DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 11/21/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Malmaud, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0367810 (“Malmaud”).
With regard to Claim 1, Malmaud teaches a method of media content interaction, comprising:
in response to a predetermined operation for an application, presenting, in the application, media content associated with a target object ([0073] describes a user transmitting a request to view a video through a video sharing website, online hosting service, or other platform. The video is played in a user interface, and includes one or more entities); and
presenting, while presenting the media content, a search entry for the target object and a search keyword associated with the target object ([0087] describes that a search query provider can include information to render in the interface one or more suggested search queries based on entities identified with respect to the video).
Claim 12 recites an electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions executable by the at least one processing unit (Fig. 2) to cause the device to carry out the method of Claim 1, and is similarly rejected.
Claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, the computer program being executable by a processor (Fig. 2) to implement acts comprising the method of Claim 1, and the claim is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 2, Malmaud teaches presenting the search entry for the target object and the search keyword associated with the target object comprises:
in response to an event related to the media content, switching a presentation mode of the media content from a first mode to a second mode different from the first mode ([0122] describes that a first entity card is displayed on an interface at a time when the first entity is mentioned. Therefore, the presentation of the media prior to an entity for which a card exists is done without entity cards displayed, while cards are displayed at other times while the video is playing); and
presenting, while presenting the media content in the second mode, the search entry and the search keyword ([0112] and Fig. 5A show that the entity card includes the search entry including the search keyword corresponding to the entity).
Claim 13 recites an electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions executable by the at least one processing unit (Fig. 2) to cause the device to carry out the method of Claim 2, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 3, Malmaud teaches that the event comprises at least one of: a duration of presenting the media content in the first mode reaching a predetermined duration, or a first predetermined user operation for the media content being received. [0122] describes that the first card is not displayed until the video has progressed to the time point that the entity is first mentioned.
Claim 14 recites an electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions executable by the at least one processing unit (Fig. 2) to cause the device to carry out the method of Claim 3, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 4, Malmaud teaches in response to a search trigger operation for the target object, presenting a search result for the target object, wherein the search result is obtained based on the search keyword. [0112] describes that the search element is selectable to execute a search for the first entity.
Claim 15 recites an electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions executable by the at least one processing unit (Fig. 2) to cause the device to carry out the method of Claim 4, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 5, Malmaud teaches that at least one of the following is customized for the target object: a presentation style of the search result, or at least a portion of a content comprised in the search result. [0072] describes that content can be customized by ranking results according to relevance or popularity.
With regard to Claim 6, Malmaud teaches that presenting the search result comprises: in response to a first search control presented in association with the search entry being triggered, presenting the search result. [0112] describes that the displayed search entry is a selectable element whose selection causes the search to be executed.
With regard to Claim 7, Malmaud teaches that presenting the search result comprises: in response to the search entry being triggered, presenting a search page comprising a second search control, wherein the search keyword is displayed in a keyword input region of the search page; and in response to the second search control being triggered while the search keyword is displayed, presenting the search result. [0108] describes that the search results pager of Fig. 4C is displayed in response to a user selecting a search control. The entity name is copied into the search box of the search results page, and the search of the entered entity is executed.
With regard to Claim 9, Malmaud teaches presenting, together with the search entry and the search keyword, one or more operation controls of the application in a predetermined style. [0107] describes that a second entity card in an interface is included in a collapsed display style, with a control for expanding to full size.
Claim 17 recites an electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions executable by the at least one processing unit (Fig. 2) to cause the device to carry out the method of Claim 9, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 10, Malmaud teaches stopping presenting the media content, the search entry, and the search keyword in response to at least one of: all of the media content being presented, or a second predetermined user operation for switching a presentation content being received; and presenting a further media content that is a non-promotional content. [0073] describes that a user transmitting a request to view a video to an online platform or service causes the video to be played, and the entities and related information identified for generating the entity cards and search information as described in the reference. Therefore, a user is able to select a different video for viewing, which will have its own entities and related cards displayed therefore, ending a previously displayed video and the display of entity information therewith.
Claim 18 recites an electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions executable by the at least one processing unit (Fig. 2) to cause the device to carry out the method of Claim 10, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 11, Malmaud teaches that the predetermined operation comprises the application being started. [0073] describes accessing a video streaming service or website to select a video for viewing, which comprises starting either a web browser or video streaming or platform application, where [0075] describes the browser and video applications.
Claim 19 recites an electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions executable by the at least one processing unit (Fig. 2) to cause the device to carry out the method of Claim 11, and is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malmaud, in view of Seide, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2007/0244902 (“Seide”).
With regard to Claim 8, Malmaud, in view of Seide teaches that the search entry and the search keyword are superposed on the media content. Malmaud teaches the search entry and search keyword, as described above. Seide teaches at Fig. 8 that a search bar and one or more suggested searches can be displayed on a layer directly over top of a video. [0048] describes that the related search strings are keywords identified in the content.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to modify Malmaud to enable superimposing search capability as described in Seide. One of skill in the art would have sought the modification, to improve user experience by providing additional content display options that may better cater to some users’ preferences.
Claim 16 recites an electronic device, comprising: at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions executable by the at least one processing unit (Malmaud, Fig. 2) to cause the device to carry out the method of Claim 8, and is similarly rejected.
Conclusion
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
8/31/2026