DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 9-13, and 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12193173. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because see below.
Application: 18955170
Patent: 12193173
1. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and (B) a tab that is continuous with the edge but disposed within the inner volume of the housing, the tab having a length that extends along a direction parallel to an outer surface of the wall but at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, (3) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls are configured such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls securely fit against each other, and (4) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab securely fits into the opening, (5) the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls thereby securing the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls.
2. The electronics box according to claim 1, wherein (a) the plurality of walls include (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, and (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall.
1. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing, the plurality of walls including (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, and (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall: (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, (B) a tab that is disposed within the inner volume of the housing at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of that wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall past the edge of the wall, (C) the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls is disposed adjacent to one edge of the tab, (D) a second part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls is disposed adjacent to an opposing edge of the tab, and (E) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls further includes (i) a first curved part that curves away from the outer surface of the wall into the inner volume and extends between an end of the first part of the edge and an adjacent end of the tab, and (ii) a second curved part that curves away from the outer surface of the wall into the inner volume and extends between an end of the second part of the edge and another adjacent end of the tab, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, (3) upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, (A) the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls securely fits against the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, and (B) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls.
3. The electronics box according to claim 1, wherein (a) the plurality of walls include (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) a pair of opposing side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (5) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (6) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (7) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall.
3. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing, the plurality of walls including (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, and (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) a tab that is disposed within the inner volume of the housing at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of that wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall past the edge of the wall, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, (3) upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, (A) the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls securely fits against the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, and (B) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls, and (4) the plurality of walls further includes (A) a pair of opposing side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (B) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (C) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (D) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall.
4. The electronics box according to claim 1, wherein (a) the first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the given one of the plurality of walls and the second predetermined distance away from the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls are a same distance.
7. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing, (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) a pair of opposing side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (5) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (6) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (7) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, (B) a rectangular shaped tab that is disposed within the inner volume of the housing at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall past the edge of the wall, the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls being disposed adjacent to one edge of the tab, a second part of the edge being disposed adjacent to an opposing edge of the tab, and (C) a curved region that curves away from the outer surface of the wall into the inner volume and connects the outer surface of the wall to at least one edge of the tab, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) a rectangular shaped opening formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, and (3) upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, (A) the first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the given one of the plurality of walls is a same distance as the second predetermined distance away from the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls such that the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls securely fits against the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, and (B) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls.
9. The electronics box according to claim 1, wherein (a) the tab and the opening are each rectangular shaped.
7. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing, (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) a pair of opposing side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (5) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (6) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (7) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, (B) a rectangular shaped tab that is disposed within the inner volume of the housing at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall past the edge of the wall, the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls being disposed adjacent to one edge of the tab, a second part of the edge being disposed adjacent to an opposing edge of the tab, and (C) a curved region that curves away from the outer surface of the wall into the inner volume and connects the outer surface of the wall to at least one edge of the tab, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) a rectangular shaped opening formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, and (3) upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, (A) the first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the given one of the plurality of walls is a same distance as the second predetermined distance away from the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls such that the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls securely fits against the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, and (B) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls.
10. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and (B) a tab that is continuous with the edge but disposed within the inner volume of the housing, the tab having a length that extends along a direction parallel to an outer surface of the wall but at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall, (2) an adjacent one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the adjacent one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, (3) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls are configured such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls, the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls securely fit against each other, and (4) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls, the tab securely fits into the opening, (5) the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls thereby securing the given one of the plurality of walls to the adjacent one of the plurality of walls.
11. The electronics box according to claim 10, wherein (a) the plurality of walls include (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, and (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall.
1. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing, the plurality of walls including (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, and (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall: (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, (B) a tab that is disposed within the inner volume of the housing at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of that wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall past the edge of the wall, (C) the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls is disposed adjacent to one edge of the tab, (D) a second part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls is disposed adjacent to an opposing edge of the tab, and (E) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls further includes (i) a first curved part that curves away from the outer surface of the wall into the inner volume and extends between an end of the first part of the edge and an adjacent end of the tab, and (ii) a second curved part that curves away from the outer surface of the wall into the inner volume and extends between an end of the second part of the edge and another adjacent end of the tab, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, (3) upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, (A) the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls securely fits against the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, and (B) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls.
12. The electronics box according to claim 10, wherein (a) the plurality of walls include (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) a pair of opposing side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (5) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (6) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (7) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall.
3. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing, the plurality of walls including (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, and (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) a tab that is disposed within the inner volume of the housing at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of that wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall past the edge of the wall, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, (3) upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, (A) the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls securely fits against the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, and (B) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls, and (4) the plurality of walls further includes (A) a pair of opposing side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (B) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (C) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (D) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall.
13. The electronics box according to claim 10, wherein (a) the first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the given one of the plurality of walls and the second predetermined distance away from the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls are a same distance.
7. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing, (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) a pair of opposing side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (5) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (6) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (7) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, (B) a rectangular shaped tab that is disposed within the inner volume of the housing at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall past the edge of the wall, the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls being disposed adjacent to one edge of the tab, a second part of the edge being disposed adjacent to an opposing edge of the tab, and (C) a curved region that curves away from the outer surface of the wall into the inner volume and connects the outer surface of the wall to at least one edge of the tab, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) a rectangular shaped opening formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, and (3) upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, (A) the first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the given one of the plurality of walls is a same distance as the second predetermined distance away from the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls such that the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls securely fits against the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, and (B) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls.
18. The electronics box according to claim 10, wherein (a) the tab and the opening are each rectangular shaped.
7. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing, (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) a pair of opposing side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (5) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (6) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (7) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, (B) a rectangular shaped tab that is disposed within the inner volume of the housing at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall past the edge of the wall, the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls being disposed adjacent to one edge of the tab, a second part of the edge being disposed adjacent to an opposing edge of the tab, and (C) a curved region that curves away from the outer surface of the wall into the inner volume and connects the outer surface of the wall to at least one edge of the tab, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) a rectangular shaped opening formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, and (3) upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, (A) the first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the given one of the plurality of walls is a same distance as the second predetermined distance away from the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls such that the at least first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls securely fits against the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, and (B) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls.
Claims 1-4, 10-13, rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,316. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because see below.
Application: 18955170
Patent No. US 11,963,316
1. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and (B) a tab that is continuous with the edge but disposed within the inner volume of the housing, the tab having a length that extends along a direction parallel to an outer surface of the wall but at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, (3) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls are configured such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls securely fit against each other, and (4) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab securely fits into the opening, (5) the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls thereby securing the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls.
2. The electronics box according to claim 1, wherein (a) the plurality of walls include (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, and (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall.
1. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume, the plurality of walls including (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall adjacent to the rear wall; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) a tab that is disposed within the inner volume at a predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the wall that is completely surrounded by the wall and disposed a predetermined distance from the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, (3) upon the first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls being brought in contact with the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab of the given one of the plurality of wall is inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab and the opening being dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures together the given one of the plurality of walls and the another one of the plurality of walls, (4) the given one of the plurality of walls includes a curved part that curves away from the outer surface of the wall into the inner volume and forms a recess in the given one of the plurality of walls, and (5) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) a second part of the edge that extends along the recess, and (B) a curved part disposed along the outer surface of the wall between an end of the first part and an end of the second part and that curves away from the first part such that second part is disposed lower than the first part.
3. The electronics box according to claim 1, wherein (a) the plurality of walls include (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) a pair of opposing side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (5) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (6) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (7) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall.
6. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume, the plurality of walls including (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall adjacent to the rear wall; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) a tab that is disposed within the inner volume at a predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the wall that is completely surrounded by the wall and disposed a predetermined distance from the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, (3) upon the first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls being brought in contact with the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab of the given one of the plurality of wall is inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab and the opening being dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures together the given one of the plurality of walls and the another one of the plurality of walls, (4) the at least one side wall includes (A) a pair of side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall and adjacent to the rear wall; and (5) the plurality of walls includes (A) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (B) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (C) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall.
4. The electronics box according to claim 1, wherein (a) the first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the given one of the plurality of walls and the second predetermined distance away from the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls are a same distance.
4. The electronics box according to claim 3, wherein (a) the predefined distance away from the outer surface of the further one of the plurality of walls is a same distance as the predefined distance away from the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls.
10. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume of the housing; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and (B) a tab that is continuous with the edge but disposed within the inner volume of the housing, the tab having a length that extends along a direction parallel to an outer surface of the wall but at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall, (2) an adjacent one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the adjacent one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge, (3) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls are configured such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls, the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls securely fit against each other, and (4) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls, the tab securely fits into the opening, (5) the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls thereby securing the given one of the plurality of walls to the adjacent one of the plurality of walls.
11. The electronics box according to claim 10, wherein (a) the plurality of walls include (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, and (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall.
1. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume, the plurality of walls including (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall adjacent to the rear wall; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) a tab that is disposed within the inner volume at a predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the wall that is completely surrounded by the wall and disposed a predetermined distance from the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, (3) upon the first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls being brought in contact with the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab of the given one of the plurality of wall is inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab and the opening being dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures together the given one of the plurality of walls and the another one of the plurality of walls, (4) the given one of the plurality of walls includes a curved part that curves away from the outer surface of the wall into the inner volume and forms a recess in the given one of the plurality of walls, and (5) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) a second part of the edge that extends along the recess, and (B) a curved part disposed along the outer surface of the wall between an end of the first part and an end of the second part and that curves away from the first part such that second part is disposed lower than the first part.
12. The electronics box according to claim 10, wherein (a) the plurality of walls include (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) a pair of opposing side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (5) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (6) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (7) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall.
6. An electronics box for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising: (a) a housing having a plurality of walls that define an inner volume, the plurality of walls including (1) a top wall, (2) a bottom wall disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, (4) at least one side wall extending between the top wall and the bottom wall adjacent to the rear wall; (b) wherein (1) a given one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) a tab that is disposed within the inner volume at a predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall and that extends along a direction parallel to the outer surface of the wall, (2) another one of the plurality of walls includes (A) an edge having at least a first part disposed along an outer surface of that wall, and (B) an opening formed in the wall that is completely surrounded by the wall and disposed a predetermined distance from the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, (3) upon the first part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls being brought in contact with the at least first part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab of the given one of the plurality of wall is inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab and the opening being dimensioned such that the tab securely fits into the opening and secures together the given one of the plurality of walls and the another one of the plurality of walls, (4) the at least one side wall includes (A) a pair of side walls extending between the top wall and the bottom wall and adjacent to the rear wall; and (5) the plurality of walls includes (A) an intermediate wall disposed part way between the top wall and the bottom wall, and extending inward from one of the pair of side walls, (B) a further rear wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall, and (C) a further side wall extending between the top wall and the intermediate wall and adjacent to the further rear wall.
13. The electronics box according to claim 10, wherein (a) the first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the given one of the plurality of walls and the second predetermined distance away from the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls are a same distance.
4. The electronics box according to claim 3, wherein (a) the predefined distance away from the outer surface of the further one of the plurality of walls is a same distance as the predefined distance away from the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nattel (Patent No. US 4,176,759).
As to claim 1, Nattel discloses an electronics box (fig. 1) for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising:
(a) a housing (fig. 1) having a plurality of walls 5, 7, 9, 11 that define an inner volume of the housing;
(b) wherein
(1) a given one of the plurality of walls 11 includes
(A) an edge (fig. 2) that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and
(B) a tab 27 (figs. 1-2) that is continuous with the edge but disposed within the inner volume of the housing, the tab having a length that extends along a direction parallel to an outer surface of the wall but at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall,
(2) another one of the plurality of walls 5 includes
(A) an edge that extends along at least part of an end of that wall (figs. 1 and 3), and
(B) an opening 25 formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge,
(3) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls are configured such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls securely fit against each other (figs. 1, 6-12, 14, 16), and
(4) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab securely fits into the opening (figs. 1, 6-12, 14, 16),
(5) the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls thereby securing the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls (figs. 1, 6-12, 14, 16).
As to claim 2, Nattel discloses that (a) the plurality of walls include (1) a top wall 11, (2) a bottom wall 9 disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall 7 extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, and (4) at least one side wall 5 extending between the top wall and the bottom wall.
As to claim 9, Nattel discloses (a) the tab and the opening are each rectangular shaped (figs. 1-3).
As to claim 10, Nattel discloses an electronics box (fig. 1) for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising:
(a) a housing (fig. 1) having a plurality of walls 5, 7, 9, 11 that define an inner volume of the housing;
(b) wherein
(1) a given one of the plurality of walls 11 includes
(A) an edge (fig. 2) that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and
(B) a tab 27 (figs. 1-2) that is continuous with the edge but disposed within the inner volume of the housing, the tab having a length that extends along a direction parallel to an outer surface of the wall but at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall,
(2) an adjacent one of the plurality of walls 5 includes
(A) an edge that extends along at least part of an end of that wall (figs. 1 and 3), and
(B) an opening 25 formed in the adjacent one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge,
(3) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls are configured such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls, the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls securely fit against each other (figs. 1, 6-12, 14, 16), and
(4) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls, the tab securely fits into the opening (figs. 1, 6-12, 14, 16),
(5) the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls thereby securing the given one of the plurality of walls to the adjacent one of the plurality of walls (figs. 1, 6-12, 14, 16).
As to claim 11, Nattel discloses that (a) the plurality of walls include (1) a top wall 11, (2) a bottom wall 9 disposed opposite to the top wall, (3) a rear wall 7 extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, and (4) at least one side wall 5 extending between the top wall and the bottom wall.
As to claim 18, Nattel discloses that (a) the tab and the opening are each rectangular shaped (figs. 1-3).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kruse (Patent No. US 1,672,263).
As to claim 1, Kruse discloses an electronics box (fig. 1) for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising:
(a) a housing (fig. 1) having a plurality of walls 1, 2, 3, 4 that define an inner volume of the housing;
(b) wherein
(1) a given one of the plurality of walls 3 includes
(A) an edge (fig. 1) that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and
(B) a tab 8 that is continuous with the edge but disposed within the inner volume of the housing, the tab having a length that extends along a direction parallel to an outer surface of the wall but at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall,
(2) another one of the plurality of walls 4 (fig. 2) includes
(A) an edge that extends along at least part of an end of that wall (fig. 2), and
(B) an opening 7’’ formed in the another one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge,
(3) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls are configured such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls securely fit against each other (figs. 1-3), and
(4) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the tab securely fits into the opening (figs. 1-3),
(5) the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls thereby securing the given one of the plurality of walls to the another one of the plurality of walls (figs. 1-3).
As to claim 4, Kruse discloses that (a) the first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the given one of the plurality of walls and the second predetermined distance away from the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls are a same distance (figs. 1-3, the openings and the tab must line up in order to be connected; therefore, they would inherently have the same predetermined distance).
As to claim 10, Kruse discloses an electronics box (fig. 1) for insertion into a wall box, the electronics box comprising:
(a) a housing (fig. 1) having a plurality of walls 1, 2, 3, 4 that define an inner volume of the housing;
(b) wherein
(1) a given one of the plurality of walls 3 includes
(A) an edge (fig. 1) that extends along at least part of an end of that wall, and
(B) a tab 8 that is continuous with the edge but disposed within the inner volume of the housing, the tab having a length that extends along a direction parallel to an outer surface of the wall but at a first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the wall,
(2) an adjacent one of the plurality of walls 4 (fig. 2) includes
(A) an edge (fig. 2) that extends along at least part of an end of that wall (figs. 1 and 3), and
(B) an opening 7’’ formed in the adjacent one of the plurality of walls that is completely surrounded by that wall and disposed a second predetermined distance from that edge,
(3) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls are configured such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls, the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls securely fit against each other (figs. 1-3), and
(4) the tab and the opening are dimensioned such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls, the tab securely fits into the opening (figs. 1-3),
(5) the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls thereby securing the given one of the plurality of walls to the adjacent one of the plurality of walls (figs. 1-3).
As to claim 13, Kruse discloses that (a) the first predetermined distance away from the outer surface of the given one of the plurality of walls and the second predetermined distance away from the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls are a same distance (figs. 1-3, the openings and the tab must line up in order to be connected; therefore, they would inherently have the same predetermined distance).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein (a) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls includes (1) a first curved part that curves away from the outer surface of that wall into the inner volume, and (2) a second curved part that curves inward from the inner volume to the outer surface of the wall, the first and second curved parts forming a recess in the given one of the plurality of walls, and (b) the tab is disposed within the inner volume of the housing between the first curved part and the second curved part at a bottom of the recess. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein (a) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls includes (1) a curved part that curves along the outer surface of that wall, (b) the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls includes (1) a curved part that curves away from the outer surface of that wall, and (c) the curved part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the curved part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls are conforming such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the curved part of the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls securely fits against the curved part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein (a) the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls includes (1) a first curved part that curves away from the outer surface of that wall, (2) a second curved part that curves away from the outer surface of the wall in a direction perpendicular to the first curved part, and (3) a recess formed in the outer surface of the wall in a region between the first curved part and the second curved part of the edge, and (b) the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls being formed in a bottom of the recess. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein (a) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls includes (1) a step formed between two straight parts of that edge, (b) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls includes (2) a step formed between two straight parts of that edge, and (c) the step formed in the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the step formed in the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls are arranged such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the another one of the plurality of walls, the step formed in the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the step formed in the edge of the another one of the plurality of walls securely fit against each other. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 14, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claims 10, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein (a) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls includes (1) a first curved part that curves away from the outer surface of that wall into the inner volume, and (2) a second curved part that curves inward from the inner volume to the outer surface of the wall, the first and second curved parts forming a recess in the given one of the plurality of walls, and (b) the tab is disposed within the inner volume of the housing between the first curved part and the second curved part at a bottom of the recess. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 15, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 10, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein (a) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls includes (1) a curved part that curves along the outer surface of that wall, (b) the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls includes (1) a curved part that curves away from the outer surface of that wall, and (c) the curved part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the curved part of the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls are conforming such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls, the curved part of the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls securely fits against the curved part of the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 10, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein (a) the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls includes (1) a first curved part that curves away from the outer surface of that wall, (2) a second curved part that curves away from the outer surface of the wall in a direction perpendicular to the first curved part, and (3) a recess formed in the outer surface of the wall in a region between the first curved part and the second curved part of the edge, and (b) the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls being formed in a bottom of the recess. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 17, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 10, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein (a) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls includes (1) a step formed between two straight parts of that edge, (b) the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls includes (1) a step formed between two straight parts of that edge, and (c) the step formed in the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the step formed in the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls are arranged such that upon the tab of the given one of the plurality of walls being inserted into the opening of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls, the step formed in the edge of the given one of the plurality of walls and the step formed in the edge of the adjacent one of the plurality of walls securely fit against each other. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
/AMOL H PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847