DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connors et al. (US20220136157), and further in view of Luo et al. (KR 20200052817)
As to claim 1. Mason et al. discloses A stretchy thermal insulation composite material (see e.g. 116 provides desirable stretch and recovery properties to the composite in Par. 96, that has desired insulation property in Par. 97), comprising:
a thermal insulation layer, which has a unit weight of 20 gsm to 300 gsm and comprises a thermal insulation fiber (see e.g. nonwoven textile 120 have a basis weight from about 40 gsm to about 450 gsm in Par. 111, wherein composite nonwoven textile achieve desired insulation property for the composite nonwoven textile in Par. 97); and
a melt-blown layer disposed on the thermal insulation layer, which has a unit weight of 15 gsm to 100 gsm and comprises an elastic melt-blown fiber(see e.g. elastomeric layer 116 can be a melt blown layer in Par. 96, has basis weight from about 20 gsm to about 150 gsm in Par. 96);
wherein, part of the thermal insulation fiber and part of the elastic melt-blown fiber link to each other at an interface between the thermal insulation layer and the melt-blown layer(see e.g. fiber 210 may be melted to create thermal bonding in par. 174, Fig 9, fibers that can be held together by mechanical or chemical interactions in Par. 70, aligns the fibers in x, y planes or light needling process or mechanical entanglement process in Par. 70); the material of the elastic melt-blown fiber is an elastic polymer material, which is virgin or recycled(see e.g. fibers maybe recycled or virgin in Par. 75, furthermore, materials for elastomeric layer may also be fully recyclable in par. 65); the elastic polymer material is selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic polyurethane, thermoplastic polyester elastomer, polytrimethylene terephthalate and a combination thereof(see e.g. elastomeric layer 116 can be thermoplastic polyurethane TPU, thermoplastic polyether ester elastomer TPEE or combinations of TPU and TPEE in Par. 96);
Mason et al. does not disclose the elastic melt-blown fiber has a diameter of 0.1 μm to 35 μm.
Luo et al. discloses thermoplastic meltblown elastic nonwoven fabric comprise thermoplastic polyurethane fibers have a diameter of 4 to 50 microns in order to achieve desired melt blown fiber that has desired easiness of manufacturing, efficiency, strength, and furthermore diameter of 4 to 50 microns have desired porosity with air permeability for downproof performance under “Thermoplastic polyurethane melt blown elastic non-woven fabric”.
Both Mason et al. and Luo et al. are analogous in the field of meltblown elastic nonwoven fabric made of thermoplastic(polyurethane) fibers, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the thermoplastic fibers of the elastic meltblow fiber of Mason et al. to be melt blow elastic fiber with diameter of 4 to 50 microns as taught by Luo et al. as melt blown fiber with diameter of 4 to 50 microns can achieve desired easiness of manufacturing, efficiency, strength, and furthermore diameter of 4 to 50 microns as desired porosity with air permeability for downproof performance under “Thermoplastic polyurethane melt blown elastic non-woven fabric” as suggested by Luo et al.
As to claim 2. Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. discloses the stretchy thermal insulation composite material as claimed in claim 1, wherein the material of the thermal insulation fiber is a fiber material, which is virgin or recycled; the fiber material is selected from the group consisting of polyethylene terephthalate, polytrimethylene terephthalate and a combination thereof (see e.g. Mason et al. discloses nonwoven textile is recyclable, can be recycled PET fibers in Par. 65).
As to claim 3. Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. discloses the stretchy thermal insulation composite material as claimed in claim 2, wherein the thermal insulation layer further comprises a glue, a low melting point fiber, or a combination thereof (see e.g. Mason et al. discloses nonwoven textile 120 has adhesive by using of chemical binder in Par. 157, thermal bonding with melted or partially melted bonding in par. 174, Par. 179).
As to claim 6. Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. discloses stretchy thermal insulation composite material as claimed in claim 1, wherein in the elastic polymer material, the thermoplastic polyurethane has a melting point ranging from 150°C to 190°C; the thermoplastic polyester elastomer has a melting point ranging from 210°C to 240°C; and the polytrimethylene terephthalate has a melting point ranging from 245°C to 265°C(see e.g. Luo et al. disclose gloss temperature is lower than the melting point of the TPU fiber, which is 130C, thus the melting point of the TPU fiber would be higher than 130C under hot rolled polished. Furthermore, the melting point is intrinsic property of the fiber, as discussed above Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. discloses same type of fiber with overlapping diameter as the instant application, it would be expected that the fibers in Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. would also have a same or almost identical melting point range as the fibers in the instant application)
As to claim 7-10, in more detail:
As to claim 7, The stretchy thermal insulation composite material as claimed in claim 1, wherein the stretchy thermal insulation composite material has a CLO value/thickness of 1.50 CLO/cm or more
As to claim 8. The stretchy thermal insulation composite material as claimed in claim 1, wherein the stretchy thermal insulation composite material has a washing shrinkage in machine direction of 1.5% or less, and a washing shrinkage in cross direction of 2.5% or less.
As to claim 9. The stretchy thermal insulation composite material as claimed in claim 1, wherein the stretchy thermal insulation composite material has a compression resilience of 80% or more.
As to claim 10. The stretchy thermal insulation composite material as claimed in claim 1, wherein the stretchy thermal insulation composite material has a stretchability in machine direction of 15% or more, and a stretchability in cross direction of 20% or more.
Without applicant clear specify what product structure is associated with the measured value or properties in claim 7-10, it is expected that the measured value or properties in claim 7-10 are the result of the product structure in claim 1. As discussed in claim 1, Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. discloses a same structure with same elastic insulative materials and insulative materials for each layer, it is expected that the structure in Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. would also have overlapping properties as claimed in claim 7-10. Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the product of Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. to make it more insulative, elastic and durable as desired by Mason et al.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connors et al. (US20220136157), Luo et al. (KR 20200052817) and further in view of Reuben et al. (US 20190283078)
As to claim 4. Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. disclose the stretchy thermal insulation composite material as claimed in claim 3, comprise the low melting point fiber(see e.g. Mason et al. discloses nonwoven textile 120 has adhesive by using of chemical binder in Par. 157, thermal bonding with melted or partially melted bonding in par. 174, Par. 179)
Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. does not explicitly disclose the low melting point fiber has a melting point of 110°C to 170°C.
Reuben et al. discloses elastic insulative composite comprising glue or binder that have low melting point in the range of from about 80 degrees C. to 160 degrees C in par. 11.
Both Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. and Reuben are analogous in the field of elastic insulative composite, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify/replace the low melting point of Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. to be low melting point fiber with melting point in the range of from about 80 degrees C. to 160 degrees C as taught by Reuben et al. to achieve good bonding at lower treatment temperature.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connors et al. (US20220136157), Luo et al. (KR 20200052817) and further in view of Xie et al. (TW M612416)
As to claim 5. Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. disclose the stretchy thermal insulation composite material as claimed in claim 3, wherein the material of the glue is a acrylic resin or a polyurethane resin(see e.g. Mason et al. discloses the chemical binder can be oil based acrylic ester polymer in Par. 150 or polyurethane binder in Par. 150. )
Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. does not disclose the glue can be also water based.
Xie et al. discloses adhesive for clothing can be both oil based or water based acrylic in disclosure.
Both Mason et al. in view of Luo et al. and Xie et al. discloses acrylic based adhesive in clothing, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to replace the oil based acrylic resin or polyurethane resin to be water based as both adhesives are interchangeable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fontenot et al. (CA 2130529) discloses a stretchable insulating laminate comprises nonwoven web and insulating batting material in abstract.
/TONG GUO/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1781