Double Patenting
Claims 1- 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 3 respectively of U.S. Patent No. US 11184060 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 – 3 of the instant application are wholly contained in the corresponding claims of US 11184060 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenne et al. (US 20130083867) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 20160294417).
Regarding claim 1, Frenne discloses a terminal (Fig. 8; [0037]) comprising:
a processor ([0107]) configured to:
modulate encoded information to generate modulated symbols (Fig. 8, blocks 803 – 809; [0055] – [0056]), and
precode the modulated symbols according to second control information, the second control information indicating a precoding matrix (Fig. 8; blocks 815b, 815c; [0058]; linear phase shifts which can be selected by the designer i.e. a design choice, so 2nd control information is inherent);
and a transmitter configured to transmit the precoded modulated symbols (Fig. 8, blocks 817a – 817d transmit the signal; [0061]);
and the precoding matrix is selected from among a plurality of precoding matrices, the precoding matrices including a first matrix according to which phase shift is performed on at least one symbol of the modulated symbols (Fig. 8, blocks 815b, 815c provide linear phase shifts which can be selected by the designer i.e. a design choice).
Frenne does not disclose:
the modulation scheme is selected from among a plurality of modulation schemes, the modulation schemes including a π/2-shift Binary Phase-Shift Keying (BPSK) scheme;
the first control information indicating a modulation scheme;
In the same field of endeavor, however, Suzuki discloses the modulation scheme is selected from among a plurality of modulation schemes, the modulation schemes including a π/2-shift Binary Phase-Shift Keying (BPSK) scheme ([0081]; [0122] disclose several more modulation schemes);
the first control information indicating a modulation scheme ([0122] discloses several modulation schemes, so selecting one is inherent).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to use the method, as taught by Suzuki in the system of Frenne because π/2-shift Binary Phase-Shift Keying (BPSK) scheme makes it easier to do synchronization at the receiver as it eliminates the signal being constant for long strings of “1”s and “0”s.
Regarding claim 2, Frenne discloses a first modulated symbol and a second modulated symbol that is phase shifted (Fig. 8, blocks 815b, 815c disclose linear phase shifts. Under Rationales for Obviousness (MPEP 2143, Rationales E, F), using phase shifts of π/2 and zero are obvious variations or design choices of the linear phases. One of ordinary skill in the art can select these phases to help improve timing detection at the receiver.
π/2-shift BPSK scheme is analyzed as in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Frenne discloses the modulated symbols include odd-numbered modulated symbols and even-numbered modulated symbols ([0037]; Fig. 8, block “symbol splitter”; [0050]), and a phase of each of the odd-numbered modulated symbols is shifted by π/2 and a phase of each of the even-numbered modulated symbols is not shifted (Fig. 8, blocks 815b, 815c disclose linear phase shifts. Under Rationales for Obviousness (MPEP 2143, Rationales E, F), using phase shifts of π/2 and zero are obvious variations or design choices of the linear phases. One of ordinary skill in the art can select these phases to help improve timing detection at the receiver).
π/2-shift BPSK scheme is analyzed as in claim 1 above.
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to DFTs- OFDM schemes:
Castelain (US 20100014413) discloses a DFT-s OFDM transmission scheme.
Papasakellariou (US 20100195604) discloses a DFT-s OFDM transmission scheme.
Contact Information
/ADOLF DSOUZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632