DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Received 12/05/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/02/2025 and 11/21/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document Chang et al. (TW 2021/47691A; “Chang”).
Claim 1: Chang discloses (figs. 1 & 4 below, fig. 2) An antenna structure, comprising:
a metal mechanism element (110), having a slot (120) (¶17, “the metal mechanism element 110 has a slot 120 in which the slot 120 may assume a generally straight strip shape. The slot may be an open slot”);
a ground element (¶19, “the ground element may be a copper foil”), coupled to the metal mechanism element (¶19, “the ground element may extend from the dielectric substrate 180 to the metal mechanism 110”);
a first radiation element (first radiating portion 140, portion 145), coupled to a feeding point (FP), wherein the first radiation element (140) is further coupled to a grounding point (140 is connected to ground potential VSS at end 141; ¶19, “a ground potential VSS of the device 100 may be provided by a ground element”);
a second radiation element (third radiating element 160), coupled to the feeding point (FP), wherein the second radiation element (160) is adjacent to the first radiation element (140, 145); and
a dielectric substrate (dielectric substrate 180), disposed adjacent to the slot (120) of the metal mechanism element (110) (see fig. 4 below), wherein the ground element (not shown), the first radiation element (140, 145), and the second radiation element (160) are disposed on the dielectric substrate (¶18, “first radiation portion 140, the third radiation portion 160 may all be disposed on the first surface E1 of the dielectric substrate 180, and the second surface E2 of the dielectric substrate 180 may be adjacent to the metal mechanism 110”; and ¶19, “the ground element may extend from the dielectric substrate 180 to the metal mechanism 110”)”.
Chang does not explicitly disclose “a grounding point on the ground element”. However, as the first radiation element 140 is connected to ground potential VSS at end 141, and (¶19) a ground potential VSS of the device 100 may be provided by a ground element”, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there is a grounding point on the ground element in order to provide the ground potential.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a grounding point on the ground element of the Chang antenna structure. Doing so provides a ground potential to the first radiation element in order to provide the desired radiation pattern in an efficient manner.
Claim 2: Chang discloses the antenna structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the slot (120) of the metal mechanism element (110) is an open slot (¶17).
Claim 3: Chang discloses the antenna structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the slot (120) of the metal mechanism element substantially has a straight-line shape (see fig. 2 & ¶17) or an L-shape.
Claim 4: Chang discloses the antenna structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the feeding point (FP) is aligned with an edge (lower edge of slot shown in fig. 1) of the slot (120) of the metal mechanism element (110).
Claim 6: Chang discloses the antenna structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first radiation element (140, 145) comprises a narrow portion (145) and a wide portion (140), the narrow portion is coupled to the feeding point (FP) (via portions antenna portions 140 and 130), and the wide portion is coupled to the grounding point (145 is coupled to ground potential VSS at end 141; ¶19, “a ground potential VSS of the device 100 may be provided by a ground element”. The wide portion 140 is coupled to the grounding point via the narrow point 145).
Claim 7: Chang discloses the antenna structure as claimed in claim 6, wherein a first coupling gap is formed between the second radiation element (160) and the narrow portion (145) of the first radiation element.
Chang does not explicitly disclose and a width of the first coupling gap is from 0.2mm to 0.7mm. However, Chang does disclose (¶29) “the above range of element sizes is based on experimental results, which help optimize the operating bandwidth and impedance matching of the antenna structure of the operational device”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the first coupling gap depends upon the element sizes, which can be adjusted depending on the desired bandwidth and impedance matching requirements of the operational device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a width of the first coupling gap is from 0.2mm to 0.7mm in the antenna structure of Chang, in order to meet desired bandwidth and impedance matching requirements of the operational device (¶29 of Chang).
Furthermore, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 8: Chang teaches the antenna structure as claimed in claim 7, wherein a second coupling gap is formed between the second radiation element (160) and the wide portion of the first radiation element (140).
Chang does not explicitly disclose and a width of the second coupling gap is from 0.2mm to 3mm.
However, Chang does disclose (¶29) “the above range of element sizes is based on experimental results, which help optimize the operating bandwidth and impedance matching of the antenna structure of the operational device”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the first coupling gap depends upon the element sizes, which can be adjusted depending on the desired bandwidth and impedance matching requirements of the operational device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a width of the second coupling gap is from 0.2mm to 3mm in the antenna structure of Chang, in order to meet desired bandwidth and impedance matching requirements of the operational device (¶29 of Chang).
Furthermore, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 17: Chang discloses the antenna structure as claimed in claim 1.
Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein a length of the second radiation element (160) is from 3mm to 7mm.
However, Chang does disclose (¶29) “the length of the third radiating portion 160 may be less than or equal to 10mm”. Chang also discloses (¶29) “the above range of element sizes is based on experimental results, which help optimize the operating bandwidth and impedance matching of the antenna structure of the operational device”.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the length of the second radiation element depends on the desired frequency response of the antenna structure, and therefore the length of the second radiation element can be sized according to user requirements.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art wherein the length of the second radiation element is from 3mm to 7mm. Doing so allows for the antenna structure to operate according to user requirements.
Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 20: the modified Chang teaches the antenna structure as claimed in claim 6.
Chang discloses (fig. 1) a fourth radiation element (second radiating portion 150),
coupled to the wide portion (140) of the first radiation element.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document Chang et al. (TW 2021/47691A; “Chang”) in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0242567; “Wang”).
Claim 5: Chang discloses the antenna structure as claimed in claim 1.
Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the grounding point is positioned inside the slot of the metal mechanism element.
Wang teaches an antenna structure (fig. 7 below) having a radiating slot (710) formed in a metal mechanism element (¶71, “radiating slot and metal around the slot”). A grounding point (712, 716) is positioned inside the slot of the metal mechanism element.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Wang to the antenna structure of Chang, wherein the grounding point is positioned inside the slot of the metal mechanism element. The motivation to do so is to control the resonant frequency of a slot antenna by placing the grounding point at different positions within the slot.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document Chang et al. (TW 2021/47691A; “Chang”) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2005/0093752; “Cheng”).
Claim 10: Chang discloses the antenna structure as claimed in claim 1.
Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the second radiation element is disposed between the first radiation element and the ground element.
Cheng teaches a dual-band antenna (fig. 2 below) wherein the second radiation element (¶23, first L-shaped element 104) is disposed between the first radiation element (¶23, third L-shaped element 202 has a second arm 206) and the ground element (¶21, the base 102 works as the ground of the antenna).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Chang wherein the second radiation element is disposed between the first radiation element and the ground element, as taught by Cheng. Doing so allows for the radiation elements to be distanced from one another by a predetermined distance in order to lower interference of the signals in the first and second frequency bands (¶23 of Cheng).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document Chang et al. (TW 2021/47691A; “Chang”) in view of Tai (US 2017/0005413).
Claim 11: Chang discloses the antenna structure as claimed in claim 1.
Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein with respect to the grounding point, the slot of the metal mechanism element is divided into a short portion and a long portion.
Tai teaches (fig. 3 below) an antenna structure (tunable antenna module 20) comprising a metal mechanism element having a slot (¶28, “The radiator 203 and an open slot SLT may be formed in the metal cover MCV”). Tai also teaches “A length L2 from where the ground point toward the direction X to a closed end of slot SLT may correspond to operating frequencies in the low frequency bands LB1-LB3”, i.e., a long portion. The portion of the slot SLT from the ground point to the open end of the slot is the short portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Chang wherein with respect to the grounding point, the slot of the metal mechanism element is divided into a short portion and a long portion, as taught by Tai. The motivation to do so is to provide a slot antenna in a metal frame of a mobile device (¶5 of Tai), the slot antenna corresponding to more than one operating frequency (¶29 of Tai).
Claim 12: the modified Chang teaches the antenna structure as claimed in claim 11.
Chang discloses wherein the antenna structure covers a first frequency band (FB1) and a second frequency band (FB2, FB3) (fig. 5 & ¶26).
Claim 13: the modified Chang teaches the antenna structure as claimed in claim 12, wherein the first frequency band is from 2400MHz to 2500MHz (¶26, “the first frequency band FB1 may be between 2400 MHz and 2500 MHz”) and the second frequency band (FB2, FB3) is from 5150MHz to 7125MHz (¶26, “the second frequency band FB2 may be between 5150 MHz and 5850 MHz, and the third frequency band FB3 may be between 5925 MHz and 7125 MHz”) (regarding the return loss diagram of Fig. 5, bands FB2 and FB3 can be considered to be a single band).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document Chang et al. (TW 2021/47691A; “Chang”) in view of Tai (US 2017/0005413), and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2020/0185813; “Chang2”).
Claim 14: the modified Chang teaches the antenna structure as claimed in claim 12.
Chang does not disclose “wherein a length of the long portion of the slot is substantially equal to 0.25 wavelength of the first frequency band”.
Chang2 teaches (fig. 1B below & ¶38) a slot (120) formed in a metal mechanism element (110). The slot (120) has a short portion (124 of length D2), and a long portion (123 of length D1). Chang2 also teaches (¶45) “The first distance D1 may be substantially equal to 0.25 wavelength (λ/4) of the first frequency band FB1”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Chang wherein a length of the long portion of the slot is substantially equal to 0.25 wavelength of the first frequency band, as taught by Chang2. Doing so allows for the slot to resonate in one of two frequency bands.
Claim 15: the modified Chang teaches the antenna structure as claimed in claim 12.
Chang does not disclose “wherein a length of the short portion of the slot is substantially equal to 0.25 wavelength of the second frequency band”.
Chang2 teaches (fig. 1B & ¶38) a slot (120) formed in a metal mechanism element (110). The slot (120) has a short portion (124 of length D2), and a long portion (123 of length D1). Chang2 teaches (¶45) “The second distance D2 may be substantially equal to 0.25 wavelength (λ/4) of the second frequency band FB2”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Chang in view of Tai, wherein a length of the short portion of the slot is substantially equal to 0.25 wavelength of the second frequency band, as taught by Chang2. Doing so allows for the slot to resonate in one of two frequency bands.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document Chang et al. (TW 2021/47691A; “Chang”) in view of Tai (US 2017/0005413), and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0131267; “Chen”).
Claim 16: the modified Chang teaches the antenna structure as claimed in claim 12.
Chang does not disclose “wherein a length of the first radiation element is substantially equal to 0.5 wavelength of the second frequency band”.
However, Chang does disclose (¶29) “the above range of element sizes is based on experimental results, which help optimize the operating bandwidth and impedance matching of the antenna structure of the operational device”.
Chen teaches (fig. 1 below) an antenna structure (100) including a metal mechanism element (110) having a slot (120), and a feeding radiation element (140) that is connected to a feeding point (FP1 at 151) and a ground element (130, at 161). Chen also teaches (¶26) that the length of feeding radiation element (140) (total length L1 of first branch 150 and the second branch 160) may vary from 0.25 to 0.5 times a wavelength of the highest frequency band (FB3). One of ordinary skill in the antenna arts would recognize that radiation elements can be multiples of one quarter of a wavelength in order that the antenna radiates efficiently.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Chang in view of Tai, wherein a length of the first radiation element is substantially equal to 0.5 wavelength of the second frequency band, as taught by Chen. Doing so produces an antenna that radiates efficiently.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, Chang does not teach, or suggest, wherein a third coupling gap is formed between the ground element and the wide portion of the first radiation element, and a width of the third coupling gap is from 0.2mm to 1mm.
Regarding claim 18, Chang does not teach, or suggest, a third radiation element, coupled to the narrow portion of the first radiation element, wherein the narrow portion of the first radiation element is disposed between the third radiation element and the second radiation element.
Claim 19 is dependent on claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Huang (US 2021/0143529) discloses (fig. 5) an antenna feeding point located at the edge (133) of a slot (130) of a metal mechanism element (120).
Wu (US 2019/0221943) reads on claim 1 (coupling of first radiation element to grounding point via the ground plane) – see fig. 2.
Lin (US 2021/0075108) reads on claim 6 – see fig. 1.
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845