DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. This action is in response to Amendment/RCE filed on April 21, 2026, and entered with an RCE.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments directed to double patenting rejection have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The amended claims are not effective to overcome the double patenting rejection. Double patenting rejection do not held until allowable subject matter is indicated and it is not a bona fide attempt to advance prosecution (see MPEP 804[R-5]). The amended claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s). Applicants are reminded that terminal disclaimer is sufficient to overcome the non-statutory obviousness double patenting rejection. As such, the double patenting rejection is hereby sustained.
Applicant’s arguments directed to 35 USC 101 rejection have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The amended claims are not effective to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejection. The amended claims are not taking any new action. The amended claim limitations building an ETL/ELT job catalog are merely storage data such as storing data in a database. Further, copy of an ETL or ALT are merely creating a copy whatever the information is in the catalog or wiring data in a piece of paper. The limitations of creating a table function, by said federation server can be user using computing devices and data is storing in a single/particular data source rather than multiple data sources. The limitations copy of the job definition, does not say anything more about virtual view. The limitations provide a single relational interface across said disparate data sources without creating a new integrated physical data platform are merely attempts to generically say that there is an improvement for virtualized data assets or creating a updated or new computing devices. Also, there aren't any significant details as to how those are improved, and even so, it's just attempting to improve a mental process. The limitations without creating a new integrated physical data platform are merely avoiding or not moving data around the computing devices. Reading and returning is output step. Furthermore, the claim limitations are merely interpreted as an unstructured information and metadata are extracted from one or more source content repositories and transformed or loaded into one or more target content repositories. Furthermore, the claim also does not recite what problem is trying to solve. The claims do not recite a specific improvement to computer operation and do not recite unconventional technical implementation. Furthermore, storing, accessing and retrieving data are routine and conventional. Based on the reasons as explained the 35 USC 101 rejection is hereby maintained.
Applicant’s remarks and arguments presented on 04/21/26 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground of rejection presented in this office action.
Objection
Claims 1, 8 and 15 recited the limitations of "provide a single relational interface across said disparate data sources without creating a new integrated physical data platform”, The term “provide” can be providing any types of results, which may not provide the results all the time or which can be an intended use.. The limitations “provide a single relational interface across…. physical data platform” does not have a patentable weight and does not distinguish from the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
35 USC 101 reads as follows:
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter, e.g. claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 1. The method of claim 1, computer program product of claim 8 and system of claim 15 are directed to one of the eligible categories of subject matter and therefore satisfy Step 1.
Step 2A:
1. In accordance with Step 2A, the limitations are directed to additional elements include computer, computer readable storage medium, system, memory and processor.
2. The limitations are recited in claims 1, 8 and 15 are building an ETL/ELT job catalog based on a set of ETL/ELT job definitions; utilizing a federation server to create a copy of an extract, transform, load (ETL) or an extract, load, transform (ELT) job definition from said ETL/ELT jobs catalog; creating a table function for triggering execution of said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition and returning data sets; receiving a query from a user based on a virtual view, wherein said query comprises said ETL or ELT job definition; executing said table function which triggers execution of said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition in response to receiving said query etc., is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer components. That is, the claims are directed to merely creating a copy, creating a table function, performing activities on the tables, which are routine and conventional. Nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. The steps can be done my nominally, insignificantly or can consider as a data gathering performance. Further, the claim recited executing table function and triggers execution of said copy of said ETL in response to a query, can be interpret as automatic execution any procedural code while performing in any event on database or views. The amended claim limitations building job catalog is merely storage data such as storing data in a database. Further, copy of an ETL or ALT are merely creating a copy whatever the information is in the catalog or wiring data in a piece of paper. The limitations of creating a table function, by said federation server can be user using computing devices and data is storing in a single/particular data source rather than multiple data sources. The limitations connecting to, rather than collecting from, disparate data sources are merely connecting data among different computing devices and may not collect data in each connection, which in tern a network communication among computing devices. The limitations copy of the job definition, does not say anything more about virtual view. The limitations provide a single relational interface across said disparate data sources without creating a new integrated physical data platform are merely attempts to generically say that there is an improvement for virtualized data assets.. Also, there aren't any significant details as to how those are improved, and even so, it's just attempting to improve a mental process. The limitations without creating a new integrated physical data platform are merely avoiding or not moving data around the computing devices. Reading and returning is output step. Furthermore, the claim limitations are merely interpreted as an unstructured information and metadata are extracted from one or more source content repositories and transformed or loaded into one or more target content repositories. The claims do not add any meaningful limitation. Thus, the limitations are merely routine and conventional. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls with mental process grouping of abstract ideas.
With respect to Step 2A, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites computer, computer readable storage medium, system, memory and processor. The computer, computer readable storage medium, system, memory and processor in both steps is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 recited additional limitations, such that producing said data sets in response to execution of said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition by connecting to, rather than collecting from, disparate data sources; and reading and returning said data sets in said virtual view, provide a single relational interface across said disparate data sources without creating a new integrated physical data platform. The term “provide” can be providing any types of results, which may not provide the results all the time or which can be an intended use. These limitations are a context which encompasses user issued a command or input and receiving an output, providing any types of results, which may not provide the results all the time or which can be an intended use, any types of process or performance. The limitations without creating a new integrated physical data platform are merely avoiding or not moving data around the computing devices. Reading and returning is output step. Using generic computing components (e.g., computer, computer readable storage medium, system, memory and processor) does not amount to significantly more than the abstract and is not enough to transform an abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which is not enough to render the claims patent-eligible. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea. Further, the additional elements are broadly applied to the abstract idea at a high level of generality, they are directed to extra solution activity or they operate in a well-understood, routine, and conventional manner (MPEP § 2106.05(f); MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)).Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the internet to gather data (e.g., Symantec...;TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC...; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc... ; buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc...; Storing and retrieving information in memory (e.g. Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc..). Courts have held computer-implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer function merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by human thinking. Using generic computing components (e.g., computer, computer readable storage medium, system, memory and processor) does not amount to significantly more than the abstract and is not enough to transform an abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which is not enough to render the claims patent-eligible. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. They are merely collective functions provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Dependent claim 2 recited the limitations of creating a queue is dataset, the limitations can interpret as user action one after another and doing the same several times, or ordering/listing the data, which are routine and conventional. Dependent claim 3 recited the limitations of modifying said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition. These limitations are merely modifying, changing, executing and receiving results for the copy of the data, which can be mentally performed. Dependent claim 4 recited the limitations of creating said table function for reading said data sets from executing said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition. These limitations can interpret as previously received data and further working on those data. These limitations are routine and conventional. Dependent claim 5 recited the limitations of a single view of virtualized data. The limitations merely describing storing data or just storage. The limitations are mental process. Dependent claim 6 recited the limitations of receiving a request from said user to create said virtual view. The limitations are describing any input step. The limitations are mental process. Dependent claim 7 recited the limitations of creating said virtual view for said user. The limitations are describing merely storing data by a user, which are routine and conventional. Dependent claims 9-14 correspond in scope to claims 2-7 and are similarly rejected. Dependent claims 16-20 correspond in scope to claims 2-7 and are similarly rejected. Therefore, the dependent claims also do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea as indicated.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of US Patent # US 12,189,620 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of following reasons:
US Patent 12,189,620 B2 contain(s) every element of claims 1-20 of the instant application 18/954760 and thus anticipate or obvious the claim(s) of the instant application. The subject matter contains of the instant application claims (i.e. claims 1-20) contains same or similar limitations as US 12,189,6205 B2 (i.e. claims 1-20). Claims of the instant application 18/6954760, therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1-20 (from Patent no. US 12,189,620 B2) to arrive at the claims 1-20 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2007/0136324 A1), hereinafter Xu in view of Dhayapule et al. (US 2016/0314175 A1), hereinafter Dhayapule.
As for claim 1, Xu teaches a computer-implemented method for creating virtualized data assets, the method comprising: building an ETL/ELT job catalog based on a set of ETL/ELT job definitions; utilizing a federation server to create a copy of an extract, transform, load (ETL) or an extract, load, transform (ELT) job definition from said ETL/ELT jobs catalog (see [0002], e.g., migrating data from a source (e.g., a database) to a target (e.g., another database, a data store, a data mart or a data warehouse) is sometimes referred to as Extract, Transform and Load, or the acronym ETL, [0033]-[0034], e.g., profile characterizes with a singe data store mapped to multiple databases. The databases store to describe an adapter that is used to exchange data between a data source and a dataset, [0053], e.g., scripts, profiles and functions based on data store configurations are updated to reflect the values associated with the second data store configuration, [0055], e.g., database versions copy properties of the objects from old configuration to the new configuration).;
creating a table function, by said federation server for triggering execution of said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition and returning data sets (see [0005], [0024], e.g., ETL or extract, transform and load. ETL describes functions to migrate data, [0026], e.g., transformation of data from a source to a target. A data flow may be called from inside a workflow or job, [0033]-[0034], [0042], [0082]);
receiving a query from a user based on a virtual…, wherein said query comprises said ETL or ELT job definition (see [0042], e.g., extract, transform, and load data from databases and applications into a data warehouse used for analytical and on-demand queries, [0042], a graphical user interface (GUI) tool enables a user to create and edit data stores, create ETL jobs, and associate ETL jobs with data stores and specific data store configuration profiles);
executing said table function which triggers execution of said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition in response to receiving said query; producing said data sets in response to execution of said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition by connecting to rather than collecting from, disparate data source; and reading and returning said data sets in said virtual……to provide a single relational interface across said disparate data sources….creating a new integrated physical data platform.(see [0003], e.g., ETL jobs are special sets of instructions, or workflows, which define a unit of work that can be independently scheduled for execution, [0024], ETL describes software tools that combine these functions to migrate data,. Extracting refers to the process of reading the data from a source (e.g., a database). Transforming is the process of converting the extracted data from its previous form into the form it needs to be in and cleansing it, [0003], ETL repository as a single data store configuration, [0028], e.g., a workflow is a reusable object defining job execution. In some embodiments workflows are reused by dragging existing workflows from an object library, [0033], [0042], [0057], e.g., data source has different properties such as connection values/passwords/locales etc,, for each database type/version combination and will be applied to all data store configuration profiles);
Xu teaches the claimed invention including the limitation of virtual, creating a new integrated physical data platform ([0002], [0033]), but does not explicitly teach the limitations of a virtual view or said virtual view; without creating a new integrated physical data platform. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dhayapule teaches the limitations of a virtual view or said virtual view; without creating a new integrated physical data platform (see [0030], ETL job associated with centralized and virtual data source, [0110], e.g., a view of distributed ETL jobs and rely on the distributed servers, [0112]-[0113], e.g., avoid or perform unnecessary data movement across network in a data integration process).
Xu and Dhayapule both references teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are from the same field of endeavor, such as extract, transform and load (ETL) application to move or connect data among distributed computing devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dhayapule’s teaching to Xu’s system for a cloud computing model enabling convenient, on-demand network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources. Thus, rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management effort or interaction with a provider of the service. This cloud computing model rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management effort or interaction with a provider of the service (see Dhayapule, [0117]).
As for claim 8,
The limitations therein have substantially the same scope as claim 1 because claim 8 is a computer readable storage medium claim for implementing those steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dhayapule’s teaching to Xu’s system for a cloud computing model enabling convenient, on-demand network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources. Thus, rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management effort or interaction with a provider of the service. This cloud computing model rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management effort or interaction with a provider of the service (see Dhayapule, [0117]).
As for claim 15,
The limitations therein have substantially the same scope as claim 1 because claim 15 is a system claim for implementing those steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dhayapule’s teaching to Xu’s system for a cloud computing model enabling convenient, on-demand network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources. Thus, rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management effort or interaction with a provider of the service. This cloud computing model rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management effort or interaction with a provider of the service (see Dhayapule, [0117]).
As to claim 2, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Xu and Dhayapule teaches:
further comprising: creating a queue to store results from execution of said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition (see Xu, [0077], [0081]).
As to claim 3, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Xu and Dhayapule teaches:
further comprising: modifying said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition to store results of said execution of said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition in said queue (see Xu, [0077], [0082]).
As to claim 4, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Xu and Dhayapule teaches:
further comprising: creating said table function for reading said data sets from executing said copy of said ETL or ELT job definition (see Xu, [0088]).
As to claim 5, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Xu and Dhayapule teaches:
wherein said virtual view comprises a single view of virtualized data obtained from a plurality of data sources, wherein said plurality of data sources comprises data warehouses, data marts and data lakes (see Xu, [0002]; Also see, Dhayapule, [0110]).
As to claim 6, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Xu and Dhayapule teaches:
further comprising: receiving a request from said user to create said virtual view for said ETL or ELT job definition (see Xu, [0088], Also see, Dhayapule, [0110]).
As to claim 7, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Xu and Dhayapule teaches:
further comprising: creating said virtual view for said user (see Xu, [0005], Also see, Dhayapule, [0110]).
Claims 9-14 correspond in scope to claims 2-7 and are similarly rejected.
Claims 16-20 correspond in scope to claims 2-7 and are similarly rejected.
Prior Arts
13. US 9,852,196 B2 teaches ETL job, job scheduler, execution. Job scheduler schedules the job for processing by placing the job file into an input queue. Job scheduler manages the priority of each job in the input queue, the resources for the job, and the associated input data and output results for each job. Both job reader and job scheduler may respectively be fully integrated with, partially integrated with, or be completely separate from mainframe OS (Fig. 1).
US 9,305,067 B2 teaches ETL job, a single input action retrieves the contents of a single table, or view on a single table, in a database, (ii) contains no actions that operate on the entirety of data for a job, (iii) contains no actions that rely on ordering of data, and (iv) at least one output stage operates on a database (column 2, lines 1-16).
EP 2079020 A1 teaches ETL jobs ETL jobs for populating databases, automate and control the ETL process, allow developers to easily view and update the ETL process (page 1).
Also see, US 20140344211, US 7523118, US 20200073987, US 20070038609, US 10331692, US 10318544, US 7761408, US 20190258645, US 9904684, US 8577833, these reference also read the claim recited limitation. These references are state of the art at the time of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
14. The examiner suggests, in response to this Office action, support being shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application (see 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d)(1), 37 C.F.R. § 1.83(f)).
15. The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action (see MPEP § 7.96). Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Boris Gorney can be reached on (571) 270-5626. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or processing is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from the either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANIEL A KUDDUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154
08/22/26