DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tazzari (US 20180213416 A1) in view of Franck (US 20200084588 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tazzari discloses:
“A photovoltaic distribution network system, comprising: a distribution network control device, a plurality of photovoltaic devices; and a router wherein the distribution network control device is configured to … transmit … network configuration information to the to-be-configured devices, wherein the to-be-configured devices comprise at least one of the plurality of photovoltaic devices, and the network configuration information is for controlling access to a specified network;” ([¶ 0078]: “Conversely, according to methods disclosed herein, an operator can provide the network credentials, e.g. the SSID and passphrase or password of the network access point 3, to one electronic device 9 only, while the credentials are then propagated to the other electronic devices automatically. In some embodiments, the operator may be provided with a portable device 16, such as a tablet or portable computer, with a wi-fi connection.”)
“the to-be-configured device is configured to broadcast the device information of the to-be-configured devices based on the network configuration information;” ([¶ 0078]: “The network credentials can thus be transmitted by the selected electronic device through the station mode function of its wireless communication unit and received by neighboring electronic devices 9 in the wireless signal range 20 of the selected electronic device 9 using the access point function of the wireless communication unit of said neighboring devices.”)
“the router is configured to receive the device information broadcast by the to-be-configured device, and establish a communication connection with a first distribution network device among the to-be-configured devices based on device information of the first distribution network device;” ([¶ 0078]: “The electronic devices which receive the network credentials from electronic device #51 can thus connect to the network access point 3.”)
“and the first distribution network device is configured to receive device information broadcast by a to-be-configured device not in a communication connection, and establish a direct or indirect communication connection with the to-be-configured device not in the communication connection based on the device information broadcast by the to-be-configured device not in the communication connection.” ([¶ 0086]: “Electronic device #32 is now selected to act as a network extender or bridge to propagate the network credentials, received from the portable device 16 though electronic device #51, towards the electronic devices 9 of the second set and provide network credentials thereto, such that the electronic devices 9 of the second set can connect to electronic device #32 and, through this latter, be placed in indirect data communication with the first node of the network, i.e. the electronic device #51.”)
Tazzari also discloses that each node receives a list of other nodes ([¶ 0102]: “It shall be noted that each node (i.e. each device 9) of the network is always informed about the network status, since it receives a list of connected nodes or devices and information on the network structure, i.e. on the connections among nodes of the network.”)
Tazzari does not disclose “generate a device list comprising device information of to-be-configured devices” and transmit “the device list.”
However, Franck discloses the missing feature “generate a device list comprising device information of to-be-configured devices” and transmit “the device list” ([¶¶ 0057-0058]: “First, as shown in Box 700, the source node 100 determines the topology of the network. This topology includes an address of each node in the network, and the immediate neighbors of each of these nodes. This network information may also include the capabilities of each node, such as whether it is a sleepy node, a frequently listening receiver slave, or other type of device… Then, as shown in Box 720, the source node 100 transmits various information to the selected nodes in order to enable them to operate as distribution nodes. This information includes the name of the multicast group, the nodes that are part of that multicast group and other related information.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Tazzari and Franck, to modify the message as disclosed by Tazzari, to be transmitted using a multi-cast group as disclosed by Franck. The motivation for doing so is that it increases efficiency, as discussed in paragraph 61 of Franck. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tazzari with Franck to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 2, Tazzari in view of Franck disclose all the features of the parent claim.
Tazzari does not explicitly disclose “wherein the distribution network control device is further configured to scan device identifiers of the to-be-configured devices to obtain the device information of the to-be-configured devices.”
However, Franck discloses the missing feature “wherein the distribution network control device is further configured to scan device identifiers of the to-be-configured devices to obtain the device information of the to-be-configured devices.” ([¶ 0057]: “First, as shown in Box 700, the source node 100 determines the topology of the network. This topology includes an address of each node in the network, and the immediate neighbors of each of these nodes. This network information may also include the capabilities of each node, such as whether it is a sleepy node, a frequently listening receiver slave, or other type of device.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Tazzari and Franck, to modify the technique as disclosed by Tazzari, involve scanning the to-be-configured devices for identifiers as disclosed by Franck. The motivation for doing so is that it allows optimizing to the specific network, thus improving the effectiveness of the technique, and thus further improving latency and efficiency as discussed in paragraph 61 of Franck. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tazzari with Franck to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, Tazzari in view of Franck disclose all the features of the parent claim.
Tazzari further discloses “wherein the distribution network control device is further configured to establish a communication connection with a first photovoltaic device among the plurality of photovoltaic devices, and transmit the network configuration information to the first photovoltaic device…” ([¶ 0078]: “Conversely, according to methods disclosed herein, an operator can provide the network credentials, e.g. the SSID and passphrase or password of the network access point 3, to one electronic device 9 only, while the credentials are then propagated to the other electronic devices automatically. In some embodiments, the operator may be provided with a portable device 16, such as a tablet or portable computer, with a wi-fi connection.”)
Tazzari does not explicitly disclose “the first photovoltaic device is configured to search for device information, determine the obtained device information as device information of a candidate distribution network device, and transmit the device information of the candidate distribution network device to the distribution network control device, wherein the distribution network control device is further configured to determine the to-be-configured device based on the device information of the candidate distribution network device.”
However, Franck discloses the missing feature “the first photovoltaic device is configured to search for device information, determine the obtained device information as device information of a candidate distribution network device, and transmit the device information of the candidate distribution network device to the distribution network control device, wherein the distribution network control device is further configured to determine the to-be-configured device based on the device information of the candidate distribution network device.” ([¶ 0047]: “The distribution node 108 then issues the multicast message 101 to all destination nodes within its transmission range, also known as remote destination nodes, as shown in Box 610.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Tazzari and Franck, to modify the technique as disclosed by Tazzari, distribute based on device information as disclosed by Franck. The motivation for doing so is that it allows optimizing to the specific network, thus improving the effectiveness of the technique, and thus further improving latency and efficiency as discussed in paragraph 61 of Franck. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tazzari with Franck to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Tazzari in view of Franck disclose all the features of the parent claim.
Tazzari further discloses “the distribution network control device is further configured to transmit the device list to the first photovoltaic device; and the first photovoltaic device is further configured to transmit the device list and the network configuration information to the to-be-configured devices.” ([¶ 0078]: “Conversely, according to methods disclosed herein, an operator can provide the network credentials, e.g. the SSID and passphrase or password of the network access point 3, to one electronic device 9 only, while the credentials are then propagated to the other electronic devices automatically. In some embodiments, the operator may be provided with a portable device 16, such as a tablet or portable computer, with a wi-fi connection.”)
Regarding claim 6, Tazzari in view of Franck disclose all the features of the parent claim.
Tazzari further discloses “determine, based on the received device information broadcast by the to-be-configured device, a to-be-configured device corresponding to device information indicating the strongest broadcast signal as the first distribution network device.” ([¶ 0022]: “According to embodiments disclosed herein, the electronic devices can be configured such that, if a plurality of searching electronic devices find an unconnected electronic device, the searching electronic device detecting the strongest signal from the unconnected electronic device will be selected to act as an extender or bridge towards the unconnected electronic device.”)
Regarding claim 7, Tazzari in view of Franck disclose all the features of the parent claim.
Tazzari further discloses “the first distribution network device is further configured to determine, based on the device information broadcast by the to-be-configured device not in the communication connection, a second distribution network device from the to-be-configured device not in the communication connection; and establish a communication connection with the second distribution network device based on device information of the second distribution network device; and the second distribution network device is configured to determine the second distribution network device as an updated first distribution network device, and continue to perform the process of determining a second distribution network device from the to-be-configured device not in the communication connection based on the device information broadcast by the to-be-configured device not in the communication connection; and establishing a communication connection with the second distribution network device based on device information of the second distribution network device until all the to-be-configured devices are in the communication connection.” (See Fig. 2A and the associated paragraphs).
Regarding claim 12, Tazzari discloses:
“A network configuration method for a photovoltaic distribution network system, wherein the method is applied to the photovoltaic distribution network system according to claim 1, the photovoltaic distribution network system comprises the distribution network control device, the plurality of photovoltaic devices and the router; and the method comprises… transmitting, by the distribution network control device, … and network configuration information to the to-be-configured devices, wherein the to-be-configured devices comprise at least one of the plurality of photovoltaic devices, and the network configuration information is for controlling access to a specified network;” ([¶ 0078]: “Conversely, according to methods disclosed herein, an operator can provide the network credentials, e.g. the SSID and passphrase or password of the network access point 3, to one electronic device 9 only, while the credentials are then propagated to the other electronic devices automatically. In some embodiments, the operator may be provided with a portable device 16, such as a tablet or portable computer, with a wi-fi connection.”)
“broadcasting, by the to-be-configured device, device information of the to-be-configured devices based on the network configuration information;” ([¶ 0078]: “The network credentials can thus be transmitted by the selected electronic device through the station mode function of its wireless communication unit and received by neighboring electronic devices 9 in the wireless signal range 20 of the selected electronic device 9 using the access point function of the wireless communication unit of said neighboring devices.”)
“receiving, by the router, the device information broadcast by the to-be-configured device, and establishing, by the router, a communication connection with a first distribution network device among the to-be-configured devices based on device information of the first distribution network device; and;” ([¶ 0078]: “The electronic devices which receive the network credentials from electronic device #51 can thus connect to the network access point 3.”)
“receiving, by the first distribution network device, device information broadcast by a to-be-configured device not in a communication connection, and establishing, by the first distribution network device, a direct or indirect communication connection with the to-be-configured device not in the communication connection based on the device information broadcast by the to-be-configured device not in the communication connection.” ([¶ 0086]: “Electronic device #32 is now selected to act as a network extender or bridge to propagate the network credentials, received from the portable device 16 though electronic device #51, towards the electronic devices 9 of the second set and provide network credentials thereto, such that the electronic devices 9 of the second set can connect to electronic device #32 and, through this latter, be placed in indirect data communication with the first node of the network, i.e. the electronic device #51.”)
Tazzari also discloses that each node receives a list of other nodes ([¶ 0102]: “It shall be noted that each node (i.e. each device 9) of the network is always informed about the network status, since it receives a list of connected nodes or devices and information on the network structure, i.e. on the connections among nodes of the network.”)
Tazzari does not disclose “generating, by the distribution network control device, a device list comprising device information of to-be-configured devices” and transmitting “the device list.”
However, Franck discloses the missing feature “generating, by the distribution network control device, a device list comprising device information of to-be-configured devices” and transmitting “the device list.” ([¶¶ 0057-0058]: “First, as shown in Box 700, the source node 100 determines the topology of the network. This topology includes an address of each node in the network, and the immediate neighbors of each of these nodes. This network information may also include the capabilities of each node, such as whether it is a sleepy node, a frequently listening receiver slave, or other type of device… Then, as shown in Box 720, the source node 100 transmits various information to the selected nodes in order to enable them to operate as distribution nodes. This information includes the name of the multicast group, the nodes that are part of that multicast group and other related information.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Tazzari and Franck, to modify the message as disclosed by Tazzari, to be transmitted using a multi-cast group as disclosed by Franck. The motivation for doing so is that it increases efficiency, as discussed in paragraph 61 of Franck. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tazzari with Franck to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claim(s) 8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tazzari (US 20180213416 A1) in view of Franck (US 20200084588 A1) and further in view of Mainaud (US 20130121178 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Tazzari in view of Franck disclose all the features of the parent claim.
Tazzari further discloses “determine a to-be-configured device corresponding to device information indicating a broadcast signal strength … as the second distribution network device based on the device information broadcast by the to-be-configured device not in the communication connection.” ([¶ 0022]: “According to embodiments disclosed herein, the electronic devices can be configured such that, if a plurality of searching electronic devices find an unconnected electronic device, the searching electronic device detecting the strongest signal from the unconnected electronic device will be selected to act as an extender or bridge towards the unconnected electronic device.”)
Tazzari does not explicitly disclose “reaching a preset strength threshold.”
However, Mainaud discloses the missing feature “reaching a preset strength threshold” ([¶ 0042]: “Meanwhile, the qualification module 118 either has not yet determined a quality of the link between node 102C its neighbor node 102B, or the qualification module 118 has determined that the link between node 102C and its neighbor node 102B does not meet the threshold level of quality (e.g., the link experiences interference, is has a weak or attenuated signal, or is otherwise unsuitable for transmission). Therefore, the link between node 102C and its neighbor node 102B is designated as an unqualified link in FIG. 1.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Tazzari and Mainaud, to modify the technique as disclosed by Tazzari, to utilize quality thresholds as disclosed by Mainaud. The motivation for doing so is that it allows for improved optimization and thus improved service quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tazzari with Mainaud to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 10, Tazzari in view of Franck disclose all the features of the parent claim.
Tazzari further discloses “a to-be-configured device in a communication connection is configured to detect a communication connection quality between the first distribution network device and the router; and update the first distribution network device… and the updated first distribution network device is configured to establish a new communication connection with the router; receive device information broadcast by the to-be-configured device not in the new communication connection, and establish a direct or indirect communication connection with the to-be-configured device not in the new communication connection based on the device information broadcast by the to-be-configured device not in the new communication connection.” (See Fig. 2A and the associated paragraphs).
Tazzari does not explicitly disclose “if the communication connection quality is lower than a preset quality threshold.”
However, Mainaud discloses the missing feature “if the communication connection quality is lower than a preset quality threshold.” ([¶ 0042]: “Meanwhile, the qualification module 118 either has not yet determined a quality of the link between node 102C its neighbor node 102B, or the qualification module 118 has determined that the link between node 102C and its neighbor node 102B does not meet the threshold level of quality (e.g., the link experiences interference, is has a weak or attenuated signal, or is otherwise unsuitable for transmission). Therefore, the link between node 102C and its neighbor node 102B is designated as an unqualified link in FIG. 1.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Tazzari and Mainaud, to modify the technique as disclosed by Tazzari, to utilize quality thresholds as disclosed by Mainaud. The motivation for doing so is that it allows for improved optimization and thus improved service quality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tazzari with Mainaud to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 11, Tazzari in view of Franck disclose all the features of the parent claim.
Tazzari further discloses “obtain a communication connection quality between each of the to-be-configured devices and the router; and determine the to-be-configured device with the highest communication connection quality as the updated first distribution network device.” ([¶ 0022]: “According to embodiments disclosed herein, the electronic devices can be configured such that, if a plurality of searching electronic devices find an unconnected electronic device, the searching electronic device detecting the strongest signal from the unconnected electronic device will be selected to act as an extender or bridge towards the unconnected electronic device.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, of the closest prior arts Tazzari (US 20180213416 A1) in view of Franck (US 20200084588 A1) discloses all the features of the parent claims. Franck further discloses “the to-be-configured device is further configured to transmit, on receipt of the device list and the network configuration information, confirmation information” as element 620 in Fig. 6. However, Tazzari in view of Franck do not disclose “the distribution network control device is further configured to transmit query information to each of the to-be-configured devices, wherein the query information is used to query whether the device list and the network configuration information are received by the to-be-configured device; and the to-be-configured device is further configured to transmit, on receipt of the device list and the network configuration information, confirmation information corresponding to the query information to the distribution network control device” holistically within the context of the parent claim. The cited references fail to anticipate or render the above limitations in combination with all the recited limitations of claims 5 obvious, over any of the prior art of record, alone or in combination.
Regarding claim 9, of the closest prior arts Tazzari (US 20180213416 A1) in view of Franck (US 20200084588 A1) and Mainaud (US 20130121178 A1) discloses all the features of the parent claims. However, Tazzari in view of Franck and Mainaud do not disclose “select, if a quantity of the to-be-configured device corresponding to the device information indicating the broadcast signal strength reaching the preset strength threshold is greater than a preset quantity threshold, the preset quantity threshold of the to-be-configured device as the second distribution network device from the to-be-configured device corresponding to the device information indicating the broadcast signal strength reaching the preset strength threshold” holistically within the context of the parent claim. The cited references fail to anticipate or render the above limitations in combination with all the recited limitations of claims 9 obvious, over any of the prior art of record, alone or in combination.
Conclusion
/SAAD KHAWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412