DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 6/30/26 in which claims 21-40 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s representative argues that Schmidt et al fails to teach wherein “the identify agent communicates the first device information to the authentication service prior to receiving the unique identifier from the authentication service”. However, Schmidt et al clearly teaches wherein In the local user authentication at 328, local OP may send an OP authentication page to the user/browser 302 and/or the user/browser 302 may send authentication information (e.g., authentication credentials) to the local OP 304. At 330, local OP 304 may verify the authentication information (e.g., authentication credentials). Local OP 304 may also calculate signature key S (e.g., Kasc) at 332 (See paragraph [0058-0062]).
Double Patenting
4. Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,166898. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim the same device, method and one or more computer readable non-transitory storage media of using signed device information to authenticated a user.
U.S. Patent No. 12,166,898
U.S. Application No. 18/954775
1. A device comprising one or more processors and one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media coupled to the one or more processors and including instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform operations comprising:
establishing, by an identity agent installed on a device, a connection to a browser installed on the device; generating, by the identity agent, first device information, a public key, and a private key; communicating, by the identity agent, the first device information and the public key to an authentication service;
receiving, by the identity agent, a unique identifier from the authentication service; generating, by the identity agent, a first signature of the first device information; and communicating, by the identity agent, the first signature, the first device information, and the unique identifier to the browser.
21. A device comprising one or more processors and one or more computer- readable non-transitory storage media coupled to the one or more processors and including instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform operations comprising:
establishing, by an identity agent installed on the device, a connection to a browser installed on the
device; generating, by the identity agent, first device information;
communicating, by the identity agent, the first device information to an authentication service;
receiving, by the identity agent, a unique identifier from the authentication service; generating, by the
identity agent, a first signature of the first device information; and communicating, by the identity agent, the first signature to the browser, the identify agent communicates the first device information to the authentication service prior to receiving the unique identifier from the authentication service
25. (New) The device of Claim 21, the operations further comprising: generating, by the identity agent, a public key and a private key; and generating, by the identity agent, the first signature of the first device information by signing the first device information with the private key.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of the public key and the private key of claim 25 of the present application to obtain the recitation of claim 1 of the U.S. Patent 12,166898.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 21-22, 28-29 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2012/0254959 to Schmidt et al.
a. As per claim 21, Schmidt et al teaches a device comprising one or more processors and one or more computer- readable non-transitory storage media coupled to the one or more processors and including instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (See paragraph [0198]), cause the device to perform operations comprising:
establishing, by an identity agent installed on the device (See paragraph [0037], Local OP may be to facilitate authentication of the user and/or the device through assertion(s) about the identity of the user and/or the device, a connection to a browser installed on the device (See paragraph [0037 and 0040]); generating, by the identity agent, first device information (See paragraph [0038], The identity assertion messages may assert the state of verification of one or more identifiers relating to a user and/or a device); communicating, by the identity agent, the first device information to an authentication service (See paragraph [0056]); receiving, by the identity agent, a unique identifier from the authentication service (See paragraph [0060-0061], 308 may generate a random, unique association handle A and/or calculate a signature key S (e.g., Kasc) at 316]); generating, by the identity agent, a first signature of the first device information (See paragraph [0040], the local OP 304 to calculate a signature at 334); and communicating, by the identity agent, the first signature to the browser (See paragraph [0061], local OP 304 may send a redirect message to user/browser 302. The redirect message may include association handle A and/or parameters signed using the signature calculated at 334), wherein the identify agent communicates the first device information to the authentication service prior to receiving the unique identifier from the authentication service (See paragraph [0058-0062], In the local user authentication at 328, local OP may send an OP authentication page to the user/browser 302 and/or the user/browser 302 may send authentication information (e.g., authentication credentials) to the local OP 304. At 330, local OP 304 may verify the authentication information (e.g., authentication credentials). Local OP 304 may also calculate signature key S (e.g., Kasc) at 332)).
b. As per claim 28, Schmidt et al teaches a method, comprising: establishing, by an identity agent installed on a device (See paragraph [0037], ], Local OP may be to facilitate authentication of the user and/or the device through assertion(s) about the identity of the user and/or the device), a connection to a browser installed on the device (See paragraph [0037 and 0040]); generating, by the identity agent, first device information (See paragraph [0038], A local OP may process, create, manage, and/or send identity assertion messages to one or more external recipients. The identity assertion messages may assert the state of verification of one or more identifiers relating to a user and/or a device); communicating, by the identity agent, the first device information to an authentication service (See paragraph[0056]); receiving, by the identity agent, a unique identifier from the authentication service (See paragraph [0060-0061])A local OP may process, create, manage, and/or send identity assertion messages to one or more external recipients. The identity assertion messages may assert the state of verification of one or more identifiers relating to a user and/or a device); generating, by the identity agent, a first signature of the first device information (See paragraph [0040], the local OP 304 to calculate a signature at 334); and communicating, by the identity agent, the first signature to the browser (See paragraph [0061], local OP 304 may send a redirect message to user/browser 302. The redirect message may include association handle A and/or parameters signed using the signature calculated at 334), wherein the identify agent communicates the first device information to the authentication service prior to receiving the unique identifier from the authentication service (See paragraph [0058-0062], In the local user authentication at 328, local OP may send an OP authentication page to the user/browser 302 and/or the user/browser 302 may send authentication information (e.g., authentication credentials) to the local OP 304. At 330, local OP 304 may verify the authentication information (e.g., authentication credentials). Local OP 304 may also calculate signature key S (e.g., Kasc) at 332)).
c. As per claim 35, Schmidt et al teaches one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media embodying instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: establishing, by an identity agent installed on a device Local OP may be to facilitate authentication of the user and/or the device through assertion(s) about the identity of the user and/or the device), a connection to a browser installed on the device (See paragraph [0037 and 0040]); generating, by the identity agent, first device information (See paragraph [0038], A local OP may process, create, manage, and/or send identity assertion messages to one or more external recipients. The identity assertion messages may assert the state of verification of one or more identifiers relating to a user and/or a device); communicating, by the identity agent, the first device information to an authentication service (See paragraph [0056]); receiving, by the identity agent, a unique identifier from the authentication service See paragraph [0060-0061])A local OP may process, create, manage, and/or send identity assertion messages to one or more external recipients. The identity assertion messages may assert the state of verification of one or more identifiers relating to a user and/or a device); generating, by the identity agent, a first signature of the first device information (See paragraph [0040], the local OP 304 to calculate a signature at 334); and communicating, by the identity agent, the first signature to the browser (See paragraph [0061], local OP 304 may send a redirect message to user/browser 302. The redirect message may include association handle A and/or parameters signed using the signature calculated at 334).
d. As per claims 22, 29 and 36, Schmidt et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Schmidt et al teaches receiving, by the identity agent, a request for second device information from the browser; generating, by the identity agent, the second device information; generating, by the identity agent, a second signature of the second device information; and communicating, by the identity agent, the second signature to the browser; wherein the second device information is the same as or different than the first device information (See paragraph [0185-0186] and figure 19A, Each of the WTRUs 1902a, 1902b, 1902c, 1902d may be any type of device configured to operate and/or communicate in a wireless environment. By way of example, the WTRUs 1902a, 1902b, 1902c, 1902d may be configured to transmit and/or receive wireless signals and may include user equipment (UE), a mobile station, a fixed or mobile subscriber unit, a pager, a cellular telephone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a smartphone, a laptop, a netbook, a personal computer, a wireless sensor, consumer electronics, and the like.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 23, 30 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2012/0254959 to Schmidt et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0244711 to Venkataraman et al.
a. As per claims 23, 30 and 37, Schmidt teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Schmidt fails to teach wherein the first device information comprises one or more of the following: an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number of the device; a latest version of the identity agent installed on the device; a latest version of the browser installed on the device; a latest version of an operating system (OS) installed on the device; and an identification of firewalls installed on the device.
Venkataraman et al teaches wherein the first device information comprises one or more of the following: an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number of the device; a latest version of the identity agent installed on the device; a latest version of the browser installed on the device; a latest version of an operating system (OS) installed on the device; and an identification of firewalls installed on the device (See paragraph [0106], The certificate may comprise metadata that uniquely identifies the client electronic device 310b (e.g., an International Mobile Station Equipment Identity (IMEI)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Venkataraman et al teaches in order to uniquely identify the client electronic device.
9. Claims 24, 31 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2012/0254959 to Schmidt et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 2018/0198616 to Feather et al.
a. As per claims 24, 31 and 38, Schmidt teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Schmidt fails to teach wherein: the unique identifier is a globally unique identifier (GUID); and the unique identifier uniquely identifies the identity agent.
Feather et al teaches wherein: the unique identifier is a globally unique identifier (GUID); and the unique identifier uniquely identifies the identity agent (See paragraph [0023], an agent identifier to the host 150 or the host agent 152, and may transmit the agent identifier to the host 150. In some implementations, once the agent identifier has been assigned to the host 150, the agent identifier may not be reassigned to a different host or a different configuration of the same host 150).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Feather et al in the claimed invention of Schmidt in order to uniquely and globally identify the agent to the host and the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 25-27, 32-34, 39-40 would be allowable if a timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) is used to overcome the actual rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the if rewritten to overcome the rejection under the double patenting rejection set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444