DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The receipt of Oath/Declaration is acknowledged.
Drawings
6. The receipt of Drawings is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yabe (US PG. Pub. 2021/0200493 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, Yabe teaches a printing system comprising a hardware processor (See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein, when a print job has been executed, the hardware processor stores, in a storage, an adjusted color conversion table adjusted by a user used in the print job, and type information of an object shown in an image to be printed that has been identified by image analysis in association with each other (See Yabe, Sect. [0029], The color conversion unit 201 performs color conversion processing to convert the color space (here, RGB color space) of the input bitmap data into the color space (here, CMYK) for print data by using a color conversion table and stores input values and output values in association with each other at a plurality of discrete points within the color space. The general color conversion LUT 211 is a color conversion table for converting the color values (RGB values) of various tones in the RGB color space into the corresponding color values (CMYK values) in the CMYK color space and is created and stored in advance in a case where the tone characteristic of the printer 120 is in the standard state. Further, the color conversion unit 201 also performs the special color conversion described previously. In this special color conversion, based on a special color conversion LUT 212, specific RGB values corresponding to an adjustment-target color within bitmap data are converted into specific CMYK values corresponding to a destination color specified by a user.), and
wherein, when executing a new print job, the hardware processor generates a screen for setting a color conversion table to be used in the new print job, and displays, in the screen, identification information of each of a plurality of the adjusted color conversion tables stored in the storage together with the type information of the object in a selectable manner as a list of color conversion table use history (See Yabe, Figs. 3, 4A and 4B, Sect. [0036] lines 1-17, At S303, printing control processing of a chart (color sample chart) in which a color patch corresponding to each of the plurality of candidate colors determined at S302 is arranged is performed. FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B are each a diagram showing an example of the UI screen at the time of performing special color conversion. Then, FIG. 4A shows a state of the UI screen in the scene in which instructions to print the color sample chart are received. In a square 401 within the UI screen shown in FIG. 4A, the color corresponding to the adjustment-target color is displayed and in three squares 402a to 402c, the colors corresponding to the plurality of candidate colors respectively are displayed. Here, the number of candidate colors is three, but the number is not limited to this. In a case where a user presses down a “Print” button 403, image data of the color sample chart is generated and sent to the print unit 126 and printed and output.).
Referring to Claim 2, Yabe teaches the printing system according to claim 1
(See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein the hardware processor has a function of converting characteristics of an
input/output curve of the adjusted color conversion table into summary information represented by a letter or a symbol that is recognizable for the user (See Yabe, Fig. 8, Sect. [0045] lines 1-17, FIG. 8 is a curve graph showing an example of the tone characteristic of the print unit 126 with input density value/output density value on the horizontal and vertical axis. The tone characteristic may be different in each color of CMYK, but here, explanation is given by assuming that CMYK have a common tone characteristic. In the graph in FIG. 8, a broken line 801 indicates the ideal tone characteristic in a case where the tone characteristic of the print unit 126 is in the standard state and a solid line 802 indicates the actual tone characteristic obtained by plotting the density values obtained by reading the calibration chart. This example shows that the state is shifted to a state where the output density is higher than that in the standard state.), and
wherein the hardware processor displays, in the list of the color conversion table use history, the identification information of each of the plurality of adjusted color conversion tables together with the summary information (See Yabe, Fig. 6, Sect. [0042], At S602, in order to perform tone calibration prior to printing of the color sample chart, a dedicated chart (hereinafter, called “calibration chart”) is printed. FIG. 7 shows an example of a calibration chart. The calibration chart shown in FIG. 7 includes seven color patches for each color of CMYK, which change in seven levels from a pale color to a dark color. Here, for simplification of explanation, the color patches have seven tones for each color, but by increasing the number of tones to, for example, 64 for each color, highly accurate calibration is enabled. At the time of performing this step, it may also be possible in parallel to notify a user that calibration is performed prior to color sample chart printing by displaying a message to that effect on the UI unit 124).
Referring to Claim 3, Yabe teaches the printing system according to claim 1 (See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein the hardware processor presents a candidate of the adjusted color conversion table suitable for use in the new print job from the list of the color conversion table use history based on a type of the object shown in the image to be printed in the new print job and the type information of the object stored in association with the adjusted color conversion table (See Yabe, Fig. 3, Sect. [0035], At S302, colors that are candidates of the destination color aimed at by the adjustment-target color set at S301 are determined. The true color is not known until it is printed actually, and therefore, a plurality of candidate colors is determined. Specifically, a plurality of candidate colors is determined by calculating a plurality of colors obtained by changing the set adjustment-target color stepwise. As the method of changing the color at this time, for example, a method is adopted that adds a predetermined change amount to the adjustment-target color for each of R, G, and B. The plurality of candidate colors thus determined is also displayed on the screen of the UI unit 124.).
Referring to Claim 4, Yabe teaches the printing system according to claim 1 (See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein when a point adjustment function configured to designate a color of a specific area of an image to be printed has been used together with the adjusted color conversion table, the hardware processor displays, in the list of the color conversion table use history, whether the point adjustment function has been used, and the type information of the object related to the specific area specified when the point adjustment function has been used, together with the identification information of the adjusted color conversion table (See Yabe, Fig. 4B, Sect. [0037], At S304, a destination color for the adjustment-target color set at S301 is set based on user instructions via the UI unit 124. FIG. 4B shows a state of the UI screen in the scene in which selection of a destination color is received. A user selects one square portion by a touch operation or the like, which corresponds to the destination color for the adjustment-target color, from among the plurality of candidate colors displayed within the UI screen by checking the aimed color while watching the color sample chart that is printed and output. In the example in FIG. 4B, the square 402b is selected and in a case where a “Complete” button 404 is pressed down in this state, the color represented by the CMYK values in the color sample chart corresponding to the color being selected is set as the destination color. Here, it is assumed that the color whose CMYK values=(C1, M1, Y1, K1) is set as the destination color.).
Referring to Claim 5, Yabe teaches the printing system according to claim 1 (See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein when a tone curve adjustment function configured to adjust brightness of an image to be printed has been used together with the adjusted color conversion table, the hardware processor displays, in the list of the color conversion table use history, whether the tone curve adjustment function has been used, and type information of the tone curve adjustment function, together with the identification information of the adjusted color conversion table (See Yabe, Fig. 11, Sect. [0068] lines 1-16, At S1109, from the scanned image data acquired at S1108, the luminance brightness of the color patch (here, the one color patch 1201) is measured. Then, at S1110, based on the luminance brightness value (here, RGB values) as measurement results obtained at S1109, a special color conversion table is created. Specifically, a special color conversion table is created that outputs, in a case where RGB values corresponding to the adjustment-target color set at the S1101 are input, CMYK values capable of reproducing the color represented by the color patch of the color sample chart printed by the printer 120b. At this time, first, the RGB values (RP1, GP1, BP1), which are the measurement results of the color patch, are converted into color values (here, Lab values) in the standard color space by using an LUT or the like indicating the relationship between RGB values and Lab values, which is specified in advance.).
Referring to Claim 6, Yabe teaches the printing system according to claim 1 (See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein the hardware processor allows for modification of an input/output curve of the adjusted color conversion table and setting of the modified adjusted color conversion table as a color conversion table to be used in the new print job by a user's operation (See Yabe, Fig. 9A, Sect. [0050] lines15-24, FIG. 9A shows the elapsed time t and the change in the density shift amount from the standard state in a case where the input density value is “inX0” and it is known that the density shift amount increases as time elapses. In this state, that is, in a case where the color sample chart is printed without performing calibration after “t1” elapses from the execution of the calibration at timing of “Cal0”, the printing is performed in the situation in which the tone characteristic of the print unit 126 is shifted from the standard state.).
Referring to Claim 7, Yabe teaches the printing system according to claim 1 (See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein the hardware processor displays, in a screen for setting a color conversion table to be used in the new print job, a modified image obtained when the adjusted color conversion table provisionally selected by a user from the list of color conversion table use history is applied to an image to be printed in the new print job (See Yabe, Sect. [0026] lines 24-34, The UI unit 124 includes a touch panel that also functions as a display for producing various displays and hardware buttons. The image processing unit 125 generates print data that the print unit 126 can process by performing predetermined image processing for bitmap data obtained by rendering. The print unit 126 performs printing processing on a printing medium, such as paper, based on the print data generated by the image processing unit 125. The scan unit 127 generates image data (scanned image data) by optically reading a document set on a document table or the like, not shown schematically.).
Referring to Claim 8, Yabe teaches the printing system according to claim 1
(See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein the hardware processor counts up and stores a number of times of use each time the adjusted color conversion table is reused in the new print job for each of the plurality of the adjusted color conversion tables (See Yabe, Sect. [0053] lines 7-15, in a case where the screen ruling is different, the tone characteristic is also different because of the difference in the structure. Because of this, it is necessary to perform calibration the number of times corresponding to the number of kinds of screen ruling that can be set. For example, in a case where there are three kinds of ruling, such as the high ruling, the medium ruling, and the low ruling as described above, it is also necessary to print three calibration charts and create three tone correction LUTs.), and
wherein the hardware processor displays the number of times of use of the adjusted color conversion table together with the identification information of the adjusted color conversion table for each of the plurality of adjusted color conversion tables in the list of the color conversion table use history (See Yabe, Fig. 12, Color Sample Chart 1200, Sect. [0061], At S1101, as at S301 in the flow in FIG. 3 of the first embodiment, a specific adjustment-target color is set via the UI unit 124. At S1102 that follows, image data of a color sample chart corresponding to the adjustment-target color set at S1101 is generated. FIG. 12 shows an example of a color sample chart according to the present embodiment. In a Color sample chart 1200 shown in FIG. 12, one color patch 1201 corresponding to the adjustment-target color is formed. Here, on the premise that only the one adjustment-target color is set, one color patch is formed, but in a case where a plurality of adjustment-target colors is set, color patches corresponding to the number of set adjustment-target colors are formed.).
Referring to Claim 9, Yabe teaches the printing system according to claim 1 (See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein the hardware processor displays a creation date and a using customer of the adjusted color conversion table for each of the plurality of adjusted color conversion tables in the list of the color conversion table use history (See Yabe, Sect. [0051], the calibration is performed at “Cal0” and in a case where instructions to print the color sample chart are given at the point in time of the elapsed time of “t1”, calibration is performed before the printing (“Call” in FIG. 9B). By performing the calibration at this timing, the tone characteristic of the print unit 126 returns to the standard state, and therefore, the density shift amount is also reset to “0”. As described above, in a case of the method of the present embodiment, it is guaranteed that the tone characteristic of the print unit 126 is brought into the standard state prior to printing and outputting of the color sample chart, and therefore, it is possible to appropriately perform the subsequent destination color setting, which in turn makes it possible to perform special color conversion desired by a user.).
Referring to Claim 10, Yabe teaches the printing system according to claim 1 (See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein the hardware processor displays job setting information of a print job for which the adjusted color conversion table has been used, for each of the plurality of adjusted color conversion tables in the list of the color conversion table use history (See Yabe, Sect. [0043], At S603, scanned image data of the calibration chart that is printed and output is acquired. At this time, first, a message that prompts a user to scan the calibration chart is displayed on the UI unit 124. Then, in response to instructions to start a scan by a user (for example, pressing down of “Start scan” button), the calibration chart is read by the scan unit 127. Due to this, the scanned image data of the calibration chart is acquired.).
Referring to Claim 11, Yabe teaches the printing system according to claim 1 (See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein the hardware processor displays the plurality of adjusted color conversion tables in the list of the color conversion table use history in a filterable manner and/or a rearrangeable manner based on a predetermined item (See Yabe, Sect. [0003] lines 8-18, In performing this special color conversion, there is a case where a color sample is used in order to cause a user to specify a destination color for an adjustment-target color. The user prints the color sample in which color patches correspond to each of a plurality of colors, which are destination color candidates, are arranged and specifies a destination color by referring to the scanned image thereof to select a color patch having a desired color. At the time of printing of this color sample, the tone characteristic of a printer is to be in the standard state in order to guarantee the tint.).
Referring to Claim 12, Yabe teaches the printing system according to claim 1 (See Yabe, Figs. 1-2, Printer 120 and embedded hardware components 121-128), wherein the hardware processor allows for a setting change of an item to be displayed in the list of the color conversion table use history by a user's operation (See Yabe, Sect. [0034], At S301, an arbitrary adjustment-target color within printing-target image data (bitmap data) is set via the UI unit 124. For example, a printing-target image is displayed on the screen of the UI unit 124 and a user performs a touch operation to the portion of a color desired to be adjusted and a color represented by RGB value at the position relating to the touch operation is set as an adjustment-target color. Here, it is assumed that a color whose RGB values=(R1, G1, B1) is set as an adjustment-target color.).
Referring to Claim 13, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein. The structural elements of “A printing system” in claim 1 perform all of the operations of “A printing method” in claim 13. Thus, “A printing method” in claim 13 is rejected for reasons explicitly taught in the rejection of claim 1.
Referring to Claim 14, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein.
Thus, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 14 is explicitly/inherently taught as evidenced by (See Yabe Sect. [0078], the disclosure can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’) to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more processors (e.g., central processing unit (CPU), micro processing unit (MPU)) one or more circuits (e.g., application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)) for performing the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s), and by a method performed by the computer of the system, apparatus or a hard disk, a random-access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), a storage of distributed computing systems, an optical disk (such as a compact disc (CD), digital versatile disc (DVD), or Blu-ray Disc (BD)?), a flash memory device, a memory card, and the like.) and various memories stored therein.
Cited Art
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Yamashita et al. (US PG. PUB. No. 2020/0053251 A1) discloses a profile adjustment method for adjusting a profile used in color conversion processing for performing a black point compensation, the method including: an adjustment target profile reception step of receiving any one of an input profile representing a correspondence relationship between an input coordinate values in an input color space and device independent coordinate values in a profile connection space and an output profile representing a correspondence relationship between the device independent coordinate values and an output coordinate values in an output color space as an adjustment target profile; a black point information storage step of obtaining black point information from a color conversion table and storing the black point information in a private tag when the black point information representing a black point in the color conversion table is not stored in the private tag of the adjustment target profile before adjusting the color conversion table stored in the adjustment target profile; and an adjustment reception step of receiving an adjustment of the color conversion table.
Conclusion
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683