DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application 18/954,853 filed on November 21, 2024, and the preliminary amendment filed February 28, 2025. Claims 2-8 are pending in the application and have been examined by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 11/21/2024 and 7/21/2025 were received and has been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murao et al. (US 2018/0220093) in view of Murai (US 2019/0013419).
Consider claim 2, Murao et al. teaches:
An imaging device (see figure 11) having a stacked chip structure in which at least three semiconductor chips including a semiconductor chip of a first layer, a semiconductor chip of a second layer, and a semiconductor chip of a third layer are stacked (A first chip (chip A), a second chip (chip B) and a third chip (chip C) are included as shown in figure 11, paragraph 0083. The first, second and third chips are “stacked” as detailed in claims 1 and 4 of Murao et al.), the imaging device comprising:
a pixel array (21) including pixels two-dimensionally arranged in a matrix disposed on the semiconductor chip of the first layer (The first chip (chip A) includes pixel circuits (3n) as shown in figure 11, paragraph 0055. The pixel circuits are arranged two-dimensionally as shown in figure 2, paragraph 0048.);
an analog-to-digital converter (analog-to-digital converter circuit, 24n, paragraph 0062) configured to convert an analog pixel signal (Vopx) read from at least one of the pixels (3n) through a signal line (see figure 15) into a digital pixel signal (see paragraphs 0059 and 0062), wherein
an analog component (comparator, COMP) of the analog-to-digital converter (24n) is disposed on one of the semiconductor chip of the second layer or the semiconductor chip of the third layer (i.e. disposed on chip B, see figure 11, paragraph 0083); and
a digital component (counter, 51) of the analog-to-digital converter (24n) is disposed on the other of the semiconductor chip of the second layer or the semiconductor chip of the third layer (i.e. disposed on chip C, see figure 11, paragraph 0083).
However, Murao et al. does not explicitly teach that the semiconductor chip of the second layer is configured according to a first manufacture scale technology that is different from a second manufacture scale technology of the semiconductor chip of the third layer.
Murai similarly teaches an imaging device (figure 1) comprising a second chip (image sensor, 140, paragraph 0028) having an analog component (“the image sensor 140 includes an analog circuit for amplifying and outputting photoelectrically converted electrical signals as a main component”, paragraph 0048) and a third chip (image processing chip, 240, paragraph 0035) having a digital component (“the image processing chip 240 includes a digital circuit as a main component”, paragraph 0048).
However, Murai additionally teaches that the semiconductor chip of the second layer (140) is configured according to a first manufacture scale technology (“the image sensor 140 includes an analog circuit for amplifying and outputting photoelectrically converted electrical signals as a main component, so there is not necessary for high-speed CMOS technology unlike the image processing chip 240, and it can be manufactured by low cost technology” paragraph 0048) that is different from a second manufacture scale technology of the semiconductor chip of the third layer (“In an example, the image processing chip 240 includes a digital circuit as a main component, which necessitates a large circuit scale and high speed operation. Thus, a miniaturized complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) technology is applied and it is manufactured.” paragraph 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the semiconductor chips of the second and third layers taught by Murao et al. be configured according to different manufacture scale technologies as taught by Murai for the benefit that the overall manufacturing cost can be reduced while maintaining the necessary performance (Murai, paragraph 0048).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 2 above, Murao et al. does not explicitly teach the first and second manufacture scale technologies.
Murai further teaches that the second manufacture scale technology of the semiconductor chip of the third layer is more miniaturized than the first manufacture scale technology of the semiconductor chip of the second layer (“In an example, the image processing chip 240 includes a digital circuit as a main component, which necessitates a large circuit scale and high speed operation. Thus, a miniaturized complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) technology is applied and it is manufactured. On the other hand, the image sensor 140 includes an analog circuit for amplifying and outputting photoelectrically converted electrical signals as a main component, so there is not necessary for high-speed CMOS technology unlike the image processing chip 240, and it can be manufactured by low cost technology.” paragraph 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the semiconductor chips of the second and third layers taught by Murao et al. be configured according to different manufacture scale technologies as taught by Murai for the benefit that the overall manufacturing cost can be reduced while maintaining the necessary performance (Murai, paragraph 0048).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 2 above, Murao et al. does not explicitly teach the first and second manufacture scale technologies.
Murai further teaches that a first manufacture cost for the first manufacture scale technology is different from a second manufacture cost for the second manufacture scale technology (“On the other hand, the image sensor 140 includes an analog circuit for amplifying and outputting photoelectrically converted electrical signals as a main component, so there is not necessary for high-speed CMOS technology unlike the image processing chip 240, and it can be manufactured by low cost technology.” paragraph 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the semiconductor chips of the second and third layers taught by Murao et al. be configured according to different manufacture scale technologies as taught by Murai for the benefit that the overall manufacturing cost can be reduced while maintaining the necessary performance (Murai, paragraph 0048).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 4 above, Murao et al. does not explicitly teach the first and second manufacture scale technologies.
Murai further teaches that the first manufacture cost is lower than the second manufacture cost (“On the other hand, the image sensor 140 includes an analog circuit for amplifying and outputting photoelectrically converted electrical signals as a main component, so there is not necessary for high-speed CMOS technology unlike the image processing chip 240, and it can be manufactured by low cost technology.” paragraph 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the semiconductor chips of the second and third layers taught by Murao et al. be configured according to different manufacture scale technologies as taught by Murai for the benefit that the overall manufacturing cost can be reduced while maintaining the necessary performance (Murai, paragraph 0048).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murao et al. (US 2018/0220093) in view of Murai (US 2019/0013419), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0181827).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 2 above, the combination of Murao et al. and Murai does not explicitly teach a semiconductor chip of a fourth layer.
Kim et al. similarly teaches a camera (figure 1A) with a controller (1200) comprised of multiple processors (first processor, 1200a, second processor, 1200b, figure 1B), paragraphs 0041 and 0048.
However, Kim et al. additionally teaches that AI circuitry is disposed on a semiconductor chip of a fourth layer (The AI circuitry may be implemented on a dedicated hardware chip or as a portion of a general-purpose processor, paragraphs 0051, 0081, 0115, 0134 and 0192), and the semiconductor chip of the fourth layer is configured according to a third manufacture scale technology that is different from at least one of the first manufacture scale technology or the second manufacture scale technology (Because the first manufacture scale technology is different from the second manufacture scale technology (see claim 2 rationale), the third manufacture scale technology is necessarily different from at least one of the first manufacture scale technology or the second manufacture scale technology.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the imaging device taught by the combination of Murao et al. and Murai comprise an AI circuit disposed on a fourth semiconductor chip as taught by Kim et al. for the benefit of enabling a region of interest to be estimated and thus user satisfaction with a captured image to be increased (Kim et al., paragraphs 0051 and 0003).
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 6 above, Kim et al. teaches that the semiconductor chip of the fourth layer manufactured according to the third manufacture technology includes an AI circuit that performs digital processing (see paragraphs 0051, 0081, 0115, 0134 and 0192).
Murai teaches that the manufacture scale technology of a chip containing digital circuitry is more miniaturized than the manufacture scale technology of a chip containing analog circuitry (“In an example, the image processing chip 240 includes a digital circuit as a main component, which necessitates a large circuit scale and high speed operation. Thus, a miniaturized complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) technology is applied and it is manufactured. On the other hand, the image sensor 140 includes an analog circuit for amplifying and outputting photoelectrically converted electrical signals as a main component, so there is not necessary for high-speed CMOS technology unlike the image processing chip 240, and it can be manufactured by low cost technology.” paragraph 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third manufacture scale technology taught by the combination of Murao et al., Murai and Kim et al. be more miniaturized than the first manufacture scale technology as taught by Murai for the benefit that the overall manufacturing cost can be reduced while maintaining the necessary performance (Murai, paragraph 0048).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 6 above, the combination of Murao et al. and Murai does not explicitly teach than an AI circuit is disposed on the fourth semiconductor chip.
Kim et al. teaches that an AI circuit is disposed on the fourth semiconductor chip (The AI circuitry may be implemented on a dedicated hardware chip or as a portion of a general-purpose processor, paragraphs 0051, 0081, 0115, 0134 and 0192).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the imaging device taught by the combination of Murao et al. and Murai comprise an AI circuit disposed on the fourth semiconductor chip as taught by Kim et al. for the benefit of enabling a region of interest to be estimated and thus user satisfaction with a captured image to be increased (Kim et al., paragraphs 0051 and 0003).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,185,012 in view of Murai (US 2019/0013419).
Consider claim 2, claim 1 of US 12,185,012 teaches (in parentheses): An imaging device having a stacked chip structure in which at least three semiconductor chips including a semiconductor chip of a first layer, a semiconductor chip of a second layer, and a semiconductor chip of a third layer are stacked, the imaging device comprising: (“An imaging device having a stacked chip structure including a first semiconductor chip of a first layer, a second semiconductor chip of a second layer, a third semiconductor chip of a third layer, and a fourth semiconductor chip of a fourth layer, the imaging device comprising:”)
a pixel array including pixels two-dimensionally arranged in a matrix disposed on the semiconductor chip of the first layer (“a pixel array including pixels two-dimensionally arranged in a matrix on the first semiconductor chip”);
an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert an analog pixel signal read from at least one of the pixels through a signal line into a digital pixel signal, wherein an analog component of the analog-to-digital converter is disposed on one of the semiconductor chip of the second layer or the semiconductor chip of the third layer; and a digital component of the analog-to-digital converter is disposed on the other of the semiconductor chip of the second layer or the semiconductor chip of the third layer (“an analog-digital conversion unit including an analog circuit and a digital circuit, the analog circuit being configured to convert an analog pixel signal read from respective pixels of the pixel array through a signal line into a digital pixel signal, the digital circuit being configured to receive the digital pixel signal from the analog circuit, wherein the analog circuit is disposed on the second semiconductor chip, the digital circuit is disposed on the third semiconductor chip”).
Claim 1 of US 12,185,012 does not explicitly teach that the semiconductor chip of the second layer is configured according to a first manufacture scale technology that is different from a second manufacture scale technology of the semiconductor chip of the third layer.
Murai similarly teaches an imaging device (figure 1) comprising a second chip (image sensor, 140, paragraph 0028) having an analog component (“the image sensor 140 includes an analog circuit for amplifying and outputting photoelectrically converted electrical signals as a main component”, paragraph 0048) and a third chip (image processing chip, 240, paragraph 0035) having a digital component (“the image processing chip 240 includes a digital circuit as a main component”, paragraph 0048).
However, Murai additionally teaches that the semiconductor chip of the second layer (140) is configured according to a first manufacture scale technology (“the image sensor 140 includes an analog circuit for amplifying and outputting photoelectrically converted electrical signals as a main component, so there is not necessary for high-speed CMOS technology unlike the image processing chip 240, and it can be manufactured by low cost technology” paragraph 0048) that is different from a second manufacture scale technology of the semiconductor chip of the third layer (“In an example, the image processing chip 240 includes a digital circuit as a main component, which necessitates a large circuit scale and high speed operation. Thus, a miniaturized complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) technology is applied and it is manufactured.” paragraph 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the semiconductor chips of the second and third layers taught by claim 1 of US 12,185,012 be configured according to different manufacture scale technologies as taught by Murai for the benefit that the overall manufacturing cost can be reduced while maintaining the necessary performance (Murai, paragraph 0048).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 2 above, claim 1 of US 12,185,012 does not explicitly teach the first and second manufacture scale technologies.
Murai further teaches that the second manufacture scale technology of the semiconductor chip of the third layer is more miniaturized than the first manufacture scale technology of the semiconductor chip of the second layer (“In an example, the image processing chip 240 includes a digital circuit as a main component, which necessitates a large circuit scale and high speed operation. Thus, a miniaturized complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) technology is applied and it is manufactured. On the other hand, the image sensor 140 includes an analog circuit for amplifying and outputting photoelectrically converted electrical signals as a main component, so there is not necessary for high-speed CMOS technology unlike the image processing chip 240, and it can be manufactured by low cost technology.” paragraph 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the semiconductor chips of the second and third layers taught by claim 1 of US 12,185,012 be configured according to different manufacture scale technologies as taught by Murai for the benefit that the overall manufacturing cost can be reduced while maintaining the necessary performance (Murai, paragraph 0048).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 2 above, claim 1 of US 12,185,012 does not explicitly teach the first and second manufacture scale technologies.
Murai further teaches that a first manufacture cost for the first manufacture scale technology is different from a second manufacture cost for the second manufacture scale technology (“On the other hand, the image sensor 140 includes an analog circuit for amplifying and outputting photoelectrically converted electrical signals as a main component, so there is not necessary for high-speed CMOS technology unlike the image processing chip 240, and it can be manufactured by low cost technology.” paragraph 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the semiconductor chips of the second and third layers taught by claim 1 of US 12,185,012 be configured according to different manufacture scale technologies as taught by Murai for the benefit that the overall manufacturing cost can be reduced while maintaining the necessary performance (Murai, paragraph 0048).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 4 above, claim 1 of US 12,185,012 does not explicitly teach the first and second manufacture scale technologies.
Murai further teaches that the first manufacture cost is lower than the second manufacture cost (“On the other hand, the image sensor 140 includes an analog circuit for amplifying and outputting photoelectrically converted electrical signals as a main component, so there is not necessary for high-speed CMOS technology unlike the image processing chip 240, and it can be manufactured by low cost technology.” paragraph 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the semiconductor chips of the second and third layers taught by claim 1 of US 12,185,012 be configured according to different manufacture scale technologies as taught by Murai for the benefit that the overall manufacturing cost can be reduced while maintaining the necessary performance (Murai, paragraph 0048).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mabuchi et al. (US 2006/0023109) teaches an imaging device (figure 14) having a second chip (32) and a third chip (33), wherein an analog portion of an ADC (91, figure 12, paragraph 0114) is included on the second chip (32) and a digital portion of an ADC (94, figure 12, paragraph 0113) is included on the third chip (33) (“Further, the semiconductor module need not be clearly separated into the image sensor chip 32 and the signal processing chip 33 as shown in FIG. 14. For example, the interface between the image sensor chip 32 and the signal processing chip 33 may be established by the micro bump at the comparator output shown in FIG. 12.” See paragraph 0120, figure 12.), and the semiconductor chip of the second layer (32) is configured according to a first manufacture scale technology that is different from a second manufacture scale technology of the semiconductor chip of the third layer (“It is preferable that the MOS type image sensor chip 32 should be manufactured by an old and loose process (for example, 0.25 µm) in which a photodiode can be inexpensively and stably manufactured relative to a specific pixel size determined by a set sensitivity and lens specifications and that the signal processing chip 33 should be manufactured a shrinkable microminiaturization process (for example, 0.06 µm). When process rules are different considerably, this embodiment in which a circuit scale per cell is large on the side of the signal processing chip 33 is efficient for such case.” paragraph 0117).
Inoue et al. (US 2020/0194472) teaches an imaging device (figure 1) having two substrates (120, 121) manufactured according to different manufacture technologies (“process rule or the like”, paragraph 0016).
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637