DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 November 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the raised texture (Claim 4), the recessed texture (Claim 5), the shutoff valve (Claim 13), the Y-shaped hose (Claims 14 and 19), and the RV AC-unit (Claim 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "a fastener" in line 2. It is unclear if this fastener is the same fastener previously introduced in Claim 16 from which claim 17 depends. For purposed of examination, the fasteners will be interpreted as the same fastener.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patrick (U.S. Patent Publication 2008/0047289).
Regarding claim 16, Patrick discloses a method of using an RV AC-unit condensation collection device, the method comprising the following steps:
providing a device comprising a body 50 with a central recessed area 78, a male member 82 with an opening 58a/58b, and a fastener (at 82) coupled to the male member;
positioning the body under or near (FIG. 5d) an RV AC-unit 66 such that the recessed area collects a condensation dripping from the RV AC-unit;
attaching a hose to the male member using the fastener (Paragraph 48); and
routing the hose to a secondary location to drain the condensation collected within the recessed area (FIG. 5d-6c; Paragraph 46-51).
Regarding claim 17, Patrick discloses the body is comprised of a fastener (at 82) (FIG. 6c).
Regarding claim 20, Patrick discloses the hose is comprised of a connector (Paragraph 48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrick in view of Maslakow (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0233122).
Regarding claim 1, Patrick discloses an RV AC-unit condensation collection device 50 comprising:
a body 50 comprising a recessed area 78 and a bottom surface 52;
a male member 82 extending from the body, the male member comprising an opening in fluid communication with the recessed area; and
a first fastener (at 82) coupled to the male member configured to attach to a hose via a connector of the hose (Paragraph 48) (FIG. 5d-6c; Paragraph 46-51).
Patrick is silent regarding the bottom surface comprising a non-slip material.
However, Maslakow teaches a collection device comprising: a body 101 comprising a bottom surface 103 comprising a non-slip material 104 (FIG. 1-3A; Paragraph 20-21)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Patrick by adding a non-slip material to the bottom surface of the body, as taught by Maslakow, for the purpose of preventing the body from shifting out of its proper alignment when moving.
Regarding claim 2, Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Patrick further discloses the recessed area is comprised of a beveled outer edge (at 92) (FIG. 6c).
Regarding claim 3, Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Patrick/Maslakow further teaches the non-slip material is comprised of a rubber material (Maslakow Paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 4, Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Patrick/Maslakow further teaches the rubber material is comprised of a raised texture 201 (FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 5, Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 4.
Patrick/Maslakow further teaches the rubber material is comprised of a recessed texture (FIG. 2A).
Regarding claim 6, Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Patrick further discloses he bottom surface is comprised of a second fastener (adhesive”) (FIG. 5e; Paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 7, Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Patrick further discloses the second fastener is comprised of a suction cup, an adhesive, or a magnet (adhesive”) (FIG. 5e; Paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 8, Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Patrick further discloses the first fastener is comprised of a thread (FIG. 6c).
Regarding claim 9, Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Patrick further discloses the first fastener and the connector are comprised of a pair of reciprocating fasteners (FIG. 6c; Paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 18, Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 16.
Patrick is silent regarding the body is comprised of a non-slip bottom surface.
However, Maslakow teaches a collection device comprising: a body 101 comprising a bottom surface 103 comprising a non-slip material 104 (FIG. 1-3A; Paragraph 20-21)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Patrick by adding a non-slip material to the bottom surface of the body, as taught by Maslakow, for the purpose of preventing the body from shifting out of its proper alignment when moving.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrick in view of Maslakow, in further view of Mahanay (U.S. Patent 4,907,420).
Regarding claim 10, Patrick discloses an RV AC-unit condensation collection device 50 comprising:
a body 50 comprising a central recessed area 78;
a male member 82 attached to the body and having an opening 58a/58b in fluid communication with the central recessed area;
a hose having a connector configured to attach to the male member (Paragraph 48);
a fastener (at 82) coupled to the male member to facilitate attachment of the hose; and
a bottom surface 52 of the body (FIG. 5d-6c; Paragraph 46-51).
Patrick is silent regarding the body comprises an overflow channel and the bottom surface comprising a non-slip material.
However, Maslakow teaches a collection device comprising: a body 101 comprising a bottom surface 103 comprising a non-slip material 104 (FIG. 1-3A; Paragraph 20-21)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Patrick by adding a non-slip material to the bottom surface of the body, as taught by Maslakow, for the purpose of preventing the body from shifting out of its proper alignment when moving.
Furthermore, Mahanay teaches a condensation collection device comprising a body 20 comprising an overflow channel 68 (FIG. 4; Col. 3 ln 6-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Patrick by adding an overflow channel, as taught by Mahanay, for the purpose of providing a controlled means for directing overflowing fluids to a desired area thus preventing unwanted overflowing liquid throughout the surrounding areas.
Regarding claim 11, Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 10.
Patrick further discloses the body is comprised of a plastic material (Paragraph 5).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrick in view of Maslakow, in further view of Mahanay, in even further view of Ripoll (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0126973).
Regarding claim 12 Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 10.
Patrick further discloses the body is made of steel (Paragraph 5).
Patrick is silent regarding the body is comprised of a corrosion-resistant metal material.
However, Ripoll teaches the body 134 is comprised of a corrosion-resistant metal material (Paragraph 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Patrick by making the body out of a corrosion-resistant metal, as taught by Ripoll, for the purpose of providing material that can withstand the moisture within the environment as well as within the body preventing premature degradation.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrick in view of Maslakow, in further view of Mahanay, in even further view of Kadle (U.S. Patent 8,695,404).
Regarding claim 13 Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 10.
Patrick is silent regarding a shutoff valve is positioned within the connector.
However, Kadle teaches a shutoff valve 52 is positioned within the connector (52 at 50) (FIG. 1-2; Col. 4 ln 16-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Patrick by adding a shutoff valve at the connector, as taught by Kadle, for the purpose of providing a means to open or close the opening to control the flow of fluid out of the condensation collection device.
Regarding claim 15 Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 13.
Patrick/Kadle further teaches the shutoff valve is positioned on the connector (FIG. 1, 2).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrick in view of Maslakow, in further view of Mahanay, in even further view of Wilks (U.S. Patent 5,879,029).
Regarding claim 14 Patrick, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 10.
Patrick is silent regarding the hose is comprised of a Y-shaped hose.
However, Wilks teaches the hose 12 is comprised of a Y-shaped hose (FIG. 1, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Patrick by making the hose Y-shaped, as taught by Wilks, for the purpose of providing a means to direct the fluid out of the condensation collection device in a multitude of desired locations.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrick in view of Wilks.
Regarding claim 19 Patrick discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 16.
Patrick is silent regarding the hose is comprised of a Y-shaped hose.
However, Wilks teaches the hose 12 is comprised of a Y-shaped hose (FIG. 1, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Patrick by making the hose Y-shaped, as taught by Wilks, for the purpose of providing a means to direct the fluid out of the condensation collection device in a multitude of desired locations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karas (U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0130533) discloses a condensation collection device similar to the one disclosed in the present application.
/CHRISTOPHER D BALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753