DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following words/phrases lack sufficient antecedent basis:
the lower and upper parts (claim 1, lines 5-6)
the dimensions (claim 2, line 2)
the three “L”-shaped supports (claim 2, lines 2-3)
the width (claim 2, line 3)
the bars (claim 2, line 3)
the spacing (claim 2, line 4)
the center (claim 2, line 6)
the bottom (claim 2, line 6)
the upper part (claim 3, line 4)
the front part (claim 3, line 6)
the top (claim 3, line 8)
the base (claim 6, line 2; claim 6, line 3)
Claim 1 recites “a slab edge beams” in line 8. It is unclear if applicant intends to recite a singular beam (i.e. a slab edge beam) or multiple beams. Clarification is required.
Claim 3 recites “a spindle” on line 8. It is not clear if this spindle is the same as the one recited in claim 1. If Applicant is referring to the same spindle, use of the phrase - - the spindle - - or - - said spindle - - would help clarify.
Claim 6 recites “an upper part” in line 6. Again, it’s not clear if this is the same “upper part” as recited in claim 1. Clarification is required.
Claims not specifically addressed are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (6,585,080) in view of Dougherty (2,709,073). With respect to claim 1, Murray discloses, in Figure 3, a guardrail assembly for temporary protection on slab floors (5) during construction work, comprising: a plurality of posts with adjustable opening claws (26)(24) which open and close through a spindle (30) with a crank (34) providing a large distance capacity between the lower (24) and upper (26) parts of the claw (24)(26) wherein the posts (9) are fixed to a slab (5) of a slab edge beam by pressure when the claws close. Murray fails to disclose a plurality of grids with quick fit rings.
Dougherty teaches a plurality of grids (32) formed by four bars (16)(17)(18)(19) configured in a rectangle. Quick fit rings (20)(21)(26)(27) are configured to attach to posts (35) and to interact with spaced supports (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the wire barriers (9) disclosed by Murray with a plurality of grids as taught by Dougherty since such a replacement would create a finer gauge barrier thereby preventing even small objects from falling off the slab.
While spaced supports (30) of Dougherty are not configured in an “L-shaped” such a configuration would have been obvious since a mere change in shape required only routine experimentation by a person of ordinary skill in the art and a L-shaped support in place of the support (30) would help more securely align the rings.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (6,585,080) in view of Dougherty (2,709,073) in further view of O’Mara (US 2022/0056715 A1).
Dougherty discloses a claw with an upper part (20) and a lower part (18) each fixed perpendicularly with respect to a base (22). Dougherty as modified by Murray fails to disclose claws with pointed teeth facing inwards.
O’Mara discloses a clamp mechanism with teeth (26)(22) facing inward.
It would have been obvious to add teeth as taught by O’Mara to the clamp of Dougherty as modified since such a modification would help prevent slipping between the clamp surfaces and the slab and result in a more secure connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: MacKarvich (11,719,009); Kearns (US 2023/0092797); Cockerell (10,240,357); Branter (6,857,504); Allengaugh (US 2003/0132427) and Laffay (FR 2953542 A1).
/SARAH B MCPARTLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993