate interpolation table upon determining the desired drive speed value is less than the current drive speed of the drive element, the deceleration rate interpolation table including a second plurality of forward drive speed values associated with a plurality of forward deceleration rate values, and a second plurality of reverse drive speed values associated with a plurality of reverse deceleration rate values different from the plurality of forward deceleration rate values; wherein the second plurality of forward drive speed values includes a first group of forward drive speed values associated with a first deceleration rate, and a second group of forward drive speed values associated with a second deceleration rate that is different than the first deceleration rate; wherein the second plurality of reverse drive speed values includes a first group of reverse drive speed values associated with a fourth deceleration rate, and a second group of reverse drive speed values associated with a fifth deceleration rate that is different than the fourth deceleration rate; wherein the first group of reverse drive speed values have lower absolute drive speed values than the second group of reverse drive speed values; and wherein the fourth deceleration rate is less than the fifth deceleration rate (Fig. 5, different acceleration/speed profiles, ¶0075-¶0077).
Regarding claim 20,
Puvogel discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the drive element is further defined as an auxiliary wheel (Fig. 1, 24a) supported for rotation relative to the support structure (22).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tang et al. (US 2018/0055701) – elevating bed apparatus
/C.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837