DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 21 November 2024, 12 September 2025, and 23 March 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because at Line 4, the sentence “The recyclable structure 85% by subjecting the structure to …” is incomplete. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0112663 to Boswell et al., (“Boswell”).
With regard to Claim 17, Boswell teaches a method of providing a recyclable packaging material comprising applying adhesive to a paper layer and applying a polymeric coating thereon (see Abstract; FIG. 3; ¶¶ [0008], [0069], [0149]).
With regard to Claim 19, Boswell teaches spraying and/or extruding layers (see ¶ [0414]).
With regard to Claim 20, Boswell teaches recycling produced materials wherein nearly all paper cellulose fibers are recovered (see ¶¶ [0464], [0518]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed. Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Boswell is deemed to be the closest prior art; however the reference does not teach or suggest applying an adhesive layer in a thickness sufficient to prevent the coated polymer layer from encapsulating exposed fibers of the fiber-based substrate, and fracturing of layers as claimed when exposed to mechanical stress during recycling, per Claims 1 and 12. Similarly, Boswell does not teach or suggest the feature of Claim 18 wherein mechanical stress causes adhesive layer fracture such into first and second portions of the claimed relative size.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712