DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that Claim 1 recites “a cord sling device” in the preamble. The body of the claim recites that the cord sling device is “configured to be attached to a pole…said body component secured proximal to a top of said pole” is not interpreted to positively recite any structure related to the pole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Jonsson, U.S. Patent 4,752,054 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Jonsson ‘054 in view of Sharpe, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0117170.
Regarding Claim 1, Jonsson teaches:
A body component (1’)…having a plurality of holes (31), a plurality of slots (5’, 32), a top
loop fastener (7’) and
a plurality of cord fasteners (2’)…
wherein each of said plurality of cord fastener having a flexible male end (see below).
**Examiner's Note: Examiner notes that the above claim contains the claim language “configured to be attached to a pole”, “wherein said body…plurality of holes”, “for inserting into…plurality of slots…and further wherein…above the ground”, which does not constitute a recitation of positively claimed structural elements, but a recitation of function which the claimed device must be capable. The prior art of Jonsson, is interpreted as capable of these functions. See MPEP 2111.04 [R-3], see Ex Parte Marsham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Should Applicant disagree with the above interpretation then Sharpe ‘170 is introduced to teach a cord and tube organizer attached to an IV pole (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the Jonsson device in an IV pole application such that the limitations at issue would be satisfied because IV pole application would be a large and desirable market to apply a cord holder such as Jonsson.
Regarding Claim 2, in light of the 102 rejection under Jonsson, this claim appears to be non-limiting because “said pole” is not considered a positive recitation. In light of the alternative 103 interpretation, Sharpe clearly and explicitly teaches an IV pole (see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3, see drawing selection above which clearly teaches a pair of cord fasteners.
**Examiner's Note: Examiner notes that the above claim contains the claim language “for suspending a…above the ground”, which does not constitute a recitation of positively claimed structural elements, but a recitation of function which the claimed device must be capable. The prior art of Jonsson, is interpreted as capable of these functions. See MPEP 2111.04 [R-3], see Ex Parte Marsham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 8-12 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonsson-Sharpe as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Fujinami, U.S. Patent 4,718,147.
The prior art is silent with regard to the limitations of this claim.
Fujinami teaches a loop fastener having a flexible T-shaped male end (see Figs. 1-2, elements 15, 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Jonsson-Sharpe with the teaching of Fujinami that would permit reversible fastening for easy removal and reuse of the device.
Regarding Claim 5, see Jonsson which teaches the cord fasteners being rectilinear having a plurality of ridges along opposite sides of the plurality of cord fasteners (see below).
Regarding Claims 8-9, Jonsson teaches the use “flexible plastic” (Col 1, Lns 44-45) and Sharpe teaches the use of polystyrene which is waterproof (see Sharpe, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding Claim 10, as set forth in the rejection above of Claim 1, Jonsson teaches:
A body component (1’)…having a plurality of holes (31), a plurality of slots (5’, 32), a top
loop fastener (7’) and
a plurality of cord fasteners (2’)…
wherein each of said plurality of cord fastener having a flexible male end (see below).
**Examiner's Note: Examiner notes that the above claim contains the claim language “configured to be attached to a pole”, “wherein said body…plurality of holes”, “for inserting into…plurality of slots…and further wherein…above the ground”, which does not constitute a recitation of positively claimed structural elements, but a recitation of function which the claimed device must be capable. The prior art of Jonsson, is interpreted as capable of these functions. See MPEP 2111.04 [R-3], see Ex Parte Marsham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Jonsson does not teach the top loop fastener having a flexible T-shaped male end.
Should Applicant disagree with the above interpretation then Sharpe ‘170 is introduced to teach a cord and tube organizer attached to an IV pole (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the Jonsson device in an IV pole application such that the limitations at issue would be satisfied because IV pole application would be a large and desirable market to apply a cord holder such as Jonsson.
Fujinami teaches a loop fastener having a flexible T-shaped male end (see Figs. 1-2, elements 15, 16).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Jonsson-Sharpe with the teaching of Fujinami that would permit reversible fastening for easy removal and reuse of the device.
Regarding Claim 11, see drawing selection above which clearly teaches a pair of cord fasteners.
**Examiner's Note: Examiner notes that the above claim contains the claim language “for suspending a…above the ground”, which does not constitute a recitation of positively claimed structural elements, but a recitation of function which the claimed device must be capable. The prior art of Jonsson, is interpreted as capable of these functions. See MPEP 2111.04 [R-3], see Ex Parte Marsham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 12, see Jonsson which teaches the cord fasteners being rectilinear having a plurality of ridges along opposite sides of the plurality of cord fasteners (see below).
Regarding Claims 15-16, Jonsson teaches the use “flexible plastic” (Col 1, Lns 44-45) and Sharpe teaches the use of polystyrene which is waterproof (see Sharpe, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding Claim 17, Examiner notes that these method step limitations are considered obvious over the prior art in view of rejections of the structural limitations previously set forth. Although the prior art does not explicitly set forth the method steps as claimed when the method steps essentially set forth the provision and use of an apparatus, as intended by its structure, then such method steps are considered obvious when the structure of the apparatus has been demonstrated as obvious or anticipated by the prior art. See rejection of Claim 10 above.
Regarding Claim 18, Examiner notes that these method step limitations are considered obvious over the prior art in view of rejections of the structural limitations previously set forth. Although the prior art does not explicitly set forth the method steps as claimed when the method steps essentially set forth the provision and use of an apparatus, as intended by its structure, then such method steps are considered obvious when the structure of the apparatus has been demonstrated as obvious or anticipated by the prior art. See rejection of Claim 11 above.
Regarding Claim 19, Examiner notes that these method step limitations are considered obvious over the prior art in view of rejections of the structural limitations previously set forth. Although the prior art does not explicitly set forth the method steps as claimed when the method steps essentially set forth the provision and use of an apparatus, as intended by its structure, then such method steps are considered obvious when the structure of the apparatus has been demonstrated as obvious or anticipated by the prior art. See rejection of Claim 15 above.
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonsson-Sharpe-Fujinami as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of Minder, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0117897.
Regarding Claims 6 and 13 the prior art is silent with regard to the use of HDPE as the material for the component.
Minder teaches an attachment device comprised of HDPE (see paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the instant combination comprised of HDPE because HDPE is an affordable material that is ideal for disinfection and therefore appropriate for medical use.
Regarding Claims 7 and 14 the prior art is silent with regard to the use of polypropylene as the material for the component.
Minder teaches an attachment device comprised of polypropylene (see paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the instant combination comprised of polypropylene because polypropylene is an affordable material that is ideal for disinfection and therefore appropriate for medical use.
Regarding Claim 20, Examiner notes that these method step limitations are considered obvious over the prior art in view of rejections of the structural limitations previously set forth. Although the prior art does not explicitly set forth the method steps as claimed when the method steps essentially set forth the provision and use of an apparatus, as intended by its structure, then such method steps are considered obvious when the structure of the apparatus has been demonstrated as obvious or anticipated by the prior art. See rejection of Claims 7 and 14 above.
Conclusion
/M.J.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677