DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the claims and response filed on 9 September 2026.
Claims 1, 4-5, 12, and 15-16 have been amended.
Claims 1-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page(s) 8-9, filed 9 September 2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 101 rejection of claims 1-22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Under further consideration, the Examiner is withdrawing the 101 rejection. Claims 1 and 12 recite: “the decoder comprises a stack of decoder blocks, each decoder block comprising one or more residual units and one or more respective Feature-wise Linear Modulation (FiLM) layers, the FiLM layers conditioned on the latent speaker embedding.” These additional elements in combination provide a technical improvement in the field of voice conversion by using machine learning. The amendments to the claim adds specificity to a decoder being used to generate synthetic speech based upon soft speech representation, acoustic estimation, semantic information, etc. Using this particular decoder improves the technical field of voice conversion by producing more accurately synthesized speech. Therefore, claims 1 and 12 are deemed as eligible. Claims 2-11 and 13-22 are dependent on claims 1 and 12. The 101 rejections of claims 1-22 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page(s) 10-12, filed September 9, 2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-22 have been fully considered but are moot due to the Examiner relying on new references not previously used for the newly amended limitation of claims 1 and 12. Applicant’s arguments are directed towards Huang, Zhu, Wu, Sun, Liu, Qian and Yu, however, the Examiner is relying on prior art, Zaidi, to teach the amended features from the arguments. The Examiner maintains the 35 USC § 103 claim rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 12 under Huang in view of Zhu in view of Wu in further view of Zaidi. Claims 2-11 and 13-22 depend on claims 1 and 12, respectively. Therefore, claims 2-11 and 13-22 are also rejected for similar reasons.
Subject Matter Eligibility
The claims are directed towards eligible subject matter for the following reasons:
Independent claims 1 and 12 recite the following additional elements:
generating, at each of a plurality of output steps, using a content encoder of a voice conversion model, a soft speech representation for a corresponding acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames;
generating, at each of the plurality of output steps, using a decoder of the voice conversion model, a synthetic speech representation for the corresponding acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames based on the soft speech representation generated by the content encoder and the acoustic estimation,
wherein the decoder comprises a stack of decoder blocks, each decoder block comprising one or more residual units and one or more respective Feature-wise Linear Modulation (FiLM) layers, the FiLM layers conditioned on the latent speaker embedding.
These additional elements in combination provide a technical improvement in the field of voice conversion by using machine learning. The amendments to the claim adds specificity to a decoder being used to generate synthetic speech based upon soft speech representation, acoustic estimation, semantic information, etc. Using this particular decoder improves the technical field of voice conversion by producing more accurately synthesized speech. Therefore, claims 1 and 12 are deemed as eligible. Claims 2-11 and 13-22 are dependent on claims 1 and 12. Therefore, the 101 rejections of claims 1-22 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7, 12-13, 15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20250061908 A1) in view of Zhu (see attached NPL) in further view of Wu (US 20220165249 A1) in further view of Zaidi (see attached NPL).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a computer-implemented method that when executed on data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “data processing device”) comprising:
receiving a sequence of acoustic frames characterizing a source speech utterance comprising semantic information and source speech characteristics; (see at least Paragraph [0133] “In S301, source audio data and a tone feature of a target speaker are acquired.”; Paragraph [0138] “the user inputs a synthesis request on an intelligent device, such that the intelligent device is controlled by the synthesis request to synthesize audio data of a certain speaking content from the target speaker. […] the synthesis request is input by inputting voice information”; Paragraph [0139] “The source audio data refers to audio data configured to provide semantic information”; Paragraph [0111] “audio frames contained in each piece of sample audio data”; Paragraph [0111] explains that audio data exists in frames; step 301 of Fig. 3)
obtaining a latent speaker embedding representing target speech characteristics; (see at least Paragraph [0145] “the electronic device performing the tone conversion determines a tone feature of the target speaker based on the information of the target speaker.”; Paragraph [0095] explains that the tone feature can be represented as a tone vector; step 301 of Fig. 3)
generating, at each of a plurality of output steps, using a content encoder [posterior encoder of Fig. 4] of a voice conversion model, a (Paragraph [0165] “By a posteriori encoder included in the tone network in the tone conversion model, such as the posterior encoder shown in FIG. 4, a hidden vector (such as z.sub.sq) of semantic information in the source audio data is acquired based on the tone feature corresponding to the source audio data and a linear spectrogram (such as the linear spectrogram shown in FIG. 4) corresponding to the source audio data.”; Fig. 4)
generating, at each of the plurality of output steps, using a decoder of the voice conversion model, a synthetic speech representation for (Paragraph [0167] “The synthesized audio data is acquired by the vocoder (decoder) shown in FIG. 4 based on that semantic feature and the tone feature of the target speaker (such as the speaker inner embedding shown in FIG. 4). That is, the original waveform shown in FIG. 4 is acquired.”; Fig. 4)
Huang does not teach:
generating, at each of a plurality of output steps, using a content encoder of a voice conversion model, a soft speech representation for a corresponding acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames;
determining, at each of the plurality of output steps, an acoustic estimation for the corresponding acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames; and
generating, at each of the plurality of output steps, using a decoder of the voice conversion model, a synthetic speech representation for the corresponding acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames based on the soft speech representation generated by the content encoder and the acoustic estimation, the synthetic speech representation comprising the semantic information of the source speech utterance and the target speech characteristics of the latent speaker embedding, wherein the decoder comprises a stack of decoder blocks, each decoder block comprising one or more residual units and one or more respective Feature-wise Linear Modulation (FiLM) layers, the FiLM layers conditioned on the latent speaker embedding.
However, Zhu teaches:
a soft speech representation for a corresponding acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames; (see at least Page 3 “the MFCC parameters of each frame of normal speech and whispered speech were extracted, and then the reference normal speech and whispered speech were processed with dynamic time warping (DTW). The normal speech-whispered speech joint MFCC feature distribution model was then constructed using GMM.” Of Zhu)
a synthetic speech representation for the corresponding acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames based on the soft speech representation. (see at least Page 3 “the MFCC features of whispered speech were converted to the MFCC features of normal speech using the established GMM from the first stage, and the normal speech was then synthesized using the MFCC features of normal speech.” of Zhu)
This step of Zhu is applicable to the method of Huang as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to synthesizing speech. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Huang to incorporate the soft speech representation as taught by Zhu. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Huang in order to convert whispered speech into normal speech (see Page 1: Introduction of Zhu). Further, Zhu is directly applicable to Huang given that Huang’s acoustic features are detailed using cestrum coefficients [0070], and Zhu is directed to MFCC feature parameters of normal speech. Inclusion of Zhu therefore would also provide the beneficial features found in Zhu, namely distortion reduction and achieving improvements in intelligibility and sound quality (see abstract and conclusion of Zhu).
Huang in view of Zhu does not teach:
determining, at each of the plurality of output steps, an acoustic estimation for the corresponding acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames.
a speech representation for the corresponding acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames based on the acoustic estimation;
and the decoder comprises a stack of decoder blocks, each decoder block comprising one or more residual units and one or more respective Feature-wise Linear Modulation (FiLM) layers, the FiLM layers conditioned on the latent speaker embedding.
However, Wu teaches:
determining, at each of the plurality of output steps, an acoustic estimation for the corresponding acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames. (see at least Paragraph [0070] “In step S302, the speech samples corresponding to each training text are divided into different frames according to a preset frequency, and the acoustic characteristic parameters are extracted for each frame” of Wu)
a synthetic speech representation for the corresponding acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames based on the acoustic estimation. (see at least Paragraph [0061] “After the acoustic characteristic parameters of the input phoneme sequence are obtained by prediction, the acoustic characteristic parameters (for example, Mel spectrum parameters) are input into the vocoder parameter conversion model to be converted into the vocoder characteristic parameter, and then speech synthesis may be performed by the vocoder.” of Wu)
This step of Wu is applicable to the method of Huang in view of Zhu as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to synthesizing speech. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Huang in view of Zhu to incorporate determining and using an acoustic estimation as taught by Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Huang in view of Zhu in order to allow a more accurate, smooth and natural synthesized speech (see paragraph [0029] of Wu).
Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu does not teach:
the decoder comprises a stack of decoder blocks, each decoder block comprising one or more residual units and one or more respective Feature-wise Linear Modulation (FiLM) layers, the FiLM layers conditioned on the latent speaker embedding.
However, Zaidi teaches:
the decoder comprises a stack of decoder blocks, each decoder block comprising one or more residual units and one or more respective Feature-wise Linear Modulation (FiLM) layers, the FiLM layers conditioned on the latent speaker embedding. (See at least Page 2, section 2.1 “A FFT block implements a multi-head self-attention and two 1D-convolution layers, each followed by a residual connection and layer normalization, as depicted in Figure 2a. […] the frame decoder predicts spectrogram frames from the upsampled hidden sequence by applying several FFT blocks followed by a linear layer.”; Fig. 2(a) on Page 2 also shows that the FFT block includes a FiLM layer; Page 3, section 2.2 “a speaker embedding is added to the prosody vector to specify the identity of the target voice. Finally, a linear layer predicts a β and a γ value for each conditioned feature in the core acoustic model. The γ and β values correspond to the scaling and bias performed by the FiLM layer.”)
This step of Zaidi is applicable to the method of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to speech synthesis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the decoder of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu to incorporate the decoder architecture as taught by Zaidi. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in order to increase control over the prosody of the synthetic speech through prosody transfer (see the introduction on page 1 of Zaidi).
Regarding claim 2, Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Huang does not teach:
wherein the soft speech representation comprises a probability distribution of discrete speech units.
However, Zhu teaches:
wherein the soft speech representation comprises a probability distribution of discrete speech units. (see at least Page 3 “the MFCC parameters of each frame of normal speech and whispered speech were extracted, and then the reference normal speech and whispered speech were processed with dynamic time warping (DTW). The normal speech-whispered speech joint MFCC feature distribution model was then constructed using GMM.” Of Zhu)
The motivation for making this modification to the teachings of Huang is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Huang further teaches:
wherein the decoder (vocoder/decoder of Huang; Fig. 2 of Huang) further comprises:
a first decoder convolution layer; (Paragraph [0080] “The vocoder is a high efficiency (HiFiGAN) vocoder”; Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art knows HiFiGAN vocoders use multiple convolution layers.) and
a second decoder convolution layer. (Paragraph [0080] “The vocoder is a high efficiency (HiFiGAN) vocoder”; Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art knows HiFiGAN vocoders use multiple convolution layers.)
Regarding claim 6, Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Huang further teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving a sequence of acoustic frame characterizing a target speech utterance comprising target speech characteristics; (see at least Paragraph [0133] “In S301, source audio data and a tone feature of a target speaker are acquired.”; Paragraph [0111] “audio frames contained in each piece of sample audio data”; Paragraph [0111] explains that audio data exists in frames; step 301 of Fig. 3)
(see at least Paragraph [0145] “the electronic device performing the tone conversion determines a tone feature of the target speaker based on the information of the target speaker.”; Paragraph [0095] explains that the tone feature can be represented as a tone vector; step 301 of Fig. 3)
Huang does not teach:
for each respective acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames,
generating, using a speaker encoder, a corresponding speaker encoding for the respective acoustic frame; and
aggregating the speaker encodings generated for the sequence of acoustic frames to generate the latent speaker embedding.
However, Zhu teaches:
for each respective acoustic frame from the sequence of acoustic frames,
generating, using a speaker encoder, a corresponding speaker encoding for the respective acoustic frame; (see at least Page 4 “the MFCC parameters of each frame of normal speech and whispered speech were extracted”; Page 6 “The frame segmentation was performed on the signals, with a frame length of 512 sampling points” of Zhu) and
aggregating the speaker encodings generated for the sequence of acoustic frames to generate the latent speaker embedding. (see at least Page 6 “three frames of whispered speech and one frame of normal speech constituted a joint feature vector.” Of Zhu)
This step of Zhu is applicable to the method of Huang as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to synthesizing speech with audio processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Huang to incorporate encoding the audio frame by frame to generate the latent speaker embedding as taught by Zhu. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Huang in order to achieve better conversion effectiveness (see Page 6 of Zhu).
Regarding claim 7, Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Huang further teaches:
wherein the voice conversion model is trained by a training process based on training data comprising a plurality of training source speech utterances each paired with a corresponding target speech utterance. (see at least Paragraph [0042] “In S101, a sample set is acquired, wherein the sample set contains sample audio data of different speakers, each piece of the sample audio data corresponds to a piece of target audio data”; Fig. 1 showing the training process of Huang)
Claim 12:
Claim(s) 12 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 12 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 1, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 12 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 1, respectively. Claim 12 further recites memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “a computer-readable memory capable of directing the computer or other programmable data processing device to operate in a particular manner” of Huang)
Claim 13:
Claim(s) 13 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 13 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 2, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 13 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 2, respectively. Claim 13 further recites memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “a computer-readable memory capable of directing the computer or other programmable data processing device to operate in a particular manner” of Huang)
Claim 15:
Claim(s) 15 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 15 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 4, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 15 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 4, respectively. Claim 15 further recites memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “a computer-readable memory capable of directing the computer or other programmable data processing device to operate in a particular manner” of Huang)
Claim 17:
Claim(s) 17 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 17 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 6, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 17 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 6, respectively. Claim 17 further recites memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “a computer-readable memory capable of directing the computer or other programmable data processing device to operate in a particular manner” of Huang)
Claim 18:
Claim(s) 18 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 18 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 7, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 18 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 7, respectively. Claim 18 further recites memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “a computer-readable memory capable of directing the computer or other programmable data processing device to operate in a particular manner” of Huang)
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20250061908 A1) in view of Zhu (see attached NPL) in further view of Wu (US 20220165249 A1) in further view of Zaidi (see attached NPL) in further view of Sun (US 20230401429 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1.Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi does not teach:
wherein the content encoder comprises:
a first encoder convolution layer;
a stack of encoder blocks; and
a second encoder convolution layer.
However, Sun teaches:
wherein the content encoder comprises:
a first encoder convolution layer; (Paragraph [0050] “each encoding layer 11, 12, 13, of the repeated application of convolutions”; Fig. 1 of Sun)
a stack of encoder blocks; (Paragraph [0050] “The U-net architecture builds upon a stack of convolutional layers organized in a contracting path including encoding layers 11, 12, 13”) and
a second encoder convolution layer. (Paragraph [0050] “each encoding layer 11, 12, 13, of the repeated application of convolutions”; Fig. 1 of Sun)
This step of Sun is applicable to the method of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to audio processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi to incorporate the structure of the content encoder as taught by Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in order to handle various audio processing problems including vocal separation, speech enhancement and speech source separation (see paragraph [0007] of Sun).
Claim 14:
Claim(s) 14 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 14 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 3, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 14 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 3, respectively. Claim 14 further recites memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “a computer-readable memory capable of directing the computer or other programmable data processing device to operate in a particular manner” of Huang)
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20250061908 A1) in view of Zhu (see attached NPL) in further view of Wu (US 20220165249 A1) in further view of Zaidi (see attached NPL) in further view of Liu (see attached NPL).
Regarding claim 5, Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 4. Huang does not teach:
wherein each decoder block further comprises:
a strided convolution layer.
However, Liu teaches:
wherein each decoder block (Page 3 “Fig. 3, […] up-sample blocks and downsample blocks”; Fig. 3) comprises:
a strided convolution layer. (Page 2 “The down-sample layer adopts a strided 2D convolutional structure to down-sample the input mel spectrograms”)
This step of Liu is applicable to the method of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to voice conversion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the decoder of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi to incorporate a strided convolution layer as taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in order to improve inference speed (see Page 1: Abstract of Liu).
Claim 16:
Claim(s) 16 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 16 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 5, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 16 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 5, respectively. Claim 16 further recites memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “a computer-readable memory capable of directing the computer or other programmable data processing device to operate in a particular manner” of Huang)
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20250061908 A1) in view of Zhu (see attached NPL) in further view of Wu (US 20220165249 A1) in further view of Zaidi (see attached NPL) in further view of Qian (US 20240170007 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7. Huang further teaches:
wherein, for each respective training source speech utterance, the training process trains the voice conversion model (see at least paragraph [0041] “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a training process of a tone conversion model”; paragraph [0042] “In S101, a sample set is acquired, wherein the sample set contains sample audio data of different speakers, each piece of the sample audio data corresponds to a piece of target audio data”; Fig. 1) by:
predicting, using the content encoder, a (see at least Paragraph [0064] “any sample audio data in the sample set is acquired, and the sample audio data is input into the original tone conversion model. By the original tone conversion model, based on the sample audio data and the tone feature (denoted as the second tone feature) of the target audio data corresponding to the sample audio data, the synthesized audio data corresponding to the sample audio data is acquired.”; Fig. 1)
generating(see at least Paragraph [0060] “for each piece of sample audio data in the sample set, target audio data of a different speaker with the same semantic information as the sample audio data is determined.”; Fig. 1)
determining a (see at least Paragraph [0085] “based on the target audio data corresponding to each piece of sample audio data and the corresponding synthesized audio data, a reconstruction loss value is determined”; Fig. 1) and
training the content encoder based on the (see at least Paragraph [0085] “based on the reconstruction loss value, the value of the parameter in the original tone conversion model is adjusted, and thus the trained tone conversion model is acquired.”; Fig. 1)
Huang does not teach:
predicting, using the content encoder, a soft speech representation for the respective training source speech utterance;
generating, using a Hidden-Unit BERT model, a target soft speech representation for the respective training source speech utterance; and
determining a cross-entropy loss based on the predicted soft speech representation and the target soft speech representation; and
training the content encoder based on the cross-entropy loss.
However, Zhu teaches the known technique of the representation being a soft speech representation (see at least Page 3 “the MFCC parameters of each frame of normal speech and whispered speech were extracted, and then the reference normal speech and whispered speech were processed with dynamic time warping (DTW). The normal speech-whispered speech joint MFCC feature distribution model was then constructed using GMM.” Of Zhu)
This step of Zhu is applicable to the method of Huang as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to synthesizing speech. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the representation of Huang to be a soft speech representation as taught by Zhu. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Huang in order to convert whispered speech into normal speech (see Page 1: Introduction of Zhu).
Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi does not teach:
generating, using a Hidden-Unit BERT model, a target soft speech representation for the respective training source speech utterance; and
determining a cross-entropy loss based on the predicted soft speech representation and the target soft speech representation; and
training the content encoder based on the cross-entropy loss.
However, Qian teaches:
generating, using a Hidden-Unit BERT model, a target speech representation for the respective training source speech utterance; (see at least Paragraph [0056] “the converted utterances may be passed through a pre-trained unsupervised speech representation network, (in this scenario HUBERT), to generate a set of speech representations”; Fig. 4 of Qian) and
determining a cross-entropy loss based on the predicted speech representation and the target speech representation; (see at least Paragraph [0036] “a cross-entropy loss between the generated label sequence and the predicted label sequence.”; Fig. 2 of Qian)
training the content encoder based on the cross-entropy loss. (see at least Paragraph [0057] “contrastive loss may be introduced to penalize dissimilarity between R.sup.(1) and R.sup.(2)”; Paragraph [0054] “cross-entropy loss”; Fig. 4 of Qian)
This step of Qian is applicable to the method of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to determining speech representations from audio. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the generation of the target speech representation of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi to use HuBERT and for the loss of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi to be cross-entropy loss as taught by Qian. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in order to provide self-supervised speech representations (see paragraph [0002] of Qian).
Claim 19:
Claim(s) 19 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 19 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 8, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 19 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 8, respectively. Claim 19 further recites memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “a computer-readable memory capable of directing the computer or other programmable data processing device to operate in a particular manner” of Huang)
Claim(s) 9-11 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20250061908 A1) in view of Zhu (see attached NPL) in further view of Wu (US 20220165249 A1) in further view of Zaidi (see attached NPL) in further view of Qian (US 20240170007 A1) in further view of Yu (US 20260141908 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in further view of Qian teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8. Huang further teaches:
wherein the training process further trains the voice conversion model (Fig. 2) or a multi-scale (Paragraph [0115] “train a multi-scale discriminator”) by:
generating, using the decoder, a synthetic speech representation for the predicted (see at least Paragraph [0095] “by the decoder shown in FIG. 2, the synthesized audio data (raw waveform) is acquired based on the first semantic feature and the second tone feature (speaker inner embedding) of the target audio data corresponding to the sample audio data.”; Fig. 2)
receiving, as input to the multi-scale (Paragraph [0115] “The HiFiGAN vocoder includes […] a multi-scale discriminator”)
determining, using the multi-scale or the respective training target speech utterance, the classification comprising a synthetic speech classification or a non-synthetic speech classification; (see at least Paragraph [0118] “it is expected that the generator in the HiFiGAN vocoder is capable of synthesizing synthesized audio data that is close to the target audio data, such that the discriminator in the HiFiGAN vocoder fails to determine whether the audio data is the target audio data or the synthesized audio data.”)
determining an adversarial loss based on the classification; (see at least Paragraph [0118] “the discriminator in the HiFiGAN vocoder fails to determine whether the audio data is the target audio data or the synthesized audio data. Based on this, the loss value of the HiFiGAN vocoder further includes a generative adversarial loss value.”) and
training the voice conversion model or the multi-scale STFT discriminator based on the adversarial loss. (see at least Paragraph [0121] “Upon acquisition of the loss value of the vocoder based on the above embodiments, the value of each parameter in the original tone conversion model is adjusted based on the loss value of the vocoder”)
Huang does not teach:
generating, using the decoder, a synthetic speech representation for the predicted
However, Zhu teaches:
generating, using the decoder, a synthetic speech representation for the predicted soft speech representation; (see at least Page 3 “the MFCC features of whispered speech were converted to the MFCC features of normal speech using the established GMM from the first stage, and the normal speech was then synthesized using the MFCC features of normal speech.” of Zhu)
The motivation for making this modification to the teachings of Huang is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of claim 1.
Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in further view of Qian does not teach:
the multi-scale discriminator being the multi-scale STFT discriminator.
However, Yu teaches:
the multi-scale discriminator being the multi-scale STFT discriminator. (Paragraph [0224] “a multi-scale STFT discriminator is used” of Yu)
This step of Yu is applicable to the method of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in further view of Qian as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to voice signal decoding. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the multi-scale discriminator of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in further view of Qian to make it a multi-scale STFT discriminator as taught by Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in further view of Qian in order to train a voice coding system (see paragraph [0224] of Yu).
Regarding claim 10, Huang in view of Zhu in view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in further view of Qian in further view of Yu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 9. Huang further teaches:
wherein the training process further trains the voice conversion model by:
determining a feature loss based on an output of the multi-scale (see at least Paragraph [0115] “The HiFiGAN vocoder […] a multi-scale discriminator […] The HiFiGAN vocoder uses a feature matching loss as an additional loss for training the generator, and stabilizes the GAN by extracting each intermediate feature of the discriminator and calculating a distance L1 between the target audio data and the synthesized audio data in each feature space.”) and
training the voice conversion model based on the feature loss. (see at least Paragraph [0121] “Upon acquisition of the loss value of the vocoder based on the above embodiments, the value of each parameter in the original tone conversion model is adjusted based on the loss value of the vocoder”)
Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in further view of Qian does not teach:
the multi-scale discriminator being the multi-scale STFT discriminator.
However, Yu teaches:
the multi-scale discriminator being the multi-scale STFT discriminator. (Paragraph [0224] “a multi-scale STFT discriminator is used” of Yu)
The motivation for making this modification to the teachings of Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in further view of Qian is the same as that set forth above, in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Huang in view of Zhu in further view of Wu in further view of Zaidi in further view of Qian in further view of Yu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 9. Huang further teaches:
wherein the training process further trains the voice conversion model by:
determining a reconstruction loss based on the synthetic speech representation generated by the decoder and the corresponding target speech utterance; (see at least Paragraph [0122] “based on the target audio data and synthesized audio data corresponding to each piece of sample audio data, the reconstruction loss value is determined”; Fig. 2 shows the synthetic speech being generated by the decoder.) and
training the voice conversion model based on the reconstruction loss. (see at least Paragraph [0122] “Based on the reconstruction loss value and the loss value of the vocoder, the composite loss value is determined. Based on the composite loss value, the value of each parameter in the original tone conversion model is adjusted.”)
Claim 20:
Claim(s) 20 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 20 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 9, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 20 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 9, respectively. Claim 20 further recites memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “a computer-readable memory capable of directing the computer or other programmable data processing device to operate in a particular manner” of Huang)
Claim 21:
Claim(s) 21 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 21 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 10, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 21 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 10, respectively. Claim 21 further recites memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “a computer-readable memory capable of directing the computer or other programmable data processing device to operate in a particular manner” of Huang)
Claim 22:
Claim(s) 22 is/are directed to a system. Claim(s) 22 recite limitations parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim(s) 11, which are directed towards a method. Claim(s) 22 is/are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set above for claim(s) 11, respectively. Claim 22 further recites memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (see at least Paragraph [0202] “a computer-readable memory capable of directing the computer or other programmable data processing device to operate in a particular manner” of Huang)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIELLE ELIZABETH ZEVITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2655 /ANDREW C FLANDERS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2655