DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, claims 21-41 have been considered and examined.
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 21-41 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On page 9 of Applicant’s remarks, in view of amendments and remarks, the rejection based on a non-statutory type of double patenting is maintained (see Non-Final rejection mailed on 01/09/2026 for detail).
On pages 9-10 of Applicant remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Walker, Mushin, and Rockwell does not teach the amended independent claim 21 to recite "establish a wireless communication connection between the second wireless communication system and the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device" and "receive, via the wireless communication connection with the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device, monitoring data that comprises the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion from the patient monitoring device" because the Examiner has not pointed to any portion of the cited references that discloses this particular combination of features, especially in Muhsin Figure 8 illustrates a graphical user interface 700 having a history view area 700 configured to display "trend data associated with a selected medical patient over a selected time period". Critically, this trend data is "retrieved from a round- robin database" that stores physiological information obtained from patient monitors 140.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 01/09/2026, the rejection relied upon Mushin to disclose the patient monitors to transmit physiological information directly to the nurse station system and the clinician devices via a network (Mushin: [0024]).
Therefore, Muhsin explicitly disclose the claimed limitations of "establish a wireless communication connection between the second wireless communication system and the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device" and "receive, via the wireless communication connection with the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device, monitoring data that comprises the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion from the patient monitoring device."
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained. Therefore, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21-24, 26-30, 37-38, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (Walker – US 6,302,844 B1) in view of Muhsin et al. (Muhsin – US 2013/0162433 A1), and Rockwell et al. (Rockwell – US 6,141,584).
As to claim 21, Walker discloses a patient monitoring system comprising:
a patient monitoring device (Walker: column 4 lines 7-22, lines 46- column 5 lines 2, column 6 lines 46-61 and FIG. 1 the patient telemetry devices 120-1 – 120-N comprising the automatic external defibrillator 140) comprising:
one or more sensors (Walker: column 4 lines 7-22, lines 46- column 5 lines 2, column 6 lines 46-61 and FIG. 1) configured to physically couple to a patient and to acquire patient data (Walker: column 4 lines 7-22, lines 46- column 5 lines 2, column 6 lines 46-61 and FIG. 1: the input/output circuit 125 may comprise sensors, transducers and other analog to digital conversion circuitry adapted to measure physiological parameters associated with a patient, such as heart rate, blood pressure, temperature, perspiration level, respiratory activity, body electrical activity, brain activity and the like), the acquired patient data including a patient data first portion and a patient data second portion (Walker: column 4 lines 7-22, lines 46- column 5 lines 2, column 6 lines 46-61 and FIG. 1: the input/output circuit 125 may comprise sensors, transducers and other analog to digital conversion circuitry adapted to measure physiological parameters associated with a patient, such as heart rate, blood pressure, temperature, perspiration level, respiratory activity, body electrical activity, brain activity and the like),
a first wireless communication system (Walker: column 4 lines 7-22, lines 46- column 5 lines 25, column 6 lines 46-61 and FIG. 1 the data link 127: data link 127 comprises a wireless or a non-wireless data link (e.g., a telephone dialer, a cellular telephone link, or a computer link) or other communications link driver suitable for providing patient data to the central server 200, via a respective data path (e.g., data path P1)); and
a portable computing device (Walker: FIG. 1 the physician terminal device 110-1) comprising:
a second wireless communication system (Walker: column 5 lines 26-44 and FIG. 1 the input/output 115 or FIG. 2 the communication port 210 ),
an interface screen (Walker: FIG. 1 the display device 111 of the physician terminal device 110), and
at least one processor (Walker: FIG. 1 the processor 114).
Walker does not explicitly disclose
a device screen configured to display the patient data first portion at a given time, and
at least one processor, configured to:
establish a wireless communication connection between the second wireless communication system and the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device,
receive, via the wireless communication connection with the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device, monitoring data that comprises the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion from the patient monitoring device, and
display on the interface screen, at the given time, the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring conditions of patients to implement at least one processor, configured to:
establish a wireless communication connection between the second wireless communication system and the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device,
receive, via the wireless communication connection with the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device, monitoring data that comprises the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion from the patient monitoring device , and
display on the interface screen, at the given time, the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion, as suggested by Muhsin, which discloses
at least one processor, configured to:
establish a wireless communication connection between the second wireless communication system and the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device (Muhsin: [0021]: The network 110 of the clinical network environment 100 can be a LAN or WAN, wireless LAN ("WLAN"), or other type of network used in any hospital, nursing home, patient care center, or other clinical location, [0024]: the patient monitors 140 may provide at least some of this information directly to the nurses' station systems 130 and clinician devices 150, and FIG. 1 the network 110),
receive, via the wireless communication connection with the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device, monitoring data that comprises the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion from the patient monitoring device (Muhsin: [0021], [0024]-[0026], [0103]-[0115], [0117]-[0120], [0128], and FIG. 7-11: The patient status display area 710 includes a plurality of patient status modules 712. Each patient status module 712 can correspond to a patient monitor that can be coupled to a medical patient. Each patient status module 712 can display a graphical status indicator 714. An example graphical status indicator 714 is shown in the screens 700 as a miniature patient monitor icon. The graphical status indicator 714 can selectively indicate one of several states of a patient monitor. In one embodiment, four possible patient monitor states can be depicted by the graphical status indicator 714. These include an alarm condition, a no alarm condition, patient context information status, and connection status), and
display on the interface screen, at the given time, the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion (Muhsin: [0021], [0024]-[0026], [0103]-[0115], [0117]-[0120], [0128], and FIG. 7-11: FIG. 7 illustrates an example graphical user interface (GUI) 700 for monitoring patients. The GUI 700 can be provided on a nurses' station system or the like. The GUI 700 can also be displayed on a clinician device. The GUI 700 can be provided on any display. For example, the GUI 700 can be provided over the Internet to a remote user, or on a monitor located within a healthcare treatment facility, such as a hospital, nursing home, patient's home, and/or clinician's home or office)
Therefore, in view of teachings by Walker and Muhsin, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to implement in the patient care delivery system of Walker to include at least one processor, configured to:
establish a wireless communication connection between the second wireless communication system and the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device,
receive, via the wireless communication connection with the first wireless communication system of the patient monitoring device, monitoring data that comprises the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion from the patient monitoring device, and
display on the interface screen, at the given time, the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion, a suggested by Muhsin. The motivation for this is to selectively display various information related to conditions of a patient.
The combination of Walker and Muhsin does not explicitly disclose a device screen configured to display the patient data first portion at a given time.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring conditions of patients to implement a device screen configured to display the patient data first portion at a given time, a suggested by Rockwell, which discloses a device screen (Rockwell: Abstract, FIG. 2 the display 22, and FIG. 6-11) configured to display the patient data first portion at a given time (Rockwell: column 7 lines 4-54, column 10 lines 57-column 11 lines 17, column 12 lines 25-54, and FIG. 6-11: The pair of electrodes 16 is connected to a connector 26 for insertion into a socket 28 on the defibrillator 10. On a top surface of the defibrillator 10 is located an on-off switch 18 which activates the defibrillator 10 and begins the process of the prompting the first responder 12 to connect the electrodes 16 to the patient 14. A battery condition indicator 20 provides a continual visual indication of the defibrillator status and the available battery charge. A display 22 preferably provides for display of text such as user prompts and graphics such as ECG waveforms. A shock button 24 provides for delivery of the shock to the patient 14 if a shockable rhythm is detected. The AED personality of the defibrillator 10 thus provides for a three step defibrillation process of connecting the electrodes 16 to the patient 14, analyzing the ECG signal, and administering defibrillation shocks to the patient 14 as needed for resuscitation. The third step of administering defibrillation shocks is nearly always done by prompting the user to manually press the shock button 24. Thus, AEDs generally are semi-automatic in operation rather than fully automatic).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to implement in the patient care delivery system of Walker and Muhsin to include a device screen configured to display the patient data first portion at a given time, a suggested by Rockwell. The motivation for this is to selectively display various information regarding conditions of a patient.
As to claim 22, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the patient data comprises patient electrocardiogram (ECG) data (Walker: column 3 lines 37-column 4 lines 6, column 20 lines 27-35, and FIG. 1, Muhsin: [0042], [0090], and FIG. 7-11, and Rockwell: column 6 lines 51-62, column 7 lines 4-54, column 10 lines 57-column 11 lines 17, column 12 lines 25-54, and FIG. 6-11: The pair of electrodes 16 is connected to a connector 26 for insertion into a socket 28 on the defibrillator 10. On a top surface of the defibrillator 10 is located an on-off switch 18 which activates the defibrillator 10 and begins the process of the prompting the first responder 12 to connect the electrodes 16 to the patient 14. A battery condition indicator 20 provides a continual visual indication of the defibrillator status and the available battery charge. A display 22 preferably provides for display of text such as user prompts and graphics such as ECG waveforms. A shock button 24 provides for delivery of the shock to the patient 14 if a shockable rhythm is detected. The AED personality of the defibrillator 10 thus provides for a three step defibrillation process of connecting the electrodes 16 to the patient 14, analyzing the ECG signal, and administering defibrillation shocks to the patient 14 as needed for resuscitation. The third step of administering defibrillation shocks is nearly always done by prompting the user to manually press the shock button 24. Thus, AEDs generally are semi-automatic in operation rather than fully automatic).
As to claim 23, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the patient data comprises one or more of blood pressure data (Walker: column 4 lines 7-22, lines 46- column 5 lines 2, column 6 lines 46-61 and FIG. 1: the input/output circuit 125 may comprise sensors, transducers and other analog to digital conversion circuitry adapted to measure physiological parameters associated with a patient, such as heart rate, blood pressure, temperature, perspiration level, respiratory activity, body electrical activity, brain activity and the like), heart rate data, or pulse oximetry data (Walker: Abstract, column 4 lines 49-67, and FIG. 1 the input/output 125: For example, the input/output circuit 125 may comprise sensors, transducers and other analog to digital conversion circuitry adapted to measure physiological parameters associated with a patient, such as heart rate, blood pressure, temperature, perspiration level, respiratory activity, body electrical activity, brain activity and the like. The physiological information is received and/or processed by the input/output circuitry to produce physiological parameter representative data in a form usable by processor 124 and Muhsin: [0022], [0041], and FIG. 1-2: The monitoring module 242 can monitor physiological signals generated by one or more sensors coupled with a patient. The monitoring module 242 may process the signals to determine any of a variety of physiological parameters. For example, the monitoring module 242 can determine physiological parameters such as pulse rate, plethysmograph waveform data, perfusion index, and values of blood constituents in body tissue, including for example, arterial carbon monoxide saturation ("HbCO"), methemoglobin saturation ("HbMet"), total hemoglobin ("HbT" or "SpHb"), arterial oxygen saturation ("SpO.sub.2"), fractional arterial oxygen saturation ("SpaO.sub.2"), oxygen content ("CaO.sub.2"), or the like ).
As to claim 24, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the at least one processor is configured to display on the interface screen, at the given time, the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion at different screen positions (Muhsin: [0090], [0103]-[0115]: As an example, suppose that the parameters measured in block 512 include SpO.sub.2 and ECG. The parameter descriptors provided in block 514 might be "SPO2" and "ECG." If a clinician enabled an SpHb parameter measurement on the monitor at block 518, the parameter descriptors associated with the physiological data in block 519 might now include "SPO2" and "ECG" and "SPHB."..The parameter menu 732 will generally allow a user to select any one or more of the physiological parameters of a patient that are and/or have been recorded by a multi-patient monitoring system. For example, in one embodiment, the parameter menu 732 allows a user to see historical data of at least any of the physiological parameters shown in the patient monitor view area (or virtual display area) 720, [0117]-[0120], [0128], and FIG. 7-11: The patient status display area 710 includes a plurality of patient status modules 712. Each patient status module 712 can correspond to a patient monitor that can be coupled to a medical patient. Each patient status module 712 can display a graphical status indicator 714. An example graphical status indicator 714 is shown in the screens 700 as a miniature patient monitor icon. The graphical status indicator 714 can selectively indicate one of several states of a patient monitor. In one embodiment, four possible patient monitor states can be depicted by the graphical status indicator 714. These include an alarm condition, a no alarm condition, patient context information status, and connection status).
As to claim 26, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the at least one processor is configured to display the patient data first portion at a plurality of screen positions (Muhsin: [0103]-[0115], [0117]-[0120], [0128], and FIG. 7-11: FIG. 10 illustrates a GUI 700 configured to display real-time waveform data within its virtual display 720 and historical waveform data within its analysis panel 730. Similar to the trend data configuration of FIG. 9, the user is able to select a time period of interest by activating a time period selector 734 (not shown) or by selecting a particular start time, end time, and/or duration. The analysis panel 730 can also display event markers (not shown), as discussed above. The real-time waveform data can be received from a physiological monitor while the historical waveform data can be received from a round-robin database).
As to claim 27, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 24 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 24, wherein an arrangement and a number of screen positions are configurable parameters (Muhsin: [0103]-[0115], [0117]-[0120], [0128], and FIG. 7-11: the patient status modules 712 can be selected by a single mouse click, touching a screen or monitor displaying the GUI 700, or the like. Selecting a patient status module 712 in one embodiment can bring up a patient monitor view area 720. The patient monitor view area 720 (sometimes referred to as a virtual device screen 720) shows a view of a patient monitor corresponding to a selected patient status module 712. In certain implementations, the patient monitor view area 720 can show a view of the screen from the actual patient monitor device at the bedside of the patient. Thus, a clinician can readily recognize the physiological parameters of the patient in a format that the clinician is likely familiar with).
As to claim 28, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein:
the patient monitoring device is configured to not display the patient data second portion at the given time (Muhsin: [0021], [0024]-[0026], [0103]-[0115], [0117]-[0120], [0128], and FIG. 7-11: The patient status display area 710 includes a plurality of patient status modules 712. Each patient status module 712 can correspond to a patient monitor that can be coupled to a medical patient. Each patient status module 712 can display a graphical status indicator 714. An example graphical status indicator 714 is shown in the screens 700 as a miniature patient monitor icon. The graphical status indicator 714 can selectively indicate one of several states of a patient monitor. In one embodiment, four possible patient monitor states can be depicted by the graphical status indicator 714. These include an alarm condition, a no alarm condition, patient context information status, and connection status); and
the at least one processor is configured to display, at the given time, the patient data first portion at a first position on the device screen (Muhsin: [0021], [0024]-[0026], [0103]-[0115], [0117]-[0120], [0128], and FIG. 7-11: FIG. 7 illustrates an example graphical user interface (GUI) 700 for monitoring patients. The GUI 700 can be provided on a nurses' station system or the like. The GUI 700 can also be displayed on a clinician device. The GUI 700 can be provided on any display. For example, the GUI 700 can be provided over the Internet to a remote user, or on a monitor located within a healthcare treatment facility, such as a hospital, nursing home, patient's home, and/or clinician's home or office).
As to claim 29, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the patient data second portion is different from the patient data first portion (Muhsin: [0021], [0024]-[0026], [0103]-[0115], [0117]-[0120], [0128], and FIG. 7-11: FIG. 7 illustrates an example graphical user interface (GUI) 700 for monitoring patients. The GUI 700 can be provided on a nurses' station system or the like. The GUI 700 can also be displayed on a clinician device. The GUI 700 can be provided on any display. For example, the GUI 700 can be provided over the Internet to a remote user, or on a monitor located within a healthcare treatment facility, such as a hospital, nursing home, patient's home, and/or clinician's home or office).
As to claim 30, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 28 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 28, wherein: the patient data second portion is a copy of the patient data first portion; and a format of the patient data second portion is different from a format of the patient data first portion (Muhsin: [0021], [0024]-[0026], [0042], [0090], [0103]-[0115], [0117]-[0120], [0128], and FIG. 7-11: In addition, in some cases the monitoring module 242 monitors other physiological sounds, such as heart rate (e.g., to help with probe-off detection), heart sounds (e.g., S1, S2, S3, S4, and murmurs), and changes in heart sounds such as normal to murmur or split heart sounds indicating fluid overload. Moreover, the monitoring module 242 may monitor a patient's electrical heart activity via electrocardiography (ECG) and numerous other physiological parameters).
As to claim 37, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the at least one processor is configured to issue one or both of an audible or visual alarm in response to an alarm being issued by the patient monitoring device (Muhsin: [0003], [0023], [0106], [0125], and FIG. 7-11: the graphical status indicator 714 changes color, shape, or the like to indicate one of the different patient monitor states. For example, if an alarm condition is present, the graphical status indicator 714 could turn red to signify the alarm. If there is no context information available for the patient (see FIG. 1), then the graphical status indicator 714 could turn yellow. If the device is not connected to the patient or the network, then the graphical status indicator 714 could turn gray. And if there is no alarm condition, if there is context information, and if the patient monitor is connected to the patient and the network, then the graphical status indicator 714 could turn green. Many other colors, symbols, and/or shapes could be used in place of or in combination with the above-described embodiments).
As to claim 38, Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, and Fuchs disclose the limitations of claim 37 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 37, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive a command to suspend the audible or visual alarm for a configurable amount of time (Muhsin: [0003], [0023], [0106], [0125], and FIG. 7-11: The Suspend control 755 can be selected to suspend or deactivate an alarm. For example, the GUI 700 or the device displaying the GUI 700 may be configured to flash, activate an audible tone, send a page or make a telephone call to a clinician (or other function) if a physiological alarm is activated. The Suspend control 755 can be used to temporarily disable and/or enable such alarming functionality).
As to claim 41, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the at least one processor is configured to display the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion in adjacent windows on the interface screen (Muhsin: [0021], [0024]-[0026], [0103]-[0115], [0117]-[0120], [0128], and FIG. 7-11: The patient status display area 710 includes a plurality of patient status modules 712. Each patient status module 712 can correspond to a patient monitor that can be coupled to a medical patient. Each patient status module 712 can display a graphical status indicator 714. An example graphical status indicator 714 is shown in the screens 700 as a miniature patient monitor icon. The graphical status indicator 714 can selectively indicate one of several states of a patient monitor. In one embodiment, four possible patient monitor states can be depicted by the graphical status indicator 714. These include an alarm condition, a no alarm condition, patient context information status, and connection status).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (Walker – US 6,302,844 B1) in view of Muhsin et al. (Muhsin – US 2013/0162433 A1), and Rockwell et al. (Rockwell – US 6,141,584), and further in view of Higgins et al. (Higgins – US 2009/0054735 A1).
As to claim 25, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein:
the portable computing device further comprises a user input configured to receive a move command and, the at least one processor is configured to move the patient data first portion from an initial screen position positions to a different screen position based on reception of the move command.
However, it has been known in the art of providing information to implement the portable computing device further comprises a user input configured to receive a move command and, the at least one processor is configured to move the patient data first portion from an initial screen position positions to a different screen position based on reception of the move command, as suggested by Higgins, which discloses the portable computing device further comprises a user input configured to receive a move command and, the at least one processor is configured to move the patient data first portion from an initial screen position positions to a different screen position based on reception of the move command (Higgins: Abstract, [0114],-[0116], [0121]-[0124], FIG. 6, and FIG. 9-12: the pop-up window 902 of the alert can be allowed to be moved or resized, according to various constraints of the system. Thus, a healthcare provider may be allowed to continue to monitor the irregular heartbeat of Patient 3 prior to dismissing the alert, by moving the window 902 of the alert to a location where it does not obscure the information being displayed for Patient 3. Additionally, the window 902 of the alert can be made either modal or non-modal, depending upon the seriousness of the alert, or other factors ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, and Higgins it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to implement in the patient care delivery system of Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell to include the portable computing device further comprises a user input configured to receive a move command and, the at least one processor is configured to move the patient data first portion from an initial screen position positions to a different screen position based on reception of the move command, as suggested by Higgins. The motivation for this is to selectively control display information based on user input.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (Walker – US 6,302,844 B1) in view of Muhsin et al. (Muhsin – US 2013/0162433 A1), and Rockwell et al. (Rockwell – US 6,141,584), and further in view of Deneen (Deneen – US 2007/0118402 A1).
As to claim 31, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 except for the claimed limitations of the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the wireless communication connection is configured to encrypt transmissions using secure socket layer (SSL) encryption.
However, it has been known in the art of data management to implement wherein the wireless communication connection is configured to encrypt transmissions using secure socket layer (SSL) encryption, as suggested by Deneen, which discloses wherein the wireless communication connection (Deneen: Abstract, [0043], [0059]-[0061], and FIG. 1: The system may also include a communications network permitting communication between the user interface and the matching node. The communications network comprises a telephone network, a computer network, a mail delivery network, a satellite network, a wireless network, an electronic mail network, an internet connection or a combination thereof. The communications network is preferably secure) is configured to encrypt transmissions using secure socket layer (SSL) encryption (Deneen: Abstract, [0043], [0059]-[0061], and FIG. 1: Reservations may be entered through a series of secure forms on a web site, either directly by patients, or by agents acting on behalf of the system (e.g., taking orders from patients via a call center). Security may be provided through industry standard encryption, such as 128-bit SSL encryption certificate, and may be used in association with all forms requesting private information, as well as in the storage of appropriate data in the database).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, and Deneen it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to implement in the patient care delivery system of Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell to include wherein the wireless communication connection is configured to encrypt transmissions using secure socket layer (SSL) encryption, as suggested by Deneen. The motivation for this is to protect user information.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (Walker – US 6,302,844 B1) in view of Muhsin et al. (Muhsin – US 2013/0162433 A1), Rockwell et al. (Rockwell – US 6,141,584), and Deneen (Deneen – US 2007/0118402 A1) and further in view of Jabara et al. (Jabara – US 2012/0202185 A1).
As to claim 32, Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, and Deneen disclose the limitations of claim 31 except for the claimed limitations the patient monitoring system of claim 31, wherein the wireless communication connection is configured to fail automatically where an unsecured proxy server attempts to connect to the patient monitoring device via wireless communication connection.
However, it has been known in the art of communication to implement wherein the wireless communication connection is configured to fail automatically where an unsecured proxy server attempts to connect to the patient monitoring device via wireless communication connection, as suggested by Jabara, which discloses wherein the wireless communication connection is configured to fail automatically where an unsecured proxy server attempts to connect to the patient monitoring device via wireless communication connection (Jabara: Abstract, [0074], and FIG. 1-5: f the student is registered in the class, the system completes the authentication process and communication between the instructor device 224 and the student wireless communication devices 120-128 may occur in the manner described above. If one of the student wireless communication devices being authenticated by the classroom server 202 is not registered in the class, the classroom server may deny the authentication and terminate any communication with the unauthenticated wireless communication device via the access point 140. That is, an unauthenticated student wireless communication device will not receive any Direct Messages or Group Messages, but they still may be able to receive Public Messages via other student wireless communication devices).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, Deneen, and Jabara it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to implement in the patient care delivery system of Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, and Deneen to include wherein the wireless communication connection is configured to fail automatically where an unsecured proxy server attempts to connect to the patient monitoring device via wireless communication connection, as suggested by Jabara. The motivation for this is enhance security of a wireless communication system.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (Walker – US 6,302,844 B1) in view of Muhsin et al. (Muhsin – US 2013/0162433 A1), and Rockwell et al. (Rockwell – US 6,141,584), and further in view of Behtash et al. (Behtash – US 5,745,480).
As to claim 33, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 except for the claimed limitations of the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the wireless communication connection is configured to provide full-duplex communication between the patient monitoring device and the portable computing device.
However, it has been known in the art of wireless communication to implement wherein the wireless communication connection is configured to provide full-duplex communication between the patient monitoring device and the portable computing device, as suggested by Behtash, which discloses wherein the wireless communication connection is configured to provide full-duplex communication between the patient monitoring device and the portable computing device (Behtash: Abstract, column 1 lines 63 – column 2 lines 10, and FIG. 1: The present invention is a flexible multi-rate wireless communications system that supports a plurality of distributed user terminals in full-duplex simultaneous communications with a central base station, where each user terminal is provided on demand with one of multiple bit rates at a negotiated QOS).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, and Behtash, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to implement in the patient care delivery system of Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell to include wherein the wireless communication connection is configured to provide full-duplex communication between the patient monitoring device and the portable computing device, as suggested by Behtash. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative communication mode of full-duplex communications between electronic devices.
Claims 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (Walker – US 6,302,844 B1) in view of Muhsin et al. (Muhsin – US 2013/0162433 A1), and Rockwell et al. (Rockwell – US 6,141,584) and further in view of Dicks et al. (Dicks – US 2011/0161111 A1).
As to claim 34, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 except for the claimed limitations of the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the at least one processor is configured to display on the interface screen a map of an area that includes the patient monitoring device.
However, it has been known in the art of providing health information of users to implement wherein the at least one processor is configured to display on the interface screen a map of an area that includes the patient monitoring device, as suggested by Dicks, which discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to display on the interface screen a map of an area that includes the patient monitoring device (Dicks: Abstract, [0241]-[0248], and FIG. 17: The data for a plurality of patients is extracted from the message (1710), and associated with a respective plurality of patient indicia and displayed on a map, arranged in accordance with location data for each patient (1715)).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, and Dicks, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to implement in the patient care delivery system of Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell to include wherein the at least one processor is configured to display on the interface screen a map of an area that includes the patient monitoring device, as suggested by Dicks. The motivation for this is to selectively provide various information regarding conditions of patients in a medical healthcare setting.
As to claim 35, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 except for the claimed limitations of the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the at least one processor is configured to display on the interface screen, at the given time, a position on a map that corresponds to a location of the patient monitoring device.
However, it has been known in the art of providing health information of users to implement wherein the at least one processor is configured to display on the interface screen, at the given time, a position on a map that corresponds to a location of the patient monitoring device, as suggested by Dicks, which discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to display on the interface screen, at the given time, a position on a map that corresponds to a location of the patient monitoring device (Dicks: Abstract, [0241]-[0248], and FIG. 17: The data for a plurality of patients is extracted from the message (1710), and associated with a respective plurality of patient indicia and displayed on a map, arranged in accordance with location data for each patient (1715)).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, and Dicks, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to implement in the patient care delivery system of Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell to include wherein the at least one processor is configured to display on the interface screen, at the given time, a position on a map that corresponds to a location of the patient monitoring device, as suggested by Dicks. The motivation for this is to selectively provide various information regarding conditions of patients in a medical healthcare setting.
As to claim 36, Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, and Dicks disclose the limitations of claim 34 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 34, wherein the at least one processor is configured to display on the interface screen one or more characters or icons that identify locations of one or more corresponding devices with which additional wireless communication connections can be established (Dicks: Abstract, [0241]-[0248], and FIG. 17: The map may include any two-dimensional or three-dimensional representation of a building (such as a healthcare facility) or other location. The graphical indicia may include any number of numeric, alphabetic, alphanumeric, or symbolic identifier(s) to identify a patient's location on the map. In one exemplary embodiment, the graphical indicator for a patient includes a symbol (such as a shape) on the map at the location corresponding to the location data in the message).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (Walker – US 6,302,844 B1) in view of Muhsin et al. (Muhsin – US 2013/0162433 A1), and Rockwell et al. (Rockwell – US 6,141,584), and further in view of Abbo (Abbo – US 2010/0293003 A1).
As to claim 39, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 further comprising the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein:
the at least one processor is configured to manipulate one or more displayed regions of the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion (Muhsin: [0021], [0024]-[0026], [0103]-[0115], [0117]-[0120], [0128], and FIG. 7-11: FIG. 7 illustrates an example graphical user interface (GUI) 700 for monitoring patients. The GUI 700 can be provided on a nurses' station system or the like. The GUI 700 can also be displayed on a clinician device. The GUI 700 can be provided on any display. For example, the GUI 700 can be provided over the Internet to a remote user, or on a monitor located within a healthcare treatment facility, such as a hospital, nursing home, patient's home, and/or clinician's home or office) except for the claimed limitations of the at least one processor is configured to manipulate one or more displayed regions of the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion via horizontal or vertical scrolling on the interface screen.
However, it has been known in the art of providing information to implement the at least one processor is configured to manipulate one or more displayed regions of the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion via horizontal or vertical scrolling on the interface screen, as suggested by Abbo, which discloses the at least one processor is configured to manipulate one or more displayed regions of the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion via horizontal or vertical scrolling on the interface screen (Abbo: Abstract, [0020]-[0021], [0031], [0034], [0043], [0093], and FIG. 2: as with all interfaces in the present software, if the dimensions of the visual output display 2 are not sufficient to show all of the data types within the personal data category, the software interface preferably features a scrolling element).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, and Abbo, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to implement in the patient care delivery system of Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell to include the at least one processor is configured to manipulate one or more displayed regions of the patient data first portion and the patient data second portion via horizontal or vertical scrolling on the interface screen, as suggested by Abbo. The motivation for this is to provide additional information to users via a designated user interface.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walker et al. (Walker – US 6,302,844 B1) in view of Muhsin et al. (Muhsin – US 2013/0162433 A1) and Rockwell et al. (Rockwell – US 6,141,584) and further in view of Fuchs (Fuchs – US 2013/0267873 A1).
As to claim 40, Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell disclose the limitations of claim 21 except for the claimed limitations of the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the portable computing device is a mobile tablet.
However, it has been known in the art of data management to implement wherein the portable computing device is a mobile tablet, as suggested by Fuchs, which discloses wherein the portable computing device is a mobile tablet (Fuchs: Abstract, [0004], [0018], [0032]-[0033], and FIG. 2-3: A computer system may comprise a workstation, laptop computer, disconnectable mobile computer, server, mainframe, cluster, so-called "network computer" or "thin client," tablet, smart phone, personal digital assistant or other hand-held computing device, "smart" consumer electronics device or appliance, medical device, or a combination thereof).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Walker, Muhsin, Rockwell, and Fuchs it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to implement in the patient care delivery system of Walker, Muhsin, and Rockwell to include wherein the portable computing device is a mobile tablet, as suggested by Fuchs. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative computer system for monitoring conditions of patients.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Wiesner et al., US 2012/0185268 A1, discloses system and method for patient identification in a remote monitoring system.
Howell et al., US 2014/0074059 A1, discloses method and system to indicate glycemic impacts of insulin infusion pump commands.
Zheng et al., US 2011/0010193 A1, discloses zoom pane for a central monitoring device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685