DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/22/24, 3/3/25, 3/19/25, 12/8/25 and 3/30/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (US 2018/0169719) in view of Plowman (US 2013/0021488).
Regarding claim 1, Turner discloses a method of displaying an image (paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18), the method comprising:
displaying, on a display of an electronic device of a pipeline inspection system (paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18), an image captured by a camera disposed on a distal end of a cable configured to be directed into a conduit (paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18);
receiving, with an electronic processor of the electronic device (paragraph [67], fig.23, Turner discloses the video processor 170 is electrically connected to camera 18 and to the monitor 114 with display 266), a single user input on a graphical user interface component on the display (paragraph [60], Turner discloses a user interface 270 for permitting a user to input commands to control the display, wherein the user can adjust the brightness on the display device 266);
adjusting a value of an image setting based on single user input (paragraph [60], Turner discloses a user interface 270 for permitting a user to input commands to control the display, wherein the user can adjust the brightness (ie. image setting) on the display device 266);
controlling, with the electronic processor (paragraph [67], fig.23, Turner discloses the video processor 170 is electrically connected to camera 18 and to the monitor 114 with display 266), the display to display the image on the display according to the adjusted value (paragraph [60], Turner discloses a user interface 270 for permitting a user to input commands to control the display, wherein the user can adjust the brightness (ie. image setting) on the display device 266 for affecting how the image is displayed on the display).
Turner does not disclose displaying, on the display, an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display; receiving, with an electronic processor of the electronic device, a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the display; simultaneously adjusting, with the electronic processor, a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input; and controlling, with the electronic processor, the display to display the image on the display according to the respective adjusted values.
However, Plowman teaches displaying, on the display, an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display (paragraph [19], fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76"), and contrast (ie. "89"); paragraph [18], Plowman discloses that other image settings can include color intensity, sharpness, shutter speed, flash intensity, flash duration, film speed setting, exposure, white balance, noise filter, focal distance, exposure index, aperture size, etcetera);
receiving, with an electronic processor of the electronic device (paragraph [27], Plowman discloses processors are implemented, wherein paragraph [18], in fig.3A-3B, Plowman discloses that element 102 is the mobile device or the electronic device that permits the user to interact with the user interface), a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the display (paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display within the user interface, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, in that the image settings are combined on the display, as illustrated in figs.3A-3B, in that the user can make simultaneous adjustments on the user interface);
simultaneously adjusting, with the electronic processor (paragraph [27], Plowman discloses processors are implemented), a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input (paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display within the user interface, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, wherein fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76") and contrast (ie. "89")); and
controlling, with the electronic processor (paragraph [27], Plowman discloses processors are implemented), the display to display the image on the display according to the respective adjusted values (paragraph [26], Plowman discloses a user interface permits a user to adjust the image settings adjustments to the received images/video so as to save the adjusted images/video based on user adjusted values in a mass storage device for permitting viewing and browsing of user adjusted images/video at a later time, and in paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, and wherein fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76") and contrast (ie. "89")).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Turner and Plowman together as a whole for conveniently providing the user the ability to adjust the captured images as the user sees fit for the viewing application at hand so as to provide high quality images for display when examining pipes, conduits and for other image capturing/recording applications in order to pinpoint problems and anomalies.
Regarding claim 2, Turner does not disclose further comprising displaying, on the display, a second indication of the respective adjusted value of each of the at least two image settings on the display simultaneously with the image such that at least a portion of the image is viewable on the display as the value of each of the at least two image settings is adjusted based on the single user input.
However, Plowman teaches further comprising displaying, on the display, a second indication of the respective adjusted value of each of the at least two image settings on the display simultaneously with the image such that at least a portion of the image is viewable on the display as the value of each of the at least two image settings is adjusted based on the single user input (paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display within the user interface, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, wherein fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76") and contrast (ie. "89"), and also, Plowman discloses that fig.3A illustrates that brightness, hue and contrast can be shown without numerical values, but actual image setting adjustments relative to the image in the background, while fig.3B illustrates the numerical values of brightness, hue and contrast, thus providing a first indication and second indication of the image settings based on user’s inputted adjustments). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Turner and Plowman together as a whole for conveniently providing the user the ability to adjust the captured images as the user sees fit for the viewing application at hand so as to provide high quality images for display when examining pipes, conduits and for other image capturing/recording applications in order to pinpoint problems and anomalies.
Regarding claim 3, Turner does not disclose wherein simultaneously adjusting the value of each of at least two image settings includes adjusting, with the electronic processor, a first value of a first image setting differently than a second value of a second image setting. However, Plowman teaches wherein simultaneously adjusting the value of each of at least two image settings includes adjusting, with the electronic processor (paragraph [27], Plowman discloses processors are implemented), a first value of a first image setting differently than a second value of a second image setting (paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display within the user interface, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, wherein fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76") and contrast (ie. "89"), and that brightness can be considered the first image setting, hue can be considered the second image setting, and contrast is considered the third image setting, wherein the first image setting is clearly different from the second image setting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Turner and Plowman together as a whole for conveniently providing the user the ability to adjust the captured images as the user sees fit for the viewing application at hand so as to provide high quality images for display when examining pipes, conduits and for other image capturing/recording applications in order to pinpoint problems and anomalies.
Regarding claim 6, Turner discloses wherein the electronic device includes a monitor supported on a mount (paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display), wherein the mount is located on a stand configured to support a drum in which the cable is received (paragraph [41], figs.5-7, Turner discloses a drum 34 is supported on the stand 38 by a mounting assembly 118, wherein paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display, and paragraph [44], Turner discloses the drum 34 receives the cable 14 in that disk 134 rotates along with drum 34 for winding and unwinding the cable 14, and paragraph [35], Turner discloses reel 26 includes a drum 34 for housing the cable 14 and a stand 38 for supporting the drum 34).
Regarding claim 7, Turner discloses wherein the monitor is removably supported on the mount (paragraph [57], Turner discloses the monitor 114a can be attached and detached from the mount 110a, thus providing a monitor is removably supported on the mount).
Regarding claim 8, Turner discloses wherein the monitor is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wired connection (paragraph [47], Turner discloses the monitor 114 can receive images with a wired connection, wherein paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18).
Regarding claim 9, Turner discloses wherein the electronic device includes a separate electronic device that is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wireless connection (paragraph [59], Turner discloses the monitor 114 can receive images captured by camera 18 with a wireless connection with implementation of a wireless communication module or a WiFi hub; paragraph [67], in fig.23, Turner discloses user interface 270 is an electronic device that is separate from camera 18, in that camera 18 is connected to cable 14, and also, note that monitor 114 is also separate from electronic device 270, and that reel 26 is also an electronic device that is separate from user interface 270 and camera 18 and monitor 114 are separate from one another).
Regarding claim 10, Turner discloses an electronic device for use with a pipeline inspection system (paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18), the electronic device comprising:
a display configured to display (i) an image captured by a camera disposed on a distal end of a cable configured to be directed into a conduit (paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18); and
an electronic processor communicatively coupled to the display (paragraph [67], fig.23, Turner discloses the video processor 170 is electrically connected to camera 18 and to the monitor 114 with display 266), the electronic processor configured to:
receive a single user input on a graphical user interface component on the display (paragraph [60], Turner discloses a user interface 270 for permitting a user to input commands to control the display, wherein the user can adjust the brightness on the display device 266),
adjust a value of an image setting based on single user input (paragraph [60], Turner discloses a user interface 270 for permitting a user to input commands to control the display, wherein the user can adjust the brightness (ie. image setting) on the display device 266), and
control the display to display the image on the display according to the adjusted value (paragraph [60], Turner discloses a user interface 270 for permitting a user to input commands to control the display, wherein the user can adjust the brightness (ie. image setting) on the display device 266 for affecting how the image is displayed on the display).
Turner does not disclose a display configured to display (i) an image captured by a camera disposed on a distal end of a cable configured to be directed into a conduit and (ii) an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display, receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the display, simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input, and control the display to display the image on the display according to the respective adjusted values.
However, Plowman discloses a display configured to display (ii) an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display (paragraph [19], fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76"), and contrast (ie. "89"); paragraph [18], Plowman discloses that other image settings can include color intensity, sharpness, shutter speed, flash intensity, flash duration, film speed setting, exposure, white balance, noise filter, focal distance, exposure index, aperture size, etcetera);
receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the display (paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display within the user interface, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, in that the image settings are combined on the display, as illustrated in figs.3A-3B, in that the user can make simultaneous adjustments on the user interface),
simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input (paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display within the user interface, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, wherein fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76") and contrast (ie. "89")), and
control the display to display the image on the display according to the respective adjusted values (paragraph [26], Plowman discloses a user interface permits a user to adjust the image settings adjustments to the received images/video so as to save the adjusted images/video based on user adjusted values in a mass storage device for permitting viewing and browsing of user adjusted images/video at a later time, and in paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, and wherein fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76") and contrast (ie. "89")).
Since Turner discloses “…a display configured to display (i) an image captured by a camera disposed on a distal end of a cable configured to be directed into a conduit” and Plowman discloses “…a display configured to display (ii) an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Turner and Plowman together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…a display configured to display (i) an image captured by a camera disposed on a distal end of a cable configured to be directed into a conduit and (ii) an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display” in order to conveniently provide the user the ability to adjust the captured images as the user sees fit for the viewing application at hand so as to provide high quality images for display when examining pipes, conduits and for other image capturing/recording applications in order to pinpoint problems and anomalies.
Regarding claim 11, Turner does not disclose wherein the electronic processor is configured to control the display to display a second indication of the respective adjusted value of each of the at least two image settings on the display simultaneously with the image such that at least a portion of the image is viewable on the display as the value of each of the at least two image settings is adjusted based on the single user input. However, Plowman teaches wherein the electronic processor (paragraph [27], Plowman discloses processors are implemented) is configured to control the display to display a second indication of the respective adjusted value of each of the at least two image settings on the display simultaneously with the image such that at least a portion of the image is viewable on the display as the value of each of the at least two image settings is adjusted based on the single user input (paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display within the user interface, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, wherein fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76") and contrast (ie. "89"), and also, Plowman discloses that fig.3A illustrates that brightness, hue and contrast can be shown without numerical values, but actual image setting adjustments relative to the image in the background, while fig.3B illustrates the numerical values of brightness, hue and contrast, thus providing a first indication and second indication of the image settings based on user’s inputted adjustments). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Turner and Plowman together as a whole for conveniently providing the user the ability to adjust the captured images as the user sees fit for the viewing application at hand so as to provide high quality images for display when examining pipes, conduits and for other image capturing/recording applications in order to pinpoint problems and anomalies.
Regarding claim 12, Turner does not disclose wherein the electronic processor is configured to adjust, in response to the single user input, a first value of a first image setting differently than a second value of a second image setting. However, Plowman teaches wherein the electronic processor (paragraph [27], Plowman discloses processors are implemented) is configured to adjust, in response to the single user input, a first value of a first image setting differently than a second value of a second image setting (paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display within the user interface, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, wherein fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76") and contrast (ie. "89"), and that brightness can be considered the first image setting, hue can be considered the second image setting, and contrast is considered the third image setting, wherein the first image setting is clearly different from the second image setting). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Turner and Plowman together as a whole for conveniently providing the user the ability to adjust the captured images as the user sees fit for the viewing application at hand so as to provide high quality images for display when examining pipes, conduits and for other image capturing/recording applications in order to pinpoint problems and anomalies.
Regarding claim 15, Turner discloses wherein the electronic device includes a monitor supported on a mount (paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display), wherein the mount is located on a stand configured to support a drum in which the cable is received (paragraph [41], figs.5-7, Turner discloses a drum 34 is supported on the stand 38 by a mounting assembly 118, wherein paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display, and paragraph [44], Turner discloses the drum 34 receives the cable 14 in that disk 134 rotates along with drum 34 for winding and unwinding the cable 14, and paragraph [35], Turner discloses reel 26 includes a drum 34 for housing the cable 14 and a stand 38 for supporting the drum 34).
Regarding claim 16, Turner discloses wherein the monitor is removably supported on the mount (paragraph [57], Turner discloses the monitor 114a can be attached and detached from the mount 110a, thus providing a monitor is removably supported on the mount).
Regarding claim 17, Turner discloses wherein the monitor is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wired connection (paragraph [47], Turner discloses the monitor 114 can receive images with a wired connection, wherein paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18).
Regarding claim 18, Turner discloses wherein the electronic device includes a separate electronic device that is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wireless connection (paragraph [59], Turner discloses the monitor 114 can receive images captured by camera 18 with a wireless connection with implementation of a wireless communication module or a WiFi hub; paragraph [67], in fig.23, Turner discloses user interface 270 is an electronic device that is separate from camera 18, in that camera 18 is connected to cable 14, and also, note that monitor 114 is also separate from electronic device 270, and that reel 26 is also an electronic device that is separate from user interface 270 and camera 18 and monitor 114 are separate from one another).
Regarding claim 19, Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system (paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18) comprising:
a cable configured to be directed into a conduit (paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images);
a camera disposed on a distal end of the cable and operable to capture an image (paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18);
a monitor including a display (paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18), the monitor configured to display the image on the display (paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18); and
an electronic device separate from the camera and the monitor (paragraph [67], in fig.23, Turner discloses user interface 270 is an electronic device that is separate from camera 18, in that camera 18 is connected to cable 14, and also, note that monitor 114 is also separate from electronic device 270, and that reel 26 is also an electronic device that is separate from user interface 270 and camera 18 and monitor 114 are separate from one another), the electronic device communicatively coupled to the monitor (paragraph [67], fig.23, Turner discloses the video processor 170 is electrically connected to camera 18 and to the monitor 114 with display 266), the electronic device including an electronic processor (paragraph [67], fig.23, Turner discloses the video processor 170 is electrically connected to camera 18 and to the monitor 114 with display 266) configured to:
control the electronic device to display the image is displayed on the display of the monitor (paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18);
receive a single user input on a graphical user interface component on the display (paragraph [60], Turner discloses a user interface 270 for permitting a user to input commands to control the display, wherein the user can adjust the brightness on the display device 266);
adjust a value of an image setting based on single user input (paragraph [60], Turner discloses a user interface 270 for permitting a user to input commands to control the display, wherein the user can adjust the brightness (ie. image setting) on the display device 266); and
control, via wireless communication with the monitor (paragraph [59], Turner discloses the monitor 114 can receive images captured by camera 18 with a wireless connection with implementation of a wireless communication module or a WiFi hub), the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the adjusted value (paragraph [60], Turner discloses a user interface 270 for permitting a user to input commands to control the display, wherein the user can adjust the brightness (ie. image setting) on the display device 266 for affecting how the image is displayed on the display).
Turner does not disclose control the electronic device to display an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display of the monitor; receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the electronic device; simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input; and control, via wireless communication with the monitor, the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the respective adjusted values.
However, Plowman teaches control the electronic device to display an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display of the monitor (paragraph [19], fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76"), and contrast (ie. "89"); paragraph [18], Plowman discloses that other image settings can include color intensity, sharpness, shutter speed, flash intensity, flash duration, film speed setting, exposure, white balance, noise filter, focal distance, exposure index, aperture size, etcetera);
receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the electronic device (paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display within the user interface, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, in that the image settings are combined on the display, as illustrated in figs.3A-3B, in that the user can make simultaneous adjustments on the user interface, and in paragraph [18], in fig.3A-3B, Plowman discloses that element 102 is the mobile device or the electronic device that permits the user to interact with the user interface);
simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input (paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display within the user interface, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, wherein fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76") and contrast (ie. "89")); and
control the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the respective adjusted values (paragraph [26], Plowman discloses a user interface permits a user to adjust the image settings adjustments to the received images/video so as to save the adjusted images/video based on user adjusted values in a mass storage device for permitting viewing and browsing of user adjusted images/video at a later time, and in paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, and wherein fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76") and contrast (ie. "89")).
Since Turner discloses “…control, via wireless communication with the monitor, the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the adjusted value”, and Plowman discloses “…control the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the respective adjusted values”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Turner and Plowman together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “control, via wireless communication with the monitor, the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the respective adjusted values” in order to conveniently provide the user the ability to adjust the captured images as the user sees fit for the viewing application at hand so as to provide high quality images for display when examining pipes, conduits and for other image capturing/recording applications in order to pinpoint problems and anomalies.
Regarding claim 20, Turner does not disclose wherein the electronic processor is configured to adjust, in response to the single user input, a first value of a first image setting differently than a second value of a second image setting. However, Plowman teaches wherein the electronic processor (paragraph [27], Plowman discloses processors are implemented) is configured to adjust, in response to the single user input, a first value of a first image setting differently than a second value of a second image setting (paragraph [19], in fig.3A, Plowman discloses that a user can adjust the image settings of image data received on a display within the user interface, wherein the image settings comprise brightness, color, contrast to be adjusted in a simultaneous manner, wherein fig.3B, Plowman discloses the display of image setting values of each of the image settings for providing an indication of each image setting with a numerical value for brightness (ie. "62"), hue (ie. "R:23, G: 76") and contrast (ie. "89"), and that brightness can be considered the first image setting, hue can be considered the second image setting, and contrast is considered the third image setting, wherein the first image setting is clearly different from the second image setting). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Turner and Plowman together as a whole for conveniently providing the user the ability to adjust the captured images as the user sees fit for the viewing application at hand so as to provide high quality images for display when examining pipes, conduits and for other image capturing/recording applications in order to pinpoint problems and anomalies.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 9-12 and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,155,973. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of present Application ‘976 is similar to the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973. Thus, claim 1 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973. Peruse the table below.
Claim 2 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 4 of Patent ‘973. Thus, claim 2 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 4 of Patent ‘973.
Claim 3 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 6 of Patent ‘973. Thus, claim 3 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 6 of Patent ‘973.
Claim 9 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 8 of Patent ‘973. Thus, claim 9 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 8 of Patent ‘973.
Claim 10 of present Application ‘976 is similar to the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973. Thus, claim 10 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973. Peruse the table below.
Claim 11 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 4 of Patent ‘973. Thus, claim 11 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 4 of Patent ‘973.
Claim 12 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 6 of Patent ‘973. Thus, claim 12 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 6 of Patent ‘973.
Claim 18 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 8 of Patent ‘973. Thus, claim 18 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 8 of Patent ‘973.
Claim 19 of present Application ‘976 is similar to the combination of claims 1, 3, 4 and 8 of Patent ‘973. Thus, claim 19 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by the combination of claims 1, 3, 4 and 8 of Patent ‘973. Peruse the table below.
Claim 20 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 6 of Patent ‘973. Thus, claim 20 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 6 of Patent ‘973.
Claims 6-8 and 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,155,973 in view of Turner (US 2018/0169719).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 does not disclose wherein the electronic device includes a monitor supported on a mount, wherein the mount is located on a stand configured to support a drum in which the cable is received. However, Turner teaches wherein the electronic device includes a monitor supported on a mount (paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display), wherein the mount is located on a stand configured to support a drum in which the cable is received (paragraph [41], figs.5-7, Turner discloses a drum 34 is supported on the stand 38 by a mounting assembly 118, wherein paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display, and paragraph [44], Turner discloses the drum 34 receives the cable 14 in that disk 134 rotates along with drum 34 for winding and unwinding the cable 14, and paragraph [35], Turner discloses reel 26 includes a drum 34 for housing the cable 14 and a stand 38 for supporting the drum 34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 does not disclose wherein the monitor is removably supported on the mount. However, Turner teaches wherein the monitor is removably supported on the mount (paragraph [57], Turner discloses the monitor 114a can be attached and detached from the mount 110a, thus providing a monitor is removably supported on the mount). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 does not disclose wherein the monitor is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wired connection. However, Turner teaches wherein the monitor is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wired connection (paragraph [47], Turner discloses the monitor 114 can receive images with a wired connection, wherein paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 does not disclose wherein the electronic device includes a monitor supported on a mount, wherein the mount is located on a stand configured to support a drum in which the cable is received. However, Turner teaches wherein the electronic device includes a monitor supported on a mount (paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display), wherein the mount is located on a stand configured to support a drum in which the cable is received (paragraph [41], figs.5-7, Turner discloses a drum 34 is supported on the stand 38 by a mounting assembly 118, wherein paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display, and paragraph [44], Turner discloses the drum 34 receives the cable 14 in that disk 134 rotates along with drum 34 for winding and unwinding the cable 14, and paragraph [35], Turner discloses reel 26 includes a drum 34 for housing the cable 14 and a stand 38 for supporting the drum 34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 does not disclose wherein the monitor is removably supported on the mount. However, Turner teaches wherein the monitor is removably supported on the mount (paragraph [57], Turner discloses the monitor 114a can be attached and detached from the mount 110a, thus providing a monitor is removably supported on the mount). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 does not disclose wherein the monitor is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wired connection. However, Turner teaches wherein the monitor is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wired connection (paragraph [47], Turner discloses the monitor 114 can receive images with a wired connection, wherein paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of claims 1, 3 and 4 of Patent ‘973 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Claims 1-5 and 10-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,659,142. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of present Application ‘976 is similar to but broader than claim 12 of Patent ‘142. Thus claim 1 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 12 of Patent ‘142. Peruse the table below.
Claim 2 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 13 of Patent ‘142. Thus claim 2 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 13 of Patent ‘142.
Claim 3 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 14 of Patent ‘142. Thus claim 3 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 14 of Patent ‘142.
Claim 4 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 15 of Patent ‘142. Thus claim 4 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 15 of Patent ‘142.
Claim 5 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 16 of Patent ‘142. Thus claim 5 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 16 of Patent ‘142.
Claim 10 of present Application ‘976 is similar to but broader than claim 12 of Patent ‘142. Thus claim 10 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 12 of Patent ‘142.
Claim 11 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 13 of Patent ‘142. Thus claim 11 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 13 of Patent ‘142.
Claim 12 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 14 of Patent ‘142. Thus claim 12 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 14 of Patent ‘142.
Claim 13 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 15 of Patent ‘142. Thus claim 13 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 15 of Patent ‘142.
Claim 14 of present Application ‘976 is similar to claim 16 of Patent ‘142. Thus claim 14 of present Application ‘976 is anticipated by claim 16 of Patent ‘142.
Claims 6-9 and 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,659,142 in view of Turner (US 2018/0169719).
Regarding claim 6, claim 12 of Patent ‘142 does not disclose wherein the electronic device includes a monitor supported on a mount, wherein the mount is located on a stand configured to support a drum in which the cable is received. However, Turner teaches wherein the electronic device includes a monitor supported on a mount (paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display), wherein the mount is located on a stand configured to support a drum in which the cable is received (paragraph [41], figs.5-7, Turner discloses a drum 34 is supported on the stand 38 by a mounting assembly 118, wherein paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display, and paragraph [44], Turner discloses the drum 34 receives the cable 14 in that disk 134 rotates along with drum 34 for winding and unwinding the cable 14, and paragraph [35], Turner discloses reel 26 includes a drum 34 for housing the cable 14 and a stand 38 for supporting the drum 34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 12 of Patent ‘142 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 7, claim 12 of Patent ‘142 does not disclose wherein the monitor is removably supported on the mount. However, Turner teaches wherein the monitor is removably supported on the mount (paragraph [57], Turner discloses the monitor 114a can be attached and detached from the mount 110a, thus providing a monitor is removably supported on the mount). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 12 of Patent ‘142 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 8, claim 12 of Patent ‘142 does not disclose wherein the monitor is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wired connection. However, Turner teaches wherein the monitor is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wired connection (paragraph [47], Turner discloses the monitor 114 can receive images with a wired connection, wherein paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 12 of Patent ‘142 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 9, claim 12 of Patent ‘142 does not disclose wherein the electronic device includes a separate electronic device that is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wireless connection. However, Turner teaches wherein the electronic device includes a separate electronic device that is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wireless connection (paragraph [59], Turner discloses the monitor 114 can receive images captured by camera 18 with a wireless connection with implementation of a wireless communication module or a WiFi hub; paragraph [67], in fig.23, Turner discloses user interface 270 is an electronic device that is separate from camera 18, in that camera 18 is connected to cable 14, and also, note that monitor 114 is also separate from electronic device 270, and that reel 26 is also an electronic device that is separate from user interface 270 and camera 18 and monitor 114 are separate from one another). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 12 of Patent ‘142 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 15, claim 12 of Patent ‘142 does not disclose wherein the electronic device includes a monitor supported on a mount, wherein the mount is located on a stand configured to support a drum in which the cable is received. However, Turner teaches wherein the electronic device includes a monitor supported on a mount (paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display), wherein the mount is located on a stand configured to support a drum in which the cable is received (paragraph [41], figs.5-7, Turner discloses a drum 34 is supported on the stand 38 by a mounting assembly 118, wherein paragraph [40], Turner discloses a mount 110 for supporting a monitor 114, wherein fig.21 Turner discloses a monitor 114 to be utilized for display, and paragraph [44], Turner discloses the drum 34 receives the cable 14 in that disk 134 rotates along with drum 34 for winding and unwinding the cable 14, and paragraph [35], Turner discloses reel 26 includes a drum 34 for housing the cable 14 and a stand 38 for supporting the drum 34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 12 of Patent ‘142 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 16, claim 12 of Patent ‘142 does not disclose wherein the monitor is removably supported on the mount. However, Turner teaches wherein the monitor is removably supported on the mount (paragraph [57], Turner discloses the monitor 114a can be attached and detached from the mount 110a, thus providing a monitor is removably supported on the mount). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 12 of Patent ‘142 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 17, claim 12 of Patent ‘142 does not disclose wherein the monitor is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wired connection. However, Turner teaches wherein the monitor is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wired connection (paragraph [47], Turner discloses the monitor 114 can receive images with a wired connection, wherein paragraph [33], Turner discloses a pipeline inspection system for viewing the interior of a pipe or conduit in that a camera 18 is connected at a distal end of the cable 14 for permitting the capture of pipeline’s interior images, and paragraph [58], Turner discloses a display device 266 for viewing the image or video captured by camera 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 12 of Patent ‘142 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Regarding claim 18, claim 12 of Patent ‘142 does not disclose wherein the electronic device includes a separate electronic device that is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wireless connection. However, Turner teaches wherein the electronic device includes a separate electronic device that is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wireless connection (paragraph [59], Turner discloses the monitor 114 can receive images captured by camera 18 with a wireless connection with implementation of a wireless communication module or a WiFi hub; paragraph [67], in fig.23, Turner discloses user interface 270 is an electronic device that is separate from camera 18, in that camera 18 is connected to cable 14, and also, note that monitor 114 is also separate from electronic device 270, and that reel 26 is also an electronic device that is separate from user interface 270 and camera 18 and monitor 114 are separate from one another). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 12 of Patent ‘142 and Turner together as a whole for permitting the careful examination and display of pipelines in underground structures for finding abnormalities when viewing the sewer’s environment.
Peruse the table below.
Present Application 18/954,976
US Patent No. 12,155,973
US Patent No. 11,659,142
Claim 1.
A method of displaying an image, the method comprising: displaying, on a display of an electronic device of a pipeline inspection system, an image captured by a camera disposed on a distal end of a cable configured to be directed into a conduit; displaying, on the display, an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display; receiving, with an electronic processor of the electronic device, a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the display; simultaneously adjusting, with the electronic processor, a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input; and controlling, with the electronic processor, the display to display the image on the display according to the respective adjusted values.
Claim 1.
A pipeline inspection system comprising: a cable configured to be directed into a conduit; a camera disposed on a distal end of the cable and operable to capture an image; a monitor including a display, the monitor configured to display the image on the display; and an electronic device separate from the camera and the monitor, the electronic device communicatively coupled to the camera and to the monitor, the electronic device including an electronic processor configured to receive a user input indicating a characteristic of the conduit, determine an image setting of the display based on the characteristic of the conduit, and control the monitor to display the image on the display according to the image setting.
Claim 3.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 1, wherein the electronic processor is configured to: determine a plurality of image settings of the display based on the characteristic of the conduit, and control the monitor to display the image on the display according to the plurality of image settings.
Claim 4.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 3, wherein the electronic device includes a second display, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to: control the second display to display an indication of a value of each image setting of the plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display of the monitor; receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the second display of the electronic device; simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input; and control the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the respective adjusted values.
Claim 12.
A pipeline inspection system comprising: a drum defining an interior; a cable received within the interior of the drum and configured to be directed into a conduit; a camera disposed on a distal end of the cable and operable to capture an image; a monitor including a display, the monitor configured to display the image on the display; and an electronic processor communicatively coupled to the camera and to the monitor, the electronic processor configured to control the monitor to display an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display; receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component; simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input; and control the monitor to display the image on the display according to the respective adjusted values.
Claim 2.
The method of claim 1, further comprising displaying, on the display, a second indication of the respective adjusted value of each of the at least two image settings on the display simultaneously with the image such that at least a portion of the image is viewable on the display as the value of each of the at least two image settings is adjusted based on the single user input.
Claim 4.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 3, wherein the electronic device includes a second display, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to: control the second display to display an indication of a value of each image setting of the plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display of the monitor; receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the second display of the electronic device; simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input; and control the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the respective adjusted values.
Claim 13.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 12, wherein the display is configured to display a second indication of the respective adjusted value of each of the at least two image settings on the display simultaneously with the image such that at least a portion of the image is viewable on the display as the value of each of the at least two image settings is adjusted based on the single user input.
Claim 3.
The method of claim 1, wherein simultaneously adjusting the value of each of at least two image settings includes adjusting, with the electronic processor, a first value of a first image setting differently than a second value of a second image setting.
Claim 6.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 1, wherein the conduit includes a first conduit, wherein the image setting includes a first image setting, and wherein the cable is configured to be directed into a second conduit and the camera is operable to capture a second image, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to: receive a second user input indicating a characteristic of the second conduit, a value of the characteristic of the second conduit being different than a value of the characteristic of the first conduit; determine a second image setting of the display based on the characteristic of the second conduit, the second image setting being a different value of a same type of image setting as the first image setting; and control the monitor to display the second image on the display according to the second image setting.
Claim 14.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 12, wherein, in response to the single user input, the electronic processor is configured to adjust a first value of a first image setting differently than a second value of a second image setting.
Claim 4.
The method of claim 1, wherein the combined image setting graphical user interface component is configured to represent first values of the at least two image settings based on a first characteristic of conduit, second values of the at least two image settings based on a second characteristic of conduit, and third values of the at least two image settings based on a third characteristic of conduit, wherein the first characteristic, the second characteristic, and the third characteristic are different than each other; and wherein simultaneously adjusting the value of each of at least two image settings includes adjusting, with the electronic processor, the value of each of the at least two image settings differently as the combined image setting graphical user interface component is moved between a selection of the first characteristic of conduit and a selection of the second characteristic of conduit than when the combined image setting graphical user interface component is moved between the selection of the second characteristic of conduit and a third selection of the third characteristic of conduit.
Claim 15.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 12, wherein the combined image setting graphical user interface component is configured to represent first values of the at least two image settings based on a first characteristic of conduit, second values of the at least two image settings based on a second characteristic of conduit, and third values of the at least two image settings based on a third characteristic of conduit, wherein the first characteristic, the second characteristic, and the third characteristic are different than each other, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to adjust the value of each of the at least two image settings differently as the combined image setting graphical user interface component is moved between a selection of the first characteristic of conduit and a selection of the second characteristic of conduit than when the combined image setting graphical user interface component is moved between the selection of the second characteristic of conduit and a third selection of the third characteristic of conduit.
Claim 5.
The method of claim 4, wherein the at least two image settings include at least two of a hue setting, a brightness setting, a contrast setting, and a saturation setting; and wherein the first characteristic of conduit, the second characteristic of conduit, and the third characteristic of conduit are each configured to correspond to a different type of material of conduit.
Claim 16.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 15, wherein the at least two image settings include at least two of a hue setting, a brightness setting, a contrast setting, and a saturation setting; and wherein the first characteristic of conduit, the second characteristic of conduit, and the third characteristic of conduit are each configured to correspond to a different type of material of conduit.
Claim 9.
The method of claim 1, wherein the electronic device includes a separate electronic device that is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wireless connection.
Claim 8.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 1, wherein the electronic processor is configured to control the monitor to display the image on the display according to the image setting by transmitting, via a wired or wireless connection, a command to the monitor, wherein the command includes the image setting.
Claim 10.
An electronic device for use with a pipeline inspection system, the electronic device comprising: a display configured to display (i) an image captured by a camera disposed on a distal end of a cable configured to be directed into a conduit and (ii) an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display; and an electronic processor communicatively coupled to the display, the electronic processor configured to: receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the display, simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input, and control the display to display the image on the display according to the respective adjusted values.
Claim 1.
A pipeline inspection system comprising: a cable configured to be directed into a conduit; a camera disposed on a distal end of the cable and operable to capture an image; a monitor including a display, the monitor configured to display the image on the display; and an electronic device separate from the camera and the monitor, the electronic device communicatively coupled to the camera and to the monitor, the electronic device including an electronic processor configured to receive a user input indicating a characteristic of the conduit, determine an image setting of the display based on the characteristic of the conduit, and control the monitor to display the image on the display according to the image setting.
Claim 3.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 1, wherein the electronic processor is configured to: determine a plurality of image settings of the display based on the characteristic of the conduit, and control the monitor to display the image on the display according to the plurality of image settings.
Claim 4.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 3, wherein the electronic device includes a second display, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to: control the second display to display an indication of a value of each image setting of the plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display of the monitor; receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the second display of the electronic device; simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input; and control the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the respective adjusted values.
Claim 12.
A pipeline inspection system comprising: a drum defining an interior; a cable received within the interior of the drum and configured to be directed into a conduit; a camera disposed on a distal end of the cable and operable to capture an image; a monitor including a display, the monitor configured to display the image on the display; and an electronic processor communicatively coupled to the camera and to the monitor, the electronic processor configured to control the monitor to display an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display; receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component; simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input; and control the monitor to display the image on the display according to the respective adjusted values.
Claim 11.
The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the electronic processor is configured to control the display to display a second indication of the respective adjusted value of each of the at least two image settings on the display simultaneously with the image such that at least a portion of the image is viewable on the display as the value of each of the at least two image settings is adjusted based on the single user input.
Claim 4.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 3, wherein the electronic device includes a second display, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to: control the second display to display an indication of a value of each image setting of the plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display of the monitor; receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the second display of the electronic device; simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input; and control the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the respective adjusted values.
Claim 13.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 12, wherein the display is configured to display a second indication of the respective adjusted value of each of the at least two image settings on the display simultaneously with the image such that at least a portion of the image is viewable on the display as the value of each of the at least two image settings is adjusted based on the single user input.
Claim 12.
The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the electronic processor is configured to adjust, in response to the single user input, a first value of a first image setting differently than a second value of a second image setting.
Claim 6.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 1, wherein the conduit includes a first conduit, wherein the image setting includes a first image setting, and wherein the cable is configured to be directed into a second conduit and the camera is operable to capture a second image, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to: receive a second user input indicating a characteristic of the second conduit, a value of the characteristic of the second conduit being different than a value of the characteristic of the first conduit; determine a second image setting of the display based on the characteristic of the second conduit, the second image setting being a different value of a same type of image setting as the first image setting; and control the monitor to display the second image on the display according to the second image setting.
Claim 14.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 12, wherein, in response to the single user input, the electronic processor is configured to adjust a first value of a first image setting differently than a second value of a second image setting.
Claim 13.
The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the combined image setting graphical user interface component is configured to represent first values of the at least two image settings based on a first characteristic of conduit, second values of the at least two image settings based on a second characteristic of conduit, and third values of the at least two image settings based on a third characteristic of conduit, wherein the first characteristic, the second characteristic, and the third characteristic are different than each other; and wherein the electronic processor is configured to adjust the value of each of the at least two image settings differently as the combined image setting graphical user interface component is moved between a selection of the first characteristic of conduit and a selection of the second characteristic of conduit than when the combined image setting graphical user interface component is moved between the selection of the second characteristic of conduit and a third selection of the third characteristic of conduit.
Claim 15.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 12, wherein the combined image setting graphical user interface component is configured to represent first values of the at least two image settings based on a first characteristic of conduit, second values of the at least two image settings based on a second characteristic of conduit, and third values of the at least two image settings based on a third characteristic of conduit, wherein the first characteristic, the second characteristic, and the third characteristic are different than each other, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to adjust the value of each of the at least two image settings differently as the combined image setting graphical user interface component is moved between a selection of the first characteristic of conduit and a selection of the second characteristic of conduit than when the combined image setting graphical user interface component is moved between the selection of the second characteristic of conduit and a third selection of the third characteristic of conduit.
Claim 14.
The electronic device of claim 13, wherein the at least two image settings include at least two of a hue setting, a brightness setting, a contrast setting, and a saturation setting; and wherein the first characteristic of conduit, the second characteristic of conduit, and the third characteristic of conduit are each configured to correspond to a different type of material of conduit.
Claim 16.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 15, wherein the at least two image settings include at least two of a hue setting, a brightness setting, a contrast setting, and a saturation setting; and wherein the first characteristic of conduit, the second characteristic of conduit, and the third characteristic of conduit are each configured to correspond to a different type of material of conduit.
Claim 18.
The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the electronic device includes a separate electronic device that is configured to receive the image from the camera via a wireless connection.
Claim 8.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 1, wherein the electronic processor is configured to control the monitor to display the image on the display according to the image setting by transmitting, via a wired or wireless connection, a command to the monitor, wherein the command includes the image setting.
Claim 19.
A pipeline inspection system comprising: a cable configured to be directed into a conduit; a camera disposed on a distal end of the cable and operable to capture an image; a monitor including a display, the monitor configured to display the image on the display; and an electronic device separate from the camera and the monitor, the electronic device communicatively coupled to the monitor, the electronic device including an electronic processor configured to: control the electronic device to display an indication of a value of each of a plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display of the monitor; receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the electronic device; simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input; and control, via wireless communication with the monitor, the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the respective adjusted values.
Claim 1.
A pipeline inspection system comprising: a cable configured to be directed into a conduit; a camera disposed on a distal end of the cable and operable to capture an image; a monitor including a display, the monitor configured to display the image on the display; and an electronic device separate from the camera and the monitor, the electronic device communicatively coupled to the camera and to the monitor, the electronic device including an electronic processor configured to receive a user input indicating a characteristic of the conduit, determine an image setting of the display based on the characteristic of the conduit, and control the monitor to display the image on the display according to the image setting.
Claim 3.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 1, wherein the electronic processor is configured to: determine a plurality of image settings of the display based on the characteristic of the conduit, and control the monitor to display the image on the display according to the plurality of image settings.
Claim 4.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 3, wherein the electronic device includes a second display, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to: control the second display to display an indication of a value of each image setting of the plurality of image settings according to which the image is displayed on the display of the monitor; receive a single user input via a combined image setting graphical user interface component on the second display of the electronic device; simultaneously adjust a value of each of at least two image settings of the plurality of image settings to respective adjusted values based on the single user input; and control the monitor to display the image on the display of the monitor according to the respective adjusted values.
Claim 8.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 1, wherein the electronic processor is configured to control the monitor to display the image on the display according to the image setting by transmitting, via a wired or wireless connection, a command to the monitor, wherein the command includes the image setting.
Claim 20.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 19, wherein the electronic processor is configured to adjust, in response to the single user input, a first value of a first image setting differently than a second value of a second image setting.
Claim 6.
The pipeline inspection system of claim 1, wherein the conduit includes a first conduit, wherein the image setting includes a first image setting, and wherein the cable is configured to be directed into a second conduit and the camera is operable to capture a second image, and wherein the electronic processor is configured to: receive a second user input indicating a characteristic of the second conduit, a value of the characteristic of the second conduit being different than a value of the characteristic of the first conduit; determine a second image setting of the display based on the characteristic of the second conduit, the second image setting being a different value of a same type of image setting as the first image setting; and control the monitor to display the second image on the display according to the second image setting.
Contact Information
/ALLEN C WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488