DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-9 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 11/21/2024 and 07/02/2025 has/have been taken into account.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Remote Control Device And Display Support Mechanism”.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/956,572 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 1 is encompassed by the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/962,114 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 1 is encompassed by the claim of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/962,114 in view of Hwang et al. (US 8,011,623). The scope of claim 1 is encompassed by the claim of the reference application however the reference application fails to recite a support mechanism having an arm structure as recited in claims 2-9 of the instant application. However, Hwang teaches an arm (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101, 300, 500) having the recited arm pieces and rotational connections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arm of the reference application with the arm in Hwang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a support mechanism that provides a wide range of movement but takes up a small volume when stowed (Hwang: Col. 1, Ln. 23-49), thereby improving adjustability without causing unwanted obstructions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a base end portion of the support arm is coupled to the main body case such that the support arm is configured to be rotated about the rotation axis extending in the left-right direction with respect to the remote control device main body, and a distal end portion of the support arm is coupled to the display case such that the display unit is configured to be rotated about the rotation axis extending in the left-right direction with respect to the support arm” (emphasis added). – It is unclear how a base end and distal end of an arm can rotate about the same axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2007/0249244) in view of Ullman (US 2018/0141632).
In regards to Claim 1, Watanabe discloses a remote control device for remotely controlling a ship propulsion device provided in a ship, the remote control device comprising: a remote control device main body including: a main body case (Watanabe: Fig. 1-3; 2) installed on an installation surface provided in the ship; and a remote control lever (Watanabe: Fig. 1-3; 5, 12 - left) attached to the main body case; a unit provided outside the main body case, and including a case (Watanabe: Fig. 1-3; 12 - right); and a support mechanism (Watanabe: Fig. 1-3; 5 - right) that couples the unit and the remote control device main body to each other and that supports the display unit, wherein, in a case where a direction perpendicular to the installation surface is defined as an up-down direction, a direction perpendicular to the up-down direction is defined as a front-back direction, and a direction perpendicular to the up-down direction and the front-back direction is defined as a left-right direction, the support mechanism couples the display unit and the remote control device main body such that the display unit is configured to be rotated with respect to the remote control device main body about a rotation axis extending in the left-right direction (Watanabe: Fig. 3).
Watanabe fails to disclose a display unit provided outside the main body case, and including a display case and a display provided in the display case. However, Ullman teaches a display unit (Ullman: Fig. 9; 1) provided outside a main body case, and including a display case and a display (Ullman: Fig. 9; 20) provided in the display case.
Watanabe and Ullman are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. control devices and display supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the case in Watanabe with the display and mode functionality from Ullman, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means of graphically depicting and selecting different throttle modes for the device, thereby improving the device’s functionality (Ullman: [0026]).
In regards to Claim 2, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the remote control device according to claim 1, wherein the support mechanism is a support arm (Watanabe: Fig. 1-3; 5 - right) extending in a direction intersecting with the left-right direction, a base end portion of the support arm is coupled to the main body case (Watanabe: Fig. 1-3; 2) such that the support arm is configured to be rotated about the rotation axis extending in the left-right direction with respect to the remote control device main body, and a distal end portion of the support arm is coupled to the display case (Watanabe: Fig. 1-3; 12 - right).
In regards to Claim 7, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the remote control device according to claim 2, wherein an upper surface (Watanabe: Annotated Fig. 3; U) of the main body case is curved such that the upper surface draws an arc centered on the rotation axis about which a base end portion of the support arm (Watanabe: Fig. 1-3; 5 - right) rotates with respect to the remote control device main body.
In regards to Claim 8, Watanabe, as modified, teaches the remote control device according to claim 2, wherein the rotation axis about which a base end portion of the support arm (Watanabe: Fig. 1-3; 5 - right) rotates with respect to the remote control device main body is in alignment with a rotation axis of the remote control lever (Watanabe: Fig. 3; shows aligned axes).
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimpara et al. (US 2022/0363360) and Hwang et al. (US 8,011,623).
In regards to Claim 1, Kimpara discloses a remote control device for remotely controlling a ship propulsion device provided in a ship, the remote control device comprising: a remote control device main body including: a main body case (Kimpara: Fig. 3-6; 84) installed on an installation surface provided in the ship; and a remote control lever (Kimpara: Fig. 3-6; 11) attached to the main body case; a display unit (Kimpara: Fig. 6; 31) provided outside the main body case, and including a display case and a display (Kimpara: Fig. 6; 32) provided in the display case; a support means (Kimpara: Fig. 3, 6; 83, 90) that couples the display unit and the remote control device main body to each other and that supports the display unit.
Kimpara fails to disclose a support mechanism that couples the display unit and the remote control device main body to each other and that supports the display unit, wherein, in a case where a direction perpendicular to the installation surface is defined as an up-down direction, a direction perpendicular to the up-down direction is defined as a front-back direction, and a direction perpendicular to the up-down direction and the front-back direction is defined as a left-right direction, the support mechanism couples the display unit and the remote control device main body such that the display unit is configured to be rotated with respect to the remote control device main body about a rotation axis extending in the left-right direction. However, Hwang teaches a support mechanism (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101, 300, 500) that couples a display unit (Hwang: Fig. 1, 5; 100) and a main body (Hwang: Fig. 1, 5; 800) to each other and that supports the display unit, wherein, in a case where a direction perpendicular to the installation surface is defined as an up-down direction, a direction perpendicular to the up-down direction is defined as a front-back direction, and a direction perpendicular to the up-down direction and the front-back direction is defined as a left-right direction, the support mechanism couples the display unit and the device main body such that the display unit is configured to be rotated with respect to the device main body about a rotation axis extending in the left-right direction.
Kimpara and Hwang are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. display supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display support means and housings in Kimpara with the support mechanism from Hwang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a support mechanism that provides a wide range of movement but takes up a small volume when stowed (Hwang: Col. 1, Ln. 23-49), thereby improving adjustability of the display without causing unwanted obstructions.
In regards to Claim 2, Kimpara, as modified, teaches the remote control device according to claim 1, wherein the support mechanism (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101, 300, 500) is a support arm extending in a direction intersecting with the left-right direction, a base end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 531, 533, 633) of the support arm is coupled to the main body case such that the support arm is configured to be rotated about the rotation axis extending in the left-right direction with respect to the remote control device main body, and a distal end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101) of the support arm is coupled to the display case.
In regards to Claim 3, Kimpara, as modified, teaches the remote control device according to claim 1, wherein the support mechanism (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101, 300, 500) is a support arm extending in a direction intersecting with the left-right direction, a base end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 531, 533, 633) of the support arm is coupled to the main body case, and a distal end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101) of the support arm is coupled to the display case such that the display unit is configured to be rotated about the rotation axis extending in the left-right direction with respect to the support arm.
In regards to Claim 4, Kimpara, as modified, teaches the remote control device according to claim 1, wherein the support mechanism (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101, 300, 500) is a support arm extending in a direction intersecting with the left-right direction, a base end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 531, 533, 633) of the support arm is coupled to the main body case such that the support arm is configured to be rotated about the rotation axis extending in the left-right direction with respect to the remote control device main body, and a distal end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101) of the support arm is coupled to the display case such that the display unit is configured to be rotated about the rotation axis extending in the left-right direction with respect to the support arm.
In regards to Claim 5, Kimpara, as modified, teaches the remote control device according to claim 1, wherein the support mechanism (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101, 300, 500) is a support arm extending in a direction intersecting with the left-right direction, the support arm includes: a first arm piece (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 500) forming a base end side portion of the support arm; and a second arm piece (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101, 300) forming a distal end side portion of the support arm, a base end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 340) of the second arm piece is coupled to a distal end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 521, 523) of the first arm piece such that the second arm piece is configured to be rotated about a rotation axis extending in the left-right direction with respect to the first arm piece, a base end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 531, 533, 633) of the first arm piece is coupled to the main body case, and the distal end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101) of the second arm piece is coupled to the display case.
In regards to Claim 6, Kimpara, as modified, teaches the remote control device according to claim 2, wherein the support arm includes: a first arm piece (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 500) forming a base end side portion of the support arm; and a second arm piece (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101, 300) forming a distal end side portion of the support arm, and a base end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 340) of the second arm piece is coupled to a distal end portion of the first arm piece such that the second arm piece is configured to be rotated around a rotation axis extending in the left-right direction with respect to the first arm piece.
In regards to Claim 9, Kimpara, as modified, teaches the remote control device according to claim 2, wherein the display unit (Kimpara: Fig. 6; 31) is coupled to a distal end portion (Hwang: Fig. 4-5; 101) of the support arm such that the display unit is configured to be rotated about a rotation axis extending in a direction perpendicular to a screen of the display (Hwang: Fig. 6A; Col. 11, Ln. 10-14).
Annotated Figures
I: Watanabe; Fig. 3
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631