Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims are recited such that it defines a system, but none of the claims positively identify hardware components of the system. Examiner suggest amending the claim by adding hardware processor and memory to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IRWAN; SUSANTO JUNAIDI et al. US 20190245856 (hereinafter IRWAN wan) in view of Shtilkind; Eugene Aaron et al. US 20200304434 (hereinafter Shtilkind) and further in view of Bansal; Abhinav et Al. US 20240146689 (hereinafter Bansal).
As per claim 1, IRWAN teaches: A method for managing a zero-trust architecture, comprising:
receiving a remote access request from a user (“a user may use a client device 161 to request the security gateway URI using an HTTP client 502, such as a web browser. A login page to access …” IRWAN: para. 122);
determining a defined set of permissions associated with the user (“the security gateway 170 is displayed so the user may enter the enterprise credentials, such as a username and password. Depending on how the security gateway 170 is configured, multi-factor authentication may optionally be used such that users will be asked for additional security information. IRWAN: para. 122”);
populating an equipment list of selectable equipment for the user (“At step 908, the security gateway 170 may use SSH and present a virtual shell 910 to the authenticated user with a limited set of commands. One such command may be, for example, to display a list of accessible devices for the logged-in user.” IRWAN: para. 122”);
selecting at least one piece of equipment from the equipment list (“The list of accessible devices may be based on the local permissions list. After a user selects a device from the list of accessible devices …” IRWAN: para. 122”);
initiating a dual approval process for the selected piece of equipment (“ Depending on how the security gateway 170 is configured, multi-factor authentication may optionally be used such that users will be asked for additional security information” IRWAN: para. 122”);
IRWAN does not teach; however, Shtilkind discloses: granting access to a central user portal [through a zero-trust configuration] by transmitting a link to the user (“the client network 12 is able to connect to one or more client devices 20A, 20B, and 20C so that the client devices 20 are able to communicate with each other and/or with the network hosting the platform 16. The client devices 20 may be computing systems and/or other types of computing devices generally referred to as Internet of Things (IoT) devices that access cloud computing services, for example, via a web browser application, a portal, or via an edge device 22 that may act as a gateway between the client devices 20 and the platform 16. In some implementations, client devices 20 using a portal to access the cloud computing services may include client scripts, such that the client script provides functionality (e.g., enabling selection of objects or a link) in the portal. Moreover, the client script may be used to track portal usage (e.g., user clicking on particular topics or buttons within the portal that is enabled by the client script) with respect to local or localized behaviors or actions on the respective device 20, which may be used to provide contextual information to the provider system (e.g., network hosting the platform 16). The contextual information may be used to optimize chat conversations using the techniques described herein.” Shtilkind: para. 24; and
remotely accessing the selected piece of equipment via the edge portal [through the zero-trust configuration] ( Shtilkind: para).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine IRWAN with the teachings of Shtilkind to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied in a predictable manner to access other devices in a network.
The combination of IRWAN and Shtilkind does not explicitly teach discloses: zero-trust configuration; however, Bansal discloses (“an IT administrator can block all network traffic to a device in a high risk known malicious network or geolocation. Using a zero-trust network access approach in the client firewall, lateral movement of malware and other threats can be eliminated, as devices on the same local network can now be protected against inbound network traffic.” Bansal: para. 65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of IRWAN and Shtilkind with the teaching of Bansal to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied in a predictable manner to access other devices in a network in a secure manner.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. IRWAN teaches: defining an access permission and a transfer permission by an original equipment Manufacturer (“a user may use a client device 161 to request the security gateway URI using an HTTP client 502, such as a web browser. A login page to access the security gateway 170 is displayed so the user may enter the enterprise credentials, such as a username and password. Depending on how the security gateway 170 is configured (e.g. by manufacturer…” IRWAN: para. 122).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IRWAN in view of Shtilkind in view of Bansal and further in view of Murphy; David Joseph US 20190050190 (hereinafter Murphy).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of IRWAN in view of Shtilkind in view of Bansal does not teach; however, Murphy discloses: pan presenting the central user portal as a panel interface and a quadrant interface (Murphy: para. 30, 34-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of IRWAN, Shtilkind and Bansal with the teaching of Murphy to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied in a predictable manner to customize the interface.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IRWAN in view of Shtilkind in view of Bansal and further in view of Geagan; John B. et al. US 20200036513 (hereinafter Geagan).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.. The combination of IRWAN in view of Shtilkind in view of Bansal does not teach; however, Geagan discloses: receiving an original equipment manufacturer approval and a fabrication side approval as part of the dual approval process (“Content encryption in media devices allows manufacturers and other entities to limit access to media in storage devices to a particular group of approved media devices. One way to encrypt content is to provide keys to content receivers and to include an encryption key block in data or in a data storage device that is accessible by the content receivers. The keys are used by the receivers to transform data according to a predefined algorithm from encrypted data to de-encrypted data that may be used by the receiver.” Geagan: para. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of IRWAN, Shtilkind and Bansal with the teaching of Murphy to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to manage access authorization.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IRWAN in view of Shtilkind in view of Bansal and further in view of Luo; Min et al. US 20170195238 (hereinafter Luo).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of IRWAN, Shtilkind and Bansal does not teach; however, Luo discloses: the zero-trust configuration includes providing a fabrication edge access link to the user and wherein communications traffic flows through a network overlay (“FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an embodiment of a network 100 that implements DMPWS. The network 100 comprises a plurality of edge nodes 110 and a plurality of interior nodes 120 interconnected by a plurality of links 130. The edge nodes 110 are located at the edges or boundaries of the network 100. The edge nodes 110 are further interconnected with some other remote networks via a plurality of external links 131. The interior nodes 120 are located within the network 100. The network 100 may be any types of network, such as an electrical network and/or an optical network. The network 100 may operate under a single network administrative domain or multiple network administrative domains. The network 100 may employ any network communication protocols, such as transmission control protocol/Internet protocol (TCP/IP). The network 100 may further employ any types of network virtualization and/or network overlay technologies, such as software-defined network (SDN) technologies and virtual extensible local area network (VXLAN) technologies. The network 100 may interconnect with other networks. The links 130 and 131 may comprise physical links, such as fiber optic links, electrical links, wireless links, and/or logical links used to transport data in the network 100.” Luo: para. 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of IRWAN, Shtilkind and Bansal with the teaching of Luo to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to provide enhanced flexibility and security.
As per claim 6, the rejection of 5 is incorporated herein. The combination of IRWAN, of Shtilkind and Bansal does not teach; however, Luo discloses: the network overlay includes a plurality of public service edge nodes (Luo: para. 24).
As per claim 7, the rejection of 6 is incorporated herein. The combination of IRWAN, of Shtilkind and Bansal does not teach; however, Luo discloses: the network overlay is a virtual network utilizing a plurality of connection types to provide a plurality of pathways for routing network traffic (Luo: Fig. 1 and the related text).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of IRWAN, Shtilkind and Bansal with the teaching of Luo to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to facilitate multiple communication types.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein. IRWAN discloses:
creating secure internet protocol security tunnels guaranteeing secure point to point network connections between a fabrication edge, an original equipment manufacturer edge and a connectivity platform (“The security gateway 170 may also optionally generate an SSH key pair and use SSH to save the public key for that user on the enterprise device 180 at step 918. At step 922, the security gateway 170 may act as an SSH proxy that tunnels SSH commands from the user to the device at step 924 and provides authenticated access to the device for the user at step 920.” IRWAN PARA. 123)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IRWAN in view of Shtilkind in view of Bansal in view of Luo and further in view of Craig, Jeffrey Alan US 20030169779 (hereinafter Craig).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated herein. The combination of IRWAN, Shtilkind, Bansal and Luo does not teach; however, craig discloses: the network underlay includes a plurality of network underlays providing a primary traffic route and a secondary traffic route (Craig: para. 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of IRWAN, Shtilkind, Bansal and Luo with the teaching of Craig to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to recover from unavailability of the primary route.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IRWAN in view of Shtilkind in view of Bansal and further in view of STOLZE; Jan Benedikt et al. US 20190289135 (hereinafter STOLZE).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of IRWAN, Shtilkind and Bansal does not teach; however, STOLZE discloses:
the central user portal includes an architecture administering access to a plurality of services including an authentication service, a remote take over service, a file transfer service, a security management service and an auditing service (STOLZE: para. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of IRWAN, Shtilkind, and Bansal with the teaching of STOLZE to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to manage providing user access to various services.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandahl, Michael et al. US 20020091639 (hereinafter Mandahl) in view of Doane; Andrew J. et Al. US 20130166709 (hereinafter Doane).
As per claim 11, Mandahl teaches: A system for managing a zero-trust architecture, comprising: a connectivity platform including an original manufacturer side, and a fabrication side connected via a network (“FIG. 6, a configuration of portal service 10 spread among various company entities (e.g., manufacturer side, and a fabrication side) is shown. In this configuration, companies 92, 94 and 96 are connected to each other through a portal service interface, which permits the companies to share information and resources.” Mandahl: para. 51);
a central user portal facilitating communication between the original manufacturer side and the fabrication side via the connectivity platform (An individual or group at company 96 can review the purchase request from company 94 using their portal (central user portal) service access, and can schedule manufacturing production accordingly.” Mandahl: Abs. and para. 51);
a fabrication network integrated with the fabrication side and the connectivity
platform, the fabrication network providing the user with a galvanically separated
access to one or more pieces of fabrication equipment ( Mandahl: para. 51);
Mandahl does not teach; however, Doane discloses: an original equipment manufacturer network integrated with the original manufacturer side and the connectivity platform, the original equipment manufacturer network providing a user a plurality of connectivity options to facilitate communications with the fabrication side (“In order to facilitate the management of network connectivity between the client networks and the provider network, in some embodiments a connectivity coordinator responsible for implementing one or more programmatic interfaces through which connectivity-related requests from clients are handled may be set up. A variety of different kinds of connectivity-related requests, such as requests to discover the types of connectivity options that may be accessible, requests to select a particular connectivity option or service, requests to set up or dismantle a physical link, and the like may be made available through the interface in different implementations. The interface may be exposed to the client in many different ways in various embodiments: for example, as an API, through a graphical user interface, a web page or web site, or even as a collection of commands that can be issued from a computer system's command-line prompt.” Doane: pa.43);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mandahl with the teachings of Doane to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied in a predictable manner to enhance the flexibility of communication.
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. Mandahl teaches: the connectivity platform provides an original equipment manufacturer side user remote access to the fabrication side by establishing a network connection between an original equipment manufacturer internet service provider and a fabrication internet service provider (Mandahl: para. 32-33).
Claims 13, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandahl in view of Doane and further in view of Sunada; Yoji et Al. US 8589441 (hereinafter Sunada).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. The combination of Mandahl and Doane does not teach; however, Sunada discloses:
the original equipment manufacturer side includes an original equipment manufacturer edge (communication network 5 and edge node 20).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated herein. The combination of Mandahl and Doane does not teach; however, Sunada discloses: the original equipment manufacturer edge includes a file store and a transfer scheduler (“In the case where a file stored in the first edge storage apparatus 101 is updated, the file data of the file (or update difference of the file data) is transferred to the core node 20.” Col. 4, lines 14-16 and fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mandahl and Doane with the teachings of Sunada to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied in a predictable manner to enhance data communication.
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. The combination of Mandahl and Doane does not teach; however, Sunada discloses: the
fabrication side includes an fabrication edge (network 5 including edge node 20).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandahl in view of Doane in view of Sunada and further in view of McNamee; Alan et al. US 20120158872 (hereinafter McNamee).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated herein. The combination of Mandahl, Doane and Sunada does not teach; however, McNamee discloses: the original equipment manufacturer edge includes a self-managed landing zone for one or more file transfers from the fabrication side (McNamee: para. 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mandahl, Doane and Sunada with the teachings of McNamee to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied in a predictable manner to facilitate deployment of network elements in an efficient manner.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandahl in view of Doane and further in view of Robb, Terence Alan et al. US 20030120502 (hereinafter Robb).
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. Mandahl teaches: the fabrication edge includes an edge portal (Mandahl: para. 51, a remote take over module, a remote (Mandahl: para. 32), an equipment chat module (Mandahl: para. 4).
Mandahl does not teach; however, Doane discloses: command execution module (Doane: para. 79).
The combination of Mandahl, Doane does not teach; however, Robb discloses: a file transfer module, a web proxy module ( Robb: para. 123).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mandahl and Doane with the teachings of Robb to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to enhance the security of communication.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. as being unpatentable over Mandahl in view of Doane in view of Sunada and further in view of SUN, Lin-Ke et al. CN 114356502 (hereinafter Sun).
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated herein. The combination of Mandahl, Doane and Sunada does not teach; however, Sun discloses:
The fabrication edge includes a dual configuration, the dual configuration including a physical fabrication edge and a cloud based fabrication edge (“The edge computing physical terminal 10 may also be configured to receive a message sent or pushed by the cloud control center 30, and automatically complete the deployment of the sent model.” Sun: page 8 para. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mandahl, Doane and Sunada with the teachings of Sun to meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied in a predictable manner to add to communication source.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandahl in view of Doane and further in view of デイヴィッド エイ ヘイゲン JP 2007507190 (hereinafter デイヴィッド エイ ヘイゲン).
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. The combination of Mandahl and Doane does not teach; however, デイヴィッド エイ ヘイゲン discloses: the central user portal includes a plurality of modules including an authentication module, a zero-trust connectivity module, a remote take over module and a file transfer module (デイヴィッド エイ ヘイゲン : Abs. and).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mandahl, Doane with the teachings of Sun of デイヴィッド エイ ヘイゲン meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to enhance the capabilities of the portal.
As p claim 20, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated herein. The combination of Mandahl and Doane does not teach; however, デイヴィッド エイ ヘイゲン discloses: the central user portal includes an administration module managing one or more requests from the plurality of modules through the connectivity platform (“The present invention allows various portals to issue and receive conference requests from each other. However, to receive an incoming meeting request, the portal must log into the system. Thus, the process of establishing an internet conference between two or more portals begins when these portals log into a queue server, which is a handler for call execution requests. Device). This login process allows the system to authenticate portal users, for example by using login names and passwords. The queue server also provides data about authorized users when the user logs in and out, for example, the number of calls made by the user, the length of these calls, the total number of calls in progress, and other Allows administrators to access types of statistical data. The login process further allows the system to track call activity for billing purposes. Therefore, the queue server can store this information in the accounting database.” デイヴィッド エイ ヘイゲン :page. 5, para. 2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mandahl, Doane with the teachings of Sun of デイヴィッド エイ ヘイゲン meet the preceding limitations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification since such techniques were known at the time of the instant invention and would have been applied to enhance the capabilities of the portal.
Conclusion
/GHODRAT JAMSHIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493