DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
• This action is in reply to the Application Number 18/954,748 filed on 11/21/2024.
• Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been examined.
• This action is made NON-FINAL.
• The examiner would like to note that this application is now being handled by examiner Kai Wang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The complete step-by-step analysis under 35 U.S.C. 101 is provided below:
STEP One: Does Claim 1 Fall Within One of The Statutory Categories?
Yes, claim 1 is directed towards a method.
STEP Two A , Prong One: Is a Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes, claim 1 recites “determining if the part is acceptable based upon the part data”. This limitation, as drafted, is a simple process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, the claim encompasses a person look at the collected part data and make a simple judgement. Thus, the claim 1 recites a mental process.
STEP Two A , Prong Two: Is the Abstract Idea integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claim recites additional elements of receiving an indication of a possible failure of a part; acquiring a unique identifier of the part without part removal, the unique identifier associated with part data which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity of collecting data. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
STEP Two B: Does the Claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the Judicial Exception?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than insignificant pre-solution activity. Therefore, the claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-15 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of the dependent claims 2-15 are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims are not patent eligible under the same rational as provided for the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 2-9, 13-14 merely further specifies what is the part ,and where is installed and how to collect the part data. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than insignificant pre-solution activity. Therefore, the claim is ineligible.
Claims 10-12, 15 merely further specifies how to determine the part is acceptable or not. This limitation, as drafted, is a simple process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, the claim encompasses a person look at the collected part data and make a simple judgement. Thus, the claim 10-12, 15 recite a mental process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breed (US20070005202A1) in view of Kuphaldt (Applied Industrial Electricity, 2020).
Regarding Claim 1:
Breed teaches:
A method of servicing a vehicle, comprising: receiving an indication of a possible failure of a part; (Breed, para[39], “a diagnostic system arranged on the vehicle to determine whether any of the components is operating non-optimally, is expected to fail … and generate an output indicative”)
acquiring a unique identifier of the part without part removal, the unique identifier associated with part data; (Breed, para[259], “tire identification makes use of an RFID tag”)
determining if the part is acceptable based upon the part data; (Breed, para[225],” determine from the relevant digital data whether the tire is functioning properly or whether it requires balancing, additional air, or perhaps replacement.”)
Breed does not explicitly teach, but Kuphaldt teaches:
and leaving the part installed and undisturbed if the part is acceptable and continuing diagnosis of the failure based upon an evaluation of other than the possible failure of the part.( Kuphaldt teaches a process of elimination method of troubleshooting the radio failure as an example in page 3-4, “Example: The radio works fine on the AM band, but not on the FM band… Eliminate from the list of possible causes, anything in the radio necessary for the AM band’s function. Whatever the source of the problem is, it is specific to the FM band and not to the AM band. This eliminates the audio amplifier, speakers, fuse, power supply, and almost all external wiring. Being able to eliminate sections of the system as possible failures reduces the scope of the problem and makes the rest of the troubleshooting procedure more efficient.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an information processing device from Breed to include these above teachings from Kuphaldt in order to include leaving the part installed and undisturbed if the part is acceptable and continuing diagnosis of the failure based upon an evaluation of other than the possible failure of the part. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “makes the rest of the troubleshooting procedure more efficient” (Kuphaldt, Description).
Regarding Claim 2:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Breed teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the part is a wire harness. (Breed, para[376], “RFID sensors and may be powered or unpowered and may transmit their information through a wire harness”)
Regarding Claim 3:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2. Breed teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the part data includes at least one of a product feature class including whether a component is acceptable or unacceptable, captured product image associated with the product feature class, a final verdict for the finished wire harness, and an inspection log. (Breed, para[39], “a diagnostic system arranged on the vehicle to determine whether any of the components is operating non-optimally, is expected to fail … and generate an output indicative”, and para [224], “the occurrence of a sensor or system failure can be immediately logged to form a frequency of failure log ”)
Regarding Claim 4:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 3. Breed does not explicitly teach, but Kuphaldt teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the product feature class relates to an inspection of at least one of a crimp connector, an endcap, a tie wrap, a sleeve, a crimp, a jacket, a lug, a heated heat shrink, welding, and a shield braid.( Kuphaldt, page 10, “Improper wire termination lugs (such as a compression-style connector crimped on the end of a solid wire”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an information processing device from Breed to include these above teachings from Kuphaldt in order to include wherein the product feature class relates to an inspection of at least one of a crimp connector, an endcap, a tie wrap, a sleeve, a crimp, a jacket, a lug, a heated heat shrink, welding, and a shield braid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “makes the rest of the troubleshooting procedure more efficient” (Kuphaldt, Description).
Regarding Claim 5:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 3. Breed teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the wire harness is installed into an assembly including a battery pack and an electric motor prior to performing the acquiring step. (Breed, para[589], “This circuit requires power as described herein which can be supplied by a battery”, and para [781], “connected to the appropriate motors by wires”)
Regarding Claim 6:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 5. Breed teaches:
The method of claim 5, comprising a step of providing the part with a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag associated with the part data, and the acquiring step is performed by scanning the RFID tag. (Breed, Para[754], “The device 341 can be a reflector, resonator, RFID tag, SAW device, or any other tag or similar device that permits easy detection of its presence”)
Regarding Claim 7:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 5. Breed teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the assembly is installed into a vehicle. (Breed, para[174], “assembly of parts which is mounted to or a part of a motor vehicle and which is capable of emitting a signal representative of its operating state”)
Regarding Claim 8:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7. Breed teaches:
The method of claim 7, wherein the scanning step is performed before the step of installing the wire harness into the vehicle. (Breed, para[743], “ a scanning system”, para[376], “RFID sensors and may be powered or unpowered and may transmit their information through a wire harness”) Examiner note: It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the scan step of the wire harness before or after the installation as appropriate.
Regarding Claim 9:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7. Breed teaches:
The method of claim 7, wherein the scanning step is performed after the step of installing the wire harness into the vehicle. (Breed, para[743], “ a scanning system”, para[376], “RFID sensors and may be powered or unpowered and may transmit their information through a wire harness”) Examiner note: It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the scan step of the wire harness before or after the installation as appropriate.
Regarding Claim 13:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 5. Breed teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the scanning step includes simultaneously scanning other RFID tags of the other components.( Breed, para[423], “transmit the RF signals simultaneously”)
Regarding Claim 14:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2. Breed teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the determining step includes accessing the part data in cloud-based storage. ( Breed, para[820], “diagnostic information, may be achieved via a satellite and/or via the Internet.”)
Claim(s) 10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breed (US20070005202A1) in view of Kuphaldt (Applied Industrial Electricity, 2020), further in view of Houston (US10351081B1).
Regarding Claim 10:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 3. Breed does not explicitly teach, but Houston teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the determining step includes checking if the final verdict of the wire harness is a pass. (Houston, Col.1, line 62, “the wire - harness is properly installed”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an information processing device from Breed to include these above teachings from Houston in order to include wherein the determining step includes checking if the final verdict of the wire harness is a pass. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “the work involved in installing the wire - harness is greatly simplified” (Houston, Description).
Regarding Claim 15:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 3. Breed does not explicitly teach, but Houston teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the determining step includes determining the part data is unacceptable, and comprising a step of removing and inspecting the wire harness. (Houston, Col.3, line 12-14, “ Failed wire - harnesses are typically replaced by hand and require care in installation . A … wire - harness may be removed”, Col.3, line 63, “wire assemblies to have different color wires to aide in correct routing and inspection”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an information processing device from Breed to include these above teachings from Houston in order to include wherein the determining step includes determining the part data is unacceptable, and comprising a step of removing and inspecting the wire harness.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “the work involved in installing the wire - harness is greatly simplified” (Houston, Description).
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breed (US20070005202A1) in view of Kuphaldt (Applied Industrial Electricity, 2020), further in view of Pearce (US20100114827A1).
Regarding Claim 11:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 3. Breed does not explicitly teach, but Pearce teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the determining step includes checking a part revision in the inspection log.( Pearce, para [40], “The authorization processor 34 is further operable to process the specification database 12 so as to ensure that each revision made to a particular part does not violate the specifications for the part.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an information processing device from Breed to include these above teachings from Pearce in order to include wherein the determining step includes checking if the final verdict of the wire harness is a pass. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “each revision made to a particular part does not violate the specifications for the part” (Pearce, Description).
Regarding Claim 12:
Breed in view of Kuphaldt, Pearce, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 3. Breed does not explicitly teach, but Pearce teaches:
The method of claim 11, wherein the determining step includes checking the part revision against part revision data of other components in the assembly.( Pearce, para [40], “The authorization processor 34 is further operable to process the specification database 12 so as to ensure that each revision made to a particular part does not violate the specifications for the part. Additionally, the authorization processor 34 is operable to process the other parts to ensure that the revisions, though made within specification of the revised part, do not cause the project to fall outside of the project specification.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify an information processing device from Breed to include these above teachings from Pearce in order to include wherein the determining step includes checking if the final verdict of the wire harness is a pass. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “each revision made to a particular part does not violate the specifications for the part” (Pearce, Description).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wilbrink ( US20080284571A1) teaches the management of automotive parts, and more specifically relates to a system for utilizing RFID tags to manage and track parts in a vehicle.
Ricci (US 9218698 B2) teaches a method to detect damage to a vehicle, identify the extent and location of the damage, and communicate the damage event is provided. In the event of damage to a vehicle, the system may take a number of actions. In one embodiment, the actions comprise notifying authorized users of the vehicle, a maintenance provider, an insurance provider and/or an emergency agency, disabling the vehicle, and emitting a visual or audio alarm.
Konrardy (US 10829063 B1) teaches methods and systems for assessing, detecting, and responding to malfunctions involving components of autonomous vehicle and/or smart homes.
/KAI NMN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3667