DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 2/5/25 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1), which requires the following: (1) a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office; (2) U.S. patents and U.S. patent application publications listed in a section separately from citations of other documents; (3) the application number of the application in which the information disclosure statement is being submitted on each page of the list; (4) a column that provides a blank space next to each document to be considered, for the examiner’s initials; and (5) a heading that clearly indicates that the list is an information disclosure statement. The information disclosure statement as submitted has been indicated as considered, but there are no references cited on said document (it has been submitted blank with no references listed). Applicant should review their filings and resubmit a completed IDS if they wish to have any references considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-41 of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,656. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the patented claims and the current claims disclose a trench depth sensing system including a light source, receiver, sensor, monitoring system, and gps receiver configured to associate gps coordinates with the data frame and further discloses starting and stopping multiple wavelengths and calculating the difference (via subtraction – claim 38) to determine a net image.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koch et al. (2018/0128933).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Koch et al. discloses an agricultural depth sensing system and method of determining a depth of a trench comprising:
An agricultural row unit (200) including an opening disc (222) configured to open a trench in a soil surface as the row unit advances in a forward direction of travel through a field; and a
A light plane triangulator (figure 14) with a light source (L1) disposed above said trench and configured to direct a scanned laser light (pgph 0017) downwardly toward said trench (Figure 14 – Pgph 0040);
a receiver (R1) disposed at an angle relative to said light source to receive reflected light from said light source reflected from said trench and soil surface (Figure 14, pgph 0040);
a sensor (100-1 to 100-5) connected to said receiver, said sensor generating an output signal (110) based on said reflected light (pgph 0029);
a monitoring system (300) in communication with said sensor (100), said monitor system configured to generate a data frame based on said sensor output signal, said data frame containing a triangulated line pattern and intensity values of said reflected light along said triangulated line pattern indicative of a measured depth of said trench (pgph 0039, 0061);
a GPS receiver (310) in communication with said monitoring system; whereby said monitor system is configured to associate GPS coordinates from said GPS receiver with each said data frame (pgph 0062)
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Koch discloses that the light source, receiver and sensor can be disposed in a single body (100A) mounted to a frame member of said agricultural row unit or separately disposed.
Regarding claims 5, the monitoring system (300) is configured to display a spatial map of said measured depths of said trench as said agricultural row unit advances through said field (pgph 0062).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Koch discloses a downforce actuator (214) and depth control actuator (234) wherein the monitoring system is configured actuate and adjust the depth and downforce.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch et al. (2018/0128933) in view of Radtke (WO2016/205424).
Regarding claim 7, Koch discloses the depth sensing system with a reflectivity sensor and light source as described above. Koch fails to specifically disclose the sensor capabilities as it relates to intensity, wavelength. Like Koch, Radtke also discloses a depth sensing system for a row unit including a light source and reflectivity sensors. Unlike Koch, Radtke discloses utilizing intensity and wavelength variations to indicate trench characteristics (pgph 0115). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize intensity and wavelength variations of the light source to more accurately monitor trench conditions as the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses that the monitoring system is configured to generate a profile of the trench and a spatial map of seed depth based on the generated data frame as the agricultural row unit advances through the field.
Regarding claim 10, the combination discloses a row cleaner (274) mounted forward of the opening disc, said row cleaner including a row cleaner actuator (276) for adusting downforce of the row cleaner, wehreing the monitoring system is configured actuate and adjust the depth and downforce.
Regarding claims 11, the combination discloses that the system further comprises a liquid placement system in fluid communication with a liquid source, said liquid placement system including a valve movable between an open position and a closed position wherein in said open position fluid from said fluid source is released wherein said monitoring system is configured to pen said valve to release liquid relative to said seeds in said trench such that said liquid is placed either on said seeds between said seeds or adjacent to said seeds (pgph 0124).
Regarding claims 12-13, the combination of Koch and Radtke fails to specifically disclose that the monitoring system compares consecutive images to generate trench data. The examiner takes Official Notice that comparative imaging is old and well known in the art of computer data analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a monitoring system that compares images to find differences to monitor changes in the trench.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and filed along with the appropriate Terminal Disclaimer(s).
Claims 16-22 are allowed when filed along with the appropriate Terminal Disclaimer(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Anderson (CA2530707) discloses using varying wavelength to determine soil characteristics but measures spectral characteristics instead of spatial characteristics.
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671