DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/954,742 filed on 11/21/2024.
Claims 1-11 have been examined and are pending in this application.
This application is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 17/268,987 filed February 17, 2021, which is a National Stage of International Application No. PCT/KR2020/013569 filed October 6, 2020, claiming priority based on Korean Patent Application No. 10-2019-0134799 filed October 28, 2019.
Election/Restrictions
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that NO restrictions warranted at applicant’s initial time of filing for patent.
Priority
This application is related to and claimed the benefits of National Stage application no. PCT0KR2020/013569 filed October 6, 2020, claiming priority based on Korean Patent Application No. 10-2019-0134799 filed October 28, 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 11/21/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the Oath/Declaration submitted on 11/21/2024 has been accepted.
Drawings
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the drawings filed on 11/21/2024 has been accepted.
Specification
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant's specification filed on 11/21/2024 has been accepted.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,182,239. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are related to apparatus and a method of performing user authentication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim), Pub. No.: US 2017/0116401 in view of Schneider et al. (hereinafter Schneider), Patent No.: US 9,569,605.
Referring to claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising:
at least one sensor configured to obtain biometric data (para. 0087 and fig. 6, sensor 620 configured to obtain biometric information);
a memory configured to store a user authentication model including reference date (para. 0089, and fig. 6, memory 640 stores data used for authentication); and
a processor configured to perform a user authentication based on the obtained biometric data and the user authentication model (para. 0088 and fig. 6, the processor 630, perform biometric authentication),
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to add success biometric data that succeeded in the user authentication and previous biometric data obtained before the success biometric data to training date for training the user authentication model.
However, in an analogous art, Schneider teaches wherein the processor is configured to add success biometric data that succeeded in the user authentication and previous biometric data obtained before the success biometric data to training date for training the user authentication model (para. 0029 and fig. 1, detection module 106 may detect the authentication action after the authentication action has occurred. For example, detection module 106 may examine logs to determine when previous authentication actions have occurred and/or may correlate previously captured biometric data with authentication actions that occurred contemporaneously with the capture of the biometric data..).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to combine the teachings of Kim with the method and system of Schneider, wherein the processor is configured to add success biometric data that succeeded in the user authentication and previous biometric data obtained before the success biometric data to training date for training the user authentication model to provide users with a means for using the biometric data that describes the biometric trait as training data for the biometric authentication option to enable the user to access the protected feature of the device via the biometric authentication option (Schneider: para. 0003).
Referring to claim 2, Kim and Schneider teach the electronic device of claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the reference data is biometric data of the user obtained in advance through the at least one sensor (Kim: para. 0043, the face info. obtained through a camera, fingerprint sensor).
Referring to claim 3, Kim and Schneider teach the electronic device of claim 1. Schneider further teaches wherein the previous biometric data is a predetermined number of biometric data obtained before the success biometric data (Schneider: para. 0029 and fig. 1).
Referring to claim 4, Kim and Schneider teach the electronic device of claim 1. Schneider further teaches wherein the previous biometric data is biometric data obtained during a predetermined period before the success biometric data (Schneider: para. 0029 and fig. 1).
Referring to claim 5, Kim and Schneider teach the electronic device of claim 1. Schneider further teaches wherein the previous biometric data is a predetermined number of biometric data obtained during a predetermined period before the success biometric data (Schneider: para. 0029, claim 1 and fig. 1).
Referring to claim 6, Kim and Schneider teach the electronic device of claim 1. Schneider further teaches wherein the previous biometric data is biometric data acquired within a predetermined time interval before the success biometric data (Schneider: para. 0029, claim 1 and fig. 1).
Referring to claim 7, Kim and Schneider teach the electronic device of claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine that the user authentication is successful when the similarity between the obtained biometric data and the reference data is greater than or equal to a reference value (Kim: abstract, paras. 0043, 0087 and fig. 1).
Referring to claim 8, Kim and Schneider teach the electronic device of claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the at least one sensor is an image sensor (Kim: paras. 0043, 0046, 0087 and fig. 6, 610).
Referring to claim 9, Kim and Schneider teach the electronic device of claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the biometric data is facial data (para. 0047, biometric data is associated with the face information).
Referring to claim 10, This claim is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 11, Kim and Schneider teach the electronic device of claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the reference data is the facial data corresponding to the user's facial image obtained through the image sensor before authentication of the user (para. 0047-0048).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTO-892.
/YONAS A BAYOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499 04/07/2026