Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Applicant provide prior art US Patent 4,475,360 to Suefuji.
In Reference to Claim 1
Suefuji discloses a climate-control system comprising: a compressor having a first scroll (Fig. 1, 5) and a second scroll (Fig. 1, 6) that cooperate to define a plurality of pockets therebetween, wherein the pockets include a radially outer pocket (Fig. 1, 8), a radially inner pocket (Fig. 1, 10), and an intermediate pocket (Fig. 1, 9) disposed radially between the radially outer and inner pockets, wherein the first scroll includes a capacity-modulation passage (Fig. 1, 16) in fluid communication with the intermediate pocket (Via port 15a/15b); an outdoor heat exchanger (Fig. 1, 22) in fluid communication with the compressor; an indoor heat exchanger (Fig. 1, 21) in fluid communication with the compressor; a fluid line (Fig. 1, 23) extending from the compressor to a location between the indoor and outdoor heat exchangers, wherein the fluid line is fluidly connected to the intermediate pocket via the capacity-modulation passage (Fig. 1, 16); and a control valve (Fig. 1, 26) controlling a flow of fluid through the fluid line, wherein the climate-control system is operable in a high-capacity mode, an intermediate-capacity mode, and a low-capacity mode, and wherein the control valve allows fluid flow through the fluid line in the high-capacity mode and in the low-capacity mode, and wherein the control valve prevents fluid flow through the fluid line in the intermediate-capacity mode.
The Office considers “high-capacity mode and low-capacity" as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Suefuji discloses all the required structure, it must provide a functional of the high-capacity and low capacity operation. Furthermore, Suefuji teaches the object of the system is to save energy of the system during the heating or cooling process, obviously, the system would be operated in a high capacity mode or a lower capacity mode in order to save the energy.
In Reference to Claim 2
Suefuji discloses a flash tank (Fig. 1, 24) having a first opening (The opening connected to the line 34), a second opening (The opening connected to the line 35), and a third opening (The opening connected to the line 33), wherein the first opening is fluidly connected to the indoor heat exchanger, wherein the second opening is fluidly connected to the outdoor heat exchanger, and wherein the third opening in fluidly connected to the fluid line.
In Reference to Claim 3
Suefuji discloses a first expansion valve (Fig. 1, 23) disposed between and controlling fluid flow between the indoor heat exchanger and the first opening; and a second expansion valve (Fig. 1, 25) disposed between and controlling fluid flow between the outdoor heat exchanger and the second opening.
In Reference to Claim 4
Suefuji discloses the first (Fig. 1, 23) and second expansion valves (Fig. 1, 25) control a pressure a vapor working fluid in the flash tank (Fig. 1, 24)
The Office considers the operation process under the high capacity mode as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Suefuji discloses all the inventions in terms of the structure, it must provide flow control function with meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2114))
In Reference to Clain 5
Suefuji discloses the first (Fig. 1, 23) and second expansion valves (Fig. 1, 25) control a pressure a vapor working fluid in the flash tank (Fig. 1, 24)
The Office considers the operation process under the low capacity mode as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Suefuji discloses all the inventions in terms of the structure, it must provide flow control function with meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2114))
In Reference to Claim 6
Suefuji discloses a reversing valve (Fig. 1, 20) operable to switch the climate-control system between a heating mode and a cooling mode, and wherein the climate-control system.
In Reference to Claims 7 and 8
Suefuji disclose the climate-control system as recited in terms of structure.
The Office considers the operation process under the low capacity mode in heating or cooling mode as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Suefuji discloses all the inventions in terms of the structure, it must provide flow control function with meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2114))
In Reference to Claim 9
Suefuji discloses a climate-control system comprising: a compressor defining a suction chamber (Fig. 1, 8), a discharge chamber (Fig. 1, 1a), and an intermediate pocket (Fig. 1, 9) at a pressure between pressures of the suction and discharge chambers, wherein the compressor includes a capacity-modulation passage (Fig. 1, 28) in fluid communication with the intermediate pocket; an outdoor heat exchanger (Fig. 1, 22) in fluid communication with the compressor; an indoor heat exchanger (Fig. 1, 21) in fluid communication with the compressor; a fluid line (Fig. 33) extending from the compressor to a location between the indoor and outdoor heat exchangers, wherein the fluid line is fluidly connected to the intermediate pocket via the capacity-modulation passage (Fig. 1, 28); and a control valve (Fig. 1, 26) controlling a flow of fluid through the fluid line, wherein the climate-control system is operable in a high-capacity mode, an intermediate-capacity mode, and a low-capacity mode, and wherein the control valve allows fluid flow through the fluid line in the high-capacity mode and in the low-capacity mode, and wherein the control valve prevents fluid flow through the fluid line in the intermediate-capacity mode.
The Office considers “high-capacity mode and low-capacity" as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Suefuji discloses all the required structure, it must provide a functional of the high-capacity and low capacity operation. Furthermore, Suefuji teaches the object of the system is to save energy of the system during the heating or cooling process, obviously, the system would be operated in a high capacity mode or a lower capacity mode in order to save the energy.
In Reference to Claim 10
Suefuji discloses a flash tank (Fig. 1, 24) having a first opening (The opening connected to the line 34), a second opening (The opening connected to the line 35), and a third opening (The opening connected to the line 33), wherein the first opening is fluidly connected to the indoor heat exchanger, wherein the second opening is fluidly connected to the outdoor heat exchanger, and wherein the third opening in fluidly connected to the fluid line.
In Reference to Claim 11
Suefuji discloses a first expansion valve (Fig. 1, 23) disposed between and controlling fluid flow between the indoor heat exchanger and the first opening; and a second expansion valve (Fig. 1, 25) disposed between and controlling fluid flow between the outdoor heat exchanger and the second opening.
In Reference to Claim 12
Suefuji discloses the first (Fig. 1, 23) and second expansion valves (Fig. 1, 25) control a pressure a vapor working fluid in the flash tank (Fig. 1, 24)
The Office considers the operation process under the high capacity mode as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Suefuji discloses all the inventions in terms of the structure, it must provide flow control function with meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2114))
In Reference to Claim 13
Suefuji discloses the first (Fig. 1, 23) and second expansion valves (Fig. 1, 25) control a pressure a vapor working fluid in the flash tank (Fig. 1, 24)
The Office considers the operation process under the low capacity mode as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Suefuji discloses all the inventions in terms of the structure, it must provide flow control function with meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2114))
In Reference to Claim 14
Suefuji discloses a reversing valve (Fig. 1, 20) operable to switch the climate-control system between a heating mode and a cooling mode, and wherein the climate-control system.
In Reference to Claims 15 and 16
Suefuji disclose the climate-control system as recited in terms of structure.
The Office considers the operation process under the low capacity mode in heating or cooling mode as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Suefuji discloses all the inventions in terms of the structure, it must provide flow control function with meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2114))
In Reference to Claim 17
Suefuji discloses A climate-control system comprising: a compressor having a first scroll (Fig. 1, 5) and a second scroll (Fig. 1, 6) that cooperate to define a plurality of pockets therebetween, wherein the pockets include a radially outer pocket (Fig. 1, 8), a radially inner pocket (Fig. 1, 10), and an intermediate pocket (Fig. 1, 9) disposed radially between the radially outer and inner pockets, wherein compressor includes a capacity-modulation passage (Fig. 1, 28) in fluid communication with the intermediate pocket; an outdoor heat exchanger (Fig. 1, 22) in fluid communication with the compressor; an indoor heat exchanger (Fig. 1, 21) in fluid communication with the compressor; a fluid line (Fig. 1, 33) extending from the compressor to a location between the indoor and outdoor heat exchangers, wherein the fluid line is fluidly connected to the intermediate pocket via the capacity-modulation passage (Fig. 1, 28); a flash tank (Fig. 1, 24) having a first opening (Fig. 1, the opening connected to line 34), a second opening (Fig. 1, the opening connected to 35), and a third opening (Fig. 1, the opening connected to line 33), wherein the first opening is fluidly connected to the indoor heat exchanger, wherein the second opening is fluidly connected to the outdoor heat exchanger, and wherein the third opening in fluidly connected to the fluid line; a first expansion valve (Fig. 1, 23) disposed between and controlling fluid flow between the indoor heat exchanger and the first opening; and a second expansion valve (Fig. 1, 25) disposed between and controlling fluid flow between the outdoor heat exchanger and the second opening, wherein the climate-control system is operable in a high-capacity mode, an intermediate-capacity mode, and a low-capacity mode, wherein in the high-capacity mode, the first and second expansion valves control a pressure a vapor working fluid in the flash tank to be higher than a pressure of working fluid in the intermediate pocket, thereby causing vapor working fluid in the flash tank to exit the flash tank through the third opening and flow through the fluid line toward the compressor, wherein in the low-capacity mode, the first and second expansion valves control a pressure a vapor working fluid in the flash tank to be lower than the pressure of working fluid in the intermediate pocket, thereby causing working fluid in the intermediate pocket to flow out of the compressor via the capacity-modulation passage and flow through the fluid line toward the flash tank, and wherein in the intermediate-capacity mode, fluid flow through the fluid line is prevented
The Office considers “high-capacity mode and low-capacity" as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Suefuji discloses all the required structure, it must provide a functional of the high-capacity and low capacity operation. Furthermore, Suefuji teaches the object of the system is to save energy of the system during the heating or cooling process, obviously, the system would be operated in a high capacity mode or a lower capacity mode in order to save the energy.
In Reference to Claim 18
Suefuji discloses a reversing valve (Fig. 1, 20) operable to switch the climate-control system between a heating mode and a cooling mode, and wherein the climate-control system.
In Reference to Claims 19 and 20
Suefuji disclose the climate-control system as recited in terms of structure.
The Office considers the operation process under the low capacity mode in heating or cooling mode as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since Suefuji discloses all the inventions in terms of the structure, it must provide flow control function with meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2114))
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Publication 2021/0010472.
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 9/10/26