DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic benefit under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on November 21, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“wherein the new AP and APs and APs still assigned UWB sessions” should read “wherein the new AP and APs still assigned UWB sessions”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton et al. (U.S. Patent Application # 2022/0070613 A1), hereinafter “Barton”, in view of Ryu et al. (U.S. Patent Application # 2026/0136318 A1), hereinafter “Ryu”.
Consider independent claim 1, Barton teaches a method for prioritized
scheduling for UWB ranging, the method comprising:
receiving a coarse location of the client (see section [0045], which recites “the location engine 190 can establish an initial set of anchor assignments for a mobile device 140 by estimating a coarse location for the mobile device 140 using a non-UWB localization technique … ”);
creating and assigning a plurality of UWB sessions to a plurality of Access Points (APs) based on the coarse location of the client, wherein the plurality of APs are operable to start the plurality of UWB sessions to perform UWB ranging of the client (see section [0045], which recites “… and selecting an optimal set of UWB anchor points for UWB ranging based on the coarse location, and can then use the selected UWB anchor points to determine more precise location information for the mobile device 140 using one or more UWB localization techniques”);
receiving ranging reports from the plurality of APs (see section [0075], which recites “each receiving anchor (e.g., secondary anchors 515-517 and 570-572) can receive and/or demodulate any UWB transmissions within their range and forward to the control device 580 received frame signal level, emitted source, and/or other information”);
and determining a location of the client based on the ranging reports (see Fig. 5 and section [0075], which recites “forward to the control device 580 received frame signal level, emitted source, and/or other information, which the control device 580 can use to create the interference mapping 500”, as well as section [0079], which states “the interference mapping 500 can include more or less details regarding the venue 505, mobile devices (STA 520, STA 521, STA 575, and STA 576), primary anchors (510 and 565), secondary anchors (515-517 and 570-572), the groups (Group 1 and Group 2), the interference bubbles (550 and 560), and the region 590, and their respective locations, settings, or other features”).
Consider the features in claim 1 reciting “receiving a request for a client to subscribe to an Ultra-Wideband (UWB) seamless roaming and tracking service”, although Barton teaches the UWB interaction, as described above, as it does not explicitly disclose the user consenting or “subscribing” to join a service, Ryu is added and reciting “negotiating a configuration for UWB seamless roaming and tracking for the client”. Barton discloses configuring both the provider and user devices for continuous connectivity and tracking while the client moves within a space (see sections [0025] and [0033] through [0037]) but, as it does not explicitly mention the user and provider devices negotiating the connection, Ryu is added.
Ryu, in related art, discloses an apparatus and method for managing UWB connections between devices. See Fig. 6 and sections [0231] and [0232], Ryu discloses “the first device 601 may transmit or broadcast an advertisement message. In an embodiment, the advertisement message may be a UWB advertisement message (e.g., a UWB advertisement message)” and “the second device 602 may perform device discovery and/or service discovery by using the advertisement message and/or the application data included in the advertisement message”. Ryu then later discloses, in section [0432], “The user device 2020 having received the UWB advertisement message may connect a UWB session with one of the plurality of kiosks 2011, 2012, and 2013, based on the UWB advertisement message”. Ryu also discloses in section [0305] “UWB session information may be exchanged between the first device 910 and the second device 920. As an embodiment, the UWB session information may include all or some of the UWB session data parameters of Table 2. As an embodiment, a UWB session key may be transmitted through the secure channel”.
Therefore, as Barton and Ryu teach UWB based localization and communication, and as Ryu explicitly teaches the user initiating a UWB connection based off a received advertisement and exchange/negotiate UWB session information, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barton with the extra step of the user initiating the connection based off having received an advertisement, as disclosed by Ryu. This would simply be delegating the initiation step from one device to another and would allow for the user to control any connections and allow for establishing UWB sessions where “confidentiality, authenticity, and integrity” are better protected, as seen in section [0077] of Ryu.
Consider claim 2, which recites “further comprising sending UWB session information to the client, wherein the UWB session information comprises, for each UWB session of the plurality of UWB sessions, any one of (i) a session identifier, (ii) a UWB address, (iii) a security key, or (iv) any combination of (i)-(iii)”. Barton teaches, in section [0077], “a mobile device (e.g., STA 520, STA 521, STA 575, or STA 576) may discover a primary anchor (e.g., primary anchor 510 or primary anchor 565) via a BLE broadcast transmission from the primary anchor or via a unicast transmission to the mobile device … may include a universally unique identifier (UUID) with broadcast ranging instructions and/or information, such as (but not limited to) a UWB channel number coded over 4 bits, ranging duration in seconds over 4 bits, ranging end mode, and/or target primary UWB anchor MAC address” but as it does not explicitly disclose sending it a session identifier, UWB address, or security key, Ryu is added.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryu discloses “UWB session information may be exchanged between the first device 910 and the second device 920. As an embodiment, the UWB session information may include all or some of the UWB session data parameters of Table 2. As an embodiment, a UWB session key may be transmitted through the secure channel” (see section [0305]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the inclusion of UWB session information, as disclosed in Ryu, to the exchanges of Barton. This for allow for establishing UWB sessions where “confidentiality, authenticity, and integrity” are better protected, as seen in section [0077] of Ryu.
Consider claim 3, which recites “further comprising assigning each AP of the plurality of APs a UWB short address”. Barton discloses, in section [0077], “… may include a universally unique identifier (UUID) with broadcast ranging instructions and/or information, such as (but not limited to) a UWB channel number coded over 4 bits, ranging duration in seconds over 4 bits, ranging end mode, and/or target primary UWB anchor MAC address. The UUID can be short (e.g., 2 bytes) or long (e.g., 16 bytes), depending on the implementation”). However, as this does not explicitly say the anchor MAC address is short, Ryu is added.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryu discloses “the UWB MAC frame may be used to transmit UWB-related data (e.g., a UWB message, a ranging message, control information, service data, application data, etc.)” (see section [0178]) and “the destination addressing mode field [of the MAC header] may indicate whether the destination address field includes a short address (e.g., 16 bits) or an extended address (e.g., 64 bits). The destination address field may indicate an address of the recipient of the frame” (see section [0190]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the short addresses for a plurality of UWB sessions, as disclosed in Ryu, to the UWB positioning or Barton. This would allow the control device to identify the different APs of the network in case they don’t have the same capabilities, as described by Ryu (see section [0356]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Barton, as modified by Ryu, further discloses the limitations “receiving a new ranging report indicating an AP of the plurality of APs has an insufficient link budget with the client” (See section [0104] of Barton, which recites “in a case where the preliminary UWB ranging schedule consumes all available airtime without allocating a slot to one or more mobile devices or allocating an insufficient number of slots to one or more mobile devices requiring repeated (potentially continual) ranging, the control device can consider slowing a refresh rate for one or more lower priority devices to provide additional ranging opportunities for other mobile devices”. This means devices are ranged cyclically, so if an anchor has insufficient link budget, the controller will see that in the next scheduled ranging) and “reassigning a UWB session of the AP to a new AP, wherein the new AP and APs still assigned UWB sessions of the plurality of APs are operable to perform UWB ranging of the client” (See section [0111] of Barton, which recites “the UWB ranging priority for a particular mobile device … may follow the mobile device if and as the mobile device changes locations within the space. The control device 580 may be configured to modify the ranging schedules as appropriate in response to such movement. For example, if movement of a particular mobile device causes the mobile device to fall out of range of a particular primary anchor, the control device can reassign the mobile device to range against a new (i.e., different) primary anchor, inserting the mobile device into the schedule for the new primary anchor. Similarly, the control device can remove the mobile device from the schedule of the previously assigned primary anchor”).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Barton, as modified by Ryu, further discloses the limitations “time-slicing the plurality of UWB sessions with a second plurality of UWB sessions of a second client” (see Fig. 7 and sections [0091] and [0092] of Barton, which recite “UWB ranging operations may be assigned between BLE broadcasts … a Time Division Multiple Access (TDMA) procedure 700 in which a BLE broadcast interval 705, i.e., a time between two BLE UUID broadcasts (710, 715), is divided into a plurality of time slots 720 of a super-frame 725 or other (multicast, broadcast, or unicast) control frame or other TDMA structure … which may include scheduling for both the UWB anchors and the mobile devices that are performing UWB ranging functions, using the time slots 720” and “when a UWB anchor is to perform ranging, it may first transmit a super-frame, such as the super-frame 725, which encodes a ranging schedule 730 that indicates when each of the mobile devices assigned to the UWB anchor for UWB ranging are to reply to a UWB transmission (pulse) within the schedule … the super-frame 725 may be configured to support a maximum number of slots 720 … the super-frame 725 may include 128 ranging time slots 720, which can enable ranging for up to 128 mobile devices in a given cycle, though it should be understood that other numbers of time slots 720 and mobile devices may be supported in alternative example
embodiments”).
Consider independent claim 8, Barton teaches a system for prioritized scheduling for UWB ranging, the system comprising:
a memory storage (see Fig. 15 and section [0127], which recites “the computing device 1500 may include one or more processor(s) 1505, one or more memory element(s) 1510, storage 1515, a bus 1520, one or more network processor unit(s) 1525 interconnected with one or more network input/output (I/O) interface(s) 1530, one or more I/O interface(s) 1535, and control logic 1540”);
and a processing unit coupled to the memory storage (see Fig. 15 and section [0127], which recites “the computing device 1500 may include one or more processor(s) 1505, one or more memory element(s) 1510, storage 1515, a bus 1520, one or more network processor unit(s) 1525 interconnected with one or more network input/output (I/O) interface(s) 1530, one or more I/O interface(s) 1535, and control logic 1540”), wherein the processing unit is operative to:
receiving a coarse location of the client (see section [0045], which recites “the location engine 190 can establish an initial set of anchor assignments for a mobile device 140 by estimating a coarse location for the mobile device 140 using a non-UWB localization technique … ”);
creating and assigning a plurality of UWB sessions to a plurality of Access Points (APs) based on the coarse location of the client, wherein the plurality of APs are operable to start the plurality of UWB sessions to perform UWB ranging of the client (see section [0045], which recites “… and selecting an optimal set of UWB anchor points for UWB ranging based on the coarse location, and can then use the selected UWB anchor points to determine more precise location information for the mobile device 140 using one or more UWB localization techniques”);
receiving ranging reports from the plurality of APs (see section [0075], which
recites “each receiving anchor (e.g., secondary anchors 515-517 and 570-572) can receive and/or demodulate any UWB transmissions within their range and forward to the control device 580 received frame signal level, emitted source, and/or other information”);
and determining a location of the client based on the ranging reports (see Fig. 5 and section [0075], which recites “forward to the control device 580 received frame signal level, emitted source, and/or other information, which the control device 580 can use to create the interference mapping 500”, as well as section [0079], which states “the interference mapping 500 can include more or less details regarding the venue 505, mobile devices (STA 520, STA 521, STA 575, and STA 576), primary anchors (510 and 565), secondary anchors (515-517 and 570-572), the groups (Group 1 and Group 2), the interference bubbles (550 and 560), and the region 590, and their respective locations, settings, or other features”).
Consider the features in claim 8 reciting “receiving a request for a client to subscribe to an Ultra-Wideband (UWB) seamless roaming and tracking service”, although Barton teaches the UWB interaction, as described above, as it does not explicitly disclose the user consenting or “subscribing” to join a service, Ryu is added, and reciting “negotiating a configuration for UWB seamless roaming and tracking for the client”. Barton discloses configuring both the provider and user devices for continuous connectivity and tracking while the client moves within a space (see sections [0025] and [0033] through [0037]) but as it does not explicitly mention the user and provider devices negotiating the connection, Ryu is added.
Ryu, in related art, discloses an apparatus and method for managing UWB connections between devices. See Fig. 6 and sections [0231] and [0232], Ryu discloses “the first device 601 may transmit or broadcast an advertisement message. In an embodiment, the advertisement message may be a UWB advertisement message (e.g., a UWB advertisement message)” and “the second device 602 may perform device discovery and/or service discovery by using the advertisement message and/or the application data included in the advertisement message”. Ryu then later discloses, in section [0432], “The user device 2020 having received the UWB advertisement message may connect a UWB session with one of the plurality of kiosks 2011, 2012, and 2013, based on the UWB advertisement message”. Ryu also discloses in section [0305] “UWB session information may be exchanged between the first device 910 and the second device 920. As an embodiment, the UWB session information may include all or some of the UWB session data parameters of Table 2. As an embodiment, a UWB session key may be transmitted through the secure channel”.
Therefore, as Barton and Ryu teach UWB based localization and communication, and as Ryu explicitly teaches the user initiating a UWB connection based off a received advertisement and exchange/negotiate UWB session information, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barton with the extra step of the user initiating the connection based off having received an advertisement, as disclosed by Ryu. This would simply be delegating the initiation step from one device to another and would allow for the user to control any connections and allow for establishing UWB sessions where “confidentiality, authenticity, and integrity” are better protected, as seen in section [0077] of Ryu.
Consider claim 9, which recites “further comprising sending UWB session information to the client, wherein the UWB session information comprises, for each UWB session of the plurality of UWB sessions, any one of (i) a session identifier, (ii) a UWB address, (iii) a security key, or (iv) any combination of (i)-(iii)”. Barton teaches, in section [0077], “a mobile device (e.g., STA 520, STA 521, STA 575, or STA 576) may discover a primary anchor (e.g., primary anchor 510 or primary anchor 565) via a BLE broadcast transmission from the primary anchor or via a unicast transmission to the mobile device … may include a universally unique identifier (UUID) with broadcast ranging instructions and/or information, such as (but not limited to) a UWB channel number coded over 4 bits, ranging duration in seconds over 4 bits, ranging end mode, and/or target primary UWB anchor MAC address” but as it does not explicitly disclose sending it a session identifier, UWB address, or security key, Ryu is added.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryu discloses “UWB session information may be exchanged between the first device 910 and the second device 920. As an embodiment, the UWB session information may include all or some of the UWB session data parameters of Table 2. As an embodiment, a UWB session key may be transmitted through the secure channel” (see section [0305]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the inclusion of UWB session information, as disclosed in Ryu, to the exchanges of Barton. This for allow for establishing UWB sessions where “confidentiality, authenticity, and integrity” are better protected, as seen in section [0077] of Ryu.
Consider claim 10, which recites “further comprising assigning each AP of the plurality of APs a UWB short address”. Barton discloses, in section [0077], “… may include a universally unique identifier (UUID) with broadcast ranging instructions and/or information, such as (but not limited to) a UWB channel number coded over 4 bits, ranging duration in seconds over 4 bits, ranging end mode, and/or target primary UWB anchor MAC address. The UUID can be short (e.g., 2 bytes) or long (e.g., 16 bytes), depending on the implementation”). However, as this does not explicitly say the anchor MAC address is short, Ryu is added.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryu discloses “the UWB MAC frame may be used to transmit UWB-related data (e.g., a UWB message, a ranging message, control information, service data, application data, etc.)” (see section [0178]) and “the destination addressing mode field [of the MAC header] may indicate whether the destination address field includes a short address (e.g., 16 bits) or an extended address (e.g., 64 bits). The destination address field may indicate an address of the recipient of the frame” (see section [0190]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the short addresses for a plurality of UWB sessions, as disclosed in Ryu, to the UWB positioning or Barton. This would allow the control device to identify the different APs of the network in case they don’t have the same capabilities, as described by Ryu (see section [0356]).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 8 above, Barton, as modified by Ryu, further discloses the limitations “receiving a new ranging report indicating an AP of the plurality of APs has an insufficient link budget with the client” (See section [0104] of Barton, which recites “in a case where the preliminary UWB ranging schedule consumes all available airtime without allocating a slot to one or more mobile devices or allocating an insufficient number of slots to one or more mobile devices requiring repeated (potentially continual) ranging, the control device can consider slowing a refresh rate for one or more lower priority devices to provide additional ranging opportunities for other mobile devices”. This means devices are ranged cyclically, so if an anchor has insufficient link budget, the controller will see that in the next scheduled ranging) and “reassigning a UWB session of the AP to a new AP, wherein the new AP and APs still assigned UWB sessions of the plurality of APs are operable to perform UWB ranging of the client” (See section [0111] of Barton, which recites “the UWB ranging priority for a particular mobile device … may follow the mobile device if and as the mobile device changes locations within the space. The control device 580 may be configured to modify the ranging schedules as appropriate in response to such movement. For example, if movement of a particular mobile device causes the mobile device to fall out of range of a particular primary anchor, the control device can reassign the mobile device to range against a new (i.e., different) primary anchor, inserting the mobile device into the schedule for the new primary anchor. Similarly, the control device can remove the mobile device from the schedule of the previously assigned primary anchor”).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 8 above, Barton, as modified by Ryu, further discloses the limitations “time-slicing the plurality of UWB sessions with a second plurality of UWB sessions of a second client” (see Fig. 7 and sections [0091] and [0092], which recite “UWB ranging operations may be assigned between BLE broadcasts … a Time Division Multiple Access (TDMA) procedure 700 in which a BLE broadcast interval 705, i.e., a time between two BLE UUID broadcasts (710, 715), is divided into a plurality of time slots 720 of a super-frame 725 or other (multicast, broadcast, or unicast) control frame or other TDMA structure … which may include scheduling for both the UWB anchors and the mobile devices that are performing UWB ranging functions, using the time slots 720” and “when a UWB anchor is to perform ranging, it may first transmit a super-frame, such as the super-frame 725, which encodes a ranging schedule 730 that indicates when each of the mobile devices assigned to the UWB anchor for UWB ranging are to reply to a UWB transmission (pulse) within the schedule … the super-frame 725 may be configured to support a maximum number of slots 720 … the super-frame 725 may include 128 ranging time slots 720, which can enable ranging for up to 128 mobile devices in a given cycle, though it should be understood that other numbers of time slots 720 and mobile devices may be supported in alternative example embodiments”).
Consider independent claim 15, Barton teaches a memory (see section [0129], which recites “memory element(s) 1510 and/or storage 1515 is/are configured to store data, information, software, and/or instructions associated with computing device 1500”) containing instructions for positioning with ultra-wideband reference signals (UWB RS), the instructions comprising:
receiving a coarse location of the client (see section [0045], which recites “the location engine 190 can establish an initial set of anchor assignments for a mobile device 140 by estimating a coarse location for the mobile device 140 using a non-UWB localization technique … ”);
creating and assigning a plurality of UWB sessions to a plurality of Access Points (APs) based on the coarse location of the client, wherein the plurality of APs are operable to start the plurality of UWB sessions to perform UWB ranging of the client (see section [0045], which recites “… and selecting an optimal set of UWB anchor points for UWB ranging based on the coarse location, and can then use the selected UWB anchor points to determine more precise location information for the mobile device 140 using one or more UWB localization
techniques”);
receiving ranging reports from the plurality of APs (see section [0075], which recites “each receiving anchor (e.g., secondary anchors 515-517 and 570-572) can receive and/or demodulate any UWB transmissions within their range and forward to the control device 580 received frame signal level, emitted source, and/or other information”);
and determining a location of the client based on the ranging reports (see Fig. 5 and section [0075], which recites “forward to the control device 580 received frame signal level, emitted source, and/or other information, which the control device 580 can use to create the interference mapping 500”, as well as section [0079], which states “the interference mapping 500 can include more or less details regarding the venue 505, mobile devices (STA 520, STA 521, STA 575, and STA 576), primary anchors (510 and 565), secondary anchors (515-517 and 570-572), the groups (Group 1 and Group 2), the interference bubbles (550 and 560), and the region 590, and their respective locations, settings, or other features”).
Consider the features in claim 15 reciting “receiving a request for a client to subscribe to an Ultra-Wideband (UWB) seamless roaming and tracking service”, although Barton teaches the UWB interaction, as described above, as it does not explicitly disclose the user consenting or “subscribing” to join a service, Ryu is added and reciting “negotiating a configuration for UWB seamless roaming and tracking for the client”. Barton discloses configuring both the provider and user devices for continuous connectivity and tracking while the client moves within a space (see sections [0025] and [0033] through [0037]) but as it does not explicitly mention the user and provider devices negotiating the connection, Ryu is added.
Ryu, in related art, discloses an apparatus and method for managing UWB connections
between devices. See Fig. 6 and sections [0231] and [0232], Ryu discloses “the first device 601 may transmit or broadcast an advertisement message. In an embodiment, the advertisement message may be a UWB advertisement message (e.g., a UWB advertisement message)” and “the second device 602 may perform device discovery and/or service discovery by using the advertisement message and/or the application data included in the advertisement message”. Ryu then later discloses, in section [0432], “The user device 2020 having received the UWB advertisement message may connect a UWB session with one of the plurality of kiosks 2011, 2012, and 2013, based on the UWB advertisement message”. Ryu also discloses in section [0305] “UWB session information may be exchanged between the first device 910 and the second device 920. As an embodiment, the UWB session information may include all or some of the UWB session data parameters of Table 2. As an embodiment, a UWB session key may be transmitted through the secure channel”.
Therefore, as Barton and Ryu teach UWB based localization and communication, and as Ryu explicitly teaches the user initiating a UWB connection based off a received advertisement and exchange/negotiate UWB session information, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barton with the extra step of the user initiating the connection based off having received an advertisement, as disclosed by Ryu. This would simply be delegating the initiation step from one device to another and would allow for the user to control any connections and allow for establishing UWB sessions where “confidentiality, authenticity, and integrity” are better protected, as seen in section [0077] of Ryu.
Consider claim 16, which recites “further comprising sending UWB session information
to the client, wherein the UWB session information comprises, for each UWB session of the plurality of UWB sessions, any one of (i) a session identifier, (ii) a UWB address, (iii) a security key, or (iv) any combination of (i)-(iii)”. Barton teaches, in section [0077], “a mobile device (e.g., STA 520, STA 521, STA 575, or STA 576) may discover a primary anchor (e.g., primary anchor 510 or primary anchor 565) via a BLE broadcast transmission from the primary anchor or via a unicast transmission to the mobile device … may include a universally unique identifier (UUID) with broadcast ranging instructions and/or information, such as (but not limited to) a UWB channel number coded over 4 bits, ranging duration in seconds over 4 bits, ranging end mode, and/or target primary UWB anchor MAC address” but as it does not explicitly disclose sending it a session identifier, UWB address, or security key, Ryu is added.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryu discloses “UWB session information may be exchanged between the first device 910 and the second device 920. As an embodiment, the UWB session information may include all or some of the UWB session data parameters of Table 2. As an embodiment, a UWB session key may be transmitted through the secure channel” (see section [0305].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the inclusion of UWB session information, as disclosed in Ryu, to the exchanges of Barton. This for allow for establishing UWB sessions where “confidentiality, authenticity, and integrity” are better protected, as seen in section [0077] of Ryu.
Consider claim 17, which recites “further comprising assigning each AP of the plurality of APs a UWB short address”. Barton discloses, in section [0077], “… may include a universally unique identifier (UUID) with broadcast ranging instructions and/or information, such as (but not limited to) a UWB channel number coded over 4 bits, ranging duration in seconds over 4 bits, ranging end mode, and/or target primary UWB anchor MAC address. The UUID can be short (e.g., 2 bytes) or long (e.g., 16 bytes), depending on the implementation”). However, as this does not explicitly say the anchor MAC address is short, Ryu is added.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryu discloses “the UWB MAC frame may be used to transmit UWB-related data (e.g., a UWB message, a ranging message, control information, service data, application data, etc.)” (see section [0178]) and “the destination addressing mode field [of the MAC header] may indicate whether the destination address field includes a short address (e.g., 16 bits) or an extended address (e.g., 64 bits). The destination address field may indicate an address of the recipient of the frame” (see section [0190]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the short addresses for a plurality of UWB sessions, as disclosed in Ryu, to the UWB positioning or Barton. This would allow the control device to identify the different APs of the network in case they don’t have the same capabilities, as described by Ryu (see section [0356]).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 1 above, Barton, as modified by Ryu, further discloses the limitations “receiving a new ranging report indicating an AP of the plurality of APs has an insufficient link budget with the client” (See section [0104] of Barton, which recites “in a case where the preliminary UWB ranging schedule consumes all available airtime without allocating a slot to one or more mobile devices or allocating an insufficient number of slots to one or more mobile devices requiring repeated (potentially continual) ranging, the control device can consider slowing a refresh rate for one or more lower priority devices to provide additional ranging opportunities for other mobile devices”. This means devices are ranged cyclically, so if an anchor has insufficient link budget, the controller will see that in the next scheduled ranging) and “reassigning a UWB session of the AP to a new AP, wherein the new AP and APs still assigned UWB sessions of the plurality of APs are operable to perform UWB ranging of the client” (See section [0111] of Barton, which recites “the UWB ranging priority for a particular mobile device … may follow the mobile device if and as the mobile device changes locations within the space. The control device 580 may be configured to modify the ranging schedules as appropriate in response to such movement. For example, if movement of a particular mobile device causes the mobile device to fall out of range of a particular primary anchor, the control device can reassign the mobile device to range against a new (i.e., different) primary anchor, inserting the mobile device into the schedule for the new primary anchor. Similarly, the control device can remove the mobile device from the schedule of the previously assigned primary anchor”).
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton et al. (U.S. Patent Application # 2022/0070613 A1), hereinafter “Barton”, in view of Ryu et al. (U.S. Patent Application # 2026/0136318 A1), hereinafter “Ryu”, further in view of Oh et al. (U.S. Patent Application # 2025/0377437 A1), hereinafter “Oh”.
Consider claim 5, which recites “further comprising: determining an estimated path of the client; and selecting the new AP based on the estimated path”. Barton, as modified by Ryu, discloses the method of claim 4, as written above. However, as they do not explicitly mention
estimating the path of the client and selecting new APs based on said path, Oh is added.
Oh, in related art, discloses a method and apparatus for performing downlink time difference of arrival (DL TDoA). See Fig. 12 and section [0204], where Oh discloses “the UWB device may estimate a current location 1210 of the UWB device and a movement direction 1220 of the UWB device, based on location coordinates calculated based on ranging messages received from multiple UWB anchors”. Oh further discloses, in section [0206], “the UWB device may select, as an active ranging round, only a ranging round of the potential handover cluster 4 positioned in an area to which the UWB device is getting closer, based on the movement direction 1220”.
Therefore, as Barton, Ryu and Oh teach UWB localization and ranging, and as Oh explicitly teaches estimating the movement of a user and assigning APs based off this estimate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barton, as modified by Ryu, to include the estimated path of Oh. As described in Oh section [0207], this would save power by only including APs along the estimated path of movement in active ranging rounds.
Consider claim 6, which recites “further comprising: determining the new AP fails to establish communication with the client; and reassigning the UWB session of the AP to a second new AP”. Barton discloses, in section [0111], “if movement of a particular mobile device causes the mobile device to fall out of range of a particular primary anchor, the control device can reassign the mobile device to range against a new (i.e., different) primary anchor, inserting the mobile device into the schedule for the new primary anchor. Similarly, the control device can remove the mobile device from the schedule of the previously assigned primary anchor”. This disclosure suggests that a connection failure occurs (since the device is moving out a range) and reassignment occurs. However, as they do not explicitly mention reassigning APs based off connection failure, Oh is added.
Oh, in related art, teaches a method and apparatus for performing downlink time difference of arrival (DL TDoA). See Fig. 11 and sections [0194] through [0197], which recites “In operation S1116, the UWB device may calculate the TDoA-based location of the device, based on the determined FINAL_AR. When the location is calculated, the UWB device may perform calculation a FINAL_AR or smaller number of times to obtain the location. In operation S1118, the UWB device may determine whether there is a valid location value into which location values obtained in operation S1116 converge. If there is no converged valid location value in operation S1118, the UWB device may, in operation S1120, reconfigure FINAL_AR to have a maximum magnitude without using a value obtained in operation S1114. For example, R.sub.c having all configurable ranging round values may be configured as FINAL_AR.” Essentially, when a connection is insufficient because the device’s predicted movement was wrong, start the ranging round over again with a wider area.
Therefore, as Barton, Ryu and Oh teach UWB localization and ranging, and as Oh explicitly teaches reassigning APs as a failure occurs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barton, as modified by Ryu, to reassign APs for ranging based off the connection failures. As stated in Barton (see section [0111]), this would allow for the ranging scheduling to be recomputed regularly without requiring continuous re-computation.
Consider claim 12, which recites “the processing unit being further operative to: and
selecting the new AP based on the estimated path”. Barton, as modified by Ryu, discloses the apparatus of claim 11, as written above. However, as they do not explicitly mention estimating the path of the client and selecting new APs based on said path, Oh is added.
Oh, in related art, discloses a method and apparatus for performing downlink time difference of arrival (DL TDoA). See Fig. 12 and section [0204], where Oh discloses “the UWB device may estimate a current location 1210 of the UWB device and a movement direction 1220 of the UWB device, based on location coordinates calculated based on ranging messages received from multiple UWB anchors”. Oh further discloses, in section [0206], “the UWB device may select, as an active ranging round, only a ranging round of the potential handover cluster 4 positioned in an area to which the UWB device is getting closer, based on the movement direction 1220”.
Therefore, as Barton, Ryu and Oh teach UWB localization and ranging, and as Oh explicitly teaches estimating the movement of a user and assigning APs based off this estimate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barton, as modified by Ryu, to include the estimated path of Oh. As described in Oh section [0207], this would save power by only including APs along the estimated path of movement in active ranging rounds.
Consider claim 13, which recites “the processing unit being further operative to: determining the new AP fails to establish communication with the client; and reassigning the UWB session of the AP to a second new AP”. Barton discloses, in section [0111], “if movement of a particular mobile device causes the mobile device to fall out of range of a particular primary anchor, the control device can reassign the mobile device to range against a new (i.e., different) primary anchor, inserting the mobile device into the schedule for the new primary anchor. Similarly, the control device can remove the mobile device from the schedule of the previously assigned primary anchor”. This disclosure suggests that a connection failure occurs (since the device is moving out a range) and reassignment occurs. However, as they do not explicitly mention reassigning APs based off connection failure, Oh is added.
Oh, in related art, teaches a method and apparatus for performing downlink time difference of arrival (DL TDoA). See Fig. 11 and sections [0194] through [0197], which recites “In operation S1116, the UWB device may calculate the TDoA-based location of the device, based on the determined FINAL_AR. When the location is calculated, the UWB device may perform calculation a FINAL_AR or smaller number of times to obtain the location. In operation S1118, the UWB device may determine whether there is a valid location value into which location values obtained in operation S1116 converge. If there is no converged valid location value in operation S1118, the UWB device may, in operation S1120, reconfigure FINAL_AR to have a maximum magnitude without using a value obtained in operation S1114. For example, R.sub.c having all configurable ranging round values may be configured as FINAL_AR.” Essentially, when a connection is insufficient because the device’s predicted movement was wrong, start the ranging round over again with a wider area.
Therefore, as Barton, Ryu and Oh teach UWB localization and ranging, and as Oh explicitly teaches reassigning APs as a failure occurs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barton, as modified by Ryu, to reassign APs for ranging based off the connection failures. As stated in Barton (see section [0111]), this would allow for the ranging scheduling to be recomputed regularly without requiring continuous re-computation.
Consider claim 19, which recites “the method executed by the set of instructions further comprising: and selecting the new AP based on the estimated path”. Barton, as modified by Ryu, discloses the method of claim 18, as written above. However, as they do not explicitly mention estimating the path of the client and selecting new APs based on said path, Oh is added.
Oh, in related art, discloses a method and apparatus for performing downlink time difference of arrival (DL TDoA). See Fig. 12 and section [0204], where Oh discloses “the UWB device may estimate a current location 1210 of the UWB device and a movement direction 1220 of the UWB device, based on location coordinates calculated based on ranging messages received from multiple UWB anchors”. Oh further discloses, in section [0206], “the UWB device may select, as an active ranging round, only a ranging round of the potential handover cluster 4 positioned in an area to which the UWB device is getting closer, based on the movement direction 1220”.
Therefore, as Barton, Ryu and Oh teach UWB localization and ranging, and as Oh explicitly teaches estimating the movement of a user and assigning APs based off this estimate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barton, as modified by Ryu, to include the estimated path of Oh. As described in Oh section [0207], this would save power by only including APs along the estimated path of movement in active ranging rounds.
Consider claim 20, which recites “the method executed by the set of instructions further comprising: determining the new AP fails to establish communication with the client; and reassigning the UWB session of the AP to a second new AP”. Barton discloses, in section [0111], “if movement of a particular mobile device causes the mobile device to fall out of range of a particular primary anchor, the control device can reassign the mobile device to range against a new (i.e., different) primary anchor, inserting the mobile device into the schedule for the new primary anchor. Similarly, the control device can remove the mobile device from the schedule of the previously assigned primary anchor”. This disclosure suggests that a connection failure occurs (since the device is moving out a range) and reassignment occurs. However, as they do not explicitly mention reassigning APs based off connection failure, Oh is added.
Oh, in related art, teaches a method and apparatus for performing downlink time difference of arrival (DL TDoA). See Fig. 11 and sections [0194] through [0197], which recites “In operation S1116, the UWB device may calculate the TDoA-based location of the device, based on the determined FINAL_AR. When the location is calculated, the UWB device may perform calculation a FINAL_AR or smaller number of times to obtain the location. In operation S1118, the UWB device may determine whether there is a valid location value into which location values obtained in operation S1116 converge. If there is no converged valid location value in operation S1118, the UWB device may, in operation S1120, reconfigure FINAL_AR to have a maximum magnitude without using a value obtained in operation S1114. For example, R.sub.c having all configurable ranging round values may be configured as FINAL_AR.” Essentially, when a connection is insufficient because the device’s predicted movement was wrong, start the ranging round over again with a wider area.
Therefore, as Barton, Ryu and Oh teach UWB localization and ranging, and as Oh explicitly teaches reassigning APs as a failure occurs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barton, as modified by Ryu, to reassign APs for ranging based off the connection failures. As stated in Barton (see section [0111]), this would allow for the ranging scheduling to be
recomputed regularly without requiring continuous re-computation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Shenoy (U.S. Patent Application # 2026/0181583 A1) discloses a method for locating mobile devices in a UWB network utilizing clustering of network nodes.
Kozin (U.S. Patent Application # 2025/0112930 A1) discloses a system for location-based access control utilizing UWB ranging.
Dawar et al. (U.S. Patent Application # 2024/0361447 A1) discloses a method for indoor location.
Henry et al. (U.S. Patent Application # 2022/0070612 A1) discloses a method for assigning UWB anchors for client ranging.
Barbu et al. (U.S. Patent Application # 2024/0323897 A1) discloses a method for positioning using UWB.
/R.H.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642