DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “image obtaining unit” in claims 4 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553.
In regard to claim 1, Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553, discloses an information processing system comprising one or more processors and/or circuitry configured to:
execute a control processing that, based on lighting information of a virtual object displayed on a display device in a superimposed manner on a real space (see figure 4b and para 52), performs control of a lighting environment in the real space (see para 67); and
execute an obtainment processing that obtains information about the virtual object used in display of the virtual object via a network (see para 51-52 and 78), and wherein the lighting information of the virtual object is included in the information about the virtual object (see para 46-58 and 78).
In regard to claim 2, Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553, discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the lighting information of the virtual object includes at least any one piece of information from among a position of a light source that illuminates the virtual object, an intensity of the light source, and a color temperature of the light source (see para 47 and 57-58).
In regard to claim 3, Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553, discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein in the control processing, control for changing the lighting environment in the real space to a lighting environment corresponding to the lighting information of the virtual object is performed (see figure 4b and para 52 and 67).
In regard to claim 4, Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553, discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, further comprising:
an image obtaining unit configured to photograph the real space (see figure 1, element 104), and wherein the display device (see figure 4a, element 404a) displays a composite image, in which an image of the virtual object (see figure 4a, element 402a) is superimposed on an image of the real space that has been obtained by photographing the real space (see para 52).
In regard to claim 5, Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553, discloses the information processing system according to claim 4, wherein both exposure control of the image obtaining unit and the control of the lighting environment in the real space are performed (see para 52 and 67).
In regard to claim 6, Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553, discloses an information processing system comprising one or more processors and/or circuitry configured to:
execute a control processing that, based on lighting information of a virtual object displayed on a head mounted display (an HMD) (see figure 4b, element 400b)in a superimposed manner on a real space, performs control of a lighting environment in the real space (see figure 4b and para 52), and
wherein the lighting information of the virtual object is information that has been updated based on a lighting environment of surroundings of another HMD that has been arranged in a different location from the HMD (see para 59-67: the processor communicates with database with information from other devices).
In regard to claim 7, Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553, discloses the information processing system according to claim 6, wherein in the control processing, control for changing the lighting environment in the real space to a lighting environment corresponding to the lighting information of the virtual object is performed (see figure 4b and para 52 and 67).
In regard to claim 8, Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553, discloses the information processing system according to claim 6, further comprising:
an image obtaining unit configured to photograph the real space (see figure 1, element 104), and wherein the display device (see figure 4a, element 404a) displays a composite image, in which an image of the virtual object (see figure 4a, element 402a) is superimposed on an image of the real space that has been obtained by photographing the real space (see para 52).
In regard to claim 9, Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553, discloses the information processing system according to claim 8, wherein both exposure control of the image obtaining unit and the control of the lighting environment in the real space are performed (see para 52 and 67).
In regard to claim 10, since Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553, discloses the information processing system and its operation as described in claim 1 above, the method of claim 10 is also disclosed (see claim 1 above).
In regard to claim 11, since Van De Sluis et al., US 2020/0192553, discloses the information processing system and its operation as described in claim 1 above, the storage medium of claim 11 is also disclosed (see claim 1 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0065439, discloses an imaging system that adjusts a virtual object based on real world lighting. US 2020/0045298, discloses an imaging system with virtual objects the take into account lighting. US 2019/0279430, discloses an imaging system that applies lighting effects to a virtual object.
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs